Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 19-20 are withdrawn. Claims 1-18 are under examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-18) in the reply filed on 11/11/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitations of “LGALS3BP, HIST2H2BE, or HIST2H2BF” should be accompanied with the unabbreviated forms as to these abbreviated terms are not well recognized in the art.
Additionally, claim 15 appears to recite the Markush language, but the claim is objected because a proper Markush form should be – and HIST2H2BF –. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the nanoparticle is bound to exosome lacks antecedent basis because claim 1 does not recite exosome. Therefore, the claim is unclear to the metes and bounds of what the nanoparticle is bound to. Similarly, claim 15 is being rejected for the same reason. Claim 16 is being rejected as being dependent from claims 14-15.
Similarly, claim 18 recites “antibody” lacks antecedent basis because claim 1 does not recite “antibody.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (WO2019/126182A1, published 06/27/2019) in view of Shimomura et al. (“New Lipophilic Fluorescent Dyes for Labeling Extracellular Vesicles: Characterization and Monitoring of Cellular Uptake”, Bioconjugate Chemistry, 2021, vol. 32, pgs. 680-684, published 03/13/2021).
With respect to claims 1 and 3, Huang teaches methods related to the detection and molecular profiling of membrane bound vesicles using Raman extracellular vesicle and the method makes use of highly sensitive and specific enhanced Raman scattering technology to label and detection membrane bound vesicles that are captured on a miniaturized device based on the protein expression on the surface of the membrane bound vesicle (see abstract). Huang teaches the method involves the used of highly sensitive and specific surface enhanced Raman scattering (SERS) nanotags (e.g., SERS gold nanorod (AuNR) tags) to detect and quantify surface proteins on membrane bound vesicles that are captured on a substrate (e.g., an array, Au-coated glass microscope slide, bead).
In particular, Fig. 12A-C teach a method for characterizing membrane bound vesicle with a gold-coated substrate comprising an antibody fixed to a surface of the slide, thereby fixing the exosomes to the surface of the slide and contacting the exosomes with a second antibody fixed to a surface of a metal nanoparticle, wherein the second antibody specifically binds to a surface marker of interest (see step 12A, after step 3 or Fig. 27). Huang further teaches in Fig. 27 that white light and Raman laser are used to produce dark field image and SERS image, which produce image analysis to quantify the targeted protein on single exosomes. Huang teaches the target image (Fig. 32B) was added to the outlined mask using the ROI manager (Fig. 32D) to form an overlay image with the target image (Fig. 32E) and the mean pixel intensity of the outlined areas of this overlap image was extracted and the values were subtracted with the background from a blank neighboring area (noise) to give corrected signal intensities (see pg. 43, para. 1; and Figs. 32). Huang further teaches analyzing a number of exosomes, a histogram was generated that shows the distribution of the pixel intensity among all examined exosomes and the population density histogram represents the expression profile of the targeted protein on single EXOs (see pg. 43, para. 1). Huang teaches CD44 antibody and isotype IgG (see pg. 43, bottom of para. 1; and Fig. 32G). Huang teaches SERS nanotags are plasmonic nanoparticles (gold or silver nanoparticles) such as gold nanoparticles coated with Raman reporters such as organic dyes (see pg. 18, lines 14-16, and Figs. 14-15). Fig. 19 teaches measured by nanoparticle tracking analysis (also see pg.13, lines 25-27). Huang teaches the detection and protein profiling of MM231 EXOs (see pg. 11, lines 13-15).
Although Huang teaches the use of organic and inorganic dyes (e.g., pg. 3, lines 20-26) and fluorescent images of EXOs that are captured using CD63 antibodies (e.g., pg. 12, lines 16-20), Huang does not teach a lipophilic dye.
Shimomura teaches lipophilic dyes are for extracellular vesicular-membrane-binding fluorescent probes and performed nanoparticle tracking (see abstract). Shimomura teaches that extracellular vesicle (EV) labeling with small molecules is easy, compatible with biomolecules, and allows versatile functionalization and lipophilic dyes have been widely used (see pg. 680, right col., para. 1). Shimomura further teaches improving the dyes by employing polyethylene glycol and that it is important that EV labeling does not change any EV characteristics (e.g., size, population) (see pg. 681, left col., para. 1). Shimomura teaches that the Mem dyes have stable structures suitable for use in experiments monitoring EV uptake and the Mem dyes do not change the zeta potential of the stained sEVs (see pg. 682, Discussion, right col., para. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the dual immunoassay detection as taught by Huang with a lipophilic dye as taught by Shimomura because Huang teaches image analysis to quantify the targeted proteins on single exosomes and track exosomes through dual imaging with organic dyes and Shimomura teaches lipophilic dyes are easily incorporated into extracellular vesicles for tracking and extracellular vesicles would be clearly identified. Because lipophilic dyes are well understood in the art to be incorporated for tracking extracellular vesicle nanoparticles, it would have been obvious to add the lipophilic dye for fluorescence imaging of the extracellular vesicle nanoparticles of Huang.
