Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/24/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. For example, the title is citing a semiconductor package. However, the inventive concept is directed to the inclusion of a laser marking area with the package, as cited in claim 1, line 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (US 20200105679 A1) in view of Han (US 20200111742 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bae discloses a semiconductor package (Fig. 16) comprising:
an encapsulation layer (130) encapsulating at least a first semiconductor chip (120);
a redistribution level layer (a collection of 132/150/151) disposed on the encapsulation layer (directly on), the redistribution level layer comprising a redistribution conductive layer (150 including MP) and a redistribution insulating layer (132/151; [0127]: “second insulating layer”) insulating the redistribution conductive layer (directly insulating);
a laser mark insulating layer (190) located on the redistribution conductive layer and the redistribution insulating layer; and
a laser mark area (M, See annotated figure) comprising those portions of the redistribution conductive layer, the redistribution insulating layer, and the laser mark insulating layer that are formed within a first region of the semiconductor package (See annotated figure) with respect to a top down view (See annotated figure for direction designation),
the redistribution insulating layer of the laser mark area comprising a plurality of mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns (portions of 151, See annotated figure) that are spaced apart from each other in a first horizontal direction (left-to-right) and surrounded by the redistribution conductive layer (surrounded in the left-to-right direction by at least 152a, which is including 152L1 with MP; [0128]: “at least one of the lower and upper redistribution layers”), and the laser mark insulating layer of the laser mark area comprising […exposing] (exposing by making visible to light, an ordinary and customary meaning of “exposing”; [0082]: “information may be obtained by performing irradiation of light on the mark MP”) the redistribution conductive layer and at least some of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns,
wherein side surfaces of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns contact (direct contact) the redistribution conductive layer.
Illustrated below is a marked and annotated figure of Fig. 16 of Bae.
Bae teaches the laser mark area being used for reading marks with light ([0082]: “information may be obtained by performing irradiation of light on the mark MP”), however, fails to teach “the laser mark insulating layer of the laser mark area comprising a laser mark exposing the redistribution conductive layer and at least some of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns”.
Han discloses the laser mark insulating layer (Fig. 13: 190) of the laser mark area comprising a laser mark (h2; [0107]: “may be formed by laser processing”) exposing the [underlying] layer (patterned portions of 132). Modifying the laser mark insulating layer of Bae (Bae: Fig. 16: 190) by including a laser mark (of Han), would arrive at the claimed configuration: exposing (exposing by making visible to light, an ordinary and customary meaning of “exposing”) the [underlying] redistribution conductive layer (MP) and at least some of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns (the portions of 151). Han provides a teaching to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the laser mark in that it would improve readability of the laser mark area ([0113]: “in order to secure sufficient visibility of the mark”). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had predictable results because in each situation the laser mark area is used for reading marks with light. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed laser mark because it would improve readability of the laser mark area. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Illustrated below is Fig. 13 of Han.
Regarding claim 2, Bae in view of Han discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (Bae: Fig. 16), wherein the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns are non-uniformly disposed (the patterns/portions of 151 appear to have irregular horizontal dimensions based on the size and position of conductive layer 152, thus “non-uniformly disposed”) throughout the redistribution conductive layer of the laser mark area.
Regarding claim 3, Bae in view of Han discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (Bae: Fig. 16), however fails to explicitly teach the claimed proportion “wherein, with respect to a horizontal cross section, the redistribution conductive layer occupies 70% to 90% of the first region, and the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns occupies 10% to 30% of the first region”.
