DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-27 are pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (Claims 13-27) in the reply filed on 4/1/23 is acknowledged. Claims 1-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 13-27 are examined in this Office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made that the information disclosure statement has been received and considered by the examiner. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 2, 5, 7, and 11 are informal. Specifically, the shading used in the figures makes it difficult to discern the features. This problem will be exacerbated in future reproductions. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bennet et al. (US Patent Application Publication No 2020/00395156) hereinafter referred to as Bennet.
Per Claim 13 Bennet discloses a method to create a FM/AFM interface in a single layer of FeRh, comprising the steps of:
providing a layer of FeRh film ([0030] also see figure 7);
wherein the layer of FeRh film has a top portion and a bottom portion (as shown in fig. 7);
wherein the layer of FeRh film is an antiferromagnetic (AFM) film [0030];
implanting ions into the top portion of the FeRh film (as described in [0030]);
creating, via the step of implanting ions, a ferromagnetic (FM) region in the top region (i.e. direct write of ferromagnetic patterns);
maintaining the antiferromagnetic (AFM) region of the bottom portion (Bennet teaches that the peak ionizing energy loss occurs within the top 50 nm of the film and decreases approximately linearly with depth [0064], hence inherently teaching that the bottom portion of the layer is not made ferromagnetic. Bennet also teaches that the film is 200 nm thick. see [0075]); and
creating a FM/AFM interface in the single layer of FeRh. (this feature is inherently taught since an interface is a surface forming a common boundary of two phases. Boundaries between the FM and AFM layers are shown in figure 8, but also exist within the film beneath the ferromagnetic portion)
Per Claim 16 Bennet discloses a method of inducing exchange bias by single step irradiation in a single FeRh film for use in a magnetic tunnel junction, comprising the steps of:
providing a layer of MgO (shown in figure 7);
growing an Epitaxial film of FeRh on the layer of MgO (shown in figure 7, see [0050]); and
implanting ions (as discussed in [0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennet as applied to claims 13 above.
Per Claim 15 Bennet discloses the method of claim 13 including the steps of: controlling via ion energy the thickness of the top portion. Figure 4 shows the relationship between the He+ dose and the Kerr Rotation (a measure of ferromagnetism). This clearly shows that an increase in He+ ions (and their associated energy) increases the ferromagnetism. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the thickness of the top portion via the ion energy.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 17-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Jami Valentine Miller/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818