Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-10 and 12-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (US PGPub 2011/0006408, hereinafter referred to as “Liao”) in view of Kuan et al. (US Patent 10,879,192, hereinafter to referred to as “Kuan”).
Liao discloses the semiconductor method substantially as claimed. See figures 1A-5 and corresponding text, where Liao teaches, in claim 2, a method of making a semiconductor device, comprising: (figures 1A-1G; [0023-0031])
providing a first component module (10) (left) comprising a first electronic component (120) and a first module encapsulant (130) disposed around the first electronic component (120);
providing a second component module (10) (right) comprising a second electronic component (120) and a second module encapsulant (130) disposed around the second electronic component (120);
providing a vertical interconnect (108) laterally offset from the first component module (10) (left), wherein the vertical interconnect (108) comprises an electrically conductive material to provide an electrical coupling to an external component;
wherein the first component module (10) (left), the second component module (10) (right), and the vertical interconnect (108) are coupled to the main conductive structure (102);
wherein the vertical interconnect (108) is external to the first module encapsulant (130) and the second module encapsulant (130).
wherein a first portion is between the first component module (10) (left) and the vertical interconnect (108), and the vertical interconnect (108) is between a second portion and the first portion. (figures 1A-1G; [0023-0031])
However, Liao fails to explicitly show, in claim 2, providing a main encapsulant between the first component module and the second component module; and
providing a main substrate comprising a main conductive structure;
wherein the first component module, the second component module, the vertical interconnect, and the main encapsulant are disposed over a top side of the main substrate; and is surrounded by the main encapsulant; wherein a first portion of the main encapsulant is between the first component module and the vertical interconnect, and the vertical interconnect is between a second portion of the main encapsulant and the first portion of the main encapsulant.
Kuan teaches, in claim 2, providing a main encapsulant (110) between the first component module and the second component module; and
providing a main substrate (140) comprising a main conductive structure; wherein the first component module, the second component module, and the main encapsulant (DF1, DF2) are disposed over a top side of the main substrate (140), and wherein in the first component module and the second module, are coupled to the main conductive structure; (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28)
wherein the main encapsulant contacts the top side of the main substrate (140); wherein a first portion of the main encapsulant is between the first component module is between a second portion of the main encapsulant and the first portion of the main encapsulant (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28). In addition, Kuan provides the advantages of having a wall structures to isolate the semiconductor devices to protect against electromagnetic interference (col. 7, lines 25-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate providing a main encapsulant between the first component module and the second component module; and
providing a main substrate comprising a main conductive structure;
wherein the first component module, the second component module, the vertical interconnect, and the main encapsulant are disposed over a top side of the main substrate; and is surrounded by the main encapsulant; wherein a first portion of the main encapsulant is between the first component module and the vertical interconnect, and the vertical interconnect is between a second portion of the main encapsulant and the first portion of the main encapsulant, in the method of Liao, according to the teachings of Kuan, with the motivation of providing isolation of the semiconductor devices to protect against electromagnetic interferences.
Liao in view of Kuan shows, in claim 3, comprising:
providing a module interconnect coupled to the first component module; and coupling the module interconnect to the main conductive structure; wherein the main encapsulant covers the module interconnect (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28).
Liao in view of Kuan shows, in claim 4, wherein: one end of the vertical interconnect is exposed external to the main encapsulant (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28).
Liao in view of Kuan shows, in claim 5, wherein: a top side of the first component module is exposed from the main encapsulant (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28).
Liao in view of Kuan shows, in claim 6, wherein: the main encapsulant covers a top side of the first component module.
Liao in view of Kuan shows, in claim 7, wherein: the main substrate is provided after the main encapsulant is provided; and
the main encapsulant extends underneath the first component module between a top side of the main substrate and a bottom side of the of the first component module (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28).
Liao in view of Kuan shows, in claim 8, wherein:
the main substrate is provided before the main encapsulant is provided (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28).
Liao shows, in claim 9 a method, comprising: (figures 1A-1G; [0023-0031])
providing a first component module (100 comprising a first electronic component (120) and a first module encapsulant (130) disposed around the first electronic component (120);
disposing a shield (140) over the first module encapsulant (10);
providing a second component module (10) comprising a second electronic component (120) and a second module encapsulant (130) disposed around the second electronic component (120); and
providing a main substrate comprising a main conductive structure;
wherein the first component module and the second component module are over a top side of the main substrate and coupled to the main conductive structure;
wherein a vertical side of the shield is between the first module encapsulant and the main encapsulant;
wherein a top side of the shield is exposed from covered by the main encapsulant, and the vertical side of the shield is covered by the main encapsulant.
However, Liao fails to explicitly show, in claim 9, providing a main substrate comprising a main conductive structure;
wherein the first component module and the second component module are over a top side of the main substrate and coupled to the main conductive structure;
wherein a vertical side of the shield is between the first module encapsulant and the main encapsulant;
wherein a top side of the shield is exposed from covered by the main encapsulant, and the vertical side of the shield is covered by the main encapsulant.
