DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230253377 (Schuele et al) in view of US 20170352646 (Bower et al).
Concerning claim 1, Schuele discloses a display apparatus comprising (Figs. 5 and 10A-10D): a plurality of thin film transistors (TFTs) provided on a substrate (Fig. 5 and [0066]); a plurality of electrode pads (P-pad and N-pad) (Fig. 5) and a plurality of pixels electrically connected to the plurality of TFTs through the plurality of electrode pads ([0066] and Fig. 5), wherein a first pixel among the plurality of pixels comprises a first light emitting diode (910a) connected to a first pair of the plurality of electrode pads (Fig. 5), a second light emitting diode (910b) connected to a first pair of the plurality of electrode pads (Fig. 5, note that each of the LED have the same configuration), and a third light emitting diode (910c) connected to a first pair of the plurality of electrode pads (Fig. 5 note that each of the LED have the same configuration) (Fig. 10A and [0078]).
Schuele does not disclose wherein a first interval between the first par of the plurality of electrode pads is less than a second interval between the second pairs of the plurality of electrode pads, and the second interval is less than a third interval between the third pair of the plurality of electrode pads. However, Bower discloses a display apparatus comprising a plurality of LEDs (60) transferred to a substrate. Bower discloses some of the LEDs 60 are different from others. For example, a first LED 60 of the plurality of LEDs 60 has one or more first attributes, a second LED 60 of the plurality of LEDs 60 has one or more second attributes and at least one of the first attributes is different from at least one of the second attributes. Attributes can include LED semiconductor material 30, crystal lattice structure, light output efficiency, or size, such as thickness, length, or width. Attributes can also include placement of electrodes, electrode material, electrode material composition or structure, or electrode size, such as thickness, length, or width. The different configuration of electrode pad (24) distances are illustrated in Figs. 3-5. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See MPEP 2144.04 IV A. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the interval of the electrode pads of the first, second and third LEDs in view of Bower such that a first interval between the first par of the plurality of electrode pads is less than a second interval between the second pairs of the plurality of electrode pads, and the second interval is less than a third interval between the third pair of the plurality of electrode pads absent evidence such configuration is critical.
Continuing to claim 2, Schuele in view of Bower discloses wherein the second light emitting diode is bigger than the first light emitting diode (Schuele Fig. 10A and [0078]), and wherein the third light emitting diode is bigger than the second light emitting diode (Schuele Fig. 10A and [0078]).
Considering claim 3, Schuele in view of Bower discloses wherein the first light emitting diode is configured to emit a light of a blue wavelength band (Schuele Fig. 10A, note that the carrier 1000a is for blue micro LEDs), wherein the second light emitting diode is configured to emit a light of a green wavelength band (Schuele Fig. 10A note that the carrier 1000b is for larger green micro LEDs), and wherein the third light emitting diode is configured to emit a light of a red wavelength band (Schuele Fig. 10A note that the carrier 1000c is for thicker red micro LEDs).
Referring to claim 4, Schuele in view of Bower discloses wherein a light emitting surface of each of the first light emitting diode, the second light emitting diode, and the third light emitting diode has a trapezoid shape (Schuele Fig. 10A, note that the cross-sectional shape of the micro LED is a trapezoid).
Pertaining to claim 5, Schuele in view of Bower discloses wherein side surfaces of each of the first light emitting diode, the second light emitting diode, and the third light emitting diode are inclined (Schuele Fig. 10A note that the shape of the micro LEDs is a trapezoid shape with inclined sides).
As to claim 6, Schuele in view of Bower discloses wherein each of the first light emitting diode, the second light emitting diode, and the third light emitting diode has a cross-section that becomes gradually narrower as it approaches a surface opposite a light emitting surface (Schuele Fig. 10A, note that the cross section of the first, second, and third light emitting diodes become narrower from the top surface to the bottom surface of the LED).
Concerning claim 7, Schuele in view of Bower discloses wherein each of the first light emitting diode, the second light emitting diode, and the third light emitting diode has a cross-section that becomes gradually wider as it approaches a surface opposite a light emitting surface (Schuele Fig. 10A, note that the cross section of the first, second, and third light emitting diodes become wider from the bottom surface to the top surface of the LED).
Claim(s) 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230253377 (Schuele et al) in view of US 20200335659 (Park et al).
