Status of Claims
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are amended. Claims 1 – 20 are pending and examined herein.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 27th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are amended. Claims 1 – 20 are pending and examined herein. Applicant’s amendments to the claims and specification have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection Office Action mailed January 27th, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 27th, 2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection for being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
All claims have been considered as a whole. The document corpus, signed electronic documents, information blocks, machine learning model, document rule, and rules database, whether viewed individually or as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim remains result oriented and does not recite a specific technical implementation that improves computer functionality or another technology.
Applicant further argues that the claims do not recite a mental process because the claims use a machine learning model trained on training data, and because a human mind cannot practically train or simulate such a model. The rejection does not depend on treating the machine learning model itself, or the training of the model itself, as a mental process. Claim 1 recites collecting and analyzing document information to identify related information or common parameters and generating a document rule based on that information. The amended claims does not change the eligibility. Claim 1 now recites that the information blocks originate from different signed electronic documents, but the claim still recites retrieving document corpus data, identifying related information blocks, common parameters, generating a document rule, and storing the rule in a rules database. These are still reciting information analysis and rule generation steps. The machine learning model is recited only at a high level as the tool used to perform the identifying step, without any particular model architecture, training technique, feature representation, or improvement to how the model operates. Applicant’s reliance on the Kim Memo and AI eligibility guidance is therefore not persuasive. The guidance warns examiners not to treat AI limitations that cannot practically be performed in the human mind as mental processes. But it does not make a claim eligible merely because a generic AI/ML tool is used. The MPEP still identifies observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions as examples of mental processes, and the claimed identifying common parameters, rule generations steps are directed to that type of document content evaluation.
Applicant also argues that the claims improve automated document management and are similar to Enfish, McRO, Finjan, and Example 47. This is not persuasive. The alleged improvement is to the document management result of generating entity specific document rules, not to the operation of a computer, database, network, or machine learning model. The claim does not recite an improved database structure, memory arrangement, security operation, user interface, or improved machine learning technique. It recites using computer, ML, database components to analyze document content and store the resulting rule. Example 47 is distinguishable for the same reason. In example 47, the eligible claim included technical network security steps, such as detecting a source address, dropping malicious packets, and blocking future traffic, and the guidance explains that those steps reflected an improvement to network intrusion detection. Claim 1 of the current application does not recite comparable technical remediation or control of a computer/network system. It merely ends with generating and storing a document rule.
Under step 2B, the additional elements likewise do not amount to significantly more. The claim does not recite an unconventional computer arrangement or a specific technical implementation beyond using the recited ML or database components to perform the document analysis and rule generation process. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments do not overcome the 101 rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed April 27th, 2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Li’s page similarity model only determines whether pages belong to the same document, rather than whether information blocks originate from different signed electronic documents. The Examiner is not relying on Li’s page similarity disclosure for that portion of the limitation. The rejection is based on Li in combination with Castellanos. Li is relied for the electronic signed document environment, including receiving document data, extracting substantive content from documents, and receiving an electronic document comprising one or more signatures. Castellanos is relied for the cross-document rule learning features. It also teaches tagged sample contracts used as a training set, machine learning algorithms trained on that set to recognize contract attribute values, shared contextual and syntactic regularities across contracts, and rules that are applied to other contracts after being learned.
Therefore, the related information blocks are reasonably read as contract portions or values for the same attribute across different contracts. The common parameters are the shared contextual, lexical, and synthetic patterns used to generate the extraction rules. As Li teaches the signed electronic document context, the combination of Li and Castellanos continues to teach or suggest the amended limitation, and the rejection of independent claims 1, 8, and 15 is maintained. The dependent claims remain rejected as the additional limitations are still taught or suggested by Li and Castellanos.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
MPEP § 2109(III) sets out steps for evaluating whether a claim is drawn to patent-eligible subject matter. The analysis of claims 1-20, in accordance with these steps, follows.
Step 1 Analysis:
Step 1 is to determine whether the claim is directed to a statutory category (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Claims 1 – 7 are directed to a method, meaning that it is directed to the statutory category of process. Claims 8 – 14 are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, which can be an article of manufacture. Claims 15 – 20 are directed to a computing apparatus, which can be an article of machine.
