DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the amendments filed on 6/17/2026. Claims 1, 7, 9 and 14 are amended. Claims 8, 15 and 17-18 are canceled. Claims 1-7, 9-11, 13-14, 15 and 19-20 are presently pending and examined.
Response to Arguments
Prior Art Rejection
Applicant’s amendments and accompanying arguments, see remarks, filed 6/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11 and 13-20 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mark A. Ledebuhr US 20160157426 (“Ledebuhr”).
.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16 is dependent on Claim 15, which has been cancelled. Examiner has interpreted Claim 14 as being dependent on Claim 14 directly. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 4, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael P. Henne US 20190223381 A1 (“Henne”) in view of Ricardo Rodrigues Da Cunha BR 102021004359 A2 (“Cunha”), Thomas B. Burch US 6374586 B1 (“Burch”) and Mark A. Ledebuhr US 20160157426 (“Ledebuhr”).
As per Claim 1,
Henne discloses,
An agricultural system (see at least [0004] A system and related method of precisely applying forage treatment material to harvested forage is provided)
a harvester, (see at least [0007] the system can be mounted on a motorized forage harvester capable of conveying itself along the ground)
a chopper configured to cut crop residue (see at least [0025] The harvester 1 can be a forage chopper powered by an engine 3.)
Henne does not disclose,
a fluid applicator configured to apply decomposition-aid fluid to the chopper
Burch teaches,
a fluid applicator configured to apply fluid to the chopper (see at least [Col. 10, line 12-17] Fluid conduit means 190 defines a continuous fluid passageway for delivering the treatment fluid from fluid container means 130 to cutting and treating means 90 which is small enough in diameter in diameter so that the passageway is continuously filled with treatment fluid regardless of the ground speed of the mower under normal mowing conditions)
Thus, Henne discloses a harvester system with a variable applicator based on a measured harvested rate and Burch teaches application of the treatment fluid to the cutting blade.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Henne with the fluid applicator method as taught by Burch, with a reasonable expectation of success, thereby maximizing the efficacy of the treatment and vastly reducing the required amount of treatment fluid as well as amount of active ingredient (Col. 4, line 45-47).
Henne does not disclose,
a fluid applicator configured to apply decomposition-aid fluid to the chopper
determine a decomposition-aid fluid application rate of the decomposition-aid fluid to the chopper based on the crop harvest data;
control the fluid applicator to apply the decomposition-aid fluid to the chopper based on the decomposition-aid fluid application rate.
Ledebuhr teaches,
a fluid applicator configured to apply decomposition-aid fluid to the chopper (see at least [0036] the apparatus 10 cuts the vegetation V with the cutting implement 12 and applies chemical fluids to the stump portion S with the applicator 14 in concurrent movements. The chemical fluid generally includes a combination of glyphosate and imazapyr, although other herbicides such as imazapic, diquat dibromide, pelargonic acid may also be used. Therefore, the apparatus 10 is particularly well-suited for cutting and treating a wide area of vegetation V (see FIGS. 11-13))
determine a decomposition-aid fluid application rate of the decomposition-aid fluid to the chopper based on the crop harvest data; (see at least [0037] At any time, collecting S300 the biomass B may further include operating an agricultural vehicle, such as a tractor, lawn mower, or harvester, and [0047] An operator may use a different operating setting according to various conditions, such as vegetation density, type of vegetation, type of chemical fluids, and goal of cutting and chemical application.)
control the fluid applicator to apply the decomposition-aid fluid to the chopper based on the decomposition-aid fluid application rate (see at least [0047] The controller 34 may be set for one of many operating settings, such as single shot, steady, and pulsed)
Thus, Henne discloses a harvester system with a variable applicator based on a measured harvested rate and Ledebuhr teaches an apparatus and method to cut vegetation and precisely applying chemicals to undesired vegetation.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Henne with the fluid applicator method as taught by Ledebuhr, with a reasonable expectation of success, to cut and apply chemical fluids to a wide area of vegetation V in a single motion (0036).
