DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The claim set submitted on 29 APRIL 2026 was acknowledged and considered. In the claim set, Claim 1, 11, 13, 19 and 20 are ‘Currently Amended’; Claims 2 and 10 are ‘Cancelled’; Claims 3-9, 12 and 14-18 are ‘Original’.
Current pending claims are Claims 1, 3-9 and 12-20 and are considered on the merits below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 29 APRIL 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action on 30 OCTOBER 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
In the IDS, page 3, the NPL document Cite No. B is annotated with a strikethrough. There is no date (at minimum a year) indicated on the IDS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-8, 13, 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by UYTINGCO, WO 2020/219901 A1.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a device, a system.
Regarding Claim 1, the reference UYTINGCO discloses a system, Figure 2, comprising :
a first layer comprising a planar surface, Figure 2, first surface 228 of substrate 210, page 29, line 27, page 32 line12, it can be seen from the Figure that the surface 228 is planar, using BRI : of, relating to, or lying in a plane, two dimensional in quality, the planar surface comprising: a first region configured to receive a sample, page 31 lone 34-page 32 line 3;
a gasket disposed on the first layer such that the gasket surrounds the first region, Figure 1, gasket 224 with plurality of opening 238, page 30 line 28 - page 31 line 1-8, at least one opening is considered a region;
a housing layer, wherein the first layer is disposed between the gasket and the housing layer, wherein the first layer is disposed between the gasket and the housing layer, Figure 1, cover 236, page 30 line 10-11; and
a second layer positioned on the gasket to form an enclosed flow cell, Figure 1, base 234 wherein the gasket is disposed between the first layer and the second layer , Figure 1, page 30 line 28-page 31 line 8; and
a magnetic clamp configured to apply a force on the second layer, the gasket, and the first layer to form a liquid tight seal against the first layer and the enclosed flow cell having a chamber formed by the planar surface of the first layer, the gasket, and the second layer, page 29 line 20-25, page 2 line 32-page 3 line 12.
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 3: wherein the system of claim 1, wherein the clamp is configured to apply a mechanical force to the gasket and the housing layer, page 29 line 7-25.; Claim 4: wherein the system of claim 1, wherein the clamp comprises a first piece configured to apply a first force on the gasket in a first direction and a second piece configured to apply a second force on the housing layer in a second direction opposite the first direction, page 29 line 7-25, page 3 line 1-10. ; Claim 6: wherein the system of claim 4, wherein the first piece and the second piece are separable, Figure 1, see how cover 236 and base 234 are separable/separated.; Claim 7: wherein the system of claim 1, wherein the gasket is a first gasket, wherein the first layer further comprises a second region configured to hold a second sample and a second gasket disposed on the first layer such that the second gasket surrounds the second region, Figure 2, gasket 224 has plurality of openings 238, it is interpreted by the Examiner that each opening 238 is a gasket, the outermost perimeter is the second gasket or another opening 238.; and Claim 8: wherein the system of claim 7, wherein the first gasket and the second gasket are integral with each other, Figure 2.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a system.
Regarding Claim 13, the UYTINGCO discloses a system, Figure 2, comprising :
a first layer comprising a planar surface, Figure 2, first surface 228 of substrate 210, page 29, line 27, page 32 line12, the planar surface comprising: a first region configured to receive a sample, page 31 lone 34-page 32 line 3;
a wall extending around the first region, Figure 1, gasket 224 with plurality of opening 238 and each opening has , page 30 line 28 - page 31 line 1-8, at least one opening is considered a region;
a gasket disposed on the first layer such that the gasket surrounds the first region, wherein the gasket is positioned along an interior wall, Figure 1, gasket 224, page 31 line 1-8; and
a magnetic clamp configured to apply a force on the second layer to form a liquid tight seal between the planar surface of the first layer, the gasket, and the second layer, page 29 line 20-25, page 2 line 32-page 3 line 12.
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 15: wherein the system of claim 13, wherein the first layer and the wall are separate, Figure 1, see how cover 236 and base 234 are separable/separated.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a method.
