DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed with the Office on March 23rd, 2026 in response to the Final Office Action mailed on October 23rd, 2026. Per Applicant's response, Claims 1, 11-12, & 21 have been amended. All other claims have been left in their previously-presented form. Consequently, Claims 1-15 & 21-25 still remain pending in the instant application. The Examiner has carefully considered each of Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments, and they will be addressed below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 & 21-25 were objected to for minor informalities. Applicant’s amendments have obviated these objections, rendering them moot.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous prior art rejections using Flegal et al. have been fully considered and are persuasive. In particular, Applicant’s amendments overcome the teachings of Flegal. Therefore, the 102(a)(1) rejections using Flegal have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed March 23rd, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner’s responses can be seen below.
In regards to Applicant’s argument that “Applicant amends claims 1, 11, and 21 to clarify that a flange extends from a first end of the body and is configured to be coupled with a process chamber, and an opening is defined at the first end, which are not taught by Oikawa”, the examiner must respectfully disagree. Applicant alleges that Oikawa does not disclose a flange extending from the first end and configured to be coupled with a process chamber, but this is simply incorrect. Oikawa does, in fact, teach these limitations. In particular, as shown in annotated Figure 1 below, Oikawa clearly discloses a flange (28) that extends from a first end of the body (see Fig. 1) and is configured to be coupled to a process chamber (16) (at least indirectly, via wall 27 and flange 26; see Fig. 1), and an opening (15) defined at the first end of the body (Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner). Applicant appears to be interpreting the limitation “configured to be coupled to a process chamber” as requiring some type of direct coupling between the flange and the process chamber, but respectfully, the claim language does not require this. The claim language lacks any structural details defining how the flange is coupled to the process chamber. Instead, the claim language, as currently recited, allows for any form of coupling between the flange and the process chamber, including indirect couplings like that disclosed in Oikawa. Please refer to the updated rejections below for further details. If Applicant truly desires for the recited “flange” to be “directly coupled” to the process chamber, then such specific language must be recited in the claim. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9-12, 15, & 21-23, & 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0174108 to Oikawa.
In regards to independent Claims 1, 11, & 21, and with particular reference to Figure 1 shown immediately above, Oikawa discloses:
1. A cryogenic pump (“evacuation system”; “cold trap”; Fig. 1; paras. 4 & 14) for semiconductor processing (this is a statement of intended use that does not limit the apparatus claim in any patentable sense; see also “vacuum processing apparatus” at para. 14), comprising: a body (24) defining an inner volume (38; Fig. 1) between a first end (Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner) and a second end (Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner), wherein a flange (28) extends from the first end of the body (Fig. 1) and is configured to be coupled to a process chamber (16) (at least indirectly, via wall 27 and flange 26; see Fig. 1), and an opening (15) defined at a first end of the body (Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner), wherein a longitudinal axis of the body (Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner) is defined from the first end of the body to a second end of the body (Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner), wherein a first lateral dimension (L1, as annotated by the Examiner above) of the opening is less than a second lateral dimension (L2, as annotated by the Examiner above) of the body (apparent in Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner), the first and second lateral dimensions being defined perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1), and wherein the second lateral dimension is defined at the second end (Fig. 1); and wherein a circumferential side (27) of the body slopes radially outward, in relation to the longitudinal axis, from the first end to the second end (apparent in Fig. 1); one or more capture plate modules (20) disposed in the body between the first end and the second end (Fig. 1); a cold header (22) thermally coupled to the one or more capture plate modules (paras. 21, 30-31)
11. A cryogenic pump (“evacuation system”; “cold trap”; Fig. 1; paras. 4 & 14) for semiconductor processing (this is a statement of intended use that does not limit the apparatus claim in any patentable sense; see also “vacuum processing apparatus” at para. 14), comprising: a body (24) defining an inner volume (38; Fig. 1) between a first end (Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner) and a second end (Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner), wherein a flange (28) extends from the first end of the body (Fig. 1) and is configured to be coupled to a process chamber (16) (at least indirectly, via wall 27 and flange 26; see Fig. 1), and an opening (15) defined at a first end of the body (Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner), wherein a longitudinal axis of the body is defined from the first end of the body to a second end of the body (Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner), and wherein the body has a non-cylindrical shape with a circumferential side (27) sloping radially outward, in relation to the longitudinal axis, from the first end to the second end (Fig. 1); one or more capture plate modules (20) disposed in the body; and a cold header (22) thermally coupled to the one or more capture plate modules (paras. 21, 30-31).