However, the claim as written reasonably includes a plurality of interpretations of the demarcation of the laser mark area consistent with the scope of MPEP 2111. The plurality of interpretations of the laser mark area demarcation lines includes at least one interpretation that is not patentably distinct from the combination of Bae and Han. For example, changing the shape of the laser mark area by shifting the demarcation lines in the top-down view so as to include particularly large amounts of the redistribution layer (by having the redistribution layer amount to only the claimed range) and by including particularly small amounts of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns (by having the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns amount to only the claimed range) would arrive at the claimed dimensional relation. A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had predictable results because changing the size/proportion of the laser mark area (i.e. demarcation lines) without any actual change in size to the redistribution layer or the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns would have the resultant effect of changing the relative dimensions of the laser mark area to the claimed structures (i.e., percentage of size relative to another size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed relative area dimensions because it is a mere scaling up or down of the prior art without requiring any structural or functional change. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Regarding claim 5, Bae in view of Han discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (Bae: Fig. 16), wherein the redistribution conductive layer is a wiring layer electrically connected to the first semiconductor chip (152/153 is electrically connected at least through intervening 110).
Regarding claim 6, Bae in view of Han discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (Bae: Fig. 16), however the selected embodiment fails to explicitly teach the claimed spatial arrangement of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns:
“wherein: with respect to a top down view, the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns of the laser mark area are arranged in a plurality of rows extending in the first horizontal direction and a plurality of columns extending in a second horizontal direction,
the plurality of rows of mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns are arranged in first groups, wherein spacing in the second horizontal direction of adjacent first groups is greater than spacing in the second horizontal direction between adjacent rows comprising the first groups of rows, and
the plurality of columns of mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns are arranged in second groups, wherein spacing in the first horizontal direction of adjacent second groups is greater than spacing in the first horizontal direction between adjacent columns comprising the second groups of columns.”
Nevertheless, Bae teaches the following:
The shape and arrangement of the redistribution conductive layer is a design variation according to the contained information ([0083]: “a two-dimensional barcode, but may include a sign, a number, a character, and a combination thereof”).
The redistribution conductive layer includes configurations among multiple layers ([0128]: ”at least one of the lower and upper redistribution layers”) and these configurations may differ configuration among these layers (Fig. 16: the configurations of 152L1 and 152L2 are shown different).
Shape and arrangement of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns corresponds to the shape and arrangement of the redistribution conductive layer (Fig. 16 shows 151 is conformal on 152L1).
Separately, Bae discloses an embodiment wherein: with respect to a top down view (Fig. 11), the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns of the laser mark area (130 among MP) are arranged in a plurality of rows (See annotated figure) extending in the first horizontal direction (See annotated figure) and a plurality of columns (See annotated figure) extending in a second horizontal direction (See annotated figure),
the plurality of rows of mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns are arranged in first groups (See annotated figure), wherein spacing in the second horizontal direction of adjacent first groups (indirectly adjacent, spaced apart at least by an intervening first group, and thus have a very large spacing) is greater than spacing in the second horizontal direction between adjacent rows comprising the first groups of rows (rows within each first group are directly adjacent, and thus have a very small spacing), and
the plurality of columns of mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns are arranged in second groups (See annotated figure), wherein spacing in the first horizontal direction of adjacent second groups (indirectly adjacent, spaced apart at least by an intervening second group, and thus have a very large spacing) is greater than spacing in the first horizontal direction between adjacent columns comprising the second groups of columns (columns within each first group are directly adjacent, and thus have a very small spacing).
Therefore, the claimed shape and arrangement of the redistribution conductive layer is a prima facie obvious design variation that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would make according to the contained information. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B).
Illustrated below is a marked and annotated figure of Fig. 11 of Bae.
Regarding claim 7, Bae in view of Han discloses the semiconductor package of claim 6 (Fig. 11), wherein the redistribution conductive layer of the laser mark area (MP) comprises:
a plurality of first redistribution conductive pattern groups (rows of the individual pieces of MP) between the first groups of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns (horizontally between), the plurality of first redistribution conductive pattern groups arranged in the first horizontal direction and spaced apart from each other in the second horizontal direction; and
a plurality of second redistribution conductive pattern groups (columns of the individual pieces of MP) between the second groups of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns (horizontally between), the plurality of second redistribution conductive pattern groups arranged in the second horizontal direction and spaced apart from each other in the first horizontal direction.
