DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the second layer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Further it is unclear where the second layer is located with respect to the package substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2022/0210925) in view of May et al. (US 2020/0118917).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses, as shown in Figures 1-12, a package substrate comprising:
a first layer (110);
a second layer (120) over the first layer, wherein the second layer comprises a dielectric material; and
fillers (125) within the second layer, wherein the fillers have a volume fraction that is less than approximately 0.2 [0031].
Yang does not disclose the dielectric material including sulfur. However, May et al. discloses a dielectric material (150) including sulfur (the crosslink (9) has S, (10) has HS, and (11) HS and SH). Note Figures 1A-2C and [0044] of May et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the dielectric material of Yang including sulfur, such as taught by May et al. in order to further improve the adhesion between layers.
Regarding claim 2, Yang and May et al. disclose the volume fraction is less than approximately 0.1 [0031].
Regarding claim 3, Yang and May et al. do not disclose the claimed volume fraction. However, the selection of these parameters such as energy, concentration, temperature, time, speed, molar fraction, depth, thickness, volume fraction, etc., would have been obvious and involve routine optimization which has been held to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. "Normally, it is to be expected that a change in energy, concentration, temperature, time, molar fraction, depth, thickness, volume fraction, etc., or in combination of the parameters would be an unpatentable modification. Under some circumstances, however, changes such as these may impart patentability to a process if the particular ranges claimed produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely degree from the results of the prior art... such ranges are termed "critical ranges and the applicant has the burden of proving such criticality.... More particularly, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Alter 105 USPQ233, 255 (CCPA 1955). See also In re Waite 77 USPQ 586 (CCPA 1948); In re Scherl 70 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1946); In re Irmscher 66 USPQ 314 (CCPA 1945); In re Norman 66 USPQ 308 (CCPA 1945); In re Swenson 56 USPQ 372 (CCPA 1942); In re Sola 25 USPQ 433 (CCPA 1935); In re Dreyfus 24 USPQ 52 (CCPA 1934).
Regarding to claims 4-7, Yang and May et al. disclose all of the claimed limitations except material of the fillers. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the fillers of Yang and May et al. having the materials as that claimed by Applicant, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 9, Yang and May et al. discloses the fillers have a length that is approximately 10nm or greater [0031]. Yang and May et al. do not disclose the claimed thickness of the fillers. However, the selection of these parameters such as energy, concentration, temperature, time, speed, molar fraction, depth, thickness, volume fraction, etc., would have been obvious and involve routine optimization which has been held to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. "Normally, it is to be expected that a change in energy, concentration, temperature, time, molar fraction, depth, thickness, volume fraction, etc., or in combination of the parameters would be an unpatentable modification. Under some circumstances, however, changes such as these may impart patentability to a process if the particular ranges claimed produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely degree from the results of the prior art... such ranges are termed "critical ranges and the applicant has the burden of proving such criticality.... More particularly, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Alter 105 USPQ233, 255 (CCPA 1955). See also In re Waite 77 USPQ 586 (CCPA 1948); In re Scherl 70 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1946); In re Irmscher 66 USPQ 314 (CCPA 1945); In re Norman 66 USPQ 308 (CCPA 1945); In re Swenson 56 USPQ 372 (CCPA 1942); In re Sola 25 USPQ 433 (CCPA 1935); In re Dreyfus 24 USPQ 52 (CCPA 1934).
Regarding claim 10, Yang and May et al. disclose the substrate further comprising: a via (150) through the second layer, wherein the via comprises an electrically conductive material [0049].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2022/0210925) in view of May et al. (US 2020/0118917) and further in view of Shin (US 2022/0183155).
Yang and May et al. disclose the claimed invention including the package substrate as explained in the above rejection. Yang and May et al. do not disclose the dielectric material comprises a photoimageable dielectric (PID) material. However, Shin discloses a package substrate having buildup layers (102) comprising a photoimageable dielectric (PID). Note Figures 3-7 and [0037], [0043], [0064] of Shin. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the dielectric layer of Yang comprising PID, such as taught by Shin in order to easily form a fine pattern.
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2022/0210925) in view of Shin (US 2022/0183155).
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses, as shown in Figures 1-12, a package substrate comprising:
a core (CL); and
buildup layers (UB,LB) over and under the core, wherein the buildup layers comprise:
a dielectric layer (120,220) with two dimensional (2D) filler particles (125, [0031]) that have a volume fraction that is approximately 0.1 or less [0031].
Yang does not disclose the dielectric layer is a photoimageable dielectric (PID). However, Shin discloses a package substrate having buildup layers (102) comprising a photoimageable dielectric (PID). Note Figures 3-7 and [0037], [0043], [0064] of Shin. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the dielectric layer of Yang comprising PID, such as taught by Shin in order to easily form a fine pattern.
Regarding to claims 12-15 and 19, Yang and Shin disclose all of the claimed limitations except material of the fillers. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the fillers of Yang and Shin having the materials as that claimed by Applicant, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 16, Yang and Shin disclose the package substate further comprising electrically conductive (135,150) routing through the buildup layers.
Regarding claim 17, Yang and Shin disclose a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the second layer is approximately 25pm/K or less [0049].
Regarding claim 18, Yang discloses, as shown in Figures, a package substrate comprising:
a dielectric layer (120,220) that has two dimensional (2D) filler particles (125, [0031]) that have a volume fraction that is approximately 0.1 or less [0031];
a die coupled to the package substrate.
Yang does not disclose the package substrate integrated with a board (main board 1010) to form an electronic system (1000), and the dielectric layer is a photoimageable dielectric (PID). However, Shin discloses a package substrate (100A-100D) integrated with a board to form an electronic system, and the dielectric layer (100,101,102) comprising a photoimageable dielectric (PID). Note Figures 1-7 and [0037], [0043], [0064] of Shin. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to integrate the package substrate of Yang with the board and to form dielectric layer of Yang comprising PID, such as taught by Shin in order to perform the desired function and to easily form a fine pattern.
Regarding claim 20, Yang and Shin disclose the electronic system is part of a personal computer, a server, a mobile device, a tablet, or an automobile [0031].
Conclusion
/HUNG K VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897