DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the claims 7-14 in the reply filed on 02/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that these invention are related to each other. This is not found persuasive because the invention 1 has passivation structure and invention 3 has material having negative fixed charge which would make these groups mutually exclusive from invention 2.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7,9,13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al (US Pub No. 20200020725), in view of Chen et al (US Pub No. 20180166475).
With respect to claim 7, Tsai et al discloses an image sensor (Fig.3) including a semiconductor substrate (210) having a first surface (next to 230) and a second surface that is opposite the first surface (next to 214), the image sensor comprising: a pixel array (Fig.3) having a plurality of pixels (220) disposed on the semiconductor substrate (Fig.3);a plurality of trenches in the semiconductor substrate arranged within the pixel array separating adjacent pixels (270,290), each of the plurality of trenches extending from the first surface (Fig.3) into the semiconductor substrate forming a first opening proximate to the first surface (Fig.3) and a second opening proximate to the second surface (Fig.3); and a first material layer (284) disposed on the second surface (Fig.3), the first material layer continuously lining the second surface (Fig.3) and a plurality of sidewall surfaces of the plurality of trenches (Fig.3). However, Tsai et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the first opening has a width greater than that of the second opening. On the other hand, Chen et al discloses wherein the first opening (103 surface 130, FIg.3H) has a width greater than that of the second opening (near 102b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Tsai et al according to the teachings of the Chen et al such that the first opening has a width greater than that of the second opening, in order to etch the trench from the first surface; thereby increasing the process speed by maximizing the process on the first surface.
With respect to claim 9, Tsai et al in view of Chen et al discloses wherein the plurality of sidewall surfaces are formed from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate (Chen et al Fig.3A-3C) and a distance that each of the plurality of trenches extends into the semiconductor substrate is equal to a substrate thickness of the semiconductor substrate (Tsai et al, Fig.3).
With respect to claim 13, Tsai et al discloses wherein the first material layer (214) is in contact with a dielectric layer (230, para 15) disposed on the first surface (Fig.3).
With respect to claim 14, Tsai et al discloses further comprising a circuit layer that includes a multi- layer interconnection structure embedded in the dielectric layer (230,para 15) .
Claim(s) 8,10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al (US Pub No. 20200020725), in view of Chen et al (US Pub No. 20180166475), in view of Chaing et al (US Pub No. 20170133414).
With respect to claim 8, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose wherein the first material layer is a high-K dielectric material layer. On the other hand, Chiang et al discloses wherein the first material layer is a high-K dielectric material layer (107,Fig.10, para 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the Chiang et al such that the first material is made from high dielectric layer in order to decrease the cross talk between pixels; therefore, improving the picture quality.
With respect to claim 10, Chen et al discloses wherein each of the trenches having a width (Fig.1I) decreasing with an increasing distance from the first surface toward the second surface (Fig.1I); however, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of trenches is interconnected forming a trench grid separating the plurality of pixels. On the other hand, Chiang et al discloses wherein the plurality of trenches (108,110,Fig.1) is interconnected forming a trench grid (Fig.1) separating the plurality of pixels (104). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Chiang et al such that isolation trenches make a grid structure to completely isolate the pixels from one another to decrease crosstalk between the pixels.
With respect to claim 11, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose further comprising a second material layer disposed on the first material layer, the second material layer continuously lining the second surface and the plurality of sidewall surfaces of the plurality of trenches. On the other hand, Chiang et al discloses a second material layer (109) disposed on the first material layer (107), the second material layer continuously lining the second surface and the plurality of sidewall surfaces of the plurality of trenches(Fig.11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings Chiang et al such that a second material layer disposed on the first material layer, the second material layer continuously lining the second surface and the plurality of sidewall surfaces of the plurality of trenches, in order to decrease diffusion of the trench material into the substrate; therefore, decreasing device defect.
With respect to claim 12, Chiang et al discloses the second material layer having a different material composition than that of the first material layer (Para 20).
Conclusion
/ALI NARAGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817