Henne does not disclose,
an application control system, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the application control system is configured to
receive crop harvest data indicative of a density or an expected density of crops within a field;
Cunha teaches,
an application control system, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the application control system (see at least [0021] The present invention also contemplates a device that comprises at least one application element and a control module configured to control the application of input by the application element and 0053] This control performed by the control module 40 allows a precise application of input, which can be directed only to the area of interest, varying in amount of input applied, as well as other parameters such as application depth by controlling the pressure on the valve of control)
receive crop harvest data indicative of a density or an expected density of crops within a field (see at least [0015] A third objective of the present invention is to propose an input application device equipped with a control module capable of receiving field data and performing input application control based on the data received, [0024] In another possible embodiment, the field data is at least one of a georeference data, a crop type data, a soil diagnosis data, an infestation diagnosis data, and a fertility data, [0028] - receive, through a control module, at least one field data)
Thus, Henne discloses a harvester system with a variable applicator based on a measured harvested rate and Cunha teaches an application device for agricultural harvester to allow application of harvest-aid applicator simultaneously with the harvesting process.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Henne with the fluid applicator method as taught by Cunha, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable the application of inputs simultaneously to the harvest of the agricultural product, so that the need to use more than one passage of machinery to carry out the application of inputs is eliminated, saving thus time, fuel and resources in the process of harvesting and disposing of inputs (0048).
As per Claim 4,
Henne discloses,
The agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the crop harvest data comprises crop growth data indicative of the density of the crops within the field (see at least [0015] the system and method can effectively apply the treatment material in correct or adequate amounts regardless of the volume of crops harvested, the rate of harvest, the density of the crop, the type of crop, humidity, oxygen and plant moisture content, the condition of the harvester, the field conditions and other variables.
As per Claim 5,
Henne discloses,
The agricultural system of claim 4, wherein the harvester comprises one or more sensors, the one or more sensors are communicatively coupled to the application control system, the application control system is configured to receive the crop growth data from the one or more sensors during a harvesting operation (see at least [0026] The chute 8 can be outfitted with a flow sensor 8S that senses the flow of the harvested forage material HF through the chute. The sensor 8S sends a signal to a machine controller 1C mounted in the cab 4 of the harvester 1).
Claims 2, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henne, Cunha, Burch and Ledebuhr as in Claim 1 and further in view of Brian Falasz US 20210084810 A1 (“Falasz”).
As per Claim 2
Henne does not disclose,
a tillage system;
a disc blade configured to till soil and cut the crop residue
wherein the application control system is configured to:
receive crop residue data indicative of a location, a density, a species, a size, or a combination thereof, of the crop residue within the field;
determine a tillage-aid fluid application rate based on the crop residue data; and control the second fluid applicator to apply the tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade based on the tillage-aid fluid application rate.
