DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 2/27/26, the following has occurred: Claims 1-2, 4, 8, and 10-11 have been amended; and new Claims 17-20 have been added.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-9 and 17-20 are examined in this office action. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and "Remarks" filed on 2/27/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 4297165 A1 (hereinafter “EP’165”).
As to Claim 1:
EP’165 discloses:
a battery cell (EP’165 discloses a ventilation device for a battery submodule, module, or system integrated with a battery casing; [0001], [0027]);
comprising a cover plate (cap 22; [0029], [0031]), a housing (housing 20 or casing 14; [0027], [0029]), and a gas-permeable film (first membrane 24, which is a breathable membrane; [0011], [0032]),
wherein the housing has an opening (casing 14 comprises a vent opening 18; [0027]) and the cover plate covers the opening of the housing (the ventilation device including cap 22 is attached to or inserted into the vent opening 18 to cover the opening; [0028]);
the cover plate and/or housing have/has at least one through hole (the cap 22 comprises a plurality of ventilation holes 52 formed in the cavity bottom; [0015], [0031]), and the inside and the outside of the battery cell are in communication with each other via the through hole (the first membrane 24 ensures pressure balance between the inside of the battery system and the environment, thereby allowing communication through the ventilation holes; [0010], [0039]);
the gas-permeable film is connected to the inside of the cover plate and/or housing and covers the at least one through hole (the first membrane 24 is welded to the edge 46 of the cap 22 such that it covers the cavity 48 containing the ventilation holes 52, and is arranged facing the holes and directed toward the interior of the casing; [0035], [0040]);
and a backing material or at least one spacer portion is positioned between the gas-permeable film and the outside of the battery cell (EP’165 discloses a supporting structure 54 arranged within the cavity 48 between the membrane 24 and the ventilation holes 52 to provide structural support and rigidity, and which may support the first membrane 24; [0031], [0035]).
As to Claim 2:
EP’165 discloses the battery cell according to claim 1 ([0001], [0027], [0029]); wherein the at least one through hole comprises an accommodating section and an extending section in a direction perpendicular to the plane of the cover plate or housing (EP’165 discloses a cap 22 having an edge 46 extending from the inner surface to delimit a cavity 48, with a bottom 50 of the cavity including a plurality of ventilation holes 52, thereby defining a passage extending through the cap structure in a direction normal to the cap surface; [0031]);
the accommodating section having an average bore-diameter greater than the average bore-diameter of the extending section (EP’165 discloses that the cavity 48 delimited by the edge 46 has a larger cross-sectional dimension, whereas the ventilation holes 52 formed in the bottom 50 of the cavity are smaller openings; [0031]);
the accommodating section being closer to the inside of the battery cell than the extending section (EP’165 discloses that the first membrane 24 covers the cavity 48 and is directed toward the interior of the casing when mounted, such that the cavity 48 is positioned inward relative to the ventilation holes 52 which lead outward; [0035], [0040]);
and the battery cell further comprises the backing material, the backing material being at least partially accommodated in the accommodating section (EP’165 discloses a supporting structure 54 arranged within the cavity 48, which provides rigidity and may support the first membrane 24, thereby being positioned within the accommodating section; [0031], [0035]).
As to Claim 8:
EP’165 discloses a battery (EP’165 discloses a “battery system 10,” which is described as one of a battery submodule, battery module, or battery pack; [0027]); comprising: a battery cell (the battery system 10 includes a casing 14 and a ventilation device 12 configured for a battery casing; [0001], [0027], [0029]), including a cover plate (cap 22; [0029], [0031]), a housing (housing 20 or casing 14; [0027], [0029]), and a gas-permeable film (first membrane 24, which is a breathable membrane; [0011], [0032]),
wherein the housing has an opening and the cover plate covers the opening of the housing (the casing 14 comprises a vent opening 18, and the ventilation device 12 including the cap 22 is configured to be attached to or inserted into the casing for covering and/or overlapping the vent opening; [0027], [0028]);
the cover plate and/or housing have/has at least one through hole, and the inside and the outside of the battery cell are in communication with each other via the through hole (the cap 22 comprises a plurality of ventilation holes 52 formed in the bottom 50 of the cavity 48, and the first membrane 24 ensures pressure balance between the inside of the battery system and the environment; [0015], [0031], [0010], [0039]);
the gas-permeable film is connected to the inside of the cover plate and/or housing and covers the at least one through hole (the first membrane 24 is welded to the edge 46 of the cap 22 such that it covers the cavity 48 containing the ventilation holes 52, and the membrane is arranged facing the holes and directed toward the interior of the casing; [0035], [0040]);
and a backing material or at least one spacer portion is positioned between the gas-permeable film and the outside of the battery cell (EP’165 discloses a supporting structure 54 arranged within the cavity 48, which provides rigidity and may support the first membrane 24, the supporting structure being disposed between the membrane 24 and the ventilation holes 52 that communicate with the environment; [0031], [0035]).