21. A cryogenic pump (“evacuation system”; “cold trap”; Fig. 1; paras. 4 & 14) for semiconductor processing (this is a statement of intended use that does not limit the apparatus claim in any patentable sense; see also “vacuum processing apparatus” at para. 14), comprising: a body (24) defining an inner volume (38; Fig. 1) between a first end (Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner) and a second end (Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner), wherein a flange (28) extends from the first end of the body (Fig. 1) and is configured to be coupled to a process chamber (16) (at least indirectly, via wall 27 and flange 26; see Fig. 1), and an opening (15) defined at a first end of the body (Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner), wherein a longitudinal axis of the body (Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner) is defined from the first end of the body to the second end of the body (Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner), and wherein a circumferential side (27) of the body slopes radially outward, in relation to the longitudinal axis, from the first end to the second end (Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner); one or more capture plate modules (20) disposed in the body between the first end and the second end (Fig. 1, as annotated by the Examiner); and a cold header (22) thermally coupled to the one or more capture plate modules (paras. 21, 30-31)
In regards to Claim 4, the one or more capture plate modules comprise a pair of fixed capture plate modules (30, 32; Fig. 1; paras. 26-27).
In regards to Claim 9, the opening (15) in the body (24) is elongated (i.e. longer in lateral dimension in comparison to the fixed capture plate 30), and wherein the first lateral dimension corresponds to a maximum length of the opening (Fig. 1).
In regards to Claim 10, the process chamber (16) is a vacuum chamber associated with a process or apparatus selected from the group consisting of: extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithography, physical vapor deposition (PVD), atomic layer deposition (ALD), chemical vapor deposition (CVD), an etch process, a transfer room, a buffer room, an attached/hooked chamber in a multi-chamber structure, an implanter tool, and a measurement tool (“a vacuum chamber 16 of a vacuum processing apparatus” reads upon transfer room, as claimed).
In regards to Claim 12, the circumferential side (27) of the body (24) slopes radially outward at an angle of 15 degrees to 60 degrees (it is apparent from Fig. 1 that the sides 27 slope outward at an angle greater than 15 degrees and less than 60 degrees).
In regards to Claim 15, the one or more capture plate modules comprise first and second capture plate modules (30, 32) having respective first and second outer dimensions (apparent in Fig. 1) that increase in the direction away from the first end and towards the second end (it is apparent in Fig. 1 that the outer dimension of second capture plate module 32 has a larger outer diameter than the first capture plate module 30; see also para. 27).
In regards to Claim 22, a first lateral dimension (L1) of the opening is less than a second lateral dimension (L2) of the body at the second end (Fig. 1 above).
In regards to Claim 23, the body is conical (Fig. 1 above).
In regards to Claim 25, see Claim 15 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa (applied above).
In regards to Claim 2, Oikawa discloses the invention of Claim 1, wherein the second lateral dimension is defined at the second end (Fig. 1). However, Oikawa does not specify that a ratio of the second lateral dimension (L2) to the first lateral dimension (L1) is equal to or greater than 1.5. While it appears from Oikawa’s Figure 1 that the second lateral dimension L2 is more than 1.5 times greater the first lateral dimension L1, Oikawa does not disclose this specifically. However, the courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is the recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, the device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device and is therefore not patentably distinct (See MPEP § 2144.04 - Paragraph IV.A). In this case, Oikawa definitively discloses that a ratio of the second lateral dimension (L2) to the first lateral dimension (L1) is greater than 1. Furthermore, it has been held by the courts that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (see In re AIler, 105 USPQ 233) or an optimum value of a result effective variable (see In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)) involves only routine skill in the art. Please note that in para. 32 of the instant application, this optimum ratio value has been disclosed, but the applicant has failed to disclose any criticality for the claimed limitation. Therefore, Applicant’s claimed invention is not patentably distinct from that disclosed in Oikawa.
Claim(s) 3, 14, & 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa (applied above) in view of CN 207847882 to Wu (attached to previous office action).
In regards to Claim 3, Oikawa discloses the cryogenic pump of claim 1, wherein the one or more capture plate modules (20) comprise at least one array of blades (30). However, Oikawa does not disclose that the blades are movable via vibration, rotation, or tilting, as claimed.
