DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The instant claims contain the transitional phrase “comprising”. Per MPEP 2111.03 ‘The transitional term “comprising”, which is synonymous with “including,” “containing,” or “characterized by,” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps'. This open-ended definition has been taken into consideration in the following rejections.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0211262 A1 to Park et al. (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a quantum dot (Fig. 1, para [0001]) comprising:
a core; and
a shell around at least a portion of the core (para [0010]),
wherein the core comprises a III-V compound (para [0012]-[0013]) that is selected from a group that includes GaP, InP and combinations thereof (para [0127]-[0128]), which includes indium (In), gallium (Ga), and phosphorus (P), and may further include zinc (Zn) (para [0015]),
the shell comprises elements selected from group that includes II-VI semiconductor compounds, group III-V semiconductor compounds, and combinations thereof (para [0137]), which encompasses group III-VI semiconductor compounds,
in the core and the shell, a number of moles of Ga (Group IIIA metal other than In, para [0136] in amount of about 0.01 to about 1) relative to a sum of a number of moles of In (in amount of about 1, para [0131] based on P:In ratio) and a number of moles of Ga (MGa/(MIn+MGa)) = (~0.1 to ~1)/(~1.1 to ~2) is about 0.05 to about 0.9, which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 0.02 to about 0.18, and
in the core and the shell, a sum of a number of moles of In and a number of
moles of Ga relative to a number of moles of P (using P:In ratio in para [0131]) ((MIn+MGa)/ MP) = (~1.1 to ~2)/(~1 to ~1.2) is about 0.92 to about 2, which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 1 to about 1.2. See MPEP 2144.05(I), which states that ‘In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists’.
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the quantum dot of claim 1, but is silent regarding the limitation “wherein a weight absorption coefficient with respect to a wavelength of about 450 nanometers (nm) is about 300 mL-g⁻¹·cm⁻¹ or greater”. However, Park discloses an overlapping quantum dot, as discussed above. The quantum dot is made by an overlapping method that will be discussed below. See MPEP 2112.01(I), which states that ‘Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established…"When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not."…Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product’.
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses the quantum dot of claim 1, wherein a maximum emission wavelength of a photoluminescence (PL) spectrum of the quantum dot is in a range of about 490 nm to 550 nm (para [0039]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 500 nm to about 540 nm. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses the quantum dot of claim 1, wherein a photoluminescence quantum yield (quantum efficiency) of the quantum dot is greater than or equal to about 70% (para [0162]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 80 percent (%) or higher. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses the quantum dot of claim 1, wherein the shell comprises ZnS, ZnSe, ZnTe, ZnO, ZnSeS, ZnTeS, ZnMg, ZnMgSe, ZnMgS, ZnMgAl, GaSe, GaTe, GaAs, GaP, GaN, GaO, GaSb, HgS, HgSe, HgTe, InAs, InP, InS, InGaP, InSb, InZnP, InZnS, InGaP, InGaN, AlAs, AIP, AISb, PbS, TiO, SrSe, or one or more combinations thereof, via combinations of Group II-VI, III-V, and IV-VI compounds as set forth in para [0137]-[0148].
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses the quantum dot of claim 1, wherein the shell comprises at least two layers (multi-layered shell, para [0086]).
