DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s reply filed on 03 June 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 21 April 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/581,751 in view of Shih (U.S. Pub. 2018/0102311) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0081236) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0028486) in view of Pyo et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0175001).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 1. Claim 1 of the copending application appears not to explicitly disclose the interconnect bridge is over a conductor;
the second dielectric layer over the conductor;
the third via above and coupled to a fourth via, the fourth via laterally spaced apart from the interconnect bridge;
the third dielectric layer over the conductor;
the second conductive trace coupled to the second via;
a third conductive trace in the third dielectric layer, the third conductive trace coupled to the third via;
a fifth via in the third dielectric layer, the fifth via coupled to the first conductive trace;
a sixth via in the third dielectric layer, the sixth via coupled to the second conductive trace;
a seventh vias in the third dielectric layer, the seventh via coupled to the third conductive trace;
the first die over the conductor, and the first die coupled to the fifth via and to the sixth via and to the seventh via; and
wherein the conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the interconnect bridge.
Shih in Fig. 14 (see annotated Fig. 14 below) discloses the interconnect bridge (101) is over a conductor (uppermost layer of 714)
the second dielectric layer (202 and 550) over the conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
the third via (upper portion of 510) above and coupled to a fourth via (lower portion of 510), the fourth via (lower portion of 510) laterally spaced apart from the interconnect bridge (101);
the third dielectric layer (912) over the conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
the second conductive trace coupled to the second via;
a third conductive trace in the third dielectric layer (912), the third conductive trace coupled to the third via (upper portion of 510);
a fifth via in the third dielectric layer (912), the fifth via coupled to the first conductive trace;
a sixth via in the third dielectric layer (912), the sixth via coupled to the second conductive trace;
a seventh via in the third dielectric layer (912), the seventh via coupled to the third conductive trace;
the first die (11) over the conductor (uppermost layer of 714), and the first die (11) coupled to the fifth via and to the sixth via and to the seventh via;
wherein the conductor (uppermost layer of 714) is to receive a power supply voltage signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have made the interconnect bridge is over a conductor;
the second dielectric layer over the conductor;
the third via above and coupled to a fourth via, the fourth via laterally spaced apart from the interconnect bridge;
the third dielectric layer over the conductor;
the second conductive trace coupled to the second via;
a third conductive trace in the third dielectric layer, the third conductive trace coupled to the third via;
a fifth via in the third dielectric layer, the fifth via coupled to the first conductive trace;
a sixth via in the third dielectric layer, the sixth via coupled to the second conductive trace;
a seventh vias in the third dielectric layer, the seventh via coupled to the third conductive trace;
the first die over the conductor, and the first die coupled to the fifth via and to the sixth via and to the seventh via; and
wherein the conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device while protecting the surrounding elements.
Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose an adhesive layer vertically between the interconnect bridge and the conductor, the adhesive in contact with the silicon die of the interconnect bridge.
Yang et al., however, discloses, in Fig. 16, an adhesive layer (31) vertically between the interconnect bridge (10’) and the conductor (23), the adhesive layer in contact with the silicon die of the interconnect bridge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih, as disclosed by Yang et al., to have made an adhesive layer vertically between the interconnect bridge and the conductor, the adhesive layer in contact with the silicon die of the interconnect bridge in order to better secure the interconnect bridge to the underlying layer.
Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. appears not to explicitly disclose the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent the adhesive layer; and
the fourth via in the first dielectric layer.
Liu et al., however, discloses, in Figs. 3a-3i, the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) laterally adjacent the adhesive layer (105b); and
the fourth via (104c) in the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al., as disclosed by Liu et al., to have made the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent the adhesive layer; and
the fourth via in the first dielectric layer in order to route electrical signal to different parts of the package (paragraph 22 of Liu et al.).
Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the interconnect bridge.
Pyo et al., however, in Fig. 5 and in paragraph 46, discloses the conductor (140 below 200) is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the interconnect bridge (220).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Pyo et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the interconnect bridge as disclosed by Pyo et al. for power distribution disclosed by claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the interconnect bridge disclosed by Pyo et al. for the power distribution disclosed by claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a suitable power supply to the first die and the second die. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 2 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 3, claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the limitations of claim 3. Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the first dielectric layer is in contact with the conductor
Liu et al. further discloses, in Figs. 3a-3i and in paragraph 32, further discloses the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) is in contact with the conductor (104b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al., as further disclosed by Liu et al., to have made the first dielectric layer is in contact with the conductor in order to protect the surrounding elements.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 4 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 5, claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the limitations of claim 5 of the instant application. Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. appears not to explicitly disclose a fourth dielectric layer below the first dielectric layer.
Shih, however, discloses, in Fig. 14, a fourth dielectric layer (712) below the second dielectric layer (202 and 550) and the interconnect bridge (101)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al., as further disclosed by Shih, to have made a fourth dielectric layer below the second dielectric layer and the interconnect bridge in order to protect the surrounding elements.
Since Liu et al. discloses, in Fig. 3i, the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) is under the second dielectric layer (104a in N-1) and adjacent the interconnect bridge (105), claim 1 of the copending application Shih in view of Liu et al. would disclose a fourth dielectric layer below the first dielectric layer.
Regarding claim 6, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 6 of the instant application, and Shih further discloses, in Fig. 14, wherein the conductor (uppermost layer of 714) comprises multiple regions that are electrically isolated from one another.
Regarding claim 8, claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the limitations of claim 8. Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the conductor is to receive a data signal.
Shih, however, in paragraph 61, further discloses, wherein the conductor (uppermost layer of 714) is to receive a data signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al., as further disclosed by Shih, to have made the conductor is to receive a data signal in order to be able to provide an input signal.
Regarding claim 9, claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the limitations of claim 9. Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. appears not to explicitly disclose one or more through silicon vias in the silicon die of the interconnect bridge.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14, further discloses, one or more through silicon vias (110) in the silicon die of the interconnect bridge (101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al., as further disclosed by Shih, to have made one or more through silicon vias in the silicon die of the interconnect bridge in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device.