Falasz teaches,
a tillage system (see at least [0006] there is provided an agricultural tillage system which generally includes an agricultural vehicle, a fertilizer device, an agricultural tillage implement, and an electronic control unit)
a disc blade configured to till soil and cut the crop residue (see at least [0021] the ground engaging tools 26 may be in the form of openers, coulters, and/or rollers)
wherein the application control system is configured to: receive crop residue data indicative of a location, a density, a species, a size, or a combination thereof, of the crop residue within the field (see at least [0017] The agricultural tillage system 10 may also include an electronic control unit (ECU) 18, with a memory 20 for storing soil characteristics, and one or more global positioning system (GPS) location sensors 22 for sensing real-time location data), [0018] fertilizer requirement characteristics may be determined from real-time sensor readings and/or estimated from previously measured field data, and [0018] the rate of fertilizer may be automatically controlled responsive to various compaction layer depths and soil nutrient levels determined by overlays from a GPS location, yield maps, field agronomy, and/or real-time sensor readings) determine a tillage-aid fluid application rate based on the crop residue data (see at least Fig. 3, Step 56, [0006] The electronic control unit may automatically set and adjust the rate of liquid fertilizer by adjusting multiple valves in the fertilizer applicator assemblies of the fertilizer device, dependent upon an estimated or measured fertilizer requirement characteristic, and [0017] ECU 18 may be configured for automatically adjusting the depth of the agricultural implement 16, the rate of the fertilizer, the type of fertilizer, and/or any other desired parameter depending upon a compaction layer characteristic and/or a fertilizer requirement characteristic)
and control the second fluid applicator to apply the tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade based on the tillage-aid fluid application rate (Fig. 3, Step 58, [0006] electronic control unit may automatically set and adjust the rate of liquid fertilizer by adjusting multiple valves in the fertilizer applicator assemblies of the fertilizer device, dependent upon an estimated or measured fertilizer requirement characteristic, and [0007] The valve is configured for varying a rate of the at least one liquid fertilizer through the applicator)
Thus, Henne discloses an agricultural system with a variable applicator and Falasz teaches a tillage system with variable fertilizer application.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Henne with the fluid applicator and spraying system and method taught by Falasz, with a reasonable expectation of success, to vary the rate of the at least one liquid fertilizer, dependent upon a fertilizer requirement characteristic (0009).
Henne does not disclose,
a second fluid applicator configured to apply tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade;
control the second fluid applicator to apply the tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade
Cunha teaches,
a second fluid applicator configured to apply tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade (see at least [0046] In a possible embodiment, two or more application bars 100 can each be destined for a type of input to be applied. It makes it clear that any number of application elements 10 and/or application bars 100 can be used to apply any number of types of input, varying as needed in the specific case, and [0046] For example, it is assumed that it is necessary to apply a first type of input in a certain portion of the planting area and a second type of input in another certain portion of the planting area. In this case, the device will comprise multiple application elements 10 fluidly connected to different reservoirs to allow the application of different types of input from suitable areas)
control the second fluid applicator to apply the tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade (see at least [0046] In a possible embodiment, two or more application bars 100 can each be destined for a type of input to be applied. It makes it clear that any number of application elements 10 and/or application bars 100 can be used to apply any number of types of input, varying as needed in the specific case, [0050] This structure 20 can be configured to receive one or more reservoirs, depending on the number of types of input to be applied or the presence of wash water reservoirs, for example, and [0052] the present invention contemplates an embodiment of the input application device that comprises at least one application element 10 and a control module 40 configured to control the application of input by the application element 10, as seen in figure 8.).
Thus, Henne discloses an agricultural system with a variable applicator and Cunha teaches application of different types of fluids.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Henne with the fluid applicator system and method taught by Cunha, with a reasonable expectation of success to allow the application of different types of input needed to different portions of the planting area, allowing greater flexibility in the application of input and reducing to one the number of passes necessary for the application of multiples. inputs (0048).
Henne does not disclose,
a second fluid applicator configured to apply tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade;
control the second fluid applicator to apply the tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade
Burch teaches,
a second fluid applicator configured to apply tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade;
control the second fluid applicator to apply the tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade (see at least [Col. 10, line 12-17] Fluid conduit means 190 defines a continuous fluid passageway for delivering the treatment fluid from fluid container means 130 to cutting and treating means 90 which is small enough in diameter in diameter so that the passageway is continuously filled with treatment fluid regardless of the ground speed of the mower under normal mowing conditions)
Thus, Henne discloses a harvester system with a variable applicator based on a measured harvested rate and Burch teaches application of the treatment fluid to the cutting blade.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Henne with the fluid applicator method as taught by Burch, with a reasonable expectation of success, thereby maximizing the efficacy of the treatment and vastly reducing the required amount of treatment fluid as well as amount of active ingredient (Col. 4, line 45-47).
