DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 12/05/2025, with respect to claim 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejection of claim 8 has been withdrawn.
The examiner acknowledges the deletion of claimed subject matter due to indefinite language.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant’s argument, “Yamaoka does not disclose the maximum current efficiency and this linkage”. The prior art discloses all of the claimed features (i.e. structure and parameters) of the invention therefore the examiner believes that the prior art appears to inherently disclose the maximum current efficiency in [0146], Fig. 5. In regard to the “Yamaoka does not disclose or suggest, in combination with the other recited limitations, the critical limitation of Color Coordinates at CEmax, a parameter universally recognized as the unit for current efficiency.”, Although the term “maximum current efficiency or CEmax” is not explicitly disclosed, the prior art says, “[0146] In the display device of one embodiment of the present invention, the above chromaticities are preferably obtained so that the area ratio with respect to the BT.2020 color gamut in the CIE chromaticity coordinates (x, y) can become higher than or equal to 80%, or the color gamut coverage can become higher than or equal to 75%. Further preferably, the area ratio is higher than or equal to 90% or the coverage is higher than or equal to 85%.”
The examiner is reading the claim as CEmax is achieved if the display device can achieve a high percentage chromaticity (for specific FWHM/wavelengths). The current claim does not recite a numerical value for the CEmax and therefore it is unclear what the maximum current efficiency is and/or what is achieving this maximum current efficiency if not the claimed parameters (which are disclosed in the prior art).
Applicant may resolve the ambiguities of a functional limitation in a number of ways. For example: (1) "the ambiguity might be resolved by using a quantitative metric (e.g., numeric limitation as to a physical property) rather than a qualitative functional feature" (see Halliburton Energy Servs., 514 F.3d at 1255-56, 85 USPQ2d at 1663); (2) applicant could demonstrate that the "specification provide[s] a formula for calculating a property along with examples that meet the claim limitation and examples that do not" (see id. at 1256, 85 USPQ2d at 1663 (citing Oakley, Inc. v. Sunglass Hut Int’l, 316 F.3d 1331, 1341, 65 USPQ2d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2003)); (3) applicant could demonstrate that the specification provides a general guideline and examples sufficient to teach a person skilled in the art when the claim limitation was satisfied (see Marosi, 710 F.2d at 803, 218 USPQ at 292); or (4) applicant could amend the claims to recite the particular structure that accomplishes the function. (MPEP 2173.05(g))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamaoka et al. (US 20180247981 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaoka discloses an organic electroluminescent device, at least comprising:
a substrate (131); ([0150], Fig. 6A)
a first electrode (111) disposed on the substrate (131); ([0074, Fig. 6A)
a second electrode (112) disposed over the first electrode (111); ([0074, Fig. 6A) and
an organic layer (113) disposed between the first electrode (111) and the second electrode (112), ([0073], Fig. 6A) wherein
the first electrode (111) has high reflectivity (per [0075]), the second electrode (112) is translucent or transparent (per [0075]), and the organic layer (113) further comprises an organic luminescent dopant material (per [0211]) whose PL spectrum satisfies: FWHM ≤ 32 nm and 523 nm ≤ λmax ≤ 533 nm; ([0145]) wherein
color coordinates (CIEx, CIEy) of the organic electroluminescent device when maximum current efficiency CEmax (maximum percentages in Fig. 5) is reached satisfy following conditions:
0.110 ≤ CIEx ≤ 0.230; ([0139])
0.750 ≤ CIEy ≤ 0.820. ([0139])
Regarding claim 2, Yamaoka discloses the organic electroluminescent device according to claim 1, wherein the color coordinates satisfy: 0.150 ≤ CIEx ≤ 0.200; and preferably, the color coordinates satisfy: 0.165 ≤ CIEx < 0.175. (0.170 per [0139])
Regarding claim 3, Yamaoka discloses the organic electroluminescent device according to claim 1, wherein the color coordinates satisfy: 0.750
CIEy <0.813; and preferably, the color coordinates satisfy: 0.770 ≤ CIEy ≤ 0.800. (0.170 per [0139])
Regarding claim 9, Yamaoka discloses the organic electroluminescent device according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode is an anode, and the second electrode is a cathode. ([0197])
Regarding claim 10, Yamaoka discloses the organic electroluminescent device according to claim 1, wherein average reflectivity of the first electrode (111) in a visible region is greater than 50%; preferably, the average reflectivity of the first electrode in the visible region is greater than 70%; and more preferably, the average reflectivity of the first electrode in the visible region is greater than 80%. ([0197])
Regarding claim 11, Yamaoka discloses the organic electroluminescent device according to claim 1, wherein average transmittance of the second electrode (112) in a visible region is greater than 15%; preferably, the average transmittance of the second electrode in the visible region is greater than 20%; and more preferably, the average transmittance of the second electrode in the visible region is greater than 25%. ([0198])
Regarding claim 12, Yamaoka discloses the organic electroluminescent device according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode (111) comprises a material selected from a group consisting of Ag, Al, Ti, Cr, Pt, Ni, TiN, and from a combination of preceding materials with ITO and/or MoOx (molybdenum oxide); ([0200]) and
the second electrode (112) comprises a material selected from a group consisting of MgAg alloy, MoOx, Yb, Ca, ITO, IZO, and from a combination of preceding materials. ([0200])
Regarding claim 13, Yamaoka discloses a full-color display (per [0134]), comprising the organic electroluminescent device of claim 1. (Fig. 6A)
Regarding claim 14, Yamaoka discloses the full-color display (per [0134]) according to claim 13, wherein color coordinates of red light comprise (0.708, 0.292), and color coordinates of blue light comprise (0.131, 0.046). ([0139])
Regarding claim 15, Yamaoka discloses the full-color display according to claim 13, wherein BT.2020 coverage of the full-color display is greater than or equal to 85%; preferably, the BT.2020 coverage of the full-color display is greater than or equal to 90%; and more preferably, the BT.2020 coverage of the full-color display is greater than or equal to 95%. ([0146])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka et al. (US 20180247981 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Yamaoka discloses the organic electroluminescent device according to claim 1. Yamaoka does not explicitly disclose wherein
the PL spectrum of the organic luminescent dopant material satisfies following conditions: 28 nm < FWHM ≤ 32 nm and 523 ≤ λmax ≤ 527nm.