Regarding claim 8, Bae in view of Han discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (Bae: Fig. 16), wherein the redistribution conductive layer of the laser mark area comprises a plurality of metal layers (layers 152L1 and 152L2 are inclusive within the cited collection).
Regarding claim 9, Bae in view of Han discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (Bae: Fig. 16), wherein the redistribution insulating layer of the laser mark area comprises a plurality of component insulating layers (132/151 is a plurality) stacked in a vertical direction (See annotated figure for direction designation).
Regarding claim 10, Bae in view of Han discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (Bae: Fig. 16), wherein the redistribution conductive layer exposed by the laser mark and the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns exposed by the laser mark are at the same level (these structures are in the same redistribution level layer. Thus, when using “redistribution level layer” as cited in claim 1 as the definition of “level”, these structures are at the “same level”).
Regarding independent claim 11, Bae discloses a semiconductor package (Fig. 16) comprising:
an encapsulation layer (130) encapsulating at least one semiconductor chip (120); and
a redistribution level layer (a collection of 132/150/151) disposed on the encapsulation layer (directly on),
the redistribution level layer comprising
a redistribution conductive layer (150 including MP) and a redistribution insulating layer (132/151; [0127]: “second insulating layer”) insulating the redistribution conductive layer (directly insulating);
a laser mark insulating layer (190) located on the redistribution conductive layer and the redistribution insulating layer; and
a laser mark area (M, See annotated figure) comprising those portions of the redistribution conductive layer, the redistribution insulating layer, and the laser mark insulating layer that are formed within a first region of the semiconductor package (See annotated figure) with respect to a top down view (See annotated figure for direction designation),
the redistribution conductive layer comprising a laser mark metal layer (a collection of 152L1/152L2, also referenced as MP), the redistribution insulating layer of the laser mark area comprising a plurality of mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns (portions of 151, See annotated figure) spaced apart from each other in a horizontal direction (left-to-right) and surrounded by the laser mark metal layer (surrounded in the left-to-right direction by at least 152L1 with MP; [0128]: “at least one of the lower and upper redistribution layers”), and […exposing] (exposing by making visible to light, an ordinary and customary meaning of “exposing”; [0082]: “information may be obtained by performing irradiation of light on the mark MP”) the laser mark metal layer and at least some of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns
wherein the laser mark metal layer […] comprises a first laser mark metal pattern (small pieces of 152L2) having a first length in the horizontal direction and a second laser mark metal pattern (large pieces of 152M) having a second length in the horizontal direction greater than the first length (“greater” is shown by the greatly exaggerated differences in size among the large and small pieces), and
wherein side surfaces of the redistribution conductive layer (horizontal facing side surfaces of 152L1) […] contact (direct contact) side surfaces of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns (horizontal facing side surfaces of the portions of 151) […].
Bae teaches the laser mark area being used for reading marks with light ([0082]: “information may be obtained by performing irradiation of light on the mark MP”), however, fails to teach “the laser mark insulating layer of the laser mark area comprising a laser mark exposing the laser mark metal layer and at least some of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns
wherein the laser mark metal layer exposed by the laser mark comprises a first laser mark metal pattern having a first length in the horizontal direction and a second laser mark metal pattern having a second length in the horizontal direction greater than the first length, and
wherein side surfaces of the redistribution conductive layer exposed by the laser mark contact side surfaces of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns exposed by the laser mark”.
Han discloses the laser mark insulating layer (Fig. 13: 190) of the laser mark area comprising a laser mark (h2; [0107]: “may be formed by laser processing”) exposing the [underlying] layer (patterned portions of 132). Modifying the laser mark insulating layer of Bae (Bae: Fig. 16: 190) by including a laser mark (of Han), would arrive at the claimed configuration:
exposing (exposing by making visible to light, an ordinary and customary meaning of “exposing”) the [underlying] laser mark metal layer (MP) and at least some of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns (the portions of 151)
wherein the laser mark metal layer exposed by the laser mark (exposing by making visible to light, an ordinary and customary meaning of “exposing”) comprises […], and
wherein side surfaces of the redistribution conductive layer exposed by the laser mark (exposing by making visible to light, an ordinary and customary meaning of “exposing”) […].