However, Wu discloses yet another cryogenic pump (Fig. 1; “low temperature pump”; Abstract)
comprising: a body (2) having a flange (at lead line 2a; Fig. 1), configured to be coupled to a process chamber (“suction port 1 for receiving the gas in the vacuum chamber”), and an opening (“suction port 1”) defined at a first end of the body (i.e. upper end, as seen in Fig. 1), wherein a longitudinal axis of the body (i.e. a vertical axis thereof) is defined from the first end of the body to a second end of the body (Fig. 1), one or more capture plate modules (71; “a plurality of cryopanels 71 which are coaxially arranged with the cryopump and have gaps between them”; para. 17) disposed in the body (Figs. 1); and a cold header (4) thermally coupled to the one or more capture plate modules (Fig. 1). Wu goes on to specifically disclose rotation of the capture plate modules (see paras. 10-12, 17), and discloses that such rotation allows the capture plate modules to more evenly condense incoming gasses (para. 17). Therefore, to one of ordinary skill desiring a cryopump with more effective capture plate modules, it would have been obvious to utilize the techniques disclosed in Wu in combination with those seen in Oikawa in order to obtain such a result. Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oikawa’s capture plate module blades (30) with the rotation driving mechanism of Wu in order to obtain predictable results; those results being a cryogenic pump with rotational capture plate modules, thereby ensuring that the capture plate modules can be manipulated such that they are evenly utilized for condensing incoming gasses (as taught in Wu).
In regards to Claim 14, Oikawa discloses the cryogenic pump of claim 11, wherein the one or more capture plate modules (20) comprise at least one array of blades (30). However, Oikawa does not disclose that the blades are movable via rotation at a rate of about 1000 RPM or less, wherein a direction of rotation is clockwise or counterclockwise.
However, as described previously above, Wu discloses yet another cryogenic pump (Fig. 1; “low temperature pump”; Abstract) comprising: a body (2) having a flange (at lead line 2a; Fig. 1), configured to be coupled to a process chamber (“suction port 1 for receiving the gas in the vacuum chamber”), and an opening (“suction port 1”) defined at a first end of the body (i.e. upper end, as seen in Fig. 1), wherein a longitudinal axis of the body (i.e. a vertical axis thereof) is defined from the first end of the body to a second end of the body (Fig. 1), one or more capture plate modules (71; “a plurality of cryopanels 71 which are coaxially arranged with the cryopump and have gaps between them”; para. 17) disposed in the body (Figs. 1); and a cold header (4) thermally coupled to the one or more capture plate modules (Fig. 1). Wu goes on to specifically disclose rotation of the capture plate modules (see paras. 10-12, 17), and discloses that such rotation allows the capture plate modules to more evenly condense incoming gasses (para. 17). Therefore, to one of ordinary skill desiring a cryopump with more effective capture plate modules, it would have been obvious to utilize the techniques disclosed in Wu in combination with those seen in Oikawa in order to obtain such a result. Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oikawa’s capture plate module blades (30) with the rotation driving mechanism of Wu in order to obtain predictable results; those results being a cryogenic pump with rotational capture plate modules, thereby ensuring that the capture plate modules can be manipulated such that they are evenly utilized for condensing incoming gasses (as taught in Wu). Wu does not specifically disclose a rotation rate of about 1000 rpm or less. However, Wu makes clear that rotation of the capture plate modules (71) provides improved gas condensing and absorbing efficiency (paras. 17, 31). In other words, the purpose of Wu’s rotation is not speed, but precise circumferential adjustment of the capture plate modules. Those of ordinary skill in the art of cryopumps would have recognized that such rotation would likely be very low speed rotation, far below 1000 RPM, as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have rotated Oikawa’s capture plate module blades (30) at a speed of less than 1000 RPM, as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to Claim 24, refer to Claims 3 & 14 above, which is rejected under the same reason and combination noted above. In particular, the combination of Oikawa’s capture plate module blades (30) being modified to rotate via the teachings of Wu results Oikawa-Wu having one movable (i.e. rotatable) capture plate module (30) and one fixed capture plate module (32), as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 & 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the best available prior art fails to disclose the features of Claims 5-8, which define various combinations of fixed and movable capture plate modules placed in specific arrangements arranged specifically within a cryogenic pump having a body shaped and structured as recited in Claim 1. The best available prior art also fails to disclose the features of Claim 13, which requires the one or more capture plate modules to comprise a movable capture plate module that is movable via vibration at a rate of about 20 Hz or less. The best available prior art fails to disclose a movable capture plate module that is movable via vibration at the rate claimed in Claim 13, specifically arranged within a cryogenic pump having a body shaped and structured as recited in Claim 1.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER B COMLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
ABC