Step 2A Prong One, Step 2A Prong Two, and Step 2B Analysis:
Step 2A Prong One asks if the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon). If the claim recites a judicial exception, analysis proceeds to Step 2A Prong Two, which asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. If the claim does not integrate the judicial exception, analysis proceeds to Step 2B, which asks if the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. If the claim does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 1, the following claim elements are abstract ideas:
identifying a set of related information blocks (This is practical to perform in the human mind under its broadest reasonable interpretation aside from the recitation of generic computer components or by a human using a pen and paper.)
identifying a set of common parameters shared by the set of related information blocks; (This is practical to perform in the human mind under its broadest reasonable interpretation aside from the recitation of generic computer components or by a human using a pen and paper.)
generating a document rule based on the set of common parameters shared by the set of related information blocks; (This is practical to perform in the human mind under its broadest reasonable interpretation aside from the recitation of generic computer components or by a human using a pen and paper.)
The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
retrieving data from a document corpus associated with a defined entity, (This is mere data gathering, an insignificant extra solution activity, which is a well-understood, routine conventional activity. It does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.05(d). Therefore, this does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.)
the document corpus comprising a set of document records, each document record to include a signed electronic document, each signed electronic document to include a set of information blocks; (This falls under mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(f). Therefore, this does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.)
… using a machine learning model trained on a set of training data, each information block in the set of related information blocks originating from a different signed electronic document of the document corpus associated with the defined entity; (This falls under mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(f). Therefore, this does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.)
storing the document rule as part of a document rule set for the defined entity in a rules database. (This is mere data gathering, an insignificant extra solution activity, which is a well-understood, routine conventional activity. It does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.05(d). Therefore, this does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.)
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Further, claim 2 recites the following additional elements:
converting the information blocks of the signed electronic documents of the document corpus from image components into text components. (This falls under mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(f). Therefore, this does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.)
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Further, claim 3 recites the following additional elements:
pre-processing the information blocks of the signed electronic documents of the document corpus to a defined data schema. (This falls under mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(f). Therefore, this does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.)
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Further, claim 4 recites the following additional elements:
processing data from the information blocks of the signed electronic documents from the document corpus to obtain one or more features for training the machine learning model. (This is mere data gathering, an insignificant extra solution activity, which is a well-understood, routine conventional activity. It does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.05(d). Therefore, this does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.)
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Further, claim 5 recites the following additional elements:
training the machine learning model on training data from the signed electronic documents. (This falls under mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(f). Therefore, this does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.)
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Further, claim 6 recites the following additional elements:
training the machine learning model using structured data, unstructured data, or semi-structured data from the signed electronic documents. (This falls under mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(f). Therefore, this does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.)
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Further, claim 7 recites the following abstract idea:
evaluating the machine learning model on testing data from the signed electronic documents. (This is practical to perform in the human mind under its broadest reasonable interpretation aside from the recitation of generic computer components or by a human using a pen and paper.)
Claim 7 does not recite additional elements.
Claims 8 – 14 recite substantially similar subject matter to claims 1 – 7 respectively and are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Claim 15 further recites following additional elements:
A computing apparatus, comprising: processing circuitry; and a memory communicatively coupled to the processing circuitry, the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, configure the processing circuitry to: (This falls under mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(f). Therefore, this does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.)
The rest of claim 15 and claims 16 – 20 recite substantially similar subject matter to claims 1 – 6 respectively and are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (U.S. Pub. 2023/0004604 A1) in view of Castellanos (U.S. Pub. 2005/0182736 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Li teaches
A method, comprising: retrieving data from a document corpus associated with a defined entity, the document corpus comprising a set of document records, each document record to include a signed electronic document, each signed electronic document to include a set of information blocks; ([0010] of Li states “receive first input data comprising a document bundle; extract, from the document bundle, first information comprising substantive content of one or more documents of the document bundle; extract, from the document bundle, second information comprising metadata associated with one or more documents of the document bundle;” [0012] of Li states “generating the output data is further based on information obtained from an ERP system of an entity associated with the document bundle.” (Which means data obtained as document bundle would be associated with entity. ) [0018] of Li states “In some embodiments, a second system is provided, the second system being for validating signatures in documents, the second system comprising one or more processors configured to cause the second system to: receive an electronic document comprising one or more signatures;”)
Li does not explicitly teach that
identifying a set of related information blocks using a machine learning model trained on a set of training data,
each information block in the set of related information blocks originating from a different signed electronic document of the document corpus associated with the defined entity;
identifying a set of common parameters shared by the set of related information blocks;
generating a document rule based on the set of common parameters shared by the set of related information blocks;
and storing the document rule as part of a document rule set for the defined entity in a rules database.