Han provides a teaching to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the laser mark in that it would improve readability of the laser mark area ([0113]: “in order to secure sufficient visibility of the mark”). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had predictable results because in each situation the laser mark area is used for reading marks with light. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed laser mark because it would improve readability of the laser mark area. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Regarding claim 12, Bae in view of Han discloses the semiconductor package of claim 11 (Bae: Fig. 16), wherein the first laser mark metal pattern and the second laser mark metal pattern exposed by the laser mark are adjacent to each other (horizontally adjacent) and the redistribution conductive layer exposed by the laser mark and the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns exposed by the laser mark are at the same level (these structures are in the same redistribution level layer. Thus, when using “redistribution level layer” as cited in claim 1 as the definition of “level”, these structures are at the “same level”).
Regarding claim 14, Bae in view of Han discloses the semiconductor package of claim 11 (Bae: Fig. 16), however fails to explicitly teach the claimed proportion “wherein the redistribution conductive layer occupies 70% to 90% of the laser mark area, and the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns occupy 10% to 30% of the laser mark area”.
However, the claim as written reasonably includes a plurality of interpretations of the demarcation of the laser mark area consistent with the scope of MPEP 2111. The plurality of interpretations of the laser mark area demarcation lines includes at least one interpretation that is not patentably distinct from Bae in view of Han. For example, changing the shape of the laser mark area by shifting the demarcation lines in the top-down view so as to include particularly large amounts of the redistribution layer (by having the redistribution layer amount to only the claimed range) and by including particularly small amounts of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns (by having the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns amount to only the claimed range) would arrive at the claimed dimensional relation. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had predictable results because changing the size/proportion of the laser mark area (i.e. demarcation lines) without any actual change in size to the redistribution layer or the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns would have the resultant effect of changing the relative dimensions of the laser mark area to the claimed structures (i.e., percentage of size relative to another size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have the claimed relative area dimensions because it is a mere scaling up or down of the prior art without requiring any structural or functional change. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Regarding claim 15, Bae in view of Han discloses the semiconductor package of claim 11 (Bae: Fig. 16), wherein the redistribution insulating layer of the laser mark area comprises a plurality of component insulating layers (132/151 is a plurality), and the redistribution conductive layer located of the laser mark area comprises a plurality of metal layers (layers 152L1 and 152L2 are inclusive within the cited collection).
Regarding independent claim 16, Bae discloses a semiconductor package (Fig. 16) comprising:
a fan-in area (See annotated figure) in which a semiconductor chip (120) is located; and a fan-out area (See annotated figure) comprising a package element (110) surrounding the fan-in area (horizontally surrounding) and having an inner wiring layer (112b); a package body level layer (110H) comprising a fan-in encapsulation layer (130, the portion within the fan-in area) sealing the semiconductor chip in the fan-in area;
a first redistribution level layer (140) disposed on a lower surface of the package body level layer (See annotated figure) and comprising a first redistribution conductive layer (142) extending to the fan-out area and a first redistribution insulating layer (141) insulating the first redistribution conductive layer (directly insulating);
a second redistribution level layer disposed on an upper surface of the package body level layer (See annotated figure), and comprising a second redistribution conductive layer (150 including MP) extending to the fan-out area, and a second redistribution insulating layer (132/151; [0127]: “second insulating layer”) insulating the second redistribution conductive layer (directly insulating);
a laser mark insulating layer (190) located on the second redistribution conductive layer and the second redistribution insulating layer; and
a laser mark area (M, See annotated figure) comprising those portions of the second redistribution conductive layer, the second redistribution insulating layer, and the laser mark insulating layer that are formed within a first region of the semiconductor package (See annotated figure) with respect to a top down view (See annotated figure for direction designation),
the second redistribution insulating layer of the laser mark area comprises a plurality of mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns (portions of 151, See annotated figure) spaced apart from each other in a horizontal direction (left-to-right),
the laser mark insulating layer […exposing] (exposing by making visible to light, an ordinary and customary meaning of “exposing”; [0082]: “information may be obtained by performing irradiation of light on the mark MP”) the second redistribution conductive layer and the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns,
wherein side surfaces of the second redistribution conductive layer (horizontal facing side surfaces of 152L1) […] contact (direct contact) side surfaces of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns (horizontal facing side surfaces of the portions of 151) […].
