DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/22/24 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 3/30/23. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 212287917 U (“CN’917”) in view of CN 215676789 U (“CN’789”).
As to Claim 1:CN’917 discloses:
a measurement device comprising an unwinding mechanism configured to unwind a material tape, as shown by an unreeling mechanism including unreeling rollers for unwinding a strip material from a roll (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0025]–[0027]);
an adjustment mechanism arranged downstream of the unwinding mechanism and configured to adjust a tensioning force of the material tape, including first and second tension mechanisms with fixed and floating rollers and a tension cylinder for adjusting strip tension so that the strip is maintained in a tensioned state during conveyance (Fig. 5; [0028]–[0032]); and
a winding mechanism arranged downstream of the adjustment mechanism and configured to wind up the material tape, including a winding mechanism with winding rollers for winding the strip material after processing (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0033]–[0034]).
However, CN’917 does not expressly disclose a measurement mechanism configured to measure the size of the tensioned area. While CN’917 includes a CCD detection mechanism for inspecting the strip, the cited portions do not teach measuring the size (e.g., length, width, or area) of the portion of the material tape that is under controlled tension.
CN’789 discloses a measurement mechanism configured to measure the size of a material tape, including an optical measuring component, a graduated scale, and a backlight plate arranged to measure dimensional size of a strip region during conveyance (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0020]–[0023]). CN’789 teaches using such an optical measurement mechanism to obtain accurate size information of a tape portion as it passes through the device.
CN’917 and CN’789 are analogous arts because both references are directed to continuous handling and processing of strip- or tape-shaped materials, including unwinding, conveying, and downstream processing, and both address measurement and control of material characteristics during transport in industrial tape/strip handling equipment.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement device of CN’917 to include the optical size-measurement mechanism taught by CN’789 in order to measure the size of the tensioned area of the material tape while the tape is maintained under controlled tension, thereby improving measurement accuracy and process control during strip handling.
As to Claim 2:CN’917 discloses a measurement device according to claim 1 in which the adjustment mechanism includes multiple rollers used for tension control, including fixed rollers and floating rollers that are actively driven to convey and tension a material tape (Fig. 5; [0028]–[0032]).
CN’917 further discloses that the material tape is guided and wound around these rollers, with the tape following a wrapped path over the rollers of the tension mechanisms during conveyance (Fig. 5; [0029]–[0031]).
CN’917 also discloses that a portion of the material tape between rollers is maintained under controlled tension as a result of the tension mechanisms, thereby forming a tensioned region of the tape between adjacent rollers ([0029]–[0032]).
However, CN’917 does not expressly disclose that the adjustment mechanism comprises a first drive roller and a second drive roller, nor does it explicitly define the tensioned area as the portion of the material tape located specifically between the first drive roller and the second drive roller.
CN’789 discloses a tape-handling and measurement device in which a material tape is wound around two driven rollers, and a defined portion of the tape located between the two drive rollers is used as a controlled region suitable for measurement and processing (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0020]–[0023]). Thus, CN’789 teaches the concept of using first and second drive rollers with the tape wound around them and a clearly defined tape span between the two rollers that can serve as a functional region, such as a tensioned area.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the adjustment mechanism of CN’917 to employ a first drive roller and a second drive roller, as taught by CN’789, such that the material tape is wound around the first and second drive rollers and the portion of the tape between the two drive rollers forms the tensioned area, in order to provide a clearly defined and controllable tensioned region suitable for accurate measurement and stable tape handling.
As to Claim 3:CN’917 further discloses that the rollers of the tension mechanisms are actively controlled in response to changes in tape tension, thereby indicating that roller operation responds to tension-related feedback during operation ([0029]–[0032]).
However, CN’917 does not expressly disclose a detection unit configured to detect a tensioning force of the tensioned area, nor does it explicitly describe that a first drive roller and a second drive roller respond to detection results of such a detection unit.