Regarding claims 10-12, claims 3, 5 and 6, respectively, of the copending application disclose the limitations of claims 10-12 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 13, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 13. Claim 1 of the copending application appears not to explicitly disclose the silicon die on a backside conductor;
the second dielectric over the backside conductor;
the third dielectric over the backside conductor;
the second conductor coupled to the second conductive via;
a third conductor in the third dielectric, the third conductor above and coupled to the third conductive via, the fourth via laterally spaced apart from the interconnect bridge;
a fifth conductive via, a sixth conductive via, and a seventh conductive via in the third dielectric, the fifth conductive via coupled to the first conductor, the sixth conductive via coupled to the second conductor, and the seventh conductive via coupled to the third conductor;
the main die over the conductor, and the main die coupled to the fifth conductive via and to the sixth conductive via and to the seventh conductive via;
wherein the backside conductor is to receive a power supply signal to provide vertical power distribution through the silicon die.
Shih in Fig. 14 (see annotated Fig. 14 below) discloses the silicon die (101) over a backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
the third conductive via (upper portion of 510) coupled to a fourth conductive via (lower portion of 510);
the third dielectric (912) over the backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
the second conductor coupled to the second conductive via;
a third conductor in the third dielectric (912), the third conductor above and coupled to the third conductive via (upper portion of 510), the fourth via (lower portion of 510) laterally spaced apart from an interconnect bridge (101);
a fifth conductive via, a sixth conductive via, and a seventh conductive via in the third dielectric (912), the fifth conductive via coupled to the first conductor, the sixth conductive via coupled to the second conductor, and the seventh conductive via coupled to the third conductor;
the main die (11) over the conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
wherein the backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714) is to receive a power supply voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have made the silicon die on a backside conductor;
the second dielectric over the backside conductor;
the third dielectric over the backside conductor;
the second conductor coupled to the second conductive via;
a third conductor in the third dielectric, the third conductor above and coupled to the third conductive via, the fourth via laterally spaced apart from the interconnect bridge;
a fifth conductive via, a sixth conductive via, and a seventh conductive via in the third dielectric, the fifth conductive via coupled to the first conductor, the sixth conductive via coupled to the second conductor, and the seventh conductive via coupled to the third conductor;
the main die over the conductor, and the main die coupled to the fifth conductive via and to the sixth conductive via and to the seventh conductive via;
wherein the backside conductor is to receive a power supply signal in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device while protecting the surrounding elements.
Claim 1 of the copending application appears not to explicitly disclose a non-conductive intervening layer vertically between the silicon die and the backside conductor, the non-conductive intervening layer in contact with the silicon die.
Yang et al., however, discloses, in Fig. 16, a non-conductive intervening layer (31) vertically between the silicon die (10’) and the backside conductor (23), the non-conductive intervening layer in contact with the silicon die.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Yang et al., to have made a non-conductive intervening layer vertically between the silicon die and the backside conductor, the non-conductive intervening layer in contact with the silicon die in order to better secure the silicon die to the underlying layer.
Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Yang et al. appears not to explicitly disclose the first dielectric laterally adjacent the non-conductive intervening layer; and
the fourth conductive via in the first dielectric.
Liu et al., however, discloses, in Figs. 3a-3i, the first dielectric (104a in N-2) laterally adjacent the intervening layer (105b); and
the fourth conductive via (104c) in the first dielectric (104a in N-2) in order to route electrical signal to different parts of the package.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih, as disclosed by Liu et al., to have made the first dielectric laterally adjacent the non-conductive intervening layer; and
the fourth conductive via in the first dielectric in order to route electrical signal to different parts of the package (paragraph 22 of Liu et al.).
Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the silicon die.
Pyo et al., however, in Fig. 5 and in paragraph 46, discloses the conductor (140 below 200) is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the interconnect bridge (220).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Pyo et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the die as disclosed by Pyo et al. for power distribution disclosed by claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the die disclosed by Pyo et al. for the power distribution disclosed by claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a suitable power supply to the main die and the second die. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Regarding claim 14, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 14 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 15, claim 4 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the limitations of claim 15. Claim 4 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. appears not to explicitly disclose the first dielectric is in contact with the backside conductor.
Liu et al., however, further discloses, in Fig. 3g, wherein the first dielectric (104a in N-2) is in contact with the backside conductor (104b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al., as further disclosed by Liu et al., to have made the first dielectric is in contact with the backside conductor in order to protect the surrounding elements.
Regarding claim 16, claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the limitations of claim 16 of the instant application. Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. appears not to explicitly disclose a fourth dielectric layer below the first dielectric layer.
Shih, however, discloses, in Fig. 14, a fourth dielectric layer (712) below the second dielectric layer (202 and 550) and the interconnect bridge (101)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al., as further disclosed by Shih, to have made a fourth dielectric layer below the second dielectric layer and the interconnect bridge in order to protect the surrounding elements.
Since Liu et al. discloses, in Fig. 3i, the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) is under the second dielectric layer (104a in N-1) and adjacent the interconnect bridge (105), claim 1 of the copending application Shih in view of Liu et al. would disclose a fourth dielectric layer below the first dielectric layer.
Regarding claim 17, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 17 of the instant application, and Shih further discloses, in Fig. 14, wherein the conductor (uppermost layer of 714) comprises multiple regions that are electrically isolated from one another.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/581,751 in view of Shih (U.S. Pub. 2018/0102311) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0081236) in view of Pyo et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0175001).
Regarding claim 18, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 18. Claim 1 of the copending application also appears not to explicitly disclose a printed circuit board; and
the package substrate coupled to a printed circuit board.
Shih, however, in paragraph 52, discloses solder balls 801 may have a ball pitch that is equal to the ball pad pitch on a printed circuit board.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have a printed circuit board; and the package substrate coupled to a printed circuit board since the solder balls are spaced to have the same spacing as pads on a printed circuit board.
Further, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have a printed circuit board; and the package substrate coupled to a printed circuit board in order to connect the package substrate to other chips.