As to Claim 9:
EP’165 discloses a power consuming device (EP’165 discloses that the battery system is used in applications such as motor vehicles, including high-voltage battery systems for vehicles; [0001], [0002], [0027]);
comprising the battery according to claim 8 (EP’165 discloses a battery system 10 including a casing 14 and a ventilation device 12 configured for the battery casing, as previously mapped in claim 8; [0001], [0027], [0029]);
and the battery being used to provide electrical energy to the power consuming device (EP’165 discloses that the battery system is part of a motor vehicle environment, where such battery systems inherently provide electrical energy for operation of the vehicle systems; [0001], [0002]).
As to Claim 17:
EP’165 discloses the battery cell according to claim 1 (EP’165 discloses a battery system including a casing 14 and a ventilation device 12 having a cap 22, a housing 20, and a first membrane 24 that is a breathable membrane, as previously set forth; [0001], [0027], [0029], [0032]);
wherein an inside-facing backing surface of the backing material or an inside-facing spacer surface of the at least one spacer portion contacts an outside-facing film surface of the gas-permeable film (EP’165 discloses a supporting structure 54 arranged within the cavity 48 defined by the edge 46 of the cap 22; [0031]);
the supporting structure 54 is configured to support the first membrane 24 (EP’165 expressly states that the supporting structure 54 may support the first membrane 24; [0035]);
the first membrane 24 is directed toward the interior of the casing, while the supporting structure 54 is positioned within the cavity 48 between the membrane and the ventilation holes 52 leading to the outside environment (EP’165 discloses that the first membrane 24 is mounted facing the interior of the casing and covers the cavity 48 containing ventilation holes 52; [0035], [0040]);
therefore, the supporting structure 54 (spacer portion) has an inside-facing surface that contacts the outside-facing film surface of the first membrane 24 to provide the disclosed support (as the supporting structure 54 is arranged within the cavity 48 and may support the first membrane 24, it is positioned adjacent to and in contact with the membrane surface facing the cavity; [0031], [0035]).
As to Claim 19:
EP’165 discloses the battery according to claim 8 (EP’165 discloses a battery system 10 comprising a casing 14 and a ventilation device 12, the ventilation device including a cap 22, a housing 20, and a first membrane 24 that is a breathable membrane, as previously mapped; [0001], [0027], [0029], [0032]);
wherein an inside-facing backing surface of the backing material or an inside-facing spacer surface of the at least one spacer portion contacts an outside-facing film surface of the gas-permeable film (EP’165 discloses a supporting structure 54 arranged within the cavity 48 defined by the edge 46 of the cap 22; the supporting structure 54 is configured to provide rigidity and may support the first membrane 24; [0031], [0035]);
because the first membrane 24 is directed toward the interior of the casing and covers the cavity 48 containing the ventilation holes 52, and the supporting structure 54 is positioned within the cavity 48 between the membrane and the ventilation holes leading to the exterior, the supporting structure 54 provides support to the membrane from the cavity side (i.e., the side opposite the interior-facing side of the membrane), thereby contacting the outside-facing surface of the gas-permeable film ([0035], [0040]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 4297165 A1 (hereinafter “EP’165”) in view of US 4,925,744 (hereinafter “US ’744”).
As to Claim 3:
EP’165 discloses the battery cell according to claim 2 (EP’165 discloses a battery system including a casing 14 and a ventilation device 12 having a cap 22, a housing 20, and a first membrane 24 that is a breathable membrane; [0001], [0027], [0029], [0032]); including an accommodating section and an extending section (EP’165 discloses a cavity 48 defined by an edge 46 and a bottom 50 having a plurality of ventilation holes 52, thereby defining an accommodating section and extending sections; [0031]);
and the battery cell further comprises the backing material, the backing material being at least partially accommodated in the accommodating section (EP’165 discloses a supporting structure 54 arranged within the cavity 48, which provides rigidity and may support the first membrane 24; [0031], [0035]).
However, EP’165 does not explicitly disclose that the backing material is made of a hydrophobic and gas-permeable material having a gas permeation volume greater than the gas permeation volume of the gas-permeable film, and/or having a melting point greater than the melting point of the gas-permeable film.