As per Claim 3
Henne does not disclose,
wherein the application control system comprises a plurality of controllers,
the fluid applicator of the harvester is communicatively coupled to a first controller of the plurality of controllers,
the second fluid applicator of the tillage system is communicatively coupled to a second controller of the plurality of controllers, and
the first controller and the second controller operate independently of one another.
Cunha teaches,
wherein the application control system comprises a plurality of controllers, (see at least [0054] The signal or command sent by the control module 40 can be generated from a command received by the control module itself, sent directly by an operator or by an external control center, or based on an external data that the control module 40 will use to generate a new signal or command, as will be seen later).
the fluid applicator of the harvester is communicatively coupled to a first controller of the plurality of controllers, (see at least [0055] the control module 40 is configured to receive at least one D field data, the input application control of the application element 10 being configured as a function of the received D field data)
the second fluid applicator of the tillage system is communicatively coupled to a second controller of the plurality of controllers (see at least [0055] the control module 40 is configured to receive at least one D field data, the input application control of the application element 10 being configured as a function of the received D field data)
and the first controller and the second controller operate independently of one another (see at least [0022] the control module is electronically connected to at least one flow control element the flow control element being configured to control the flow of input that is dispensed by the application element as a function of action. minus or signal or command received from the control module, and [0054] In a possible embodiment, the control module 40 is electronically connected to at least one flow control element 50, 60, the flow control element 50, 60 being configured to control the flow of input that is dispensed by the application element 10 as a function of at least or signal or command received from control module 40.)
Thus, Henne discloses an agricultural system with a variable applicator and Cunha teaches application of different types of fluids.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Henne with the fluid applicator system and method taught by Cunha, with a reasonable expectation of success to allow the application of different types of input needed to different portions of the planting area, allowing greater flexibility in the application of input and reducing to one the number of passes necessary for the application of multiples. inputs (0048).
Claim 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henne, Cunha, Burch and Ledebuhr as in Claim 1 and further in view of Dolly Y. Wu et. al. US 20190150357 A1 (“Wu”)
As per Claim 6,
Henne does not disclose,
The agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the crop harvest data comprises seed planting data indicative of the expected density of the crops within the field
Wu discloses,
The agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the crop harvest data comprises seed planting data indicative of the expected density of the crops within the field (see at least [0099] In some embodiments, the planned crop row 12 is first or subsequently sprayed/spread with fertilizer after the herbicide spot spraying. If the planter and the sprayer use the same GPS/RTK system for precision seed planting, the planned crop row location information can be coordinated among vehicles, the sprayer and planter, and the planned crop row is optionally band sprayed with fertilizer, and [0180] FIG. 29 depicts an example dynamic technique for crop row identification based on line-fitting or on self-driving car lane identification or on seed planting position).
Thus, Henne discloses an agricultural system with a variable applicator and Wu teaches a monitoring and control implement that can be mounted on agricultural vehicles (e.g. planters, spray tractors, tillage tractors, windrowers, combines, vegetable harvester) to control and exercise a suite of crop management practices by using a portable set of imaging devices.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Henne with the fluid applicator system and method taught by Wu with a reasonable expectation of success, to store and exercise specific targeted methods, prioritize the targeted methods and exercise procedures such as calibration, monitoring or on-the-go actions (e.g. project particular spray pattern and pressure) (0005).