Claim 1 of the copending application also appears not to explicitly disclose a backside conductor;
the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge over the backside conductor;
the third via above and coupled to a fourth via below the first level, the fourth via laterally spaced apart from the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge;
a third conducive trace in a second level, the second level above the first level, the second conductive trace coupled to the second via, the third conducive trace coupled to the third via;
a fifth via, a sixth via and a seventh via in a third level, the third level above the second level, the fifth via coupled to the first conductive trace, the sixth via coupled to the second conductive trace, and the seventh via coupled to the third conductive trace;
the first die over the package substrate and over the backside conductor, the first die coupled to the fifth via and to the sixth via and to the seventh via; and
the second die over the package substrate.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14 (see annotated Fig. 14 below), discloses a backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge (101) over the backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
the third via (upper portion of 510) above and coupled to a fourth via (lower portion of 510) below the first level, the fourth via (lower portion of 510) laterally spaced apart from the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge (101);
a third conductive trace in a second level, the second level above the first level, the second conductive trace coupled to the second via, and the third conductive trace coupled to the third via (upper portion of 510);
a fifth via, a sixth via and a seventh via in a third level, the third level above the second level, the fifth via coupled to the first conductive trace, the sixth via coupled to the second conductive trace, and the seventh via coupled to the third conductive trace;
the first die (11) over the package substrate (10), and
the second die (12) over the package substrate (10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have made a backside conductor;
the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge over the backside conductor;
the third via above and coupled to a fourth via below the first level, the fourth via laterally spaced apart from the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge;
a third conducive trace in a second level, the second level above the first level, the second conductive trace coupled to the second via, the third conducive trace coupled to the third via;
a fifth via, a sixth via and a seventh via in a third level, the third level above the second level, the fifth via coupled to the first conductive trace, the sixth via coupled to the second conductive trace, and the seventh via coupled to the third conductive trace;
the first die over the package substrate and over the backside conductor, the first die coupled to the fifth via and to the sixth via and to the seventh via; and
the second die over the package substrate in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device while protecting the surrounding elements.
Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose an adhesive layer vertically between the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge and the backside conductor, the adhesive layer in contact with the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge;
Yang et al., however, discloses, in Fig. 16, an adhesive layer (31) vertically between the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge (10’) and the backside conductor (23), the adhesive layer in contact with the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih, as disclosed by Yang et al., to have made an adhesive layer vertically between the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge and the backside conductor, the adhesive layer in contact with the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge in order to better secure the interconnect bridge to the underlying layer.
Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical distribution through the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge.
Pyo et al., however, in Fig. 5 and in paragraph 46, discloses the backside conductor (140 below 200) is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the multi-die interconnect bridge (220).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Pyo et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge as disclosed by Pyo et al. for power distribution disclosed by Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge disclosed by Pyo et al. for the power distribution disclosed by S Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih hih would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a suitable power supply to the first die and the second die. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Regarding claim 19, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 19 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 20, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 20 of the instant application, and Shih further discloses, in Fig. 14, wherein the conductor (uppermost layer of 714) comprises multiple regions that are electrically isolated from one another.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/716,928 in view of Shih (U.S. Pub. 2018/0102311) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0081236) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0028486) in view of Pyo et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0175001).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 1. Claim 1 of the copending application appears not to explicitly disclose the interconnect bridge is over a conductor;
the second dielectric layer over the conductor;
the third via above and coupled to a fourth via in the first dielectric layer, the fourth via laterally spaced apart from the interconnect bridge;
the third dielectric layer over the conductor;
a first conductive trace in the third dielectric layer, the first conductive trace coupled to the first via;
a second conductive trace in the third dielectric layer, the second conductive trace coupled the second via;
a third conductive trace in the third dielectric layer, the third conductive trace coupled to the third via;
a fifth via in the third dielectric layer, the fifth via coupled to the first conductive trace;
a sixth via in the third dielectric layer, the sixth via coupled to the second conductive trace;
a seventh via in the third dielectric layer, the seventh via coupled to the third conductive trace;
the first die over the conductor, the first die coupled to the fifth via and to the sixth via and to the seventh via; and
wherein the conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the interconnect bridge.
Shih, however in Fig. 14 (see annotated Fig. 14 below) discloses the interconnect bridge (101) is over a conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
the second dielectric layer (202 and 550) over the conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
the third via (upper portion of 510) above and coupled to a fourth via (lower portion of 510), the fourth via (lower portion of 510) laterally spaced apart from the interconnect bridge (101);
the third dielectric layer (912) over the conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
a first conductive trace in the third dielectric layer (912), the first conductive trace coupled to the first via;
a second conductive trace in the third dielectric layer (912), the second conductive trace coupled to the second via;
a third conductive trace in the third dielectric layer (912), the third conductive trace coupled to the third via (upper portion of 510);
a fifth via in the third dielectric layer (912), the fifth via coupled to the first conductive trace;
a sixth via in the third dielectric layer (912), the sixth via coupled to the second conductive trace;
a seventh via in the third dielectric layer (912), the seventh via coupled to the third conductive trace;
the first die (11) over the conductor (uppermost layer of 714), and the first die (11) coupled to the fifth via and to the sixth via and to the seventh via; and
wherein the conductor (uppermost layer of 714) is to receive a power supply voltage signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have made the interconnect bridge is over a conductor;
the second dielectric layer over the conductor;
the third via above and coupled to a fourth via in the first dielectric layer, the fourth via laterally spaced apart from the interconnect bridge;
the third dielectric layer over the conductor;
a first conductive trace in the third dielectric layer, the first conductive trace coupled to the first via;
a second conductive trace in the third dielectric layer, the second conductive trace coupled the second via;
a third conductive trace in the third dielectric layer, the third conductive trace coupled to the third via;
a fifth via in the third dielectric layer, the fifth via coupled to the first conductive trace;
a sixth via in the third dielectric layer, the sixth via coupled to the second conductive trace;
a seventh via in the third dielectric layer, the seventh via coupled to the third conductive trace;
the first die over the conductor, the first die coupled to the fifth via and to the sixth via and to the seventh via; and
wherein the conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device while protecting the surrounding elements.
Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose an adhesive layer vertically between the interconnect bridge and the conductor, the adhesive layer in contact with the silicon die of the interconnect bridge.
Yang et al., however, discloses, in Fig. 16, an adhesive layer (31) vertically between the interconnect bridge (10’) and the conductor (23), the adhesive layer in contact with the silicon die of the interconnect bridge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Yang et al., to have made an adhesive layer vertically between the interconnect bridge and the conductor, the adhesive layer in contact with the silicon die of the interconnect bridge.
Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. appears not to explicitly disclose the first dielectric laterally adjacent the adhsive layer; and
the fourth conductive via in the first dielectric.
Liu et al., however, discloses, in Figs. 3a-3i, the first dielectric (104a in N-2) laterally adjacent the adhesive layer (105b); and
the fourth conductive via (104c) in the first dielectric (104a in N-2) in order to route electrical signal to different parts of the package.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al., as disclosed by Liu et al., to have made the first dielectric laterally adjacent the adhesive layer; and
the fourth conductive via in the first dielectric in order to route electrical signal to different parts of the package (paragraph 22 of Liu et al.).
Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the interconnect bridge.
