DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Asad et al. (Asad”), US 2025/0374739 (the counterpart of PCT/US2022/048990, all citations in this rejection are directed to this PG Pub), in view of Lin et al. (“Lin”), US 2021/0398865.
Regarding Claim 1, Asad discloses a display module (Fig. 21; ¶ 0062), comprising:
a substrate (103-1; Fig. 21; ¶ 0062), having a driving circuit (CMOS Driver; Fig. 21 in this instance the CMOS Driver within substrate 103-1; ¶ 0062);
an interposer (129-1, 129-2, 129-3, 129-7, 130-9, 132; Fig. 21; ¶ 0062), comprising an interlayer (132; Fig. 21; ¶ 0062), a testing circuit (129-7; Figs. 21, 22; ¶ 0063 “a probe head or probe card 158 that may be active or passive may make temporary electrical contact 129-7” so that “both electrical and optical characteristics of the micro-devices may be measured and validated”, therefore 129-7 facilitates testing and broadly can be considered a ‘testing circuit’) and an electrically conductive structure (129-1, 129-2, 129-3; Fig. 21; ¶ 0063), wherein the testing circuit and the electrically conductive structure are located at the interlayer (Fig. 21), the testing circuit and the electrically conductive structure are misaligned with each other (Fig. 21 in this instance the testing circuit and the electrically conductive structure are not aligned horizontally, thus the testing circuit and the electrically conductive structure are misaligned horizontally with each other),and the driving circuit is electrically connected with the electrically conductive structure (Fig. 21; ¶ 0062); and
at least one micro light emitting element (101, 118; Fig. 21; ¶ 0063 “micro-LEDs (micro-devices) 101 or 118”), located at the interposer (Fig. 21), wherein the at least one micro light emitting element is electrically connected with the testing circuit and the electrically conductive structure (Fig. 21; ¶ 0062).
Asad does not specifically disclose wherein the display module further comprises a protective layer disposed on the interposer, wherein the protective layer covers the at least one micro light emitting element, and the protective layer and the interlayer together encapsulate the at least one micro light emitting element.
Lin discloses wherein the display module (S; Figs. 1-6A; ¶ 0068) further comprises a protective layer (4; Figs. 1-6A; ¶ 0058 “4 is disposed on the multilayered circuit board 1”) disposed on (Fig. 5; ¶ 0058 “4 is disposed on the multilayered circuit board 1”) the interposer (1; Fig. 5; ¶ 0058 “multilayered circuit board 1”), wherein the protective layer covers the at least one micro light emitting element (Fig. 5; ¶ 0073 “4 surrounds the first, second, and third lighting elements 21, 22, 23”), and the protective layer (4; Fig. 5) and the interlayer (top layer IW of interposer 1; Figs. 4-6; ¶ 0058) together encapsulate the at least one micro light emitting element (Fig. 5; ¶ 0065 “lighting unit 2 can include…lighting elements 21, 22, 23”, ¶ 0058 “lighting unit 2 is disposed on the multilayered circuit board 1 and includes a plurality of lighting elements”, ¶ 0073 protective layer 4 is “disposed on the multilayered circuit board 1” and “surrounds the first, second, and third lighting elements 21, 22, 23”, therefore the protective layer and the interlayer together encapsulate the at least one micro light emitting element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Asad to have wherein the display module further comprises a protective layer disposed on the interposer, wherein the protective layer covers the at least one micro light emitting element, and the protective layer and the interlayer together encapsulate the at least one micro light emitting element, as taught by Lin, because “4 has a reduced water absorption rate, thereby increasing the reliability of the LED package structure S” (Lin ¶ 0073).
Regarding Claim 2, Asad discloses wherein the substrate is a target substrate (Fig. 21; ¶ 0062 “CMOS driver may be capable of driving the micro-LEDs by modulation”) where the interposer and the at least one micro light emitting element are transferred (¶ 0062 note that this limitation is not given patentable weight because it is a process limitation in a product claim).
Regarding Claim 3, Asad discloses wherein the electrically conductive structure of the interposer extends through the interlayer (Fig. 21 specifically, 129-1 extends through 132).
Regarding Claim 4, Asad discloses wherein the at least one micro light emitting element is one-piece formed on the interlayer (Fig. 21 note that this limitation is not given patentable weight because it is a process limitation in a product claim, but one piece is formed on the interlayer for the structural element).
Regarding Claim 5, Asad discloses wherein the interlayer of the interposer has a first surface (Fig. 21 in this instance the bottom surface of 132) and a second surface (Fig. 21 in this instance the top surface of 132) opposite to each other (Fig. 21), the first surface faces toward the substrate (Fig. 21), and the testing circuit is located on the first surface (Fig. 21).
Regarding Claim 6, Asad discloses wherein the interlayer of the interposer has a first surface (Fig. 21 in this instance the bottom surface of 132) and a second surface (Fig. 21 in this instance the top surface of 132) opposite to each other (Fig. 21), the first surface faces toward the substrate (Fig. 21), and the testing circuit is located on the second surface (Fig. 21 in this instance testing circuit 129-7 is located on the second surface because it is located below the top surface of 132, in another interpretation if the figure was flipped over 180 degrees the testing circuit would also be considered ‘on’).
Regarding Claim 7, Asad discloses further comprising an electrical connection element (rightmost 129-5; Fig. 12; ¶ 0053) between the substrate and the interlayer (Fig. 12 in this instance between substrate 130-5 and interlayer 132), wherein the driving circuit is electrically connected with the electrically conductive structure through the electrical connection element (Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 8, Asad discloses wherein the electrical connection element comprises metal solder (¶ 0053 “solder pad 129-5”).
Regarding Claim 9, Asad discloses wherein a projection of the at least one micro light emitting element onto a surface of the substrate does not overlap a projection of the electrical connection element onto the surface (Fig. 14 in this instance a projection of 101,118 onto 130-5 does not overlap the rightmost electrical connection).
Regarding Claim 11, Asad discloses wherein the protective layer and the testing circuit are located at opposite sides of the interlayer, respectively (Fig. 21).
Regarding Claim 12, further comprising a buffer layer (130-2; Fig. 14; ¶ 0053) between the substrate and the interlayer of the interposer (Fig. 14; ¶ 0053 in this instance between substrate 130-5 and interlayer 132).
Response to Arguments
The Applicant states (page 6 of 7) that Asad does not disclose “the testing circuit and the electrically conductive structure are misaligned with each other”.
As explained in the rejection of amended Claim 1 supra, Asad discloses the testing circuit and the electrically conductive structure are misaligned with each other (Fig. 21 in this instance the testing circuit and the electrically conductive structure are not aligned horizontally, thus the testing circuit and the electrically conductive structure are misaligned horizontally with each other).
The Applicant states (page 6 of 7) that Asad does not disclose “the protective layer and the interlayer together encapsulate the at least one micro light emitting element”.
The amendments to Claim 1 has necessitated an updated rejection of Claim 1. Claim 1 is now rejected over the combination of Asad and Lin, as explained supra.
Independent Claim 1 is rejected for at least the reasons stated supra. Dependent Claims 2-9 and 11-12 are rejected for at least the reasons stated supra.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818