Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination on the merit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2021-048113 to Kondo (original provided by Applicant; machine translation attached for citation), in view of CN 111106277 to Chu et al. (cited by Applicant; US 2023/0187756 use for citation).
Regarding claim 1, Kondo teaches a case of a battery 1, comprising:
an electrical chamber configured to accommodate a plurality of battery cells 2, wherein at least one battery cell of the plurality of battery cells comprises a pressure relief mechanism or cell safety valve 2A, and the pressure relief mechanism is configured, when an internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell provided with the pressure relief mechanism reaches a threshold, to be actuated to relieve the internal pressure (Figs. 1 and 4; [0012]; [0013]);
a thermal management component including cooler 3 and partition wall 5 configured to accommodate a fluid to adjust the temperature of the plurality of battery cells (Figs. 1 and 4; [0012-14]); and
a collection chamber forming exhaust path 7 configured to collect emissions from the battery cell provided with the pressure relief mechanism when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated ([0012-15]),
wherein the thermal management component is configured to isolate the electrical chamber from the collection chamber as the partition wall 5 is configured to separate the space where the battery cells 2 are located from the exhaust path 7 (Fig. 1; [0014]).
Kondo does not expressly teach that a support member is provided in the collection chamber, the support member being configured to increase the compressive strength of the collection chamber.
Chu et al. also relates to a case 2 of a battery, comprising: an electrical chamber configured to accommodate a plurality of battery cells 1, wherein at least one battery cell of the plurality of battery cells comprises a pressure relief mechanism or explosion-proof valve, and the pressure relief mechanism is configured, when an internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell provided with the pressure relief mechanism reaches a threshold, to be actuated to relieve the internal pressure; a collection chamber including bottom cavity 21 configured to collect emissions from the battery cell provided with the pressure relief mechanism when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated, and an upper plate 211 configured to separate the electrical chamber containing the battery cells and the bottom cavity 21 (Figs. 1 and 2; [0071]), wherein a support member including supporting plates 23 is provided in the collection chamber or bottom cavity 21, the support member being configured to increase the compressive strength of the collection chamber (Figs. 4 and 5; [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a support member in the chamber forming the exhaust path 7 of Kondo because Chu et al. demonstrates that supporting plates 23 increase the compressive strength of the collection chamber (Figs. 4 and 5; [0072]). The skilled artisan would have obtained expected results applying an element to a similar product.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Chu et al. teaches that the support member forms a channel configured for the passage of the emissions and is provided with an orifice, the orifice being configured to form the channel in the support member, as the support member including the supporting plates 23 is provided with a plurality of communication holes 231 that allow gas produced during the thermal runaway of the battery cell to flow and be discharged (Fig. 5; [0072]; [0073]).
Regarding claim 4, Chu et al. teaches that the channel is configured for the passage of gas in the emissions and the support member including the supporting plates 23 is configured to block solids in the emissions as the plates are capable of blocking solids (Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 5, the number of orifices is greater than a preset threshold, such that more than a preset number of channels are formed in the support member, the preset threshold arbitrarily defined and Fig. 5 shows a plurality of communication holes 231.
Regarding claim 6, Chu et al. teaches that a pressure relief region including weak area 20 is provided in the thermal management component, and the emissions is discharged through the pressure relief region including the weak area 20 when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated (Figs. 4 and 5; [0071]; [0072]); and the support member including the supporting plates 23 is arranged corresponding to a non-pressure relief region of the thermal management component to form the channel for the passage of the emissions as the supporting plates 23 are arranged at intervals between the upper plate 211 and a lower plate 212 of the bottom cavity 21 (Figs. 4 and 5; [0072]).
Regarding claim 7, Chu et al. teaches that the support member including the supporting plates 23 is in contact with the non-pressure relief region of the thermal management component as the supporting plates 23 are arranged at intervals between the upper plate 211 and the lower plate 212 of the bottom cavity 21 and improve structural strength of the bottom cavity 21 (Figs. 4 and 5; [0072]).
Regarding claim 8, Chu et al. teaches that a pressure relief region including weak area 20 is provided in the thermal management component, and the emissions is discharged through the pressure relief region when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated; and the support member including the supporting plates 23 is provided with a first orifice or communication hole 231, the first orifice being arranged corresponding to the pressure relief region to form the channel in the support member for the passage of the emissions, as gas produced by the thermal runaway of the battery cell may be collected by the weak area 20 and guided through channels in the bottom cavity 21 to be discharged outside of the case (Figs. 4 and 5; [0071-74]).