Pyo et al., however, in Fig. 5 and in paragraph 46, discloses the conductor (140 below 200) is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the interconnect bridge (220).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Pyo et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the interconnect bridge as disclosed by Pyo et al. for power distribution disclosed by claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the interconnect bridge disclosed by Pyo et al. for the power distribution disclosed by claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a suitable power supply to the main die and the second die. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 2 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 3, claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the limitations of claim 3. Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the first dielectric layer is in contact with the conductor
Liu et al. further discloses, in Figs. 3a-3i and in paragraph 32, further discloses the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) is in contact with the conductor (104b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al., as further disclosed by Liu et al., to have made the first dielectric layer is in contact with the conductor in order to protect the surrounding elements.
Regarding claim 4, claim 6 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 4 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 5, claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the limitations of claim 5 of the instant application. Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. appears not to explicitly disclose a fourth dielectric layer below the first dielectric layer.
Shih, however, discloses, in Fig. 14, a fourth dielectric layer (712) below the second dielectric layer (202 and 550) and the interconnect bridge (101)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al., as further disclosed by Shih, to have made a fourth dielectric layer below the second dielectric layer and the interconnect bridge in order to protect the surrounding elements.
Since Liu et al. discloses, in Fig. 3i, the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) is under the second dielectric layer (104a in N-1) and adjacent the interconnect bridge (105), claim 1 of the copending application Shih in view of Liu et al. would disclose a fourth dielectric layer below the first dielectric layer.
Regarding claim 6, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 6 of the instant application, and Shih further discloses, in Fig. 14, wherein the conductor (uppermost layer of 714) comprises multiple regions that are electrically isolated from one another.
Regarding claim 8, claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the limitations of claim 8. Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the conductor is to receive a data signal.
Shih, however, in paragraph 61, further discloses, wherein the conductor (uppermost layer of 714) is to receive a data signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al., as further disclosed by Shih, to have made the conductor is to receive a data signal in order to be able to provide an input signal.
Regarding claim 9, claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the limitations of claim 9. Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. appears not to explicitly disclose one or more through silicon vias in the silicon die of the interconnect bridge.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14, further discloses, one or more through silicon vias (110) in the silicon die of the interconnect bridge (101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al., as further disclosed by Shih, to have made one or more through silicon vias in the silicon die of the interconnect bridge in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device.
Regarding claims 10-12, claims 5, 7 and 8, respectively, of the copending application disclose the limitations of claims 10-12 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 13, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 13. Claim 1 of the copending application appears not to explicitly disclose the silicon die on a backside conductor;
the second dielectric over the backside conductor;
the third conductive via coupled to a fourth conductive via;
the third dielectric over the backside conductor;
a first conductor and a second conductor in the third dielectric, the first conductor coupled to the first conductive via, and the second conductor coupled to the second conductive via;
a third conductor in the third dielectric, the third conductor above and coupled to the third conductive via, the fourth via laterally spaced apart from the interconnect bridge;
a fifth conductive via, a sixth conductive via, and a seventh conductive via in the third dielectric, the fifth conductive via coupled to the first conductor, the sixth conductive via coupled to the second conductor, and the seventh conductive via coupled to the third conductor;
the main die over the conductor, and the main die coupled to the fifth conductive via and to the sixth conductive via and to the seventh conductive via;
wherein the backside conductor is to receive a power supply signal to provide vertical power distribution through the silicon die.
Shih in Fig. 14 (see annotated Fig. 14 below) discloses the silicon die (101) over a backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
the second dielectric (202 and 550) over the backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
the third conductive via (upper portion of 510) coupled to a fourth conductive via (lower portion of 510);
the third dielectric (912) over the backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
a first conductor and a second conductor in the third dielectric (912), the first conductor coupled to the first conductive via, and the second conductor coupled to the second conductive via;
a third conductor in the third dielectric (912), the third conductor above and coupled to the third conductive via (upper portion of 510), the fourth via (lower portion of 510) laterally spaced apart from an interconnect bridge (101);
a fifth conductive via, a sixth conductive via, and a seventh conductive via in the third dielectric (912), the fifth conductive via coupled to the first conductor, the sixth conductive via coupled to the second conductor, and the seventh conductive via coupled to the third conductor;
the main die (11) over the conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
wherein the backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714) is to receive a power supply voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have made the silicon die on a backside conductor;
the second dielectric over the backside conductor;
the third conductive via coupled to a fourth conductive via;
the third dielectric over the backside conductor;
a first conductor and a second conductor in the third dielectric, the first conductor coupled to the first conductive via, and the second conductor coupled to the second conductive via;
a third conductor in the third dielectric, the third conductor above and coupled to the third conductive via, the fourth via laterally spaced apart from the interconnect bridge;
a fifth conductive via, a sixth conductive via, and a seventh conductive via in the third dielectric, the fifth conductive via coupled to the first conductor, the sixth conductive via coupled to the second conductor, and the seventh conductive via coupled to the third conductor;
the main die over the conductor, and the main die coupled to the fifth conductive via and to the sixth conductive via and to the seventh conductive via;
wherein the backside conductor is to receive a power supply signal in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device while protecting the surrounding elements.
Claim 1 of the copending application appears not to explicitly disclose a non-conductive intervening layer vertically between the silicon die and the backside conductor, the non-conductive intervening layer in contact with the silicon die.
Yang et al., however, discloses, in Fig. 16, a non-conductive intervening layer (31) vertically between the silicon die (10’) and the backside conductor (23), the non-conductive intervening layer in contact with the silicon die.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Yang et al., to have made a non-conductive intervening layer vertically between the silicon die and the backside conductor, the non-conductive intervening layer in contact with the silicon die in order to better secure the silicon die to the underlying layer.
Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Yang et al. appears not to explicitly disclose the first dielectric laterally adjacent the non-conductive intervening layer; and
the fourth conductive via in the first dielectric.
Liu et al., however, discloses, in Figs. 3a-3i, the first dielectric (104a in N-2) laterally adjacent the intervening layer (105b); and
the fourth conductive via (104c) in the first dielectric (104a in N-2) in order to route electrical signal to different parts of the package.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih, as disclosed by Liu et al., to have made the first dielectric laterally adjacent the non-conductive intervening layer; and
the fourth conductive via in the first dielectric in order to route electrical signal to different parts of the package (paragraph 22 of Liu et al.).
Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the silicon die.
Pyo et al., however, in Fig. 5 and in paragraph 46, discloses the conductor (140 below 200) is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the interconnect bridge (220).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Pyo et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the die as disclosed by Pyo et al. for power distribution disclosed by claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the die disclosed by Pyo et al. for the power distribution disclosed by claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a suitable power supply to the main die and the second die. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Regarding claim 14, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 14 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 15, claim 4 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the limitations of claim 15. Claim 4 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. appears not to explicitly disclose the first dielectric is in contact with the backside conductor.