However, Yamaoka does disclose:
“The peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the light-emitting element 115G is preferably greater than or equal to 500 nm and less than or equal to 530 nm.” And “The half widths of the emission spectra of the light-emitting elements 115R, 115G, and 115B are preferably greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 45 nm, greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 35 nm, and greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 25 nm, respectively.” (per [0145])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Yamaoka for the PL spectrum of the organic luminescent dopant material satisfies following conditions: 28 nm < FWHM ≤ 32 nm and 523 ≤ λmax ≤ 527nm in order “to provide a display device capable of displaying an image with a wide color gamut.” (Yamaoka, [0009]) as well as through routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Regarding claim 5, Yamaoka discloses the organic electroluminescent device according to claim 1. Yamaoka does not explicitly disclose wherein
the PL spectrum of the organic luminescent dopant material satisfies following conditions: 22 nm < FWHM ≤ 28 nm, and 523 nm ≤ λmax ≤ 527nm.
However, Yamaoka does disclose:
“The peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the light-emitting element 115G is preferably greater than or equal to 500 nm and less than or equal to 530 nm.” And “The half widths of the emission spectra of the light-emitting elements 115R, 115G, and 115B are preferably greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 45 nm, greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 35 nm, and greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 25 nm, respectively.” (per [0145])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Yamaoka for the PL spectrum of the organic luminescent dopant material satisfies following conditions: 22 nm < FWHM ≤ 28 nm, and 523 nm ≤ λmax ≤ 527nm in order “to provide a display device capable of displaying an image with a wide color gamut.” (Yamaoka, [0009]) as well as through routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 6, Yamaoka discloses the organic electroluminescent device according to claim 1. Yamaoka does not explicitly disclose wherein
the PL spectrum of the organic luminescent dopant material satisfies following conditions: 16 nm < FWHM ≤ 22 nm, and 525 nm ≤ λmax ≤ 529 nm.
However, Yamaoka does disclose:
“The peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the light-emitting element 115G is preferably greater than or equal to 500 nm and less than or equal to 530 nm.” And “The half widths of the emission spectra of the light-emitting elements 115R, 115G, and 115B are preferably greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 45 nm, greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 35 nm, and greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 25 nm, respectively.” (per [0145])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Yamaoka for the PL spectrum of the organic luminescent dopant material satisfies following conditions: 16 nm < FWHM ≤ 22 nm, and 525 nm ≤ λmax ≤ 529 nm in order “to provide a display device capable of displaying an image with a wide color gamut.” (Yamaoka, [0009]) as well as through routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 7, Yamaoka discloses the organic electroluminescent device according to claim 1. Yamaoka does not explicitly disclose wherein
the PL spectrum of the organic luminescent dopant material satisfies following conditions: FWHM ≤ 16 nm, and 529 nm ≤ λmax ≤ 533 nm.
However, Yamaoka does disclose:
“The peak wavelength of the emission spectrum of the light-emitting element 115G is preferably greater than or equal to 500 nm and less than or equal to 530 nm.” And “The half widths of the emission spectra of the light-emitting elements 115R, 115G, and 115B are preferably greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 45 nm, greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 35 nm, and greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 25 nm, respectively.” (per [0145])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Yamaoka for the PL spectrum of the organic luminescent dopant material satisfies following conditions: FWHM ≤ 16 nm, and 529 nm ≤ λmax ≤ 533 nm in order “to provide a display device capable of displaying an image with a wide color gamut.” (Yamaoka, [0009]) as well as through routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 8, Yamaoka discloses the organic electroluminescent device according to claim 1. Yamaoka does not explicitly disclose
wherein the CEmax ≥ 160 cd/A.
However, Yamaoka discloses:
“Note that in this specification and the like, white display can be performed under, for example, a D65 standard illuminant, and the luminance at this time is preferably higher than or equal to 10 cd/m2 and lower than or equal to 300 cd/m2” (per [0017])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use the teachings of Yamaoka for the CEmax ≥ 160 cd/A in order “to provide a display device capable of displaying an image with a wide color gamut.” (Yamaoka, [0009]) as well as through routine experiment and optimization. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nakamura et al. (US 20180151539 A1) discloses a display device that can display an image with a wide color gamut but does not disclose all the limitations as required by the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEY NICOLE BLACKWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897