Regarding Claim 19, the reference UYTINGCO discloses a method, page 10 line 21-30, comprising:
providing a first layer comprising a planar surface, page 10 line 21-30, Figure 2, page 29 line 26-page 32 line 22, first surface 228 of substrate 210, the planar surface comprising a first region configured to receive a sample, page 31 lone 34-page 32 line 3;
positioning a gasket on the first layer such that the gasket surrounds the first region, Figure 1, gasket 224 with plurality of opening 238, page 30 line 28 - page 31 line 1-8, at least one opening is considered a region; and
positioning a housing layer on the first layer, Figure 1, cover 236, page 30 line 10-11, wherein the first layer is disposed between the gasket and the housing layer, Figure 1, cover 236, page 30 line 10-11; and
applying a force on the gasket with a magnetic clamp to form a liquid tight seal between the planar surface first layer and the gasket thereby forming an open flow cell, page 29 line 20-25, page 2 line 32-page 3 line 12.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a method.
Regarding Claim 20, the UYTINGCO reference discloses a method, , page 10 line 21-30, comprising:
providing a first layer comprising a planar surface, page 10 line 21-30, Figure 2, page 29 line 26-page 32 line 22, first surface 228 of substrate 210, the planar surface comprising a first region configured to receive a sample, page 31 lone 34-page 32 line 3;
wherein the first layer further comprises a wall extending around the first region, Figure 2, page 30 line 28 – page 31 line 8;
positioning a second layer spaced at a distance from the first layer, Figure 1, base 234; and
positioning a gasket between the first layer and the second layer, Figure 2 gasket 224, page 30 line 28; and
applying a force with a magnetic clamp on the second layer to form a liquid tight seal between the first layer and the second layer thereby forming an enclosed flow cell having a chamber formed by the planar surface of the first layer, the gasket, and the second layer, page 29 line 20-25, page 2 line 32-page 3 line 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UYTINGCO, WO 2020/219901 A1.
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, the UYTINGCO reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to wherein the first piece and the second piece are integral with each other or the first layer and the wall are integral with each other.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention so that the overall device is comprised as a single unit or a one piece construction is merely a matter of obvious design choice, In reLarson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Regarding Claim 9, the UYTINGCO reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to wherein the system of claim 8, wherein the first gasket and the second gasket are separable.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention so that the first gasket and the second gasket are separable to obtain access to the interior of the system of UYTINGCO or modify or replace the gasket themselves, In reDulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) .
Claims 11, 12, 16, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UYTINGCO, WO 2020/219901 A1 in view of WHEELER, US Publication No. 2020/0108389 A1.
Regarding Claims 12 and 18, the reference UYTINGCO discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to wherein a thickness of the first layer is from about 1 mm to about 1 mm.
WHEELER disclose the microfluidic chip 110 is configured for use with fluid samples of microliter, nanoliter, or picoliter volume sizes or less, for example, less than 10 microliters, less than 5 microliters, less than 1 microliter, less than 500 nanoliters, less than 100 nanoliters, less than 50 nanoliters, less than 10 nanoliters, or less than 1 nanoliter, [0023].
Since WHEELER discloses the chip, interpreted to be the first layer, to hold a small amount of liquid, to the nanoliter range, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the thickness of the first layer is from about 1 mm to about 1 mm so that it can be deep enough to use in continuous-flow microfluidics, genomic analysis, cell or particle sorting, purification, biological/biochemical assaying, lab-on-chip applications, optofluidics, fuel cells, etc., [0023].
Regarding Claims 11, 16 and 17, the UYTINGCO discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to wherein the system further comprising at least one inlet and at least one outlet in fluid communication with a reservoir.
The WHEELER discloses a system, Figure 1A, 1B, comprising :
a first layer comprising a first region configured to receive a sample, Figure 1A-2B, chip 110, [0023-0031];
a wall extending around the first region, Figure 2B, well 114, has walls;
a second layer, Figure 1A-2B, holder 150, [023-0031];
a gasket disposed between the first layer and the second layer, wherein the gasket is positioned along an interior of the wall, Figure 1A-2B; and
a clamp configured to apply a force on the second layer to form a liquid tight seal between the first layer, the gasket, and the second layer thereby forming an enclosed flow cell having a chamber, Figure 1A, 1B, manifold 140, [0025], Claim 14.
WHEELER further disclose the system comprising: at least one inlet and at least one outlet in fluid communication with the chamber, Figure 1A-2B, microfluidic chip has channel which have inlet/outlet, [0023], and wherein the system of claim 16, wherein the at least one inlet and/or the at least one outlet is in fluid communication with a reservoir, Figure 1A-2B, microfluidic chip has channel which have inlet/outlet and a well, [0023].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of UYTINGCO at least one inlet and at least one outlet in fluid communication with the chamber or a reservoir l to allow communication of pressure from the pressure source to the fluid in the fluid channel, WHEELER [0003].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CTM
/CHRISTINE T MUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797