Liu et al., however, further discloses, in Fig. 3g, wherein the first dielectric (104a in N-2) is in contact with the backside conductor (104b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al., as further disclosed by Liu et al., to have made the first dielectric is in contact with the backside conductor in order to protect the surrounding elements.
Regarding claim 16, claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the limitations of claim 16 of the instant application. Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al. appears not to explicitly disclose a fourth dielectric layer below the first dielectric layer.
Shih, however, discloses, in Fig. 14, a fourth dielectric layer (712) below the second dielectric layer (202 and 550) and the interconnect bridge (101)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Pyo et al., as further disclosed by Shih, to have made a fourth dielectric layer below the second dielectric layer and the interconnect bridge in order to protect the surrounding elements.
Since Liu et al. discloses, in Fig. 3i, the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) is under the second dielectric layer (104a in N-1) and adjacent the interconnect bridge (105), claim 1 of the copending application Shih in view of Liu et al. would disclose a fourth dielectric layer below the first dielectric layer.
Regarding claim 17, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 17 of the instant application, and Shih further discloses, in Fig. 14, wherein the conductor (uppermost layer of 714) comprises multiple regions that are electrically isolated from one another.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/581,751 in view of Shih (U.S. Pub. 2018/0102311) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0081236) in view of Pyo et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0175001).
Regarding claim 18, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 18. Claim 1 of the copending application also appears not to explicitly disclose a printed circuit board; and
the package substrate coupled to a printed circuit board.
Shih, however, in paragraph 52, discloses solder balls 801 may have a ball pitch that is equal to the ball pad pitch on a printed circuit board.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have a printed circuit board; and the package substrate coupled to a printed circuit board since the solder balls are spaced to have the same spacing as pads on a printed circuit board.
Further, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have a printed circuit board; and the package substrate coupled to a printed circuit board in order to connect the package substrate to other chips.
Claim 1 of the copending application also appears not to explicitly disclose a backside conductor;
the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge over the backside conductor;
the third via above and coupled to a fourth via below the first level, the fourth via laterally spaced apart from the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge;
a first conductive trace, a second conductive trace, and a third conducive trace in a second level, the second level above the first level, the first conductive trace coupled to the first via, the second conductive trace coupled to the second via, the third conducive trace coupled to the third via;
a fifth via, a sixth via and a seventh via in a third level, the third level above the second level, the fifth via coupled to the first conductive trace, the sixth via coupled to the second conductive trace, and the seventh via coupled to the third conductive trace;
the first die over the package substrate and over the backside conductor, the first die coupled to the fifth via and to the sixth via and to the seventh via; and
the second die over the package substrate.
Shih, however, in Fig. 14 (see annotated Fig. 14 below), discloses a backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge (101) over the backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
the third via (upper portion of 510) above and coupled to a fourth via (lower portion of 510) below the first level, the fourth via (lower portion of 510) laterally spaced apart from the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge (101);
a first conductive trace, a second conductive trace and a third conductive trace in a second level, the second level above the first level, the first conductive trace coupled to the first via, the second conductive trace coupled to the second via, and the third conductive trace coupled to the third via (upper portion of 510);
a fifth via, a sixth via and a seventh via in a third level, the third level above the second level, the fifth via coupled to the first conductive trace, the sixth via coupled to the second conductive trace, and the seventh via coupled to the third conductive trace;
the first die (11) over the package substrate (10), and
the second die (12) over the package substrate (10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application, as disclosed by Shih, to have made a backside conductor;
the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge over the backside conductor;
the third via above and coupled to a fourth via below the first level, the fourth via laterally spaced apart from the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge;
a first conductive trace, a second conductive trace, and a third conducive trace in a second level, the second level above the first level, the first conductive trace coupled to the first via, the second conductive trace coupled to the second via, the third conducive trace coupled to the third via;
a fifth via, a sixth via and a seventh via in a third level, the third level above the second level, the fifth via coupled to the first conductive trace, the sixth via coupled to the second conductive trace, and the seventh via coupled to the third conductive trace;
the first die over the package substrate and over the backside conductor, the first die coupled to the fifth via and to the sixth via and to the seventh via; and
the second die over the package substrate in order to provide suitable electrical pathways within the device while protecting the surrounding elements.
Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose an adhesive layer vertically between the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge and the backside conductor, the adhesive layer in contact with the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge;
Yang et al., however, discloses, in Fig. 16, an adhesive layer (31) vertically between the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge (10’) and the backside conductor (23), the adhesive layer in contact with the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih, as disclosed by Yang et al., to have made an adhesive layer vertically between the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge and the backside conductor, the adhesive layer in contact with the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge in order to better secure the interconnect bridge to the underlying layer.
Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical distribution through the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge.
Pyo et al., however, in Fig. 5 and in paragraph 46, discloses the backside conductor (140 below 200) is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the multi-die interconnect bridge (220).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Pyo et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge as disclosed by Pyo et al. for power distribution disclosed by Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge disclosed by Pyo et al. for the power distribution disclosed by S Claim 1 of the copending application in view of Shih hih would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a suitable power supply to the first die and the second die. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Regarding claim 19, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 19 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 20, claim 1 of the copending application discloses the limitations of claim 20 of the instant application, and Shih further discloses, in Fig. 14, wherein the conductor (uppermost layer of 714) comprises multiple regions that are electrically isolated from one another.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13, in line 20, recites “the fourth via laterally spaced apart from the interconnect bridge.” The recitation “the interconnect bridge” lacks antecedent basis. Further, it is unclear and indefinite as to whether “the interconnect bridge” is the same or different from the claimed “silicon die” in line 2 of the claim. For compact prosecution, it will be interpreted as the same as the silicon die.
Claims 14-17, which depend either directly or indirectly from independent claim 13, do not remedy the issues of claim 13 and therefore are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih (U.S. Pub. 2018/0102311) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0081236) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0028486) in view of Teh et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0093999) in view of Pyo et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0175001).