The person would have a reasonable expectation of success incorporating a lipophilic dye into the immunoassay detection of Huang because it has been well understood in the art to incorporate lipophilic dyes into the extracellular vesicles.
With respect to claims 2 and 4, Fig. 27 of Huang teaches image analysis to quantify the targeted proteins on single exosomes, which would read on computationally analyzing the images to determine the fraction of vesicles that are positive for the surface of interest and the level of expression of the surface marker of the surface marker of interest on the positive vesicles.
With respect to claim 5, Huang teaches gold nanorod (see pg. 2, line 7 and Fig. 27).
With respect to claim 6, Huang teaches body fluid is blood (see pg. 2, lines 10-11).
With respect to claim 7, Huang teaches the capture molecules are antibody.
With respect to claim 8, Huang teaches EXOs that are captured using CD63 antibodies (see pg. 12, lines 17-18).
With respect to claim 9, as stated above, Huang does not teach the lipophilic dye. Shimomura teaches the lipophilic dyes having an alkyl chain and an affinity for a lipid bilayer of an extracellular vesicle (see abstract and abstract figure). Because lipophilic dyes are well understood in the art to track extracellular vesicle nanoparticles, it would have been obvious to incorporate the lipophilic dye for fluorescence imaging of the extracellular vesicle nanoparticles.
With respect to claim 10, although Huang does not teach the lipophilic dye, it does teach the EVs are immobilized on an array using a lipophilic chemical layer wherein the lipophilic molecules with an alkyl chain have high affinity for the lipid bilayer of molecules through hydrophobic interactions between the lipid membrane of the target and lipophilic molecules on the substate and it is 1,2-distearoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphoethanolamine-conjugated polyethylene glycol thiol (pg. 20, para. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used a dye with the claimed lipophilic molecule because Huang has already established and recognized the structural affinity to attach molecules to EV molecules.
With respect to claims 12-13, Huang teaches EXOs were excited with the He laser at 632.8 nm (see pg. 42, lines 25-27).
With respect to claim 14, Fig. 27 of Huang teaches the nanorod is bound to the vesicle or exosome via an antibody linked to the nanoparticle, wherein the antibody specifically binds to a marker present on the vesicle or exosome.
With respect to claim 15, Huang teaches different surface proteins such as EpCAM, CD44, HER2 are detected (see pg. 11, lines 13-16).
With respect to claim 16, Huang teaches detect many types of diseases (see pg. 17, line 4).
With respect to claim 18, Huang teaches antibody-conjugated SERS AuNR tags were prepared by HS-PEG-Ab with HS-PEG-NHS (see pg. 36, lines 3-6).
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. and Shimomura et al., as applied to claim 1 or 9 above, and further in view of Jia et al. (“Efficient cell surface labelling of live zebrafish embryos: wash-free fluorescence imaging for cellular dynamics tracking and nanotoxicity evaluation”, Chemical Science, 2019, vol. 10, pgs. 4062-4068).
Huang and Shimomura have been discussed above. However, the references do not teach the lipophilic dye comprises cholesterol-PEG-Cy5.
Jia teaches imaging the dynamics and behaviors of plasma membranes and the development of a universal red-fluorescent probe Chol-PEG-Cy5 for wash free plasma membrane labelling both in vitro and in vivo (see abstract and Scheme 1). Jia further teaches that chol-PEG-Cy5 enables rapid, stable and high-quality in vitro cell surface imaging (see abstract). Fig. 1 depicts the structure of chol-PEG-Cy5. Jia also teaches exosome (see pg. 4062, left col., para. 1). Jia teaches fluorescence emission ~670 nm of Cy5, the cho1-PEG-Cy5 probe is suitable for fluorescence imaging (see pg. 4065, left col., last paragraph).
It would have been obvious to have used the modified immunoassay of Huang and Shimomura with a cholesterol-peg-Cy5 of Jia for fluorescence imaging because Jia teaches that cholesterol-peg-Cy5 enables raid, stable, and high-quality surface imaging and the structure naturally incorporates into the lipid bilayer for detection.
The person would have a reasonable expectation of success in using cholesterol-peg-Cy5 for fluorescence imaging because it has been recognized that cholesterol-peg-Cy5 is for lipid bilayer imaging.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/N.P.N/Examiner, Art Unit 1678
/SHAFIQUL HAQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1678