Continuing to claim 14, Schuele discloses a method of manufacturing a display apparatus, the method comprising (Figs. 5 and 10A-10D): providing a plurality of first light emitting diodes (910a) in a first mold (1000a) (Fig. 10A); providing a plurality of second light emitting diodes (910b) in a second mold (1000b) (Fig. 10A); providing a plurality of third light emitting diodes (910c) in a third mold (1000c) (Fig. 10A); transferring the plurality of first light emitting diodes, the plurality of second light emitting diodes, and the plurality of third light emitting diodes to a relay substrate (900a, 900b, and 900c) respectively from the first mold, the second mold, and the third mold (Figs. 10B-10D and [0078]); and transferring the plurality of first light emitting diodes, the plurality of second light emitting diodes, and the plurality of third light emitting diodes to a thin film transistor (TFT) substrate (918) from the relay substrate ([0076] and [0066]), wherein the plurality of first light emitting diodes, the plurality of second light emitting diodes, and the plurality of third light emitting diodes are respectively inserted into a plurality of first insertion grooves of the first mold, a plurality of second insertion grooves of the second mold, and a plurality of third insertion grooves of the third mold by a fluidic self-assembly method ([0079]).
Schuele does not disclose wherein the plurality of second light emitting diodes are transferred to the relay substrate while the plurality of first light emitting diodes are adhered to the relay substrate. However, Park discloses several embodiments directed to a method of manufacturing a display apparatus (Figs. 8 and 9) in which a plurality of second LEDs (G) are transferred to a relay substrates (30) while a plurality of first LEDs (R) are adhered to the relay substrate (Fig. 9, it is noted that the transfer of the second LEDs are transferred simultaneously and therefore the adherence of the first LEDs to the relay substrate happens while the second LEDs are transferred). In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results). Therefore absent evidence of new or unexpected results it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Park to modify the manufacturing method of Schuele such that the plurality of second light emitting diodes are transferred to the relay substrate while the plurality of first light emitting diodes are adhered to the relay substrate.
Considering claim 15, Schuele in view of Park discloses wherein the plurality of first light emitting diodes, the plurality of second light emitting diodes, and the plurality of third light emitting diodes having different sizes from one another (Schuele [0078] and Fig. 10A).
Referring to claim 16, Schuele in view of Park discloses wherein each of the plurality of first insertion grooves has a first size, each of the plurality of second insertion grooves has a second size and each of the plurality of third insertion grooves has a third size, and wherein the second size is larger than the first size and smaller than the third size (Schuele Fig. 10A).
Regarding claim 17, Schuele discloses a method of manufacturing a display apparatus (SchueleFig. 16), comprising: providing a plurality of first light emitting diodes (910a) on a relay substrate in a first grid pattern (Schuele [0122]); providing a mold comprising a plurality of first insertion grooves arranged in the first grid pattern and a plurality of second insertion grooves arranged in a second grid pattern (Schuele [0122]); providing a plurality of second light emitting diodes in the plurality of second insertion grooves (Schuele [0122]); providing the mold to the relay substrate so that the plurality of first light emitting diodes are accommodated in the plurality of first insertion grooves of the mold . . . and the plurality of second light emitting diodes are adhered to the relay substrate (Schuele [0122]); and removing the mold from the plurality of second light emitting diodes and the relay substrate (Schuele [0122]).
Schuele does not disclose the plurality of first light emitting diodes are adhered to the relay substrate. However, Park discloses several embodiments directed to a method of manufacturing a display apparatus (Figs. 8 and 9) in which a plurality of second LEDs (G) are transferred to a relay substrates (30) while a plurality of first LEDs (R) are adhered to the relay substrate (Fig. 9, it is noted that the transfer of the second LEDs are transferred simultaneously and therefore the adherence of the first LEDs to the relay substrate happens while the second LEDs are transferred). In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results). Therefore absent evidence of new or unexpected results it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Park to modify the manufacturing method of Schuele such that the plurality of second light emitting diodes are transferred to the relay substrate while the plurality of first light emitting diodes are adhered to the relay substrate.
Pertaining to claim 18, Schuele in view of Park discloses further comprising providing the relay substrate to a thin film transistor (TFT) substrate to adhere the plurality of first light emitting diodes and the plurality of second light emitting diodes to the TFT substrate (Schuele [0123]).
As to claims 19 and 20, Schuele in view of Park discloses forming a plurality of first and second light emitting diodes according to the embodiment and disclosed in Fig. 16.
Schuele in view of Park does not disclose in the embodiment as disclosed in Fig. 16 wherein each of the plurality of first light emitting diodes is smaller than each of the plurality of second light emitting diodes or wherein each of the plurality of second light emitting diodes is larger than each of the plurality of first insertion grooves. However, Schuele discloses several different embodiments included one in which each of the plurality of first light emitting diodes is smaller than each of the plurality of second light emitting diodes or wherein each of the plurality of second light emitting diodes is larger than each of the plurality of first insertion grooves (Figs. 10A-10D and [0076]-[0079]). In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shapes and size of the light emitting diodes as disclosed in alternate embodiments (Figs. 10A-10D) of Schuele absent the configuration is significant.