Claim 1: Shih discloses a multi-chip package, in annotated Fig. 14 below and in paragraphs 27, 39, 41, 49, 56, 59 and 60, comprising:
an interconnect bridge (101) having a first contact pad and a second contact pad thereon, the interconnect bridge (101) comprising a silicon die, wherein the interconnect bridge (101) is over a conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
a second dielectric layer (202 and 550) on the interconnect bridge (101), the second dielectric layer (202 and 550) over the conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
a first via in the second dielectric layer (202 and 550), the first via coupled to the first contact pad;
a second via in the second dielectric layer (202 and 550), the second via coupled to the second contact pad,
a third via (upper portion of 510) in the second dielectric layer (202 and 550), the third via (upper portion of 510) above and coupled to a fourth via (lower portion of 510), the fourth via (lower portion of 510) laterally spaced apart from the interconnect bridge (101);
a third dielectric layer (912) on the second dielectric layer (202 and 550), the third dielectric layer (912) over the interconnect bridge (101) and over the conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
a first conductive trace in the third dielectric layer (912), the first conductive trace coupled to the first via;
a second conductive trace in the third dielectric layer (912), the second conductive trace coupled to the second via;
a third conductive trace in the third dielectric layer (912), the third conductive trace coupled to the third via (upper portion of 510);
a fifth via in the third dielectric layer (912), the fifth via coupled to the first conductive trace;
a sixth via in the third dielectric layer (912), the sixth via coupled to the second conductive trace;
a seventh via in the third dielectric layer (912), the seventh via coupled to the third conductive trace;
a first die (11) over the third dielectric layer (912), the first die (11) over the interconnect bridge (101) and over the conductor (uppermost layer of 714), and the first die (11) coupled to the fifth via and to the sixth via and to the seventh via; and
a second die (12) over and coupled to the interconnect bridge (101),
wherein the conductor (uppermost layer of 714) is to receive a power supply voltage signal.
Shih appears not to explicitly disclose an adhesive layer vertically between the interconnect bridge and the conductor, the adhesive layer in contact with the silicon die of the interconnect bridge.
Yang et al., however, discloses, in Fig. 16 and in paragraphs 92 and 95, an adhesive layer (31) vertically between the interconnect bridge (10’) and the conductor (23), the adhesive layer in contact with the silicon die of the interconnect bridge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih with the disclosure of Yang et al. to have made an adhesive layer vertically between the interconnect bridge and the conductor, the adhesive layer in contact with the silicon die of the interconnect bridge in order to better secure the interconnect bridge to the underlying layer.
Shih also appears not to explicitly disclose a first dielectric layer, the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent the interconnect bridge, and the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent the adhesive layer;
the second dielectric layer on the first dielectric layer; and
the fourth via in the first dielectric layer.
Liu et al., however, discloses, in Figs. 3a-3i and in paragraphs 22, 32, 35, 36, 39, 40 and 46, a first dielectric layer (104a in N-2), the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) laterally adjacent the interconnect bridge (105), and the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) laterally adjacent the adhesive layer (105b);
the second dielectric layer (104a in N-1) on the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2); and
the fourth via (104c) in the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) in order to route electrical signal to different parts of the package.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih with the disclosure of Liu et al. to have made a first dielectric layer, the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent the interconnect bridge, and the first dielectric layer laterally adjacent the adhesive layer;
the second dielectric layer on the first dielectric layer; and
the fourth via in the first dielectric layer in order to route electrical signal to different parts of the package (paragraph 22 of Liu et al.).
Shih appears not to explicitly disclose the first via is through the second dielectric layer;
the second via is through the second dielectric layer; and
the third via is through the second dielectric layer.
Teh et al., however, in Fig. 1(L) and in paragraphs 16 and 19, discloses the first via (right 42) is through the second dielectric layer (20 and 34);
the second via (left 42) is through the second dielectric layer (20 and 34)
the third via (30) is through the second dielectric layer (20 and 34).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Teh et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with Shih, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the first via is through the second dielectric layer; the second via is through the second dielectric layer; and the third via is through the second dielectric layer as disclosed by Teh et al. for the first via, the second via and the third via that are in the second dielectric layer disclosed by Shih. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the first via is through the second dielectric layer; the second via is through the second dielectric layer; and the third via is through the second dielectric layer disclosed by Teh et al. for the first via, the second via and the third via that are in the second dielectric layer disclosed by Shih would have yielded predictable results, namely providing suitable electrical paths while protecting the surrounding elements. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Shih also appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the interconnect bridge.
Pyo et al., however, in Fig. 5 and in paragraph 46, discloses the conductor (140 below 200) is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the interconnect bridge (220).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Pyo et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with Shih, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the interconnect bridge as disclosed by Pyo et al. for power distribution disclosed by Shih. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the interconnect bridge disclosed by Pyo et al. for the power distribution disclosed by Shih would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a suitable power supply to the first die and the second die. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Claim 2: Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the multi-chip package of claim 1, and Shih further discloses, in paragraph 60, wherein the second die (12) is coupled to the first die (11) by the interconnect bridge (101).
Claim 3: Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the multi-chip package of claim 1.
Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al., as applied to claim 1, appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the first dielectric layer is in contact with the conductor.
Liu et al. further discloses, in Figs. 3a-3i and in paragraph 32, further discloses the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) is in contact with the conductor (104b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al., as applied to claim 1, with the further disclosure of Liu et al. to have made the first dielectric layer is in contact with the conductor in order to protect the surrounding elements.
Claim 5: Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the multi-chip package of claim 1.
Since Shih discloses, in Fig. 14 and paragraph 41, a fourth dielectric layer (712) below the second dielectric layer (202 and 550) and the interconnect bridge (101), and Liu et al. discloses, in Fig. 3i, the first dielectric layer (104a in N-2) is under the second dielectric layer (104a in N-1) and adjacent the interconnect bridge (105), Shih in view of Liu et al. would disclose a fourth dielectric layer below the first dielectric layer.
Claim 6: Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the multi-chip package of claim 1, and Shih further discloses, in Fig. 14, wherein the conductor (uppermost layer of 714) comprises multiple regions that are electrically isolated from one another.
Claim 8: Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the multi-chip package of claim 6, and Shih further discloses, in paragraph 61, wherein the conductor (uppermost layer of 714) is to receive a data signal.
Claim 9: Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the multi-chip package of claim 1, and Shih further discloses, in Fig. 14 and paragraph 38, comprising:
one or more through silicon vias (110) in the silicon die of the interconnect bridge (101).
