Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) presented have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 15 is rejected specifically in view of the limitation of claim not further limiting the limitation of claim 14 when the limitation considered in claim 14 is “a light-emitting panel the second connection portion is in contact with and electrically connected to the at least one of the driver chips” (wherein the limitation is selected for the rejection of claim 14).
It should be noted that claim 14 as presented disclose that the device has one of
the second connection portion is in contact with and electrically connected to the at least one of the driver chips, or
the pad structure comprises a plurality of pads, and at least one of the plurality of pads is electrically connected to the second connection portion and the at least one of the driver chips respectively.
As made clear in view of the limitation “or,” the two claimed feature does not exist in a single light-emitting panel, thus suggesting 2 embodiments. Thus, when claim 14 is rejected in view of the limitation “the second connection portion is in contact with and electrically connected to the at least one of the driver chips,” the limitations of claim 15 does not further limit the limitations of rejected claim 14. This is at least evident because claim 15 is drawn to the rejected to pad structures which is not required in the limitation “the second connection portion is in contact with and electrically connected to the at least one of the driver chips.”
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. [US PGPUB 20230223388] (hereinafter Chung).
Regarding claim 1, Chung teaches a light-emitting panel, comprising:
a substrate (110, Para 131) comprising a first surface and a second surface disposed opposite to each other (Fig. 8);
light-emitting elements (120s, Para 106) and driver chips (130), wherein the light-emitting elements are disposed on the first surface, and at least one of the driver chips is disposed on the second surface (Fig. 8); and
first connection vias (113, Para 162) penetrating through the substrate (Fig. 12/13), wherein the at least one of the driver chips is electrically connected to a respective one of the light-emitting elements through a respective one of the first connection vias (Para 163);
wherein the light-emitting panel further comprises a light-emitting region (entire light emitting surface of display device Fig. 13), the light-emitting region comprises a plurality of light-emitting subregions (PA1-4, Fig. 10/11, –where the display device would have multiple of the structure of Fig. 13), each of the plurality of light- emitting subregions comprises at least one of the light-emitting elements (Fig. 13);
a driver subchip (130, Para 163) is electrically connected to the at least one light-emitting element in at least one of the plurality of light-emitting subregions through a respective one of the first connection vias to transmit a drive signal and the at least one of the light- emitting elements in a same light-emitting region are driven by a same sub-driver chip (Para 163).
In the embodiment of Fig. 8-14, Chung does not specifically disclose the driver chips comprise a main driver chip and a plurality of driver subchips, the main driver chip is connected to each driver subchip of the plurality of driver subchips to transmit a control signal.
In the embodiment of Fig. 4, Chung discloses driving circuitry of a display device, wherein the driver chips of the display device comprise a main driver chip (300 and/or 500, Para 101) and a plurality of driver subchips (130s, Para 108), the main driver chip is connected to each driver subchip of the plurality of driver subchips to transmit a control signal (Para 101).
In view of such teaching by Chung according to the embodiment of Fig. 4, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the embodiment of Fig. 8-14 comprise the teachings of Fig. 4 at least based on the rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143.I.A), such as provide efficient imaging and/or timing control to the light-emitting elements.
Regarding claim 3, Chung teaches a light-emitting panel wherein the plurality of light-emitting subregions comprises a first light-emitting subregion (PA1, Fig. 10/11), the plurality of driver subchips comprise a first driver subchip (chip 130 overlapping with PA1, Fig. 10), and the first driver subchip is electrically connected to the at least one light-emitting element in the first light-emitting subregion through a respective one of the first connection vias (in view of Fig. 10/13); and
the first driver subchip is disposed in the first light-emitting subregion (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 6, the modified invention of Chung teaches the limitation of claim 1 upon which it depends.
Chung as implemented in claim 1 does not specifically disclose a light-emitting panel wherein the main driver chip is disposed on the second surface.
However, it is noted that in the embodiment of Fig. 29, Chung teaches having the pixel controller of the device connected to a main driver chip 200 which is disposed on the second surface of the substrate.
In view of such teaching further teaching by Chung, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the modified invention further comprise the teachings of Fig. 29, at least based on the rationale of using known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way using (MPEP 2143.I.C).
