Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the applicant uses blank boxes and numbers in Figs. 1-3 to illustrate structural components. These alone do not facilitate understanding of the drawings. To overcome this objection, the applicant should add more details in the drawings (e.g., clear symbols, text in the boxes, arrows with text coming off, or a legend in the drawings).
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 4A, 4B, and 5 are missing reference numbers in the drawings. To overcome this objection, the applicant should add reference numbers to these figures.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “A Portable Electrical Power Generating Source Apparatus and Method”.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: reference numbers would need to be added to the specification for the missing reference numbers objected to in the drawings section above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 of claim 1 replace “charging” with --charger-- or, in the alternative, in line 12 replace “charger” with –charging-- to avoid a lack of antecedent basis issue. Claim 15 is objected to for the same reasons as claim 1. For examination purposes below this limitation will be interpreted as “power charging system”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1, 15, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 of claim 1 remove “renewable energy” or, in the alternative, in lines 5 and 8 add “renewable energy” before “portable electrical power generating source” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis issue. Claims 15 and 18 are objected to for the same reasons as claim 1. For examination purposes below these will be interpreted as “portable electrical power generating source”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 13 add --cell-- in front of “enclosure” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis issue. For examination purposes below this limitation will be interpreted as “cell enclosure”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 9 replace “an” with --a-- for improved readability. For examination purposes below this limitation will be interpreted as “a power inlet”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 15 replace “a” with --the-- to avoid a lack of antecedent basis issue. For examination purposes below this limitation will be interpreted as “the storage battery”, however, appropriate correction is required.
The applicant is advised to revise the claims for any remaining lack of antecedent basis issues similar to those identified but not found during the examination process and correct those accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al. (USPGPN 20140193731) and further in view of Lide et al. (CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Internet Version 2005, <http://www.hbcpnetbase.com>, CRC Press, Boca Raton, FL, 2005).
With respect to claim 1, Becker teaches a power system comprising
a power charging system having an inlet coupled to a renewable energy portable electrical power generating source, and an outlet couplable to an electrical input of a storage battery system (Interpreting the limitations “power charging system” and “renewable energy portable electrical power generating source” as identified above in the claim objections; Fig. 1; a system 100 comprising a power distribution system 114 having an inlet coupled to a galvanic battery /MagC battery 110 and an outlet couplable to an electrical input of a power storage device 116. ¶[40] teaches it is compact and easily transportable thus portable).
Becker teaches the power charging system configured to provide electrical power from the portable electrical power generating source to a storage battery of the storage battery system in an amount sufficient to at least partially recharge the storage battery (Fig. 1; ¶[56]; the power distribution system 114 configured to provide electrical power from the galvanic battery 110 to a battery of the power storage device 116 in an amount sufficient to at least partially recharge the battery).
Becker teaches the portable electrical power generating source comprising a cell enclosure comprising an anode separated from a cathode disposed within, wherein the anode and the cathode are each in electrical communication with the power charger system (Figs. 1 and 2A; the galvanic battery / MagC battery 110/200 comprising a cell enclosure comprising an anode 202 separated from a cathode 201/203 disposed within, wherein these are electrically connected (i.e., in electrical communication) to the power distribution system 114).
Becker teaches wherein the enclosure further comprises an electrolyte inlet through which an aqueous electrolyte may be introduced in contact with the anode and the cathode, thereby causing generation of electrical power (Interpreting the limitation “enclosure” as identified above in the claim objections; Fig. 1; ¶[43; 45-46; 48-49]; the galvanic battery 110 comprises an electrolyte inlet through which an aqueous electrolyte may be introduced in contact with the anode 202 and cathode 201/203, thereby causing generation of electrical power).
However, Becker fails to explicitly teach the anode having a standard reduction potential of less than or equal to about -1 V and the cathode having a standard reduction potential of greater than or equal to about 0.1V.
Lide teaches the anode having a standard reduction potential of less than or equal to about -1 V and the cathode having a standard reduction potential of greater than or equal to about 0.1 V (Pages 8-23 through 8-33; Tables 1, 2, and 3; different materials with standard reduction potentials less than or equal to about -1 V and standard reduction potentials of greater than or equal to about 0.1 V thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have selected an anode material with a standard reduction potential less than or equal to about -1 V and paired it with a cathode material with a standard reduction potential greater than or equal to about 0.1 V, with Mg [magnesium] shown to have -2+ anode potential on page 8-25 column 2, and Carbon cathode [C] shown to have 0.1V+ see several e.g.’s of carbon on pages [8-29—8-30] for the MagC battery disclosed by Becker).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill would in the art to have adapted Lide’s electrochemical series for different material types when selecting the anode and cathode materials of the galvanic battery based power system taught by Becker since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The advantage would have been to select a suitable material that would have better electrochemistry combination discovered by reviewing standard reference data.
With respect to claim 2, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Becker teaches wherein the anode comprises a metal from Group 1 or 2 of the periodic table of the elements (¶[50]; the anode is of magnesium material which one of ordinary skill understands it is a metal from Group 2 of the periodic table of the elements).