Claim 13: Shih discloses a multi-chip package, in annotated Fig. 14 below and in paragraphs 27, 39, 41, 49, 56, 59 and 60, comprising:
a silicon die (101) having a first contact pad and a second contact pad thereon, the silicon die (101) over a backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
a second dielectric (202 and 550) on the silicon die (101), the second dielectric (202 and 550) over the backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
a first conductive via, a second conductive via, and a third conductive via (upper portion of 510) in the second dielectric (202 and 550), the first conductive via coupled to the first contact pad, the second conductive via coupled to the second contact pad, and the third conductive via (upper portion of 510) coupled to a fourth conductive via (lower portion of 510);
a third dielectric (912) on the second dielectric (202 and 550), the third dielectric over (912) the silicon die (101) and over the backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
a first conductor and a second conductor in the third dielectric (912), the first conductor coupled to the first conductive via, and the second conductor coupled to the second conductive via;
a third conductor in the third dielectric (912), the third conductor above and coupled to the third conductive via (upper portion of 510), the fourth via (lower portion of 510) laterally spaced apart from an interconnect bridge (101);
a fifth conductive via, a sixth conductive via, and a seventh conductive via in the third dielectric (912), the fifth conductive via coupled to the first conductor, the sixth conductive via coupled to the second conductor, and the seventh conductive via coupled to the third conductor;
a main die (11) over the third dielectric (912), the main die (11) over the silicon die (101) and over the conductor (uppermost layer of 714), and the main die (11) coupled to the fifth conductive via and to the sixth conductive via and to the seventh conductive via; and
a second die (12) over and coupled to the silicon die (101);
wherein the backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714) is to receive a power supply voltage.
Shih appears not to explicitly disclose a non-conductive intervening layer vertically between the silicon die and the backside conductor, the non-conductive intervening layer in contact with the silicon die.
Yang et al., however, discloses, in Fig. 16 and in paragraphs 60, 92 and 95, a non-conductive intervening layer (31) vertically between the silicon die (10’) and the backside conductor (23), the non-conductive intervening layer in contact with the silicon die.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih with the disclosure of Yang et al. to have made a non-conductive intervening layer vertically between the silicon die and the backside conductor, the non-conductive intervening layer in contact with the silicon die in order to better secure the silicon die to the underlying layer. The two elements cited in Shih and Yang merely perform the same functions as they perform separately and being no more “the combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Shih also appears not to explicitly disclose a first dielectric laterally adjacent the silicon die and laterally adjacent the non-conductive intervening layer;
a second dielectric on the first dielectric and on the silicon die, and
the fourth conductive via in the first dielectric.
Liu et al., however, discloses, in Figs. 3a-3i and in paragraphs 22, 32, 35, 36, 39, 40 and 46, a first dielectric (104a in N-2) laterally adjacent the silicon die (105) and laterally adjacent the intervening layer (105b);
the second dielectric (104a in N-1) on the first dielectric (104a in N-2); and
the fourth conductive via (104c) in the first dielectric (104a in N-2) in order to route electrical signal to different parts of the package.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih with the disclosure of Liu et al. to have made a first dielectric laterally adjacent the silicon die and laterally adjacent the non-conductive intervening layer;
a second dielectric on the first dielectric and on the silicon die
the fourth conductive via in the first dielectric in order to route electrical signal to different parts of the package (paragraph 22 of Liu et al.). The elements cited in Shih, Yang, and Liu merely perform the same functions as they perform separately and being no more “the combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Shih appears not to explicitly disclose the first via is through the second dielectric layer;
the second via is through the second dielectric layer; and
the third via is through the second dielectric layer.
Teh et al., however, in Fig. 1(L) and in paragraphs 16 and 19, discloses the first via (right 42) is through the second dielectric layer (20 and 34);
the second via (left 42) is through the second dielectric layer (20 and 34)
the third via (30) is through the second dielectric layer (20 and 34).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Teh et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with Shih, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the first via is through the second dielectric layer; the second via is through the second dielectric layer; and the third via is through the second dielectric layer as disclosed by Teh et al. for the first via, the second via and the third via that are in the second dielectric layer disclosed by Shih. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the first via is through the second dielectric layer; the second via is through the second dielectric layer; and the third via is through the second dielectric layer disclosed by Teh et al. for the first via, the second via and the third via that are in the second dielectric layer disclosed by Shih would have yielded predictable results, namely providing suitable electrical paths while protecting the surrounding elements. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Shih also appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the silicon die.
Pyo et al., however, in Fig. 5 and in paragraph 46, discloses the backside conductor (140 below 200) is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the die (220).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Pyo et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with Shih, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the die as disclosed by Pyo et al. for power distribution disclosed by Shih. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the die disclosed by Pyo et al. for the power distribution disclosed by Shih would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a suitable power supply to the main die and the second die. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Claim 14: Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the multi-chip package of claim 13, and Shih further discloses, in paragraph 60, wherein the second die (12) is coupled to the main die (11) by the silicon die (101).
Claim 16: Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the multi-chip package of claim 13.
Since Shih discloses, in Fig. 14 and paragraph 41, a fourth dielectric (712) below the second dielectric (202 and 550) and the silicon die (101), and Liu et al. discloses, in Fig. 3i, the first dielectric (104a in N-2) is under the second dielectric (104a in N-1) and adjacent the silicon bridge (105), Shih in view of Liu et al. would disclose a fourth dielectric below the first dielectric.
Claim 17: Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the multi-chip package of claim 13, and Shih further discloses, in Fig. 14, wherein the backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714) comprises multiple regions that are electrically isolated from one another.
Claim(s) 4, 10-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Braunisch et al. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0327424).
Claim 4: Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the multi-chip package of claim 1.
Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the interconnect bridge is laterally spaced apart from the first dielectric layer.
Braunisch et al., however, discloses, in Fig. 6 and in paragraphs 49 and 62, the interconnect bridge (540) is laterally spaced apart from the first dielectric layer (610) in order to prevent underfillings of dies from being disturbed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. with the disclosure of Braunisch et al. to have made the interconnect bridge is laterally spaced apart from the first dielectric layer in order to prevent underfillings of dies from being disturbed (paragraph 49 of Braunisch et al.).
Claim 10: Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the multi-chip package of claim 1.
Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. appears not to explicitly disclose further comprising:
a cavity laterally between the interconnect bridge and the first dielectric layer.
Braunisch et al., however, discloses, in Fig. 6 and in paragraphs 49 and 62, a cavity (615) laterally between the interconnect bridge (510) and the first dielectric layer (610) in order to prevent underfillings of dies from being disturbed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. with the disclosure of Braunisch et al. to have made a cavity laterally between the interconnect bridge and the first dielectric layer in order to prevent underfillings of dies from being disturbed (paragraph 49 of Braunisch et al.).