CN’789 discloses a tape-handling device in which detected measurement results are used as control inputs for driven rollers, such that the operation of the rollers responds to detected conditions of the material tape during conveyance (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0020]–[0023]). Thus, CN’789 teaches the use of a detection unit whose detection results are used to control the operation of drive rollers, supplying the missing feedback-control relationship not expressly disclosed in CN’917.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement device of CN’917 to include a detection unit for detecting a tensioning force of the tensioned area, and to configure the first drive roller and the second drive roller to respond to detection results of the detection unit as taught by CN’789, in order to provide improved feedback control of tape tension and ensure stable and accurate handling of the material tape.
As to Claim 5:CN’917 further discloses that the material tape is guided and sequentially wound around a drive roller, an intermediate tension roller, and another drive roller, following a defined conveyance path through the adjustment mechanism (Fig. 5; [0029]–[0031]). CN’917 also discloses a measurement mechanism, such as a CCD detection mechanism, arranged to measure characteristics of the material tape during conveyance (Fig. 7; [0035]–[0037]).
However, CN’917 does not expressly disclose that the measurement mechanism and the second tension roller are arranged opposite each other on two sides in a thickness direction of the material tape, nor does CN’917 expressly disclose that the measurement mechanism measures the size of the part of the material tape wound on the second tension roller.
CN’789 discloses a tape-handling and measuring device in which an optical measurement mechanism is arranged on one side of a material tape and a supporting or reference structure is arranged on the opposite side, such that measurement is performed across the thickness direction of the tape to accurately determine the size of a defined portion of the tape (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0020]–[0023]). CN’789 thus teaches arranging a measurement mechanism opposite a tape-supporting element so that the measurement mechanism measures the size of the tape portion located at that position.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement device of CN’917 to arrange the measurement mechanism opposite the second tension roller across the thickness direction of the material tape, as taught by CN’789, so that the measurement mechanism measures the size of the part of the material tape wound on the second tension roller, in order to obtain more accurate and stable dimensional measurements of the tape while it is maintained under controlled tension.
As to Claim 6:
CN’917 further discloses that these opposing rollers are arranged on two sides in a thickness direction of the material tape and cooperate to drive and convey the tape through the adjustment mechanism (Fig. 5; [0029]–[0031]). CN’917 also discloses multiple such opposing roller arrangements within the adjustment mechanism, corresponding to alternative roller pairs that cooperate to convey the tape (Fig. 5).
However, CN’917 does not expressly disclose that the opposing rollers are specifically pinch rollers cooperating with corresponding first and/or second drive rollers, nor does CN’917 explicitly identify the opposing rollers as a first pinch roller and/or a second pinch roller arranged to cooperate with respective drive rollers.
CN’789 discloses a tape-handling device in which a drive roller and an opposing pinch roller are arranged on opposite sides of a material tape in the thickness direction, and the pinch roller and drive roller cooperate to convey the material tape in a controlled manner (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0020]–[0023]). Thus, CN’789 expressly teaches the use of pinch-roller arrangements for tape conveyance, supplying the specific pinch-roller terminology and structure not expressly set forth in CN’917.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the adjustment mechanism of CN’917 to implement the opposing roller pairs as first and/or second pinch rollers cooperating with corresponding drive rollers, as taught by CN’789, in order to provide reliable frictional engagement and controlled conveyance of the material tape on opposite sides of the tape thickness.
As to Claim 7:CN’917 further discloses that the measurement mechanism operates in coordination with the strip conveyance system controlled by rollers, such that measurement occurs during transport of the tape through the device ([0035]–[0037]).
However, CN’917 does not expressly disclose that a second drive roller is communicatively connected to the measurement mechanism, nor does CN’917 expressly disclose that the measurement mechanism measures the size of the tensioned area in response to the second drive roller.
CN’789 discloses a tape-handling and measurement device in which a measurement mechanism is coordinated with roller-driven conveyance, including control logic and communication relationships that link roller operation with measurement timing and execution (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0020]–[0023]). CN’789 thus teaches that measurement can be performed in response to the operation of a drive roller, and that roller signals can be communicatively connected to a measurement mechanism to trigger or synchronize dimensional measurement of a tape portion.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement device of CN’917 so that the second drive roller is communicatively connected to the measurement mechanism, as taught by CN’789, and to configure the measurement mechanism to measure the size of the tensioned area in response to the second drive roller, in order to synchronize measurement with tape conveyance and improve accuracy and consistency of size measurements.