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses a method of manufacturing a quantum dot (para [0170]), the method comprising:
preparing a first composition (first mixture) comprising metal precursors to form a core (first semiconductor nanocrystal, para [0171]), wherein the metal precursors (para [0188]) comprise a precursor comprising indium (In) (para [0189]), a precursor comprising gallium (Ga, para [0183]), a precursor comprising zinc (Zn) (para [0189]), a fatty acid (ligand selected from a group that includes oleic acid, para [0161]), and a solvent (para [0171]);
preparing a second composition comprising a precursor comprising a Group V material (para [0173]) which inherently includes phosphorus (P);
preparing a first mixture by mixing the first composition with the second
composition (injecting the P precursor into the first mixture, para [0173]);
manufacturing a core by heating the first mixture (para [0172]); and
manufacturing a shell around at least a portion of the core (para [0174]),
wherein the core manufactured by the manufacturing of the core comprises
indium (In), gallium (Ga), and phosphorus (P) (as In, Ga, and P precursors were processed, as discussed above),
in the core, a sum of a number of moles of In and a number of moles of Ga
relative to a number of moles of P ((MIn+MGa)/ MP) = (~1.1 to ~2)/(~1 to ~1.2) is about 0.92 to about 2, as discussed above, which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 1 to about 1.5. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses the method of claim 7, wherein, in the first mixture, a number of moles of P relative to a sum of a number of moles of In and a number of moles of Ga (MP/(MIn+MGa)) = (~1 to ~1.2)/(~1.1 to ~2) is about 0.5 to about 1.09, which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 0.7 to about 0.86. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses the method of claim 7, but is silent regarding the limitation “wherein a half width half maximum (HWHM) of a UV-Vis spectrum of the core is about 40 nm or less”. However, Park does teach an overlapping quantum dot made by an overlapping method. Therefore, per MPEP 2112.01(I), cited above, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the Park quantum dots to have overlapping optical properties, including but not limited to overlapping HWHM, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the cores absorb blue light (para [0249]). Blue light has a wavelength of wavelength of about 400 nm to about 480 nm. Park is silent regarding a wavelength of a first exciton peak of a UV-Vis spectrum of core that is in a range of about 410 nm to about 440 nm. However, the Park cores absorb blue light. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the Park cores to show a wavelength of a first exciton peak of a UV-Vis spectrum that at least overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 410 nm to about 440 nm, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses the method of claim 7, wherein a diameter of the core manufactured by the manufacturing of the core is greater than or equal to about 1 nm and less than or equal to about 50 nm (para [0156]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 1.5 nm to about 2.5 nm. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses the method of claim 7, comprising controlling a wavelength of a first exciton peak of a ultraviolet-visible (UV-Vis) spectrum of the core (absorption and emission characteristics, para [0163]).
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the controlling of a wavelength of a first exciton peak of a UV-Vis spectrum of the core is performed by controlling at least one of: i) a reaction time of the first mixture (para [0185]); ii) a number of moles of Zn relative to a number of moles of In (MZn/MIn) in the first mixture (para [0082]); and iv) a number of moles of Ga relative to a number of moles of In (MGa/MIn) in the first mixture (para [0131] and [0136]).
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the reaction time of the first mixture is greater than or equal to about 30 minutes and less than or equal to about 3 hours (para [0185]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of greater than about 0 minutes and less than or equal to about 2 hours. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses the method of claim 13, wherein, in an alternate embodiment, the Zn is a dopant (para [0015]). [Park does not expressly disclose amounts of Zn dopant but does teach molar amounts of other dopants as greater than or equal to about 0.1 and less than or equal to about 1.0 (para [0136]). Therefore, the number of moles of Zn relative to the number of moles of In (MZn/MIn) = (~0.1 to ~1.0/~1) is about 0.1 to about 1, which overlaps the instantly claimed range of greater than about 0 and less than or equal to about 1.5. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
It would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to employ known dopant amounts for the Zn dopant to provide the desired improvements in optical properties without bringing forth substantial changes in crystal structure (para [0111]).
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses the method of claim 13, wherein, in the first mixture, the number of moles of Ga relative to the number of moles of In (MGa/MIn) = (~0.1 to ~1.0/~1) is about 0.1 to about 1, which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 0.05 to about 5. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 17, Park discloses an optical member (film, para [0245]) comprising the quantum dot of claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Park discloses an electronic apparatus (display, para [0246]) comprising the quantum dot of claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, Park discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 18, comprising:
a light source configured to emit light (light emitting element); and
a color conversion member (quantum dot polymer composite) arranged on a pathway of the light emitted from the light source,
wherein the quantum dot is comprised in the color conversion member (Fig. 2 and para [0246]).