Claims 11 and 12: Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the multi-chip package of claim 1.
Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the first die is a main die, and the second die is a secondary die, and
wherein the main die is a die selected from the group consisting of a central processing unit (CPU) die, a graphics processing unit (GPU) die, and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) die, and wherein the secondary die is a die selected from the group consisting of a memory die and a transceiver die.
Braunisch et al., however, discloses, in paragraph 74, the first die (1120) is a main die, and the second die (1130) is a secondary die, and
wherein the main die is a die selected from the group consisting of a central processing unit (CPU) die, a graphics processing unit (GPU) die, and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) die, and wherein the secondary die is a die selected from the group consisting of a memory die and a transceiver die.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. with the disclosure of Braunisch et al. to have made the first die is a main die, and the second die is a secondary die, and
wherein the main die is a die selected from the group consisting of a central processing unit (CPU) die, a graphics processing unit (GPU) die, and an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) die, and wherein the secondary die is a die selected from the group consisting of a memory die and a transceiver die in order for the package to have functionality.
Claim 15: Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the multi-chip package of claim 13, and Liu et al. further discloses, in Fig. 3g, wherein the first dielectric (104a in N-2) is in contact with the backside conductor (104b).
Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the silicon die is laterally spaced apart from the first dielectric.
Braunisch et al., however, discloses, in Fig. 6 and in paragraphs 48, 49 and 62, the silicon die (540) is laterally spaced apart from the first dielectric (610) in order to prevent underfillings of dies from being disturbed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Liu et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. with the disclosure of Braunisch et al. to have made the silicon die is laterally spaced apart from the first dielectric in order to prevent underfillings of dies from being disturbed (paragraph 49 of Braunisch et al.).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih (U.S. Pub. 2018/0102311) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0081236) in view of Teh et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0093999) in view of Pyo et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0175001).
Claim 18: Shih discloses a system, in annotated Fig. 14 below and in paragraphs 27, 39, 41, 49, 56, 59 and 60, comprising:
a package substrate (10), the package substrate (10) comprising:
a backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714);
an embedded multi-die interconnect bridge (101) over the backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714), the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge (101) having a first contact pad and a second contact pad thereon;
a first via, a second via and a third via (upper portion of 510) in a first level above the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge (101), the first via coupled to the first contact pad, the second via coupled to the second contact pad, and the third via (upper portion of 510) above and coupled to a fourth via (lower portion of 510) below the first level, the fourth via (lower portion of 510) laterally spaced apart from the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge (101);
a first conductive trace, a second conductive trace and a third conductive trace in a second level, the second level above the first level, the first conductive trace coupled to the first via, the second conductive trace coupled to the second via, and the third conductive trace coupled to the third via (upper portion of 510); and
a fifth via, a sixth via and a seventh via in a third level, the third level above the second level, the fifth via coupled to the first conductive trace, the sixth via coupled to the second conductive trace, and the seventh via coupled to the third conductive trace;
a first die (11) over the package substrate (10), the first die (11) over the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge (101) and over the backside conductor (upper portion of 714), and the first die (11) coupled to the fifth via and to the sixth via and to the seventh via; and
a second die (12) over the package substrate (10) and coupled to the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge (101).
Shih appears not to explicitly disclose a printed circuit board; and
the package substrate coupled to the printed circuit board.
Shih, however, discloses in paragraph 52, discloses solder balls 801 may have a ball pitch that is equal to the ball pad pitch on a printed circuit board.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih to have a printed circuit board; and the package substrate coupled to the printed circuit board since the solder balls are spaced to have the same spacing as pads on a printed circuit board.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih to have a printed circuit board; and the package substrate coupled to a printed circuit board in order to connect the package substrate to other chips.
Shih also appears not to explicitly disclose an adhesive layer vertically between the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge and the backside conductor, the adhesive layer in contact with the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge.
Yang et al., however, discloses, in Fig. 16 and in paragraphs 92 and 95, an adhesive layer (31) vertically between the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge (10’) and the backside conductor (23), the adhesive layer in contact with the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shih with the disclosure of Yang et al. to have made an adhesive layer vertically between the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge and the backside conductor, the adhesive layer in contact with the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge in order to better secure the interconnect bridge to the underlying layer.
Shih appears not to explicitly disclose the first via is through the second dielectric layer;
the second via is through the second dielectric layer; and
the third via is through the second dielectric layer.
Teh et al., however, in Fig. 1(L) and in paragraphs 16 and 19, discloses the first via (right 42) is through the second dielectric layer (20 and 34);
the second via (left 42) is through the second dielectric layer (20 and 34)
the third via (30) is through the second dielectric layer (20 and 34).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Teh et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with Shih, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the first via is through the second dielectric layer; the second via is through the second dielectric layer; and the third via is through the second dielectric layer as disclosed by Teh et al. for the first via, the second via and the third via that are in the second dielectric layer disclosed by Shih. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the first via is through the second dielectric layer; the second via is through the second dielectric layer; and the third via is through the second dielectric layer disclosed by Teh et al. for the first via, the second via and the third via that are in the second dielectric layer disclosed by Shih would have yielded predictable results, namely providing suitable electrical paths while protecting the surrounding elements. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Shih also appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge.
Pyo et al., however, in Fig. 5 and in paragraph 46, discloses the backside conductor (140 below 200) is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the multi-die interconnect bridge (220).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Pyo et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with Shih, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge as disclosed by Pyo et al. for power distribution disclosed by Shih. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of the backside conductor is to receive a power supply voltage signal to provide vertical power distribution through the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge disclosed by Pyo et al. for the power distribution disclosed by Shih would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a suitable power supply to the first die and the second die. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Claim 19: Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the system of claim 18, and Shih further discloses, in paragraph 60, wherein the second die (12) is coupled to the first die (11) by the embedded multi-die interconnect bridge (101).
Claim 20: Shih in view of Yang et al. in view of Teh et al. in view of Pyo et al. discloses the system of claim 18, and Shih further discloses, in Fig. 14, wherein the backside conductor (uppermost layer of 714) comprises multiple regions that are electrically isolated from one another.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends Shih does not disclose the first via coupled to the first contact pad and the second via coupled to the second contact pad.
Examiner notes that Shih, in Fig. 14, discloses the first via coupled to the first contact pad and the second via coupled to the second contact pad (see annotated Fig. 14 above).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 and 8-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/J.L/ Examiner, Art Unit 2815 /JOSHUA BENITEZ ROSARIO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2815