However, Castellanos teaches that
identifying a set of related information blocks using a machine learning model trained on a set of training data, ([0021] of Castellanos states “In general, the annotated samples 104 include contractual language and annotations describing the contractual language. A learning arrangement 108 may use the contract language and annotations as input to a training element 110 and/or a testing element 112. The learning arrangement 108 may be used to programmatically build a knowledge base that links the annotations to various patterns found in the annotated samples 104.” [0022] of Castellanos states “The training element 110 is generally used to sift through data and determine important relations within that data. In this case, the functions provided by the training element 110 may include identifying patterns within the documents and determining whether the existence of a particular pattern is indicative of an annotation associated with that pattern.” [0036] of Castellanos states “The training set may be composed of sample contracts whose values to extract (corresponding to the relevant attributes specified in the appropriate COM) are tagged with the corresponding name of the attribute, so that machine learning algorithms can be trained on this set to recognize the values for those attributes.”)
each information block in the set of related information blocks originating from a different signed electronic document of the document corpus associated with the defined entity; ([0025] of Castellanos states “The extractor element 116 may access legacy documents in the legacy contracts database 118 and rules in the rules database 114 to identify language patterns of the rules in the legacy documents. The patterns may be used by the extractor element 116 to identify which annotations to potentially associate with the corresponding portions (i.e. values) of the legacy documents.” ). [0029] of Castellanos states “Likewise, for other kinds of contracts with different format and wording, other regularities exist for similarly associated attributes. An automated system may be able to learn the different lexical and syntactic patterns that exist for each attribute so that their values can be extracted from all the existing contracts” [0018] of Li states “In some embodiments, a second system is provided, the second system being for validating signatures in documents, the second system comprising one or more processors configured to cause the second system to: receive an electronic document comprising one or more signatures;” Castellanos describes the extractor applying learned patterns across legacy documents to find corresponding value portions in each, which is like the cross document “related blocks from a different document”. Combination with Li’s signed electronic documents would have been obvious to try.)
identifying a set of common parameters shared by the set of related information blocks; ([0021] of Castellanos states “The learning arrangement 108 may be used to programmatically build a knowledge base that links the annotations to various patterns found in the annotated samples 104.” [0022] of Castellanos states “The training element 110 is generally used to sift through data and determine important relations within that data. In this case, the functions provided by the training element 110 may include identifying patterns within the documents and determining whether the existence of a particular pattern is indicative of an annotation associated with that pattern.” [0025] of Castellanos states “The extractor element 116 may access legacy documents in the legacy contracts database 118 and rules in the rules database 114 to identify language patterns of the rules in the legacy documents. The patterns may be used by the extractor element 116 to identify which annotations to potentially associate with the corresponding portions (i.e. values) of the legacy documents. The extractor element 116 may use one or more statistical analyses to choose the most likely annotations to associate with parts of the legacy documents.” These language patterns are found in legacy documents to match or label those corresponding portions across documents. Therefore, the system derives pattern from multiple documents and use them as the basic for recognition like common parameters. )
generating a document rule based on the set of common parameters shared by the set of related information blocks; ([0043] of Castellanos states “To generate the second part of the rule (the regular expression), a number of different techniques may be used to identify valid expressions. The techniques that suit this domain may be based on machine learning” [0044] of Castellanos states ”Any technique used to generate these regular expressions should be supervised (or at least semi-supervised), which means that the algorithm requires a set of contracts with tagged examples, called training set, from which patterns are learned, as previously explained. The tags of the training instances are used to guide the creation of rules and also to test the performance of proposed rules.” The learned patterns/tags are used across multiple instances (i.e., across the related information blocks) to guide the creation of rules. [0052] of Castellanos states “As previously discussed, the process of rule generation (218) may include identifying patterns and generating rules associated with the patterns.”)
and storing the document rule as part of a document rule set for the defined entity in a rules database. ([0020] of Castellanos states ”The present disclosure describes applying information extraction technologies to contract-management knowledge. Information extraction systems require a separate set of rules for each domain, whether extracting from structured, semi-structured or free text. This makes machine learning an attractive option for knowledge acquisition.” [0023] of Castellanos states ”The knowledge produced by the training and testing elements 110, 112 may be placed in a rules database 114. This database 114 may be any form of data storage element suitable for storing the information such as rules linking syntactical patterns with annotations that are extracted by the learning arrangement 108.” [0024] of Castellanos states “The rules database 114 may be accessed by an extractor element 116. The extractor element 116 may apply the knowledge stored in the rules database 114 to legacy contracts.”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Li and Castellanos. Li teaches an automated document processing pipeline for a plurality of electronic documents including document conversion with OCR to structured data, feature engineering, document similarity measurement, classification, and applying ML models to extract output data from the documents. Castellanos teaches learning patterns from documents to generate document rules, store the learned rules in a rules database, and evaluating learned rules on testing data by measuring recall/precision. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Castellanos into Li to apply a known approach for generating document rules from learned document patterns and storing the document rules in a rules database for document processing of signed electronic documents. Therefore, it would have been predictable combination for more consistent and robust document processing.