Regarding claim 7, the modified invention specifically in view of Chung according to Fig. 29 teaches a light-emitting panel further comprising a first flexible circuit board (205, Para 181), wherein the first flexible circuit board is disposed on the second surface (Fig. 29); and
the first flexible circuit board is electrically connected to the main driver chip and each of the plurality of driver subchips respectively (Para 182).
Regarding claim 8, the modified invention specifically in view of Chung according to Fig. 29 teaches a light-emitting panel further comprising a second flexible circuit board (205, Para 181), wherein the second flexible circuit board is disposed on the second surface (Fig. 29); and
the second flexible circuit board is electrically connected to the main driver chip and a control mainboard respectively (Para 182/185/188), and the second flexible circuit board is capable of being disposed in a bending manner (wherein board 205 is a FPCB, Para 181).
Regarding claim 10, the modified invention of Chung specifically in view of the embodiment of Fig. 4, Chung teaches a display panel comprising a plurality of light-emitting subpanels (10-1 to 10-n), wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting subpanels comprises at least one of the plurality of light-emitting subregions (Fig. 4).
In view of such teaching further teaching by Chung, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the modified invention further comprise the teachings of Fig. 4 in order to have a modular display device.
Regarding claim 11, the modified invention of Chung teaches the limitation of claim 1 upon which it depends.
The modified invention does not specifically disclose the limitation of claim 1.
Referring to the invention of Chung according to Fig. 14, Chung teaches a light-emitting panel wherein the driver chips comprise a power driver chip, wherein the power driver chip is disposed on the second surface, electrically connected to each of the light-emitting elements through a respective one of the first connection vias, and configured to provide a power signal for each of the light-emitting elements (Para 166).
In view of such further teaching by Chung, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the modified invention comprise the teaching of Chung to effectively power the components of the device.
Regarding claim 12, the modified invention of Chung teaches the limitation of claim 11 upon which it depends.
The modified invention does not specifically disclose the limitation of claim 12.
Referring to the invention of Chung, Chung teaches a light-emitting panel wherein the driver chip 130 is disposed in a central region of the light-emitting panel (Fig. 14).
In view of such teaching by Chung, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the modified invention comprise the teachings of Chung at least based on the rationale of simple substitution of one known element/structure with a suitable another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143.I.B).
Regarding claim 13, Chung teaches a light-emitting panel further comprising a signal transmission portion (114, Para 164), wherein the signal transmission portion is disposed on the first surface and electrically connected to each of the light-emitting elements (Fig. 13);
the light-emitting panel further comprises a connection portion (circular depiction at the front and back of the substrate, Fig. 13/14), wherein the connection portion comprises first connection portions (circular depiction at the front of the substrate, Fig. 13) and a second connection portion (circular depiction at the back of the substrate, Fig. 14) connected to each of the first connection portions (Fig. 12), the first connection portions each are disposed in a respective one of the first connection vias (Fig. 12), and the second connection portion is disposed on the second surface (Fig. 14); and
the first connection portions each are electrically connected to the signal transmission portion (Fig. 13), and the second connection portion is electrically connected to the at least one of the driver chips (Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 14, Chung teaches a light-emitting panel wherein the second connection portion is in contact with and electrically connected to the at least one of the driver chips (Fig. 14); or
the light-emitting panel further comprises a pad structure, wherein the pad structure comprises a plurality of pads, and at least one of the plurality of pads is electrically connected to the second connection portion and the at least one of the driver chips respectively.
Regarding claim 16, the modified invention of Chung teaches the limitation of claim 1 upon which it depends.
The modified invention does not specifically disclose the limitation of claim 16.
Referring to invention of Chung teaches an alternate light-emitting panel wherein driver chip 130 is electrically connected to more than one of the light-emitting elements respectively through more than one of the first connection vias (Para 163, wherein the driver is connected to the anodes of plurality of LEDs, e.g., Fig. 25).
In view of such teaching by Chung, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the modified invention comprise the teaching of Chung to maximize surface area usage and/or reduce the usage of multiple device (such multiple driver chips).
Regarding claim 17, Cung teaches a light-emitting panel wherein the light-emitting elements comprise micro light-emitting diodes or mini light-emitting diodes (Para 15).
