DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 11/14/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “molding layer” of claims 8 and 11-14 (12-14 through their dependence on claim 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rhee (US 2017/0207249).
With regard to claim 1, Rhee teaches, in Figs 10-12, a display module comprising: a substrate (1010); a thin film transistor (TFT) layer (layer spanned by 1101-1104, 1110, 1120, 1200) stacked on a surface of the substrate, a plurality of TFT electrodes (1020, 1040) being arranged on the TFT layer; a plurality of light emitting devices (LEDs) (1050) electrically connected to the plurality of TFT electrodes; an anti-reflection layer (1030) stacked on the TFT layer, the anti-reflection layer having a light absorption color for absorbing external light ([0057], [0109]), the anti-reflection layer fixing in place the plurality of LEDs ([0110]); and a protective layer (1080) stacked on the anti-reflection layer and the plurality of LEDs, wherein the plurality of TFT electrodes and the plurality of LEDs are electrically connected in the anti-reflection layer ([0011]).
With regard to claim 2, Rhee teaches, in Figs 10-12, that the anti-reflection layer is formed by applying a black-based pigment or dye to an anisotropic conductive film (ACF) ([0057]).
With regard to claim 5, Rhee teaches, in Figs 10-12, that a light emitting surface (top surface in the figures, [0104]) is formed on each of the plurality of LEDs, the light emitting surface being exposed to the outside of the anti- reflection layer (see figures).
With regard to claim 7, Rhee teaches, in Figs 10-12, that each of the plurality of LEDs comprises a pair of LED electrodes (1152, 1156) formed on a lower portion opposite to an upper portion on which the light emitting surface is formed, and the pair of LED electrodes is embedded in the anti-reflection layer (see figure).
With regard to claim 11, Rhee teaches, in Figs 10-12, a display module comprising: a thin film transistor (TFT) substrate (1010), a plurality of TFT electrodes (1120, 1140) being arranged on the TFT layer; an anti-reflection layer (1030) stacked on the TFT layer and having a black-based color ([0057], [0109]); a plurality of LEDs (1050) each respectively electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of TFT electrodes of the TFT layer through the anti-reflection layer ([0110]); and a molding layer (1080) stacked on the anti-reflection layer and the plurality of LEDs, wherein each of the plurality of LEDs comprises: a light emitting surface (top surface in the figures, [0104]) formed on an upper portion thereof, and a pair of LED electrodes (1152, 1156) disposed on a lower portion opposite to the upper portion and electrically connected to a corresponding pair of TFT electrodes, among the plurality of TFT electrodes, in the anti-reflection layer ([0110], see figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhee (US 2017/0207249) in view of Chung et al. (US 2020/0152721).
With regard to claim 3, Rhee teaches most of the limitations of this claim as set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Rhee does not explicitly teach that the anti-reflection layer is formed by applying a black-based pigment or dye to a non-conductive film (NCF).
Chung teaches, in Fig 4, that the anti-reflection layer (80) is formed by applying a black-based pigment or dye to a non-conductive film (NCF) ([0133]) so that, “uniform brightness of the display apparatus 1 may be implemented,” ([0121]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the effective time of filing to combine the device of Rhee with the anti-reflection layer connection of Chung so that uniform brightness of the display apparatus may be implemented.
With regard to claim 4, Rhee teaches most of the limitations of this claim as set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Rhee does not explicitly teach that the anti-reflection layer is formed of a black resin.
Chung teaches, in Fig 4, that the anti-reflection layer (80) is formed of a black resin ([0133]) so that, “uniform brightness of the display apparatus 1 may be implemented,” ([0121]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the effective time of filing to combine the device of Rhee with the anti-reflection layer connection of Chung so that uniform brightness of the display apparatus may be implemented.
With regard to claim 6, Rhee teaches most of the limitations of this claim as set forth above with regard to claim 5.
Rhee does not explicitly teach that an upper portion of each of the plurality of LEDs protrudes from the anti-reflection layer, the light emitting surface being formed on the upper portion.
Chung teaches, in Fig 4, that an upper portion (portion exposed from 80) of each of the plurality of LEDs (51, 52) protrudes from the anti-reflection layer (80), the light emitting surface (51b, 52b) being formed on the upper portion so that, “the non-conductive layer 80 may not adversely affect the brightness of the micro LEDs 51 and 52,” ([0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the effective time of filing to combine the device of Rhee with the anti-reflection layer connection of Chung so that the anti-reflection layer may not adversely affect the brightness of the micro LEDs.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhee (US 2017/0207249) in view of Mun et al. (US 2020/0161283).
With regard to claim 8, Rhee teaches most of the limitations of this claim as set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Rhee does not explicitly teach a molding layer covering the anti-reflection layer and the plurality of LEDs, wherein the protective layer is stacked on the molding layer.
Mun teaches, in Fig 8, a molding layer (710) covering the anti-reflection layer (320) and the plurality of LEDs (330), wherein the protective layer (720) is stacked on the molding layer to, “adjust a patterned unit size to satisfy the specified CR and increase the degree of freedom in manufacturing or design,” ([0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the effective time of filing to combine the device of Rhee with the molding layer of Mun to increase the degree of freedom in manufacturing or design.
Claim(s) 9, 10, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhee (US 2017/0207249) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2020/0235075).
With regard to claim 9, Rhee teaches most of the limitations of this claim as set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Rhee does not explicitly teach an ultra-low reflection layer stacked on the protective layer; and a radiant heat blocking layer stacked on the ultra-low reflection layer to block near-infrared and far-infrared rays.
Tsai teaches, in Fig 4, an ultra-low reflection layer (310) stacked on the protective layer (500); and a radiant heat blocking layer (320) stacked on the ultra-low reflection layer to block near-infrared and far-infrared rays so that, “a mirror reflection can be avoid,” ([0032]) and, “such that the intensity of the reflected light may be reduced,” ([0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the effective time of filing to combine the device of Rhee with the overlying layers of Tsai to reduce or avoid reflections of ambient light.
With regard to claim 10, Rhee teaches most of the limitations of this claim as set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Rhee does not explicitly teach that the protective layer has a plurality of diffuse reflection protrusions formed on a surface thereof.
Tsai teaches, in Fig 4, that the protective layer (300) has a plurality of diffuse reflection protrusions (302) formed on a surface thereof so that, “a mirror reflection can be avoid,” ([0032]) and, “such that the intensity of the reflected light may be reduced,” ([0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the effective time of filing to combine the device of Rhee with the overlying layers of Tsai to reduce or avoid reflections of ambient light.
With regard to claim 12, Rhee teaches most of the limitations of this claim as set forth above with regard to claim 11.
Rhee also teaches, in Figs 10-12, a protective layer (1090) stacked on the anti-reflection layer and the plurality of LEDs.
Rhee does not explicitly teach an ultra-low reflection layer stacked on the protective layer.
Tsai teaches, in Fig 4, an ultra-low reflection layer (310) stacked on the protective layer (500) so that, “a mirror reflection can be avoid,” ([0032]) and, “such that the intensity of the reflected light may be reduced,” ([0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the effective time of filing to combine the device of Rhee with the overlying layers of Tsai to reduce or avoid reflections of ambient light.
With regard to claim 13, Tsai teaches, in Fig 4, a radiant heat blocking layer (320) stacked on the ultra-low reflection layer to block near-infrared and far-infrared rays.
With regard to claim 14, Tsai teaches, in Fig 4, that the protective layer has a plurality of diffuse reflection protrusions (302) formed on a surface thereof.
Conclusion
/RAJ R GUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893