Regarding claim 20, Park discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 18, comprising:
a light-emitting device (display) comprising:
a first electrode;
a second electrode facing the first electrode; and
an emission layer between the first electrode and the second electrode,
wherein the quantum dot is comprised in the light-emitting device (para [0264] and Fig. 4B).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 and 15-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,597,876 B2 (hereinafter 876). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach overlapping electronic devices and optical elements (instant claims 17-20 and 876 claims 16-20) comprising overlapping core/shell quantum dots comprising overlapping amounts of In, Ga, Zn, and P and overlapping shell materials (instant claims 1, 5, and 6 and 876 claims 1-12). Both also teach that the quantum dots have overlapping optical properties (instant claims 2-4 and 876 claims 15 and 18). See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/106604 (hereinafter 604). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach overlapping electronic devices and optical elements (instant claims 17-20 and 604 claims 17-20) comprising overlapping core/shell quantum dots comprising overlapping amounts of In, Ga, Zn, and P and overlapping shell materials (instant claims 1, 5, and 6 and 604 claims 14 and 15). Both teach the quantum dots made by overlapping methods (instant claims 7, 8, and 10-16 and 604 claims 1-13). Both also teach that the quantum dots have overlapping optical properties (instant claims 2-4 and 604 claim 16). See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
The 604 claims are silent regarding a HWHM of the core of about 40 nm or less, as set forth in instant claim 9. However, see MPEP 2112.01(I), cited above. The quantum dots overlap and are made by overlapping methods. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect overlapping HWHM ranges, absent evidence to the contrary.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 6/8/26, with respect to 589 have been fully considered and are persuasive. 589 is assigned to Samsung Electronics Co. Ltd. The instant application is assigned to Samsung Display Co. Ltd.
Therefore, the obviousness double patenting rejection of claims 1-6 and 17-20 as obvious over the claims of 589 has been withdrawn.
Applicant requested that the double patenting rejection over the claims of 876 and the provisional double patenting rejection over the claims of 604 be withdrawn but has not provided arguments.
As discussed above, the 876 claims teach overlapping devices comprising overlapping core/shell quantum dots with overlapping amounts of In, Ga, Zn, and P and overlapping optical properties.
Therefore, the obviousness double patenting rejection of claims 1-6 and 17-20 as obvious over the claims of 876 stands.
As discussed above, the 106 claims teach overlapping devices comprising overlapping core/shell quantum dots with overlapping amounts of In, Ga, Zn, and P and overlapping optical properties.
Therefore, the provisional obviousness double patenting rejection of claims 1-20 as obvious over the claims of 106 stands.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/8/26, regarding Park, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the reference teaches that Ga can be included in the core but teaches InZnP as the preferred core. However, see MPEP 2123(I) which states that ‘A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments’. The reference is not limited to preferred embodiments. Applicant also argues that the working examples are all InZnP. However, see MPEP 2123(II) which states that ‘Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments’. The reference is not limited to the examples.
Although applicant states that the reference does teach that Ga can be included in the core, applicant argues that the reference provides no motivation or suggestion to specifically select Ga among various other metal options, as InZnP is stated as preferred. However, the core is limited to III-V compounds. Group III elements in the III-V compounds are limited to Ga, Al and In. This is a finite group of three elements. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to select one of the three known Group III elements. Also note that in para [0128]-[0130], nineteen of the forty-two compounds contain Ga. Therefore, the broad teaching of the reference, particularly para [0128]-[0130] suggest including Ga in the core.
Applicant also argues that the examples of Park do not recite the instantly claimed ratios and therefore Park does not directly recite the instantly claimed numerical ranges. As discussed above, the reference is not limited to the examples. The ranges set forth in the rejections are based on amounts of Group IIIA metals other than In (para [0136]) as the material can contain more than one Group IIIA metal.
Applicant further argues that Comparative Example 5-3 of the present specification has a value for MGa/(MIn+MGa) of “0.20” which falls within the calculated range for Park but is outside of the claimed range of about 0.02 to about 0.18. The comparative example has a PLQY of 73%. Applicant argues that this data point is evidence of criticality of the claimed range and rebuts any prima facie obviousness based on allegedly overlapping ranges. However, Comparative Example 5-3 is one data point outside of the claimed range. See MPEP 716.02(d)(II), which states that ‘To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range’.
Park is not limited to the examples or the preferred embodiments. The broad teaching of the Park disclosure suggests including Ga in the core (para [0128]-[0130]) and suggests amounts of Ga, as an additional Group IIIA metal (para [0136]). Because the compositions overlap for the reasons stated above, inherency under MPEP 2112.01(I) is considered to be met.
Therefore, the 103 rejection of claims 1-20 as obvious over Park stands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/Matthew E. Hoban/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734