As per Claim 7,
Henne does not disclose,
The agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the application control system is configured to receive harvest operation data, the application control system is configured to determine the decomposition-fluid application rate based on the crop harvest data and the harvest operation data, and the harvest operation data is indicative of a harvester direction, a harvester speed, a chopper speed, a chopper angle, or any combination thereof
Wu discloses,
The agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the application control system is configured to receive harvest operation data, the application control system is configured to determine the decomposition-fluid application rate based on the crop harvest data and the harvest operation data, and the harvest operation data is indicative of a harvester direction, a harvester speed, a chopper speed, a chopper angle, or any combination thereof (see at least [0185] Save the previously obtained data containing the amount of residue, fertilizer, herbicide, crop yield and other information that are correlated with the plant, row, weather, time and field location. Perform prescription farming in the next crop cycle. If the crop yield is past a threshold of good or high, the prescription would remain the same and can be applied to the same location in the field in real time, [0189] In procedure 3318, other inputs include the type and settings of the spray nozzle, the weather condition (e.g. wind speed and direction, air temperature, humidity, time of day), type of spray used, and travel speed of the vehicle or autonomous self-propelled machinery, and so on. The number of outputs from the neural net depends on the configuration of the spray nozzle such as the number of spray outlets or spray tips shown in FIG. 34, or such as the amount of fluid pressure and droplet size to apply along with direction and angle of the spray tip if only one nozzle outlet is used at any one time (e.g. FIG. 3), and [0189] To train the neural network in procedure 3322, the desired spray pattern is correlated with the crop yield, the better the crop yield, then the particular spray pattern is deemed to be more desirable).
Wu does not specifically teach using a decomposition fluid. However Wu teaches use of intelligent methods in the context of field chemical applications during harvesting and other times in the life cycle of a crop (See at least [0191] Although the artificial intelligent methods are described here in the context of field chemical applications, the methods can also be applied during harvesting or other times in the life cycle of a crop).
Thus, Henne discloses an agricultural system with a variable applicator and Wu teaches a monitoring and control implement that can be mounted on agricultural vehicles (e.g. planters, spray tractors, tillage tractors, windrowers, combines, vegetable harvester) to control and exercise a suite of crop management practices by using a portable set of imaging devices.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Henne with the fluid applicator system and method taught by Wu with a reasonable expectation of success, to store and exercise specific targeted methods, prioritize the targeted methods and exercise procedures such as calibration, monitoring or on-the-go actions (e.g. project particular spray pattern and pressure) (0005).
Claims 9-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falasz in view of Ledebuhr.
As per Claim 9
Falasz discloses,
a tillage system (see at least [0006] there is provided an agricultural tillage system which generally includes an agricultural vehicle, a fertilizer device, an agricultural tillage implement, and an electronic control unit)
a disc blade configured to till soil and cut the crop residue (see at least [0021] the ground engaging tools 26 may be in the form of openers, coulters, and/or rollers)
wherein the application control system is configured to: receive crop residue data indicative of a density of the crop residue within the field (see at least [0017] The agricultural tillage system 10 may also include an electronic control unit (ECU) 18, with a memory 20 for storing soil characteristics, and one or more global positioning system (GPS) location sensors 22 for sensing real-time location data), [0018] fertilizer requirement characteristics may be determined from real-time sensor readings and/or estimated from previously measured field data, and [0018] the rate of fertilizer may be automatically controlled responsive to various compaction layer depths and soil nutrient levels determined by overlays from a GPS location, yield maps, field agronomy, and/or real-time sensor readings)
determine a decomposition-aid fluid application rate of the decomposition-aid fluid to the disc blade based on the crop residue data (see at least Fig. 3, Step 56, [0006] The electronic control unit may automatically set and adjust the rate of liquid fertilizer by adjusting multiple valves in the fertilizer applicator assemblies of the fertilizer device, dependent upon an estimated or measured fertilizer requirement characteristic, and [0017] ECU 18 may be configured for automatically adjusting the depth of the agricultural implement 16, the rate of the fertilizer, the type of fertilizer, and/or any other desired parameter depending upon a compaction layer characteristic and/or a fertilizer requirement characteristic)
control the fluid applicator to apply the decomposition-aid fluid to the disc blade based on the decomposition-aid fluid application rate (Fig. 3, Step 58, [0006] electronic control unit may automatically set and adjust the rate of liquid fertilizer by adjusting multiple valves in the fertilizer applicator assemblies of the fertilizer device, dependent upon an estimated or measured fertilizer requirement characteristic, and [0007] The valve is configured for varying a rate of the at least one liquid fertilizer through the applicator)