Regarding claim 18, Chung teaches a display device (Para 2), comprising a light-emitting panel (100, Para 89), wherein the light-emitting panel comprises:
a substrate (110, Para 131) comprising a first surface and a second surface disposed opposite to each other (Fig. 8);
light-emitting elements (120s, Para 106) and driver chips (130), wherein the light-emitting elements are disposed on the first surface, and at least one of the driver chips is disposed on the second surface (Fig. 8); and
first connection vias (113, Para 162) penetrating through the substrate (Fig. 12/13), wherein the at least one of the driver chips is electrically connected to a respective one of the light-emitting elements through a respective one of the first connection vias (Para 163);
wherein the light-emitting panel further comprises a light-emitting region (entire light emitting surface of display device Fig. 13), the light-emitting region comprises a plurality of light-emitting subregions (Fig. 13 –where the display device would have multiple of the structure of Fig. 13), each of the plurality of light- emitting subregions comprises at least one of the light-emitting elements (Fig. 13);
a driver subchip (130, Para 163) is electrically connected to the at least one light-emitting element in at least one of the plurality of light-emitting subregions through a respective one of the first connection vias to transmit a drive signal and the at least one of the light- emitting elements in a same light-emitting region are driven by a same sub-driver chip (Para 163).
In the embodiment of Fig. 8-14, Chung does not specifically disclose the driver chips comprise a main driver chip and a plurality of driver subchips, the main driver chip is connected to each driver subchip of the plurality of driver subchips to transmit a control signal.
In the embodiment of Fig. 4, Chung discloses driving circuitry of a display device, wherein the driver chips of the display device comprise a main driver chip (300 and/or 500, Para 101) and a plurality of driver subchips (130s, Para 108), the main driver chip is connected to each driver subchip of the plurality of driver subchips to transmit a control signal (Para 101).
In view of such teaching by Chung according to the embodiment of Fig. 4, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the embodiment of Fig. 8-14 comprise the teachings of Fig. 4 at least based on the rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143.I.A), such as provide efficient imaging and/or timing control to the light-emitting elements.
Regarding claim 19, Chung teaches a backlight module, comprising a light-emitting panel (100, Para 89) and an optical structure disposed at a light exiting side of the light-emitting panel, wherein the light- emitting panel comprises:
a substrate (110, Para 131) comprising a first surface and a second surface disposed opposite to each other (Fig. 8);
light-emitting elements (120s, Para 106) and driver chips (130), wherein the light-emitting elements are disposed on the first surface, and at least one of the driver chips is disposed on the second surface (Fig. 8); and
first connection vias (113, Para 162) penetrating through the substrate (Fig. 12/13), wherein the at least one of the driver chips is electrically connected to a respective one of the light-emitting elements through a respective one of the first connection vias (Para 163);
wherein the light-emitting panel further comprises a light-emitting region (entire light emitting surface of display device Fig. 13), the light-emitting region comprises a plurality of light-emitting subregions (Fig. 13 –where the display device would have multiple of the structure of Fig. 13), each of the plurality of light- emitting subregions comprises at least one of the light-emitting elements (Fig. 13);
a driver subchip (130, Para 163) is electrically connected to the at least one light-emitting element in at least one of the plurality of light-emitting subregions through a respective one of the first connection vias to transmit a drive signal and the at least one of the light- emitting elements in a same light-emitting region are driven by a same sub-driver chip (Para 163).
In the embodiment of Fig. 8-14, Chung does not specifically disclose the driver chips comprise a main driver chip and a plurality of driver subchips, the main driver chip is connected to each driver subchip of the plurality of driver subchips to transmit a control signal.
In the embodiment of Fig. 4, Chung discloses driving circuitry of a display device, wherein the driver chips of the display device comprise a main driver chip (300 and/or 500, Para 101) and a plurality of driver subchips (130s, Para 108), the main driver chip is connected to each driver subchip of the plurality of driver subchips to transmit a control signal (Para 101).
In view of such teaching by Chung according to the embodiment of Fig. 4, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the embodiment of Fig. 8-14 comprise the teachings of Fig. 4 at least based on the rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143.I.A), such as provide efficient imaging and/or timing control to the light-emitting elements.
Regarding claim 20, the modified device of Chung teaches a display device, comprising the backlight module according to claim 19 (i.e., the modified device of Chung).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISMAIL A MUSE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812