DETAILED ACTION Elections/Restrictions 1. This office action is a response to Applicant's election filed on 02/02/2026 without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 for further examination. Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim . Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 2. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/04/2023 (three) are being considered by the examiner. Claim Interpretation 4. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre- AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “ means for measuring the MD speed of the sheet of material ” in claim s 1 & 7 ; “ means for associating the measured MD speed with time ” in claim s 1 -2 ; “ means for recording the time-associated MD speeds ” in claim 1; “ means for associating first characteristic measurements with time ” in claim s 1 & 3 ; “ means for associating second characteristic measurements with time ” in claim 5 . Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre- AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner' s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 5 . The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (B) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. 6 . Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention. As regards to claim 1, line 3 recites the limitation “the MD speed ”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting “ the MD speed ” as “ MD speed ”. To correct this problem, amend line 3 to recite “ MD speed ”. As regards to claim 1, line 4 recites the limitation “the measured MD speed”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting “the measured MD speed” as “measured MD speed”. To correct this problem, amend line 4 to recite “measured MD speed”. As regards to claim 1, line 8 recites the limitation “the first scanner sensor”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting “the first scanner sensor” as “the first scanning sensor”. To correct this problem, amend line 8 to recite “the first scanning sensor”. As regards to claim 2, line 2 recites the limitation “the time information”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting “the time information” as “time information”. To correct this problem, amend line 2 to recite “time information”. As regards to claim 3, line 2-3 recites the limitation “the time information”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting “the time information” as “time information”. To correct this problem, amend claim 2, line 2 to recite “time information”. Claims 2- 9 are rejected at least based on their dependency from claim 1. Claim Rejections 7 . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 8 . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 9 . The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 1 0 . Claims 1- 6 & 8- 9 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ignagni et al. ( US 2003/0014147 A1 ) hereinafter Ignagni (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Ignagni are included between parentheses). Regarding claim 1, the recitation “ a sheet of material that moves in a machine direction (MD) ”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Ignagni since Ignagni meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of having a sheet of material that moves in a machine direction (MD) , if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and i ntended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau , 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham , 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey , 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115. As regards to claim 1, Ignagni discloses a sheet monitoring system (abs; fig 1-6), compri sing : a sheet of material (web/sheet) that moves in a machine direction (MD) ([0023]; [0024] -[ 0026] ; [0028]; [0032]; [0038]; fig 1) ; means for measuring MD speed (106) of the sheet of material (web/sheet) ([0012]; [0024] -[ 0026] ; [0091]; [0093]; fig 1; clm 3) ; means for associating measured MD speed with time (measurements comprise time stamp information, cross direction coordinates, machine direction coordinates, and at least one of machine direction odometer or velocity information) to generate time-associated MD speeds ([0012]; [0024] -[ 0026] ; [0091]; [0093]; fig 1; clm 3) ; means for recording the time-associated MD speeds (when computing the MD coordinates, additional machine (e.g. paper motion) speed and a time stamp for each measurement point can be taken into account, wherein the measurements comprise time stamp information, cross direction coordinates, machine direction coordinates, and at least one of machine direction odometer or velocity information) ([0012]; [0024] -[ 0026]; [0091]; [0093]; fig 1; clm 3) ; a first scanning sensor (102) for measuring a first characteristic of the sheet material wherein the first scanning sensor (102) is located at a first position along the MD and the first scanning sensor (102) traverses back and forth along a cross direction (CD) which is perpendicular to the MD (abs; [0004]-[0011]; [0013]; [0023]-[0026]; [0028]; [0031]-[0033]; [0035]; [0039]-[0041]; fig 1 & 3B; clm 1 & 8) ; and means for associating first characteristic measurements with time to generate time-associated first characteristic measurements (“when computing the MD coordinates, additional machine (e.g. paper motion) speed and a time stamp for each measurement point can be taken into account, wherein the measurements comprise time stamp information, cross direction coordinates, machine direction coordinates, and at least one of machine direction odometer or velocity information”, thus the measurements of a measurement point is also linked to the time stamp) ([0012]; [0024]-[0026]; [0091]; [0093]; fig 1; clm 3). As regards to claim 2, Ignagni discloses a sheet monitoring system (abs; fig 1-6), wherein the means for associating the MD speed with time (measurements comprise time stamp information, cross direction coordinates, machine direction coordinates, and at least one of machine direction odometer or velocity information) comprises a first processor that generates a time stamp as the time information on the measured MD speed ([0012]; [0024]- [0026]; [0091]; [0093]; fig 1; clm 3) . As regards to claim 3, Ignagni discloses a sheet monitoring system (abs; fig 1-6), wherein the means for associating first characteristic measurements with time (“when computing the MD coordinates, additional machine (e.g. paper motion) speed and a time stamp for each measurement point can be taken into account, wherein the measurements comprise time stamp information, cross direction coordinates, machine direction coordinates, and at least one of machine direction odometer or velocity information”, thus the measurements of a measurement point is also linked to the time stamp) comprises the first processor that generates time stamps as time information on the first characteristic measurements ([0012]; [0024]-[0026]; [0091]; [0093]; fig 1; clm 3) . As regards to claim 4, Ignagni discloses a sheet monitoring system (abs; fig 1-6), wherein the first scanning sensor (102) generates CD profiles of first characteristic measurements by averaging the measurements in finite sized bins of CD segments (correlate outputs from the stationary sensor array and the scanning array using a data reconciliation process , i.e. , a practical, real time data reconciliation of measurements from the scanning sensor and measurements from the stationary array sensor is achieved using a bank of Kalman filters to correlate outputs from the two sensors for each cross-directional measurement zone, wherein each filter possesses a relatively simple, computational structure , wherein t he Kalman filters can fuse the outputs from the stationary array sensor and the scanning sensor to track, and compensate, drift of the stationary array sensor) (abs; [0010]; [0012]; [0024]-[0026]; [0091]; [0093]; fig 1-5; clm 3) . As regards to claim 5, Ignagni discloses a sheet monitoring system (abs; fig 1-6), comprising: a second scanning sensor for measuring a second characteristic of the sheet material wherein the second scanning sensor is located at a second position along the MD, which is downstream from the first scanning sensor (102) at a known distance, and the second scanner sensor traverses back and forth along the CD; and means for associating second characteristic measurements with time to generate time-associated second characteristic measurements (“at least one scanning sensor at a second location" is used “to produce a second array of measurement outputs; and means for synthesizing an array of measurement outputs by fusing (reconciling) the first and second arrays of measurement outputs” . The wording "at least one" means that also several scanning sensors are within the teaching of Ignagni . Since these scanning sensors cannot be placed the same location they must consequently be offset to a further second location in order to avoid collisions. Further, Ignagni teaches that at least one "at least one stationary array of sensors" is used, whereby also this stationary sensor measures across the CD-direction and thus at least electronically scans the web in the transversal direction; and Ignagni teaches “when computing the MD coordinates, additional machine (e.g. paper motion) speed and a time stamp for each measurement point can be taken into account, wherein the measurements comprise time stamp information, cross direction coordinates, machine direction coordinates, and at least one of machine direction odometer or velocity information”) ( [0011]; [0012]; [0024]-[0026]; [0091]; [0093]; fig 1 -5 ; clm 1, 3) . As regards to claim 6, Ignagni discloses a sheet monitoring system (abs; fig 1-6), comprising a processor that is configured to generate a time stamp to the first scanning sensor (102) and to the second scanning sensor (“at least one scanning sensor at a second location" is used “to produce a second array of measurement outputs; and means for synthesizing an array of measurement outputs by fusing (reconciling) the first and second arrays of measurement outputs”. The wording "at least one" means that also several scanning sensors are within the teaching of Ignagni . Since these scanning sensors cannot be placed the same location they must consequently be offset to a further second location in order to avoid collisions. Further, Ignagni teaches that at least one "at least one stationary array of sensors" is used, whereby also this stationary sensor measures across the CD-direction and thus at least electronically scans the web in the transversal direction; and Ignagni teaches “when computing the MD coordinates, additional machine (e.g. paper motion) speed and a time stamp for each measurement point can be taken into account, wherein the measurements comprise time stamp information, cross direction coordinates, machine direction coordinates, and at least one of machine direction odometer or velocity information”) ([0011]; [0012]; [0024]-[0026]; [0091]; [0093]; fig 1-5; clm 1, 3). Regarding claim 8, the recitation “ wherein the sheet of material comprises a coated metal substrate ”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Ignagni since Ignagni meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of having the sheet of material comprise a coated metal substrate , if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and i ntended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau , 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham , 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey , 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115. As regards to claim 8, Ignagni discloses a sheet monitoring system (abs; fig 1-6), wherein the sheet of material (web/sheet) is capable of compris ing a coated metal substrate ([0023]; [0024] -[ 0026]; [0028]; [0032]; [0038]; fig 1) . Regarding claim 9, the recitation “ wherein the coated metal substrate is coated with an electrode layer ”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Ignagni since Ignagni meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of having the coated metal substrate coated with an electrode layer , if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and i ntended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau , 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham , 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey , 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115. As regards to claim 9, Ignagni discloses a sheet monitoring system (abs; fig 1-6), wherein the coated metal substrate is capable of being coated with an electrode layer ([0023]; [0024] -[ 0026]; [0028]; [0032]; [0038]; fig 1). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 1 1 . The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 1 2 . The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . 1 3 . Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ignagni as applied to claim 1 above, (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Ignagni are included between parentheses). As regards to claim 7, Ignagni discloses a sheet monitoring system (abs; fig 1-6), wherein the sheet of material (web/sheet) is supported by a first roller (112) and the means for measuring the speed (106) of the sheet of material (web/sheet) comprises an odometer that measures the rotation speed of the first roller (112) ([0012]; [0024]-[0026]; [0091]; [0093]; fig 1; clm 3), however Ignagni does not disclose tachometer . However, a tachometer and odometer are considered functionally equivalent speed measuring means. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a tachometer for the odometer disclosed by Ignagni since they are functionally equivalent and one of an obvious finite choices of speed measuring means with a reasonable expectation of success. Conclusion 1 4 . The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: all references cited on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited excluding the above relied upon references. 15 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Jethro M Pence whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-7423 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-TH 8:00 A.M. - 6:30 P.M. . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Dah-Wei D. Yuan can be reached on FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-1295 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT /Jethro M. Pence/ Primary Examiner Art Unit 1717