DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention Group I, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 04/22/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 12-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2018/0090699 A1, hereinafter, “Shin”).
Regarding claim 1, Shin discloses a display apparatus (see Shin, FIG. 11) comprising:
a substrate (740, FIG. 11) including a first area (upper 740, FIG. 11), a second area (lower 740, FIG. 11), and a third area (curved 740, FIG. 11), the first area facing a first direction (up, FIG. 11), the second area extending from the first area and facing a second direction (down, FIG. 11) different from the first direction (up), and the third area disposed between the first area and the second area (FIG. 11);
a display element (810, FIG. 11) arranged in the first area (upper 740); and
a bending-protecting layer (830, FIG. 11) arranged in the third area (curved 740), the bending-protecting layer (830) is disposed outside of the first area (upper 740);
wherein a thickness of the substrate in the third area (curved 740) is less than a thickness of the substrate in the first area (upper 740, FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 4, Shin discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a pad portion (840, FIG. 11) arranged in the second area (lower 740); and a connection wiring (820, FIG. 11) arranged in the third area (curved 740), the connection wiring (820) electrically connecting the display element (810) to the pad portion (840, FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 5, Shin discloses the display apparatus of claim 4, wherein a stress neutral plane (NP, ¶ [0086]) in the third area (curved 740) is arranged between a surface of the substrate (740) and the connection wiring (820, FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 6, Shin discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the substrate (in order to meet the limitation, the substrate is 740+730) includes a first base layer (740) and a second base layer (730) stacked on the first base layer (740, FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 7, Shin discloses the display apparatus of claim 6, wherein a thickness of the first base layer in the third area (curved 740) is less than a thickness of the first base layer in the first area (upper 740, FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 8, Shin discloses the display apparatus of claim 7, wherein the thickness of the first base layer in the third area (curved 740) is less than a thickness of the first base layer in the second area (lower 740, FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 11, Shin discloses the display apparatus of claim 6, further comprising a barrier layer (730, in order to meet the limitation, the substrate is 860+730+740, FIG. 11) disposed between the first base layer (740) and the second base layer (860).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2018/0090699 A1, hereinafter, “Shin”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Jang et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2018/0123060 A1, hereinafter, “Jang”).
Regarding claim 2, Shin discloses the display apparatus of claim 1.
Shin is silent regarding that an inner radius of the third area is in a range of about 0.17 mm to about 0.19 mm.
Jang, however, discloses a display apparatus (see Jang, FIG. 4), comprising an inner radius in a range of about 0.1 mm to about 0.5 mm (¶ [0055])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form an inner radius of Shin’s third area in a range of about 0.1 mm to about 0.5 mm, as taught by Jang, in order to form a flexible substrate display. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form an inner radius of Shin’s third area in a range of about 0.17 mm to about 0.19 mm, since when the claimed ranges lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2018/0090699 A1, hereinafter, “Shin”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Arita et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2018/0284564 A1, hereinafter, “Arita”).
Regarding claim 3, Shin discloses the display apparatus of claim 1.
Shin is silent regarding that a thickness of the bending-protecting layer is in a range of about 0.04 mm to about 0.1 mm.
Arita, however, disclose that a thickness of a bending-protecting layer is less than 0.4 mm (¶ [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form a thickness of Shin’s bending-protecting layer less than 0.4 mm, in order to reduce the stress (¶ [0041]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form a thickness of Shin’s bending-protecting layer is in a range of about 0.04 mm to about 0.1 mm, since when the claimed ranges lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2018/0090699 A1, hereinafter, “Shin”), as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, Shin discloses the display apparatus of claim 6.
Shin fails to explicitly disclose that a relational equation between a modulus of the bending-protecting layer and a thickness of the first base layer in the third area is equal to y=62x-70, wherein x is the thickness of the first base layer in the third area and y is the modulus of the bending-protecting layer.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have a relational equation between a modulus of the bending-protecting layer and a thickness of the first base layer in the third area is equal to y=62x-70, wherein x is the thickness of the first base layer in the third area and y is the modulus of the bending-protecting layer, since when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 10, Shin discloses the display apparatus of claim 9.
Shin fails to explicitly disclose that a modulus of the bending-protecting layer is greater than 62x-70 and less than 1.4*(62x-70).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have that a modulus of the bending-protecting layer is greater than 62x-70 and less than 1.4*(62x-70), since when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Conclusion
/XIA L CROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892