Falasz does not disclose,
a fluid applicator configured to apply decomposition-aid fluid to the disc blade
indicative of a density of the crop residue within the field
determine a decomposition-aid fluid application rate of the decomposition-aid fluid to the disc blade based on the crop residue data
to apply the decomposition-aid fluid to the disc blade based on the decomposition-aid fluid application rate
Ledebuhr teaches,
a fluid applicator configured to apply decomposition-aid fluid to the disc blade (see at least [0036] the apparatus 10 cuts the vegetation V with the cutting implement 12 and applies chemical fluids to the stump portion S with the applicator 14 in concurrent movements. The chemical fluid generally includes a combination of glyphosate and imazapyr, although other herbicides such as imazapic, diquat dibromide, pelargonic acid may also be used. Therefore, the apparatus 10 is particularly well-suited for cutting and treating a wide area of vegetation V (see FIGS. 11-13))
indicative of a density of the crop residue within the field (see at least [0047] An operator may use a different operating setting according to various conditions, such as vegetation density, type of vegetation, type of chemical fluids, and goal of cutting and chemical application)
determine a decomposition-aid fluid application rate of the decomposition-aid fluid to the disc blade based on the crop residue data (see at least [Claim 14] The apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein said cutting implement is configured to cut a wide area of vegetation and is selected from a group of scissors, shears, rotary blade, and sickle bar, [0037] At any time, collecting S300 the biomass B may further include operating an agricultural vehicle, such as a tractor, lawn mower, or harvester, and see at least [0047] the controller 34 may may be set for one of many operating settings, such as single shot, steady, and pulsed) )
to apply the decomposition-aid fluid to the disc blade based on the decomposition-aid fluid application rate (see at least [0047] the controller 34 may may be set for one of many operating settings, such as single shot, steady, and pulsed)
Thus, Falasz discloses an agricultural tillage system with a variable applicator and Ledebuhr teaches an apparatus and method to cut vegetation and precisely applying chemicals to undesired vegetation.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Falasz with the fluid applicator method as taught by Ledebuhr, with a reasonable expectation of success, to cut and apply chemical fluids to a wide area of vegetation V in a single motion (0036).
As per Claim 10,
Falasz discloses,
The agricultural system of claim 9, wherein the tillage system comprises one or more sensors, the one or more sensors are communicatively coupled to the application control system, the application control system is configured to receive the crop residue data from the one or more sensors during a tillage operation (see at least [0018] The compaction layer and fertilizer requirement characteristics may be determined from real-time sensor readings and/or estimated from previously measured field data. For instance, the depth of the agricultural implement 16 and the rate of fertilizer may be automatically controlled responsive to various compaction layer depths and soil nutrient levels determined by overlays from a GPS location, yield maps, field agronomy, and/or real-time sensor readings).
As per Claim 11,
Falasz discloses,
The agricultural system of claim 9, wherein the application control system is configured to receive tillage operation data, the application control system is configured to determine the decomposition-aid fluid application rate based on the tillage operation data and the crop residue data, and the tillage operation data is indicative of a tillage system direction, a tillage system speed, a disc blade speed, a disc blade angle, or any combination thereof (see at least Fig. 3, [0030] The compaction layer and fertilizer requirement characteristics may be determined from real-time sensor readings and/or estimated from previously measured field data. For instance, the depth of the agricultural implement 16 and the rate of fertilizer may be automatically controlled responsive to various compaction layer depths and soil nutrient levels determined by overlays from a GPS location, yield maps, field agronomy, and/or real-time sensor readings, [0030] the ECU 18 may receive real-time data and/or stored data from the memory 20 (at block 54). The ECU 18 may receive GPS location data from the GPS sensor 22, yield map data, in-field measurements, estimated and/or measured compaction layer data, and/or estimated and/or measured fertilizer data, [0030] ECU 18 may then compute the fertilizer requirement characteristic at a given location, which is known by way of the GPS sensor 22, from the received real-time and/or stored data (at block 56). For example, the ECU 18 may compute the fertilizer requirement by estimating the soil nutrient level from crop yield from the crop yield map and/or by extrapolating, across the entire field, one or more measured soil nutrient levels at one or more locations in the field, having known crop yields, [0030] the ECU 18 may compute a compaction layer characteristic. Then, the ECU 18 may automatically adjust the depth of the plurality of ground engaging tools, the rate of the fertilizer via adjusting the valves 40, and/or the type of fertilizer dependent upon the fertilizer requirement characteristic (at block 58), and [0030] The agricultural system of claim 9, wherein the crop residue data comprises yield map data indicative of an amount of the crops harvested in each location of the field during a previous harvest operation, harvest residue data indicative of an amount of crop residue generated via a previous harvest operation, or any combination thereof).