Bae teaches the laser mark area being used for reading marks with light ([0082]: “information may be obtained by performing irradiation of light on the mark MP”), however, fails to teach “the laser mark insulating layer comprising a laser mark exposing the second redistribution conductive layer and the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns,
wherein side surfaces of the second redistribution conductive layer exposed by the laser mark contact side surfaces of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns exposed by the laser mark”.
Han discloses the laser mark insulating layer (Fig. 13: 190) comprising a laser mark (h2; [0107]: “may be formed by laser processing”) exposing the [underlying] layer (patterned portions of 132). Modifying the laser mark insulating layer of Bae (Bae: Fig. 16: 190) by including a laser mark (of Han), would arrive at the claimed configuration:
a laser mark exposing the [underlying] second redistribution conductive layer (MP) and the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns (the portions of 151),
wherein side surfaces of the second redistribution conductive layer exposed by the laser mark (exposing by making visible to light, an ordinary and customary meaning of “exposing”) contact side surfaces of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns exposed by the laser mark (exposing by making visible to light, an ordinary and customary meaning of “exposing”).
Han provides a teaching to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the laser mark in that it would improve readability of the laser mark area ([0113]: “in order to secure sufficient visibility of the mark”). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had predictable results because in each situation the laser mark area is used for reading marks with light. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed laser mark because it would improve readability of the laser mark area. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Regarding claim 18, Bae in view of Han discloses the semiconductor package of claim 16 (Bae: Fig. 16), wherein the package element comprises a wiring substrate (111b) having a through hole therein (the through hole is filled by 113b).
Regarding claim 19, Bae in view of Han discloses the semiconductor package of claim 16 (Bae: Fig. 16), wherein the package element further comprises a fan-out encapsulation layer (the portion of 130 in the fan-out area) sealing the inner wiring layer of the fan-out area (at least indirectly sealing).
Regarding claim 20, Bae in view of Han discloses the semiconductor package of claim 16 (Bae, Fig. 16), wherein the laser mark area is disposed in the fan-in area (these areas vertically overlap, thus having footprints meeting the “in” limitation).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae and Han as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Masuzawa (US 20240332205 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Bae in view of Han discloses a semiconductor package (Bae: Fig. 16), however fails to explicitly disclose the claimed characteristic “wherein a combination of the laser mark and the redistribution level layer exposed by the laser mark visibly exhibits a white color”. However, the combination of Bae with Han discloses the laser mark includes exposed portions of the redistribution layer, these exposed portions having a material composition including aluminum (Bae: [0096]: “aluminum”).
Masuzawa discloses an exposed portion of aluminum in the same field of endeavor and further discloses this aluminum visibly exhibits a white color ([0088]: “When metal…is…aluminum…white”). Bae and Han are relied upon to teach a product having all of the claimed structures (i.e., a semiconductor package). Masuzawa is relied upon to teach the product of Bae and Han necessarily possesses the claimed characteristic. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have the claimed “white color” characteristic because it is a characteristic existing within the prior art. MPEP 2112 (III).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae and Han as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Masuzawa.
Regarding claim 13, Bae in view of Han discloses the semiconductor package of claim 11 (Bae: Fig. 16), wherein the laser mark comprises a letter ([0072]: “a two-dimensional barcode…in addition to…a character”), however fails to explicitly disclose the claimed characteristic “and a combination of the letter and the redistribution level layer exposed by the letter of the laser mark visibly exhibits a white color”. However, the combination of Bae with Han discloses the laser mark includes exposed portions of the redistribution layer, these exposed portions having a material composition including aluminum (Bae: [0096]: “aluminum”).