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Furthermore, the combination of Li and Castellanos teaches
comprising converting the information blocks of the signed electronic documents of the document corpus from image components into text components. ([0029] of Li states “apply a set of data conversion processing steps to the plurality of electronic documents to generate a processed data set comprising structured data generated based on the plurality of electronic documents, wherein applying set of data conversion processing steps comprises applying one or more deep-learning-based optical character recognition (OCR) models;” OCR converts image components into text components in documents. [0032] of Li states “In some embodiments of the third system, applying the one or more deep-learning-based OCR models comprises: applying a text-detection model; and applying a text-recognition model.” [0033] of Li states “In some embodiments of the third system, applying the set of data conversion processing steps comprises, after applying the one or more deep-learning-based OCR models, applying an image-level feature engineering processing step to generate the structured data.”)
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Furthermore, the combination of Li and Castellanos teaches
comprising pre-processing the information blocks of the signed electronic documents of the document corpus to a defined data schema. ([0048] of Li states “apply a set of data conversion processing steps to the plurality of electronic documents to generate a processed data set comprising structured data generated based on the plurality of electronic documents” generates defined structured representation through processing data. [0024] of Castellanos states “The legacy contracts are converted to a machine readable format before being placed in the database 118. This conversion may involve converting electronic documents into a standard data format and/or converting paper documents to an electronic format using Optical Character Recognition (OCR) or similar technologies.” The system converts document into defined data format for use.)
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Furthermore, the combination of Li and Castellanos teaches
comprising processing data from the information blocks of the signed electronic documents from the document corpus to obtain one or more features for training the machine learning model. ([0033] of Li states “after applying the one or more deep-learning-based OCR models, applying an image-level feature engineering processing step to generate the structured data.” Where it applies feature engineering after OCR to obtain features. [0094] of Li states “In some embodiments, the page-classification module may be configured to classifying the one or more pages (e.g., the first page) of a bundle of documents determined using a Support Vector Machine (SVM) classifier and features as the image text through TFIDF and visual features of the VGG16 Model.” Features extracted from document text or images to use for ML model.)
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Furthermore, the combination of Li and Castellanos teaches
comprising training the machine learning model on training data from the signed electronic documents. ([0021] of Castellanos states “In general, the annotated samples 104 include contractual language and annotations describing the contractual language. A learning arrangement 108 may use the contract language and annotations as input to a training element 110 and/or a testing element 112.” [0044] of Castellanos states “Any technique used to generate these regular expressions should be supervised (or at least semi-supervised), which means that the algorithm requires a set of contracts with tagged examples, called training set, from which patterns are learned, as previously explained.” [0029] of Li states “receiving user input indicating a plurality of data labels for the structured data; and applying a knowledge-based deep learning model based on the structured data and the plurality of data labels; and generating output data extracted from the plurality of electronic documents.”)
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Furthermore, the combination of Li and Castellanos teaches
comprising training the machine learning model using structured data, unstructured data, or semi-structured data from the signed electronic documents. ([0020] of Castellanos states “The present disclosure describes applying information extraction technologies to contract-management knowledge. Information extraction systems require a separate set of rules for each domain, whether extracting from structured, semi-structured or free text. This makes machine learning an attractive option for knowledge acquisition.”)
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Furthermore, the combination of Li and Castellanos teaches
comprising evaluating the machine learning model on testing data from the signed electronic documents. ([0045] of Castellanos states “Once the rule set covers all the tagged instances in the training set, the rules are applied (220) to a sample set. The extractor 116 (see FIG. 1) applies the rules in the repository 114 to a subset of untagged instances to automatically extract values which then are corrected by the user. The results of this testing on the sample set are used to compute (222) recall and precision of the rules.” [0046] of Castellanos states “Recall and precision are two typical measures of the quality (i.e., accuracy) of the extraction rules. Precision is the proportion of correct extractions from all the extractions done (i.e., measure of correctness). Recall is the proportion of correct extractions from all the extractions that had to be done (i.e. measure of completeness). If the resulting recall and precision do not meet or exceed (224) predetermined thresholds, the process is repeated.”)
Claims 8 – 14 recite substantially similar subject matter to claims 1 – 7 respectively and are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Claims 15 – 20 recite substantially similar subject matter to claims 1 – 6 respectively and are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BYUNGKWON HAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2121
/Li B. Zhen/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2121