As per Claim 13,
Falasz discloses,
The agricultural system of claim 9, wherein the crop residue data comprises yield map data indicative of an amount of the crops harvested in each location of the field during a previous harvest operation, harvest residue data indicative of an amount of crop residue generated via a previous harvest operation, or any combination thereof (see at least [0033] The estimated compaction layer characteristic may be determined from extrapolating one or more prior in-field measurements at a given location and averaging the measured result across the entire field in correlation with location and yield map data. Compaction layer depth may be correlated to yield map data. For example, a correlation of whether in-field measurements show that a location with a high crop yield, which was indicated by yield map data, has a certain compaction layer depth and another location with a low crop yield has a differing compaction layer depth may exist, and [0033] the fertilizer requirement characteristic, and the soil nutrient level therewith, may be determined from GPS location data from the GPS sensor 22, yield map data, estimated fertilizer data based on yield map data, in-field soil measurements, and/or estimated fertilizer data extrapolated from previous in-field soil measurements).
Claims 14, 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cunha in view of Burch and Ledebuhr.
As per Claim 14,
Cunha discloses,
A fluid applicator system, comprising
a cutting blade configured to cut crop residue, wherein the cutting blade is oriented horizontally to chop stalks of corn during a harvest operation (see at least [0049] the harvester device 2 can be a platform provided with tools suitable for carrying out the harvest of the product, including, for example, mechanisms for cutting and transporting the harvested product).
an application control system, comprising a memory and a processor, (see at least [0021] The present invention also contemplates a device that comprises at least one application element and a control module configured to control the application of input by the application element and 0053] This control performed by the control module 40 allows a precise application of input, which can be directed only to the area of interest, varying in amount of input applied, as well as other parameters such as application depth by controlling the pressure on the valve of control)
wherein the application control system is configured to: receive data indicative of density or expected density of crops within a field (see at least [0015] A third objective of the present invention is to propose an input application device equipped with a control module capable of receiving field data and performing input application control based on the data received, [0024] In another possible embodiment, the field data is at least one of a georeference data, a crop type data, a soil diagnosis data, an infestation diagnosis data, and a fertility data, [0028] - receive, through a control module, at least one field data)
determine a decomposition-aid fluid application rate of decomposition-aid fluid to the cutting blade based on the received data (see at least [0023] In another possible embodiment, the control module is configured to receive at least one field data, the input application control of the application element being configured as a function of the received field data).
a fluid applicator configured to apply the decomposition-aid fluid to the cutting blade based on the decomposition-aid fluid application rate control (see at least [0022] In a possible embodiment, the control module is electronically connected to at least one flow control element, the flow control element being configured to control the flow of input that is dispensed by the application element as a function of action. minus or signal or command received from the control module).
