DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendment filed 02/25/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending, claims 1-8 and 14-20 have been withdrawn from consideration, and claims 9-13 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Priority
Applicant’s amendments to independent claim 9 are not supported by parent application U.S. 17/501,194. Therefore, claim 9 and all dependent claims thereof will be treated with a priority date of 04/10/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Agrawal et al. (U.S. 2016/0374541).
With respect to claim 9, Agrawal et al. teaches an endoscope system (see FIGS. 5-9), comprising:
an endoscope (118) including a curved portion that can be driven to bend (para [0059]), a flexible portion through which a bending wire that bends the curved portion is inserted (FIG. 3H), and an imaging portion configured to capture an image (FIG. 3I);
a processor comprising hardware (120), the processor being configured to:
receive estimated shape information based on a predetermined control parameter (command value which represents a target deflection for example in units of degrees, para [0090] for example);
control an actuator to bend the curved portion (a surgical robotics system 100 actuates the endoscope 118 shown in FIG. 5A in the negative yaw axis 303, positive yaw axis 302, negative pitch axis 305, and positive pitch axis 304 as shown in FIG. 3A, para [0090]);
determine relative shape information of the curved portion based on the image captured by the imaging portion, wherein the estimated shape information and the relative shape information comprises a shape of the curved portion (the calibration module 125 records, using sensors (e.g., image sensors, accelerometers, gyroscopes, strain gauges, etc.) of the surgical robotic system 100 and/or the endoscope 118, the actual deflection of the endoscope 118 (e.g., in units of degrees) in each axis, para [0090], see also ); and
update a control parameter for controlling the bending of the curved portion based on a comparison between the received relative shape information and the estimated shape information (the calibration module 125 can store the actual deflection, as well as other data associated with the calibration procedure such as the corresponding range of command values and the unique identifier of the endoscope 118, in the calibration store 135, para [0090]. See also 750 FIG. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al. (U.S. 2016/0374541) in view of Tojo et al. (U.S. 2016/0128552).
Agrawal et al. teaches an endoscope system as set forth above. However, Agrawal et al. does not teach confirming that the distal end portion has been suspended and arranged.
With respect to claim 10, Tojo et al. teaches the processor is further configured to, before bending the curved portion, confirm that a distal end portion including the curved portion of the endoscope has been suspended and arranged (para [0111]-[0114]).
With respect to claim 11, Tojo et al. teaches an endoscope system with a processor configured to, before bending the curved portion, confirm that a marker having a marker pattern capable of identifying elative position information has been arranged below the distal end portion, in a vertical direction (FIG. 17).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Agrawal et al. to utilize the means of confirming that the distal end portion has been suspended and arranged in the manner taught by Tojo et al. in order to confirm the pattern is properly located with respect to the endoscope (para [0113] of Tojo et al.).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al. (U.S. 2016/0374541) in view of Tojo et al. (U.S. 2016/0128552) as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Sato (U.S. 2016/0073858).
Agrawal et al. in view of Tojo et al. teaches an endoscope as set forth above. However, Agrawal et al. in view of Tojo et al. does not teach the processor is configured to instruct a user to rearrange the marker.
With respect to claim 12, Sato teaches an endoscope system wherein a processor is configured to instruct a user to rearrange a calibration device as needed (para [0047]-[0051]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Graetzel et al. to include user instructions in the manner taught by Sato in order to ensure the calibration operation is performed in accordance with a predetermined procedure (para [0042] of Sato). Such a modification would result in the modified processor being configured to instruct a user to rearrange the marker when the endoscope cannot image the marker pattern both before and after bending the curved portion.
With respect to claim 13, Tojo et al. teaches the marker is formed in a sheet shape (FIG. 17).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRA L NEWTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799