As to Claim 8:
CN’917 further discloses that the adjustment mechanism is controlled during operation to maintain the material tape in a tensioned state, with the positions and forces of the tension mechanisms changing in response to variations in tape tension ([0029]–[0032]).
However, CN’917 does not expressly disclose a detection unit configured to detect a tensioning force of the tensioned area, nor does CN’917 explicitly disclose that the adjustment mechanism responds to detection results of such a detection unit.
CN’789 discloses a tape-handling device that includes a detection and measurement system configured to detect conditions of a material tape during conveyance and to provide detection results to a control unit, which then controls and adjusts tape-handling components based on those detection results (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0020]–[0023]). Thus, CN’789 teaches the use of a detection unit whose detection results are used as feedback to control an adjustment mechanism in a tape conveyance system.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement device of CN’917 to include a detection unit configured to detect a tensioning force of the tensioned area, and to configure the adjustment mechanism to respond to detection results of the detection unit as taught by CN’789, in order to provide feedback-based control of tape tension and improve stability and accuracy of the tensioning operation.
As to Claim 9:CN’917 discloses a measurement device according to claim 1 in which the unwinding mechanism comprises a feed roller around which a material tape is wound, as shown by the unreeling mechanism including unreeling rollers for holding and unwinding a strip material (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0025]–[0027]). CN’917 further discloses that the material tape is unwound from the feed roller during operation, indicating rotation of the feed roller to supply the tape to downstream components ([0025]–[0027]).
However, CN’917 does not expressly disclose a driving mechanism connected to the feed roller and configured to drive the feed roller to rotate, nor does CN’917 describe the structure of such a driving mechanism.
CN’789 discloses a tape-handling device in which a driving mechanism, such as a motor, is connected to a roller and configured to actively drive the roller to rotate in order to feed and unwind a material tape during measurement and conveyance (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0020]–[0023]). Thus, CN’789 teaches an explicit driving mechanism connected to a feed roller to rotate the roller and unwind the tape.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the unwinding mechanism of CN’917 to include a driving mechanism connected to the feed roller, as taught by CN’789, in order to actively drive the feed roller to rotate and reliably unwind the material tape during operation.
As to Claim 10:CN’917 discloses a measurement device according to claim 9 in which the adjustment mechanism comprises a drive roller, as shown by the driven rollers included in the first and second tension mechanisms that convey and regulate tension of the material tape (Fig. 5; [0028]–[0032]). CN’917 further discloses that the material tape is wound on the drive roller, with the tape following a wrapped path around the driven roller during conveyance (Fig. 5; [0029]–[0031]). CN’917 also discloses an unwinding mechanism upstream, including a feed roller from which the material tape is unwound (Fig. 1; [0025]–[0027]), and that the tape is maintained under controlled tension between upstream and downstream rollers during operation ([0029]–[0032]).
However, CN’917 does not expressly disclose that the part of the material tape located specifically between the first drive roller and the feed roller forms the tensioned area.
CN’789 discloses a tape-handling and measuring device in which a controlled tensioned region is defined between an upstream feed roller and a downstream drive roller during tape conveyance and measurement (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0020]–[0023]). CN’789 thus teaches that the portion of the material tape between a feed roller and a drive roller forms a tensioned area suitable for measurement and control.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement device of CN’917 to define the portion of the material tape located between the feed roller and the first drive roller as the tensioned area, as taught by CN’789, in order to clearly establish a controlled tensioned region for accurate measurement and stable tape handling.
As to Claim 11:
CN’917 further discloses tension-regulating structures such as floating rollers and tension cylinders that change position or applied force in response to variations in strip tension, thereby sensing changes in the tensioning force acting on the tensioned area (Fig. 5; [0028]–[0032]). CN’917 also discloses that the driven rollers and associated drive components are actively controlled during operation to regulate tape conveyance and tension ([0029]–[0032]).