Cunha does not disclose,
apply decomposition-aid fluid to the cutting blade;
Burch teaches,
apply decomposition-aid fluid to the cutting blade (see at least [Col. 10, line 12-17] Fluid conduit means 190 defines a continuous fluid passageway for delivering the treatment fluid from fluid container means 130 to cutting and treating means 90 which is small enough in diameter in diameter so that the passageway is continuously filled with treatment fluid regardless of the ground speed of the mower under normal mowing conditions)
Thus, Cunha discloses an application system including a variable fluid applicator and Burch teaches application of the treatment fluid to the cutting blade.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Cunha with the fluid applicator method as taught by Burch, with a reasonable expectation of success, thereby maximizing the efficacy of the treatment and vastly reducing the required amount of treatment fluid as well as amount of active ingredient (Col. 4, line 45-47).
Cunha does not specifically disclose,
a cutting blade configured to cut crop residue, wherein the cutting blade is oriented horizontally to chop stalks of corn during a harvest operation
receive data indicative of density or expected density of crops within a field
determine a decomposition-aid fluid application rate of decomposition-aid fluid to the cutting blade based on the received data
to apply the decomposition-aid fluid to the cutting blade based on the decomposition-aid fluid application rate
Ledebuhr teaches,
a cutting blade configured to cut crop residue, wherein the cutting blade is oriented horizontally to chop stalks of corn during a harvest operation (see at least [0037] an operator orients the cutting implement 12 such that the cutting implement 12 and the cutting plane 26 are horizontal and perpendicular to vegetation V to be cut).
receive data indicative of density or expected density of crops within a field (see at least [0047] An operator may use a different operating setting according to various conditions, such as vegetation density, type of vegetation, type of chemical fluids, and goal of cutting and chemical application)
determine a decomposition-aid fluid application rate of decomposition-aid fluid to the cutting blade based on the received data (see at least [Claim 14] The apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein said cutting implement is configured to cut a wide area of vegetation and is selected from a group of scissors, shears, rotary blade, and sickle bar, [0037] At any time, collecting S300 the biomass B may further include operating an agricultural vehicle, such as a tractor, lawn mower, or harvester, and see at least [0047] the controller 34 may may be set for one of many operating settings, such as single shot, steady, and pulsed)
to apply the decomposition-aid fluid to the cutting blade based on the decomposition-aid fluid application rate (see at least [0047] the controller 34 may may be set for one of many operating settings, such as single shot, steady, and pulsed)
Thus, Cunha discloses an application system including a variable fluid applicator and Ledebuhr teaches an apparatus and method to cut vegetation and precisely applying chemicals to undesired vegetation.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Cunha with the fluid applicator method as taught by Ledebuhr, with a reasonable expectation of success, to cut and apply chemical fluids to a wide area of vegetation V in a single motion (0036).
As per Claim 16,
Cunha does not disclose,
wherein the cutting blade is configured to rotate about a rotational axis, and the fluid applicator is configured to apply the decomposition-aid fluid to a center of the cutting blade for distribution along the cutting blade by centrifugal force.
Burch teaches,
wherein the cutting blade is configured to rotate about a rotational axis (see at least [Col. 5, line 28-31] the cutting blade drive means rotates the drive shaft of the cutting blade drive means which in turn rotates the blade carrier and at least one cutting blade assembly of the cutting and treating means)
and the fluid applicator is configured to apply the decomposition-aid fluid to a center of the cutting blade for distribution along the cutting blade by centrifugal force (see at least [Col. 10, line 12-17] Fluid conduit means 190 defines a continuous fluid passageway for delivering the treatment fluid from fluid container means 130 to cutting and treating means 90 which is small enough in diameter so that the passageway is continuously filled with treatment fluid regardless of the ground speed of the mower under normal mowing conditions, and [Col. 18, line 40-50] FIG. 17a is a perspective view of the Burch WET BAR.TM. 220 secured to the cutting blade drive means 210 of the power lawnmower 41, and FIG. 18 is a top view of the center portion of the Burch WET BAR.TM. shown in FIG. 17a. The WET BAR.TM. 220 comprises a fluid conduit 221 which is in fluid communication with fluid container means 230 in the manner previously described. Accordingly, a continuous stream of treatment fluid is delivered to the underside of the blade 211 and