Kuan teaches, in claim 9, providing a main encapsulant (110) between the first component module and the second component module; and
providing a main substrate (140) comprising a main conductive structure; wherein the first component module, the second component module, and the main encapsulant (DF1, DF2) are disposed over a top side of the main substrate (140), and wherein in the first component module and the second module, are coupled to the main conductive structure; (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28)
wherein the main encapsulant contacts the top side of the main substrate (140); wherein a first portion of the main encapsulant is between the first component module is between a second portion of the main encapsulant and the first portion of the main encapsulant (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28). In addition, Kuan provides the advantages of having a wall structures to isolate the semiconductor devices to protect against electromagnetic interference (col. 7, lines 25-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate providing a main substrate comprising a main conductive structure;
wherein the first component module and the second component module are over a top side of the main substrate and coupled to the main conductive structure;
wherein a vertical side of the shield is between the first module encapsulant and the main encapsulant;
wherein a top side of the shield is exposed from covered by the main encapsulant, and the vertical side of the shield is covered by the main encapsulant, in the method of Liao, according to the teachings of Kuan, with the motivation of providing isolation of the semiconductor devices to protect against electromagnetic interferences.
Liao in view of Kuan shows, in claim 10, comprising:
providing a module interconnect coupled to the first component module; and
coupling module interconnect to the main conductive structure;
wherein the main encapsulant covers the module interconnect (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28).
Liao in view of Kuan shows, in claim 12, wherein: the main encapsulant covers a top side of the first second component module (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28).
Liao in view of Kuan shows, in claim 13, wherein: the main substrate is provided after the main encapsulant is provided (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28).
Liao in view of Kuan shows, in claim 14, wherein: the main substrate is provided before the main encapsulant is provided.
Liao shows, in claim 15, a method, comprising: (figures 1A-1G; [0023-0031])
providing a first component module (10) comprising:
a first electronic component (120),
a first module encapsulant (130) disposed around the first electronic component (1200, and
a shield (140) disposed over the first module encapsulant (130);
providing a first component interconnect (106) coupled to the first component module (10);
providing a vertical interconnect (108) laterally offset from the first component module (10), wherein the vertical interconnect comprises an electrically conductive material to provide an electrical coupling to an external component;
However, Liao fails to explicitly show, in claim 15, disposing a main encapsulant around the first component module and the vertical interconnect; and
providing a main substrate comprising a main conductive structure;
wherein the first component module, the vertical interconnect, and the main encapsulant are over a top side of the main substrate; and
wherein the first component module and the vertical interconnect are coupled to the main conductive structure;
wherein the vertical interconnect is external to the first module encapsulant and external to the shield;
wherein the shield is between the first module encapsulant and the main encapsulant; and
wherein the main encapsulant is external to the shield and extends between a vertical side of the shield and the vertical interconnect.
Kuan teaches, in claim 15, providing a main encapsulant (110) between the first component module and the second component module; and
providing a main substrate (140) comprising a main conductive structure; wherein the first component module, the second component module, and the main encapsulant (DF1, DF2) are disposed over a top side of the main substrate (140), and wherein in the first component module and the second module, are coupled to the main conductive structure; (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28)
wherein the main encapsulant contacts the top side of the main substrate (140); wherein a first portion of the main encapsulant is between the first component module is between a second portion of the main encapsulant and the first portion of the main encapsulant (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28). In addition, Kuan provides the advantages of having a wall structures to isolate the semiconductor devices to protect against electromagnetic interference (col. 7, lines 25-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate disposing a main encapsulant around the first component module and the vertical interconnect; and
providing a main substrate comprising a main conductive structure;
wherein the first component module, the vertical interconnect, and the main encapsulant are over a top side of the main substrate; and
wherein the first component module and the vertical interconnect are coupled to the main conductive structure;
wherein the vertical interconnect is external to the first module encapsulant and external to the shield;
wherein the shield is between the first module encapsulant and the main encapsulant; and
wherein the main encapsulant is external to the shield and extends between a vertical side of the shield and the vertical interconnect, in the method of Liao, according to the teachings of Kuan, with the motivation of providing isolation of the semiconductor devices to protect against electromagnetic interferences.
Liao in view of Kuan shows, in claim 16, comprising: coupling the first component interconnect to the main conductive structure;
wherein the main encapsulant extends between the first component module and the top side of the main substrate (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28).
Liao in view of Kuan shows, in claim 17, wherein: one end of the vertical interconnect is exposed external to the main encapsulant (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28).
Liao in view of Kuan shows, in claim 18, wherein: a top side of the first component module is exposed from the main encapsulant (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28).
Liao in view of Kuan shows, in claim 19, wherein: the main encapsulant covers a top side of the first component module (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28).
Liao in view of Kuan shows, in claim 20, wherein: the main substrate is provided after the main encapsulant is provided (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28).
Liao in view of Kuan shows, in claim 21, wherein: the main substrate is provided before the main encapsulant is provided (figure 9; col. 11, lines 40-60; col. 12, lines 1-28).
Conclusion
/STANETTA D ISAAC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898 December 27, 2025