However, CN’917 does not expressly disclose a detection unit configured to detect a tensioning force of the tensioned area, nor does CN’917 expressly disclose that the first drive roller and the driving mechanism respond to detection results of such a detection unit.
CN’789 discloses a tape-handling and measurement device that includes a detection and control architecture in which detected tape-related parameters are output as detection results to a control unit, and the driving mechanism and driven rollers are controlled in response to those detection results (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0020]–[0023]). Thus, CN’789 teaches configuring a system so that both a drive roller and its driving mechanism respond to detection results corresponding to conditions of the material tape, such as tension.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement device of CN’917 to include a detection unit configured to detect a tensioning force of the tensioned area, and to configure the first drive roller and the driving mechanism to respond to detection results of the detection unit as taught by CN’789, in order to provide feedback-based control of tape tension and improve stability and accuracy of the unwinding and conveying operation.
As to Claim 13:CN’917 discloses a measurement device according to claim 10 that includes a second tension roller, as shown by the plurality of rollers arranged in the tension mechanisms that contact the material tape to regulate tension (Fig. 5; [0028]–[0032]). CN’917 further discloses that the material tape is sequentially wound around a tension roller and a drive roller, with the tape routed along a conveyance path in which it wraps around a tension roller and then around the first drive roller of the adjustment mechanism (Fig. 5; [0029]–[0031]). CN’917 also discloses a measurement mechanism, such as a CCD detection mechanism, configured to measure characteristics of the material tape during conveyance (Fig. 7; [0035]–[0037]).
However, CN’917 does not expressly disclose that the measurement mechanism and the second tension roller are arranged opposite each other on two sides in a thickness direction of the material tape, nor does CN’917 expressly disclose that the measurement mechanism measures the size of the part of the material tape wound on the second tension roller.
CN’789 discloses a tape-handling and measuring device in which a measurement mechanism is arranged opposite a tape-supporting element on opposite sides of the tape thickness, such that the measurement mechanism measures the size of a tape portion located at that supported position (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0020]–[0023]). Thus, CN’789 teaches positioning a measurement mechanism opposite a roller or support element so that the size of the tape portion wound on that element is measured.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement device of CN’917 to arrange the measurement mechanism opposite the second tension roller across the thickness direction of the material tape, as taught by CN’789, so that the measurement mechanism measures the size of the part of the material tape wound on the second tension roller, in order to obtain accurate and stable size measurements while the tape is supported and tensioned.
As to Claim 14:CN’917 discloses a measurement device according to claim 1 that includes a measurement mechanism, specifically a CCD detection mechanism, configured to measure characteristics of a material tape during conveyance (Fig. 7; [0035]–[0037]). A CCD detection mechanism is a camera-based imaging device suitable for industrial measurement applications.
As to Claim 15:CN’917 discloses an electrode plate processing/production system that includes a provision device configured to provide an electrode plate, as shown by an unreeling mechanism supplying strip-shaped electrode material to downstream processing units (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0025]–[0027]). CN’917 further discloses a measurement device including an unwinding mechanism, an adjustment mechanism forming a tensioned area, a measurement mechanism, and a winding mechanism (Figs. 1, 5–7; [0028]–[0037]). CN’917 also discloses that the measurement mechanism is configured to measure characteristics of the electrode strip during conveyance while the strip is tensioned (Fig. 7; [0035]–[0037]).
However, CN’917 does not expressly disclose that the system is configured such that the measurement device measures the size of the tensioned area.
CN’789 discloses a strip-handling production system in which a measurement device is integrated into a processing line and configured to measure the size of a tensioned strip region during processing (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0020]–[0023]). Thus, CN’789 teaches configuring a measurement device within a production system specifically to measure the size of a tensioned area of a strip or tape.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the electrode plate production system of CN’917 such that the measurement device measures the size of the tensioned area, as taught by CN’789, in order to enable accurate dimensional monitoring of the electrode plate during tensioned conveyance within the production system.
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over CN 212287917 U (“CN’917”) in view of CN 215676789 U (“CN’789”), as applied to Claim 3 and 11 above, and further in view of JP 2004-206818 A (“JP’818”).