Claim(s) 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230253377 (Schuele et al) in view of US 20200335659 (Park et al) and US 9281451 (Yeh et al).
Concerning claim 8, Schuele discloses a mold device for manufacturing a display apparatus (Figs. 10A-10D), comprising: a first mold (1000a) comprising a plurality of first insertion grooves arranged in a first grid (Fig. 10A), wherein the plurality of first insertion grooves have a first size into configured to accommodate a plurality of first light emitting diodes (Fig. 10A); a second mold (1000b) comprising a plurality of second insertion grooves arranged in a second grid (Fig. 10A), wherein the plurality of second insertion grooves have a second size bigger than the first size and are configured to accommodate a plurality of second light emitting diodes (Fig. 10A and [0078]); and a third mold (1000c) comprising a plurality of third insertion grooves having a third size bigger than the second size and are configured to accommodate a plurality of third light emitting diodes between the third mold . . . arranged in a grid form (Fig. 10A and [0078]).
Schuele does not disclose and a relay substrate while the plurality of first light emitting diodes and the plurality of second light emitting diodes are adhered to the relay substrate, wherein the plurality of third insertion grooves are inserted, wherein, in the second mold, a plurality of additional first insertion grooves corresponding to the first size are arranged in a grid form, and wherein in the third mold, a plurality of additional second insertion grooves corresponding to the first size are arranged in a grid form, and a plurality of additional third insertion grooves corresponding to the second size are arranged in a grid form. However, Park discloses several embodiments directed to a method of manufacturing a display apparatus (Figs. 8 and 9) in which a plurality of second LEDs (G) are transferred to a relay substrates (30) while a plurality of first LEDs (R) are adhered to the relay substrate (Fig. 9, it is noted that the transfer of the second LEDs are transferred simultaneously and therefore the adherence of the first LEDs to the relay substrate happens while the second LEDs are transferred). In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results). Therefore absent evidence of new or unexpected results it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Park to modify the manufacturing method of Schuele such that the plurality of second light emitting diodes are transferred to the relay substrate while the plurality of first light emitting diodes are adhered to the relay substrate.
Additionally, Yeh discloses a mold configuration (Figs. 2 and 12A-12F) in which a first (210c), second (210a), and third (210b) light emitting diode insertion grooves are formed to accommodate light emitting diodes of different sizes on the same mold. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the second and third molds of Schuele to include a second insertion groove in the third mold and a first insertion groove in the second mold in order to accommodate the light emitting diodes (210a, 210b, and 201c) of different sizes as disclosed by Yeh.
Continuing to claim 9, Schuele in view of Park and Yeh disclose wherein the plurality of additional first insertion grooves of the second mold are arranged in locations corresponding to the plurality of first insertion grooves of the first mold, wherein the plurality of additional second insertion grooves of the third mold are arranged in locations corresponding to the plurality of first insertion grooves of the first mold, and wherein the plurality of additional third insertion grooves of the third mold are arranged in locations corresponding to the plurality of second insertion grooves of the second mold (Schuele Fig. 10A and Yeh Fig. 2).
Considering claim 10, Schuele in view of Park and Yeh disclose wherein the first size is bigger than the plurality of first light emitting diodes, wherein the second size is bigger than the plurality of second light emitting diodes, and wherein the third size is bigger than the plurality of third light emitting diodes (Schuele Fig. 10A and Yeh Fig. 2).
Referring to claim 11, Schuele in view of Park and Yeh disclose wherein the plurality of first insertion grooves, the plurality of second insertion grooves, the plurality of third insertion grooves, the plurality of additional first insertion grooves, the plurality of additional second insertion grooves, and the plurality of additional third insertion grooves are trapezoid forms (Yeh Fig. 2 and 12F).
Regarding claim 12, Schuele in view of Park and Yeh disclose wherein side surfaces of each of the plurality of first insertion grooves, the plurality of second insertion grooves, and the plurality of third insertion grooves are inclined (Yeh Fig. 12F).
Pertaining to claim 13, Schuele in view of Park and Yeh discloses wherein a cross-section of each of the plurality of first insertion grooves, the plurality of second insertion grooves, and the plurality of third insertion grooves becomes gradually narrower as it approaches a bottom side from an opening side (Yeh Fig. 12F).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, 14, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VALERIE N NEWTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 03/07/26
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897