Masuzawa discloses an exposed portion of aluminum in the same field of endeavor and further discloses this aluminum visibly exhibits a white color ([0088]: “When metal…is…aluminum…white”). Bae and Han are relied upon to teach a product having all of the claimed structures (i.e., a semiconductor package). Masuzawa is relied upon to teach the product of Bae and Han necessarily possesses the claimed characteristic. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have the claimed “white color” characteristic because it is a characteristic existing within the prior art. MPEP 2112 (III).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae and Han as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Masuzawa.
Regarding claim 17, Bae in view of Han discloses the semiconductor package of claim 16 (Bae: Fig. 16), however fails to explicitly teach the claimed proportion “wherein: the second redistribution conductive layer occupies 70% to 90% of the laser mark area in a plan view and the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns occupy 10% to 30%, of the laser mark area in the plan view, […]”.
However, the claim as written reasonably includes a plurality of interpretations of the demarcation of the laser mark area consistent with the scope of MPEP 2111. The plurality of interpretations of the laser mark area demarcation lines includes at least one interpretation that is not patentably distinct from Bae in view of Han. For example, changing the shape of the laser mark area by shifting the demarcation lines in the top-down view so as to include particularly large amounts of the redistribution layer (by having the redistribution layer amount to only the claimed range) and by including particularly small amounts of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns (by having the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns amount to only the claimed range) would arrive at the claimed dimensional relation. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had predictable results because changing the size/proportion of the laser mark area (i.e. demarcation lines) without any actual change in size to the redistribution layer or the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns would have the resultant effect of changing the relative dimensions of the laser mark area to the claimed structures (i.e., percentage of size relative to another size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have the claimed relative area dimensions because it is a mere scaling up or down of the prior art without requiring any structural or functional change. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Further regarding claim 17, Bae in view of Han fails to explicitly disclose the claimed characteristic “[…] and a combination of the laser mark and the second redistribution level layer exposed by the laser mark visibly exhibits a white color”. However, the combination of Bae with Han discloses the laser mark includes exposed portions of the redistribution layer, these exposed portions having a material composition including aluminum (Bae: [0096]: “aluminum”).
Masuzawa discloses an exposed portion of aluminum in the same field of endeavor and further discloses this aluminum visibly exhibits a white color ([0088]: “When metal…is…aluminum…white”). Bae and Han are relied upon to teach a product having all of the claimed structures (i.e., a semiconductor package). Masuzawa is relied upon to teach the product of Bae and Han necessarily possesses the claimed characteristic. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have the claimed “white color” characteristic because it is a characteristic existing within the prior art. MPEP 2112 (III).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 1 that “Han fails to disclose “side surfaces of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns contact the redistribution conductive layer,” recited in the amended claim 1”. Remarks at pg. 5.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner agrees for reasons consistent with Applicant’s remarks. However, new grounds of rejection has been raised in the instant Office action as necessitated by the claim amendment. The examiner finds a combination of Bae and Han rendering obvious the contended limitation.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 1 that “Bae fails to teach “the laser mark insulating layer of the laser mark area comprising a laser mark exposing the redistribution conductive layer and at least some of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns” where “side surfaces of the mesh-type redistribution insulating patterns contact the redistribution conductive layer” as set forth in claim 1”. Remarks at pg. 7.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner agrees for reasons consistent with Applicant’s remarks. However, new grounds of rejection has been raised in the instant Office action as necessitated by the claim amendment. The examiner finds a combination of Bae and Han rendering obvious the contended limitation.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues similarly for amended claims 11 and 16 as for amended claim 1. Remarks at pg. 7.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner agrees for reasons consistent with Applicant’s remarks. However, new grounds of rejection has been raised in the instant Office action as necessitated by the claim amendment. The examiner finds a combination of Bae and Han rendering obvious the contended limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM H ANDERSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817 January 28, 2026