As to Claim 4:CN’917 discloses a measurement device according to claim 3 that further comprises a tension roller, as shown by the tension swing rollers and floating rollers arranged in the tension mechanisms and configured to contact the material tape (Fig. 5; [0028]–[0032]). CN’917 further discloses that the material tape is guided in a sequential path around multiple rollers, including driven rollers and intermediate tension rollers, such that the tape is sequentially wound around a drive roller, a tension roller, and another drive roller during conveyance (Fig. 5; [0029]–[0031]).
However, CN’917 does not disclose that the detection unit comprises a pressure sensor and a calculation unit, nor does CN’917 disclose that a pressure sensor measures a pressure applied to the first tension roller by the material tape, is communicatively connected to a calculation unit, or that the calculation unit calculates a tensioning force of the material tape according to detection results of the pressure sensor.
CN’789 discloses a tape-handling device having a measurement and control architecture in which detected signals obtained during tape conveyance are transmitted to a processing unit for calculation and control of tape handling parameters (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0020]–[0023]), thereby teaching the use of sensor signals communicated to a calculation or processing unit within a tape conveyance system.
JP’818 discloses a tension detecting unit including a roller contacted by a running tape and a sensor (e.g., strain gauge) that detects deformation or force applied to the roller by the tape, and further discloses a control/calculation unit that receives the detection results and calculates a force corresponding to the tape tension based on the detected signal ([0011]–[0018], [0024]–[0030]). Thus, JP’818 teaches a pressure/force sensor associated with a tension roller, communication of the sensor output to a calculation unit, and calculation of tape tension from the sensor output.
CN’917, CN’789, and JP’818 are analogous arts because each reference relates to continuous handling and tension control of strip- or tape-shaped materials using rollers and sensor-based feedback, and each addresses controlling or determining tape tension during conveyance in industrial equipment.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement device of CN’917 to include a detection unit comprising a pressure sensor associated with the first tension roller and a calculation unit, as taught by JP’818, and to integrate the sensor signal communication and processing architecture taught by CN’789, in order to calculate the tensioning force of the material tape based on pressure applied to the tension roller and thereby improve feedback control and accuracy of tension regulation during tape handling.
As to Claim 12:CN’917 discloses a measurement device according to claim 11 that includes a first tension roller, as shown by rollers arranged within the tension mechanisms that contact the material tape to regulate tension (Fig. 5; [0028]–[0032]). CN’917 further discloses that the material tape is sequentially wound around a tension roller and a drive roller, with the tape following a wrapped conveyance path around these rollers during operation (Fig. 5; [0029]–[0031]).
However, CN’917 does not disclose that the detection unit comprises a pressure sensor and a calculation unit, nor does CN’917 disclose that the pressure sensor measures a pressure applied to the first tension roller by the material tape, that the pressure sensor is communicatively connected to the calculation unit, or that the calculation unit calculates the tensioning force of the material tape according to detection results of the pressure sensor.
CN’789 discloses a tape-handling and measurement system that includes a detection and control architecture, in which sensor detection results are communicated to a processing or control unit for use in regulating tape-handling components (Abstract; Fig. 1; [0020]–[0023]). JP’818 further discloses a tension detection unit in which a sensor (e.g., a strain gauge) detects force or pressure applied to a roller by a running tape, and a control/calculation unit receives the detection results and calculates tape tension or force-related values based on the sensor output ([0028]–[0029], [0036]–[0039]). Thus, CN’789 and JP’818 together teach a detection unit comprising a pressure sensor communicatively connected to a calculation unit, and calculating a tensioning force of a material tape according to detection results of the pressure sensor.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the measurement device of CN’917 to include, as taught by CN’789 and JP’818, a detection unit comprising a pressure sensor configured to measure pressure applied to the first tension roller by the material tape and a calculation unit communicatively connected to the pressure sensor to calculate the tensioning force of the material tape, in order to provide feedback-based determination and control of tape tension for improved measurement accuracy and operational stability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
EP 1789211 teaches camera-based dimensional measurement of a moving strip supported by rollers under tension (relevant to Claims 1, 5, 7, 13, and 15).
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723