With respect to claim 3, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Becker teaches wherein the anode comprises magnesium metal (¶[50]; the anode is of magnesium material).
With respect to claim 4, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Becker fails to explicitly teach wherein the cathode comprises copper metal.
Lide teaches wherein the cathode comprises copper metal (Page. 8-24; Table 1; the electro standard potential for copper is listed thus one of ordinary skill would have referred to Lide’s handbook and determined that the cathode would be copper).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill would in the art to have adapted Lide’s electrochemical series for different material types when selecting the anode and cathode materials of the galvanic battery based power system taught by Becker since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The advantage would have been to select a suitable material that would have better electrochemistry combination apparent from standard reference data.
With respect to claim 5, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Becker teaches comprising an electrolyte reservoir in fluid communication with the electrolyte inlet through a valve, such that an aqueous electrolyte present in the electrolyte reservoir may be introduced into the cell enclosure by placing the valve in an open position (Fig. 1; ¶[60]; reverse osmosis unit 102 in fluid communication with the electrolyte inlet, such that waste stream 107 (i.e, aqueous electrolyte) present in the reverse osmosis unit 102 may be introduced into the galvanic battery 110 (i.e., cell enclosure). ¶[60] penultimate sentence; the flow rates are mediated by various valves).
With respect to claim 6, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Becker teaches comprising a water soluble salt disposed within the cell enclosure in an amount sufficient to mix with an aqueous electrolyte introduced into the electrolyte inlet thereby causing generation of the electrical power (Fig. 5; a salt adder 108 allows for salt to be disposed within the galvanic battery 110 in an amount sufficient to mix with the waste stream 107 introduced into the electrolyte inlet of the galvanic battery 110 thereby causing generation of the electrical power).
With respect to claim 7, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Becker teaches the power system dimensioned and arranged to be physically attached to, and electrically coupled to an electric powered vehicle (Fig. 4; ¶[64]; an external power interface 118 such as a plug is dimensioned and arranged to be physically attached to and electrically coupled to an electric powered vehicle).
With respect to claim 8, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Becker teaches wherein the anode, the cathode, or both are removably engaged with the cell enclosure so as to be replaceable (Fig. 2B; a frame 211 wherein the anode and cathode are removably engaged with the galvanic battery / MagC battery 200 enclosure so as to be replaceable).
With respect to claim 9, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Becker teaches wherein the cell enclosure further comprises an electrolyte outlet having an open and a closed position, wherein the open position allows the electrolyte to drain from the cell enclosure (¶[60]; third to last sentence; the galvanic battery 110 has a drain with a drain sequence that when placed in the open position allows for removal of electrolyte from the galvanic battery 110).
With respect to claim 10, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Becker fails to explicitly teach wherein a suitable pH for the electrolyte is from about 4 to about 8 at 25° C.
Lide teaches wherein a suitable pH for the electrolyte is from about 4 to about 8 at 25° C (Page 2-41 definition of buffer; page 8-43 buffer solutions giving round values of pH at 25° C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill would in the art to have adapted Lide’s pH ranges of different buffers/electrolytes when selecting an electrolyte of the galvanic battery based power system taught by Becker with a range of about 4 to 8 at 25° C since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The advantage would have been to select a suitable electrolyte that would have a favorable pH at 25° C discovered by reviewing standard reference data.
With respect to claim 11, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Becker teaches comprising a plurality of cell enclosures, each in electrical communication with at least one other (Fig. 2B; a plurality of MagC batteries 200, each in electrical communication with at least one other).
With respect to claim 12, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Becker teaches wherein the power charging system is in wired electrical communication with the storage battery system (Fig. 1; the power distribution system 114 is in wired electrical communication with the power storage unit 116).
With respect to claim 15, Becker teaches a method of providing electrical power to an electrical device not receiving power from a land-based power grid, comprising introducing an aqueous electrolyte into an electrolyte inlet of a cell enclosure of a renewable energy portable electrical power generating source, thereby causing generation of electrical power (Interpreting the limitation “renewable energy portable electrical power generating source” as identified above in the claim objection; Fig. 1; ¶[03, 43]; a system 100 comprising introducing waste stream (i.e., an aqueous electrolyte) into an electrolyte inlet of a cell enclosure of a galvanic battery /MagC battery 110 thereby causing generation of electrical power. ¶[40] teaches it is compact and easily transportable thus portable).
Becker teaches the cell enclosure comprising an anode separated from a cathode disposed within, and wherein the anode and the cathode are each in electrical communication with a power charger system having a power inlet coupled to the portable electrical power generating source, and a power outlet couplable to an electrical input of a storage battery system (Interpreting the limitation “power charger system” as identified above in the claim objections. Figs. 1 and 2A; the galvanic battery / MagC battery 110/200 comprising a cell enclosure comprising an anode 202 separated from a cathode 201/203 disposed within, wherein these are electrically connected (i.e., in electrical communication) to a power distribution system 114 having a power inlet coupled to the galvanic battery 110 and a power outlet couplable to an electrical input of power storage unit 116).