Regarding claim 9, Chu et al. teaches that the first orifice or communication hole 231 is in communication with the pressure relief region including the weak area 20 of the thermal management component (Figs. 4 and 5; [0071-74]).
Regarding claim 10, Chu et al. teaches that a protective member including a lower plate 212 and/or protective plate 9, wherein the protective member is configured to protect the thermal management component including the upper plate 211 as the lower plate 212 forms the bottom cavity 21 and the protective plate 9 is flame-resistant against high temperature of the gas produced by the thermal runaway of the battery cell (Figs. 4 and 5; [0072]; [0085]), and the protective member and the thermal management component form the collection chamber as the upper plate 211 and the lower plate 212 form the bottom cavity 21; and the support member including the supporting plates 23 is in contact with the thermal management component and/or the protective member (Figs. 1-5; [0072]; [0077]; [0085]).
Regarding claim 11, Chu et al. teaches that a connecting face of the support member including the supporting plates 23 is in contact with the thermal management component including the upper plate 211 and/or the protective member including the lower plate 212, as the supporting plates 23 are arranged at intervals between the upper plate 211 and the lower plate 212 of the bottom cavity 21 and improve structural strength of the bottom cavity 21, and a non-connecting face of the support member including the supporting plates 23 is provided with a second orifice or communication hole 231 to form a channel in the support member for the passage of the emissions (Figs. 4 and 5; [0072]; [0077]).
Regarding claim 12, Chu et al. teaches that the protective member including the lower plate 212 and the support member including the supporting plates 23 are of an integrated structure (Figs. 4 and 5; [0077]).
Regarding claim 19, Kondo teaches a battery 1, characterized by comprising:
the plurality of battery cells 2, at least one battery cell of the plurality of battery cells comprising the pressure relief mechanism or explosion-proof valve, and the pressure relief mechanism being configured, when an internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell provided with the pressure relief mechanism reaches a threshold, to be actuated to relieve the internal pressure; and
the case according to claim 1, the case being configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells 2 (all figures; [0012-15]).
Regarding claim 20, Kondo does not expressly teach a power consumption device.
Chu et al. teaches a power consumption device such as a vehicle comprising: a battery, the battery being configured to supply electric energy to the power consumption device ([0003]; [0071]; [0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the battery of Kondo to a power consumption device such as a vehicle as suggested by Chu et al. and obtained expected results.
Claims 13-15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo and Chu et al. as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 2018/0006345 to Murata et al.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Kondo and Chu et al. do not expressly teach that the support member is of a hollow structure per claim 13 or a tubular structure per claim 14.
Murata et al. also relates to a case of a battery and teaches that the housing case 14 has stack support parts 42 that are made of metallic hollow angular pipes supporting the cell stack at the base of the housing case 14 (Fig. 3; [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the support member in a hollow structure or a tubular structure because Murata et al. demonstrates that the metallic hollow angular pipes support the cell stack (Fig. 3; [0044]). The skilled artisan would have obtained expected results applying a known structure to a known element.
Regarding claim 15, the skilled artisan would have provided a plurality of tubular structures, which are arranged apart from each other in the collection chamber because Chu et al. teaches a plurality of the supporting plates 23 arranged apart from each other in the collection chamber (Figs. 4 and 5; [0072]) and Murata et al. teaches a plurality of the stack support parts 42 arranged apart from each other at the base of the housing case 14 (Fig. 3; [0044]).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Kondo and Chu et al. do not expressly teach that a surface of the support member is provided with a temperature reducing material per claim 17 or that the support member is of a hollow structure in which a temperature reducing material is provided per claim 18.
Murata et al. also relates to a case of a battery and teaches that the housing case 14 has stack support parts 42 that are made of metallic hollow angular pipes supporting the cell stack at the base of the housing case 14 (Fig. 3; [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the support member with a temperature reducing material such as metal or in a hollow structure in which a temperature reducing material such as metal is provided, because Murata et al. demonstrates that battery stack supporting parts are known to be made in a metallic hollow structure (Fig. 3; [0044]) and the skilled artisan would have appreciated the strength and support and heat conduction property that such structure provides to the battery stack.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claim 16 requires a plurality of tubular support members which are stacked and connected to each other, wherein the plurality of tubular structures have a honeycomb-shaped cross-section. The prior arts of record do not teach this feature and no other prior art was found to suggest a modification to arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/Heng M. Chan/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725