US ’744 discloses a battery venting system utilizing hydrophobic and gas-permeable materials. Specifically, US ’744 discloses a hydrophobic membrane that is permeable to gases but impermeable to electrolyte, thereby allowing gas venting while preventing liquid leakage (p. 2). US ’744 further discloses that such hydrophobic porous materials (e.g., PTFE-based membranes) are used in battery venting structures to manage internal gases while maintaining electrolyte containment (p. 4). Additionally, US ’744 discloses structural components and materials selected to provide mechanical stability and thermal resistance within the battery cell during operation (pp. 2–3).
EP’165 and US ’744 are analogous arts because both references are directed to battery technologies involving gas management and venting structures, including the use of gas-permeable elements to regulate internal pressure while preventing electrolyte leakage.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the backing material (supporting structure 54) of EP’165 using the hydrophobic and gas-permeable material properties taught by US ’744, and to select a material having a higher gas permeability and/or higher melting point than the gas-permeable film, in order to ensure that the backing material provides structural support without obstructing gas flow and maintains structural integrity under thermal conditions encountered during battery operation.
Claims 4, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 4297165 A1 (hereinafter “EP’165”) in view of JP 2019160716 A (hereinafter “JP ’716”).
As to Claim 4:
EP’165 discloses the battery cell according to claim 1 (EP’165 discloses a battery system including a casing 14, a housing 20, a cap 22, and a first membrane 24 that is a breathable membrane; [0001], [0027], [0029], [0032]); wherein the cap 22 covers a vent opening 18 of the casing ([0027], [0028]); the cap 22 includes a plurality of ventilation holes 52 providing communication between the inside and outside ([0015], [0031]); the first membrane 24 is connected to the edge 46 of the cap 22 and directed toward the interior of the casing ([0035], [0040]); and a supporting structure 54 is positioned between the membrane 24 and the ventilation holes 52 ([0031], [0035]);
wherein a recess is provided on the inside of the cover plate and/or housing (EP’165 discloses that the edge 46 delimits a cavity 48 formed on the inner surface of the cap 22; [0031]);
and the recess is provided around the at least one through hole (EP’165 discloses that the ventilation holes 52 are formed in the bottom 50 of the cavity 48; [0031]).
However, EP’165 does not explicitly disclose that the gas-permeable film is at least partially accommodated within the recess (i.e., positioned within the depth of the cavity rather than merely covering it at the opening).
JP ’716 discloses a power storage device including a lid (cover plate) having a recess (concave portion 46) formed therein (p. 3). JP ’716 further discloses that a membrane member (gas-permeable film) is disposed within the flow path and positioned at a vent hole formed in the recessed structure (pp. 4–5). Additionally, JP ’716 teaches that the membrane member is arranged within the recessed region such that it is accommodated in the recessed structure of the lid and retained therein (pp. 3–4).
EP’165 and JP ’716 are analogous arts because both references are directed to battery or power storage devices and specifically address structures for venting gas and balancing internal and external pressure using gas-permeable membrane elements integrated into covers or housings.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the ventilation device of EP’165 by positioning the gas-permeable film (first membrane 24) at least partially within the cavity 48, as taught by the recessed membrane placement of JP ’716, in order to provide a more compact configuration and to protect the membrane from mechanical damage and displacement during assembly and operation of the battery system.
As to Claim 18:
EP’165 discloses the battery cell according to claim 17 (EP’165 discloses a battery system including a housing 20, a cap 22, and a gas-permeable first membrane 24 where a supporting structure 54 [spacer] contacts the membrane; [0029], [0031], [0032], [0035], [0040]); the inside-facing backing surface of the backing material directly contacts the outside-facing film surface of the gas-permeable film in an accommodating section of the at least one through hole (EP’165 discloses a supporting structure 54 arranged within a cavity 48 [accommodating section] that "supports the first membrane 24," which is directed toward the interior; [0031], [0035], [0040]); the accommodating section of the at least one through hole being closer to the inside of the battery cell than an extending section of the through hole (EP’165 discloses the cavity 48 is located inward relative to the ventilation holes 52 formed in the bottom 50 of the cavity; [0031], [0035], [0040]); the at least one spacer portion includes a plurality of spacer portions, and the at least one through hole includes a plurality of through holes such that the plurality of spacer portions are between the plurality of through holes (EP’165 discloses that the supporting structure 54 extends between the edge 46 to "delimit a plurality of sub-cavities" and is arranged between a "plurality of ventilation holes 52"; [0031], [0035]).
However, EP’165 does not explicitly use the phrase "same plane" to describe the relationship between the outside-facing spacer surface and the outside-facing cover surface.
JP ’716 teaches a power storage device lid (cover plate) with a recessed structure where a membrane is disposed, emphasizing a integrated and protected assembly for pressure regulation (pp. 3-5). JP ’716 further discloses that the various portions of the lid surface are structured to provide a compact and uniform profile (pp. 3-4).
The primary reference (EP’165) and the secondary reference (JP ’716) are analogous arts because both relate to the technical field of battery construction and the specific arrangement of ventilation membranes and support structures in battery covers to manage pressure while maintaining structural integrity.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the integral cap 22 of EP’165 such that the outside-facing surface of the supporting structure 54 (spacer portions) is in the same plane as the outside-facing cover surface (outer surface 38). Such a configuration is a standard design choice for integral molded or stamped components to ensure a uniform external profile, simplify the manufacturing mold design, and provide a consistent material thickness across the vent assembly while maintaining the internal contact required to support the membrane against pressure.
As to Claim 20:
EP’165 discloses the battery according to claim 19 (EP’165 discloses a battery system 10 comprising a casing 14 and a ventilation device 12 with a cap 22, housing 20, and a first membrane 24 where a supporting structure 54 [spacer] contacts the membrane; [0001], [0027], [0029], [0031], [0032], [0035]); the inside-facing backing surface of the backing material directly contacts the outside-facing film surface of the gas-permeable film in an accommodating section of the at least one through hole (EP’165 discloses a supporting structure 54 arranged within a cavity 48 [accommodating section] that may "support the first membrane 24"; [0031], [0035], [0040]); the accommodating section of the at least one through hole being closer to the inside of the battery cell than an extending section of the through hole (EP’165 discloses the cavity 48 is positioned inward relative to the ventilation holes 52 formed in the bottom 50 of the cavity; [0031], [0035], [0040]); the at least one spacer portion includes a plurality of spacer portions, and the at least one through hole includes a plurality of through holes such that the plurality of spacer portions are between the plurality of through holes (EP’165 discloses that the supporting structure 54 is formed as part of the integral cap and extends within the cavity 48 to "delimit a plurality of sub-cavities" between a "plurality of ventilation holes 52"; [0031], [0035]).
However, EP’165 does not explicitly disclose that the outside-facing spacer surface is in the "same plane" as the outside-facing cover surface.
JP ’716 teaches lid structures for battery devices having recessed regions for membrane placement, focused on creating durable and compact venting assemblies (pp. 3–5). JP ’716 further supports forming lid structures with integrated surface configurations that provide a compact and uniform profile (pp. 3–4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the integral cap 22 of EP’165 such that the outside-facing surface of the supporting structure 54 is in the same plane as the outer surface 38 of the cap. Given that the cap is integral ([0029], [0031]), making these surfaces flush (in the same plane) is a common engineering practice to facilitate the molding process, reduce air resistance or turbulence across the battery exterior, and provide a flat surface for subsequent assembly steps or for the application of protective coatings, while ensuring the spacers remain in direct contact with the membrane to prevent its rupture under internal gas pressure.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 4297165 A1 (hereinafter “EP’165”) in view of JP 2019160716 A (hereinafter “JP ’716”) and CN 212182380 U (hereinafter “CN ’380”).
As to Claim 5:
EP’165 discloses the battery cell according to claim 4 (EP’165 discloses a battery system including a casing 14, housing 20, and a cap 22 with a first membrane 24 that is a breathable membrane; [0001], [0027], [0029], [0032]); a recess is provided on the inner surface of the cover plate (EP’165 discloses a cavity 48 delimited by edge 46 on the inner surface of the cap 22; [0031]); the recess is provided around the at least one through hole (EP’165 discloses ventilation holes 52 formed in the bottom 50 of the cavity 48; [0031]); and the first membrane 24 covers the cavity 48 ([0035]).
However, EP’165 does not explicitly disclose that (i) the gas-permeable film is at least partially accommodated in the recess, and (ii) a minimum distance from the edge of the gas-permeable film to the edge of the through hole along the plane of the cover plate is greater than or equal to 1.5 mm.
JP ’716 discloses a power storage device including a lid having a recessed portion, and teaches that a gas-permeable membrane (exhaust valve) is disposed within the recessed structure such that the membrane is accommodated within the recess (pp. 3–4).
CN ’380 discloses a cover assembly for a secondary battery including a cover plate, a fixing piece, and a ventilating film, wherein the ventilating film is connected to the fixing piece and covers a through hole (p. 1–2). CN ’380 further discloses that the minimum distance between the outer edge of the ventilating film and the fixing member is greater than 3 mm (p. 2).
US ’744 further supports the use of gas-permeable venting structures in battery systems, including materials and configurations that allow gas communication while maintaining sealing and structural integrity (pp. 2–3).
EP’165, JP ’716, and CN ’380 are analogous arts because each relates to battery structures incorporating venting mechanisms with gas-permeable films integrated into cover or housing components for pressure regulation and sealing.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the ventilation device of EP’165 by (i) accommodating the gas-permeable film (first membrane 24) within the cavity 48 as taught by JP ’716 to improve compactness and protection of the membrane, and (ii) configuring the spacing between the membrane edge and the through hole edge to be at least 1.5 mm (e.g., greater than 3 mm as taught by CN ’380), in order to provide sufficient sealing area, improve bonding reliability, and prevent thermal damage or leakage during operation of the battery.
As to Claim 6:EP '165 discloses the battery cell according to claim 5 (EP '165 discloses the structural elements of claim 1, including a housing 20, cap 22 [cover plate], and a first membrane 24 [gas-permeable film], and a supporting structure 54 [spacer/backing] ([0029], [0032], [0035]); and claim 4, including a cavity 48 [recess] around ventilation holes 52 [through holes] ([0031]) ); and when a plurality of through holes are provided, the plurality of through holes are arranged in the plane of the cover plate or housing (EP '165 discloses the central portion of the cap 22 comprises a "plurality of ventilation holes 52" located at the bottom 50 of the cavity 48 [recess] ([0015], [0031])).
However, EP '165 does not explicitly disclose the specific "adjacently arranged" limitation for the plurality of holes, the specific 1.5 mm distance requirement of claim 5, or that the film is "at least partially accommodated" in the recess as defined in claim 4.
JP '716 teaches providing a lid with a recess where an exhaust valve [film] is "disposed in the recess" [accommodated] (pp. 3–4) and further describes through-holes being "adjacent" to other communication portions within the flow path (pp. 4–5). CN '380 teaches that the distance from the edge of a ventilating film to the edge of a supporting member/through hole can be "greater than 3 mm," which encompasses the "greater than or equal to 1.5 mm" limitation of claim 5 (p. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to arrange the plurality of ventilation holes 52 of EP '165 adjacently in the plane of the cap to optimize the venting area while maintaining the structural integrity of the cover plate, as clustering the holes together allows them to be protected by a single common supporting structure (spacer) and covered by a single gas-permeable membrane within a compact recessed area.
As to Claim 7:
EP '165 discloses the battery cell according to claim 6 (EP '165 discloses a battery system comprising a housing 20, a cap 22 [cover plate], and a gas-permeable first membrane 24 [film] ([0029], [0032]); a cavity 48 [recess] is provided on the inner surface 40 of the cap 22 ([0031]); the recess is provided around a plurality of ventilation holes 52 [through holes] located at the bottom 50 of the cavity 48 ([0015], [0031])); and the gas-permeable film is connected to the inside of the cover plate and/or housing (EP '165 discloses the first membrane 24 is "ultrasonically welded to the cap 22" and "directed toward the interior of the casing" ([0012], [0035], [0040])).
However, EP '165 does not explicitly disclose the "adjacently arranged" holes of claim 6, the specific 1.5 mm distance of claim 5, or that the film is "at least partially accommodated" in the recess (rather than just covering it). Furthermore, while EP '165 teaches ultrasonic welding ([0012], [0035]), it does not explicitly use the term "thermal compounding or bonding."
JP '716 teaches a power storage device lid with a recess where an exhaust valve [film] is "disposed in the recess" [accommodated] (pp. 3-4) and further describes through-holes being "adjacent" to other portions of the flow path (pp. 3-4). CN '380 teaches that the distance from the edge of a ventilating film to the edge of a through-hole can be "greater than 3 mm," encompassing the "greater than or equal to 1.5 mm" limitation of claim 5 (pp. 2, 8). Additionally, CN '380 explicitly teaches that the ventilation film and fixing member are "connected by a chemical bond," which is a form of bonding (pp. 1-2, 6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to connect the gas-permeable film (first membrane 24) of EP '165 to the cover plate via thermal compounding or bonding, such as the ultrasonic welding already suggested by EP '165 ([0012], [0035]) or the chemical bonding taught by CN '380 (pp. 1-2, 6), while incorporating the adjacent hole arrangement of JP '716 (pp. 3-4) and the sufficient sealing distance taught by CN '380 (pp. 2, 8), in order to create a robust and durable airtight seal that can withstand the thermal and pressure stresses encountered during battery discharge and environmental cycling.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723