Becker teaches the power charging system configured to provide electrical power from the portable electrical power generating source to a storage battery of the storage battery system in an amount sufficient to at least partially recharge the storage battery (Interpreting the limitation “power charging system” as identified above in the claim objections. Fig. 1; ¶[56]; the power distribution system 114 configured to provide electrical power from the galvanic battery 110 to a battery of the power storage device 116 in an amount sufficient to at least partially recharge the battery).
Becker teaches directing the electrical power from the power charger system into the storage battery system to charge a storage battery of the storage battery system, and/or to power an electric device powered by the storage battery system (Interpreting the limitations “power charger system” and “a storage battery” as identified above in the claim objections. Fig. 1; the power distribution 114 is used to charge the power storage unit 116 and/or provide power to the external device 120 by the power storage unit 116).
However, Becker fails to explicitly teach the anode having a standard reduction potential of less than or equal to about -1V and the cathode having a standard reduction potential of greater than or equal to about 0.1V.
Lide teaches the anode having a standard reduction potential of less than or equal to about -1V and the cathode having a standard reduction potential of greater than or equal to about 0.1 V (Pages 8-23 through 8-33; Tables 1, 2, and 3; different materials with standard reduction potentials less than or equal to about -1 V and standard reduction potentials of greater than or equal to about 0.1 V thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have selected an anode material with a standard reduction potential less than or equal to about -1 V and paired it with a cathode material with a standard reduction potential greater than or equal to about 0.1 V, with Mg [magnesium] shown to have -2+ anode potential on page 8-25 column 2, and Carbon cathode [C] shown to have 0.1V+ see several e.g.’s of carbon on pages [8-29—8-30] for the MagC battery disclosed by Becker).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill would in the art to have adapted Lide’s electrochemical series for different material types when selecting the anode and cathode materials of the galvanic battery based power system taught by Becker since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The advantage would have been to select a suitable material that would have better electrochemistry combination discovered by reviewing standard reference data.
With respect to claim 16, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 15. Further, Becker teaches wherein the aqueous electrolyte comprises seawater, an aqueous solution comprising a salt, brine, urine, or a combination thereof (¶[44] last sentence; the aqueous electrolyte solution comprises salt water, brine, urine or a combination thereof).
With respect to claim 17, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 15. Further, Becker teaches wherein the electric device is an electrically powered vehicle (Fig. 4; ¶[64-65]; the external power interface 118 is capable of exporting energy to external devices including electric vehicle batteries).
With respect to claim 18, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 17. Further, Becker teaches wherein the portable electrical power generating source is located within, or attached to the electrically powered vehicle (Interpreting the limitation “portable electrical power generating source” as identified above in the claim objections. Fig. 4; the power interface 118 allows for the galvanic battery 110 to be electrically attached to the vehicle).
With respect to claim 19, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 18. Further, Becker teaches wherein the power is being provided to the electrically powered vehicle while the electrically powered vehicle is in operation (¶[03]; the purpose is to provide power in situations where power is not readily available rendering devices to limited operational life thus one of ordinary skill understands the vehicle is powered while being in operation).
With respect to claim 20, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 15. Further, Becker teaches wherein the electric device is a solar power storage battery (¶[71]; teaches solar panels are attached to system 100 for additional energy generation thus one of ordinary skill understands a solar system would also comprise solar power storage batteries).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker and Lide and further in view of Ackley et al. (USPGPN 20170201003).
With respect to claim 13, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Becker fails to explicitly teach wherein the power charging system is in wireless electrical communication with the storage battery system.
Ackley teaches wherein the power charging system is in wireless electrical communication with the storage battery system (Fig. 1; the primary storage 114 is in wireless electrical communication with the charging device 118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Ackley’s charging system to Becker’s galvanic battery based power system in order to include wireless charging features. The advantage of this modification being significantly improving the recharge rate of the main storage device (see ¶[07] of Ackley).
With respect to claim 14, Becker teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Becker fails to explicitly teach wherein the power charging system is in wired electrical communication with the storage battery system through an intermediate power bank comprising a rechargeable battery, one or more capacitors, or a combination thereof.
Ackley teaches wherein the power charging system is in wired electrical communication with the storage battery system through an intermediate power bank comprising a rechargeable battery, one or more capacitors, or a combination thereof (Fig. 3; ¶[24] last sentence; the charge/discharge circuitry 328 is in wired electrical communication with the primary storage 326 through an intermediate storage 330. In the abstract last sentence; the intermediate storage can include one or more capacitors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Ackley’s charging system to Becker’s galvanic battery based power system in order to include an intermediate power bank. The advantage of this modification being significantly improving the recharge rate of the main storage device (see ¶[07] of Ackley).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Frank A Silva whose telephone number is (703)756-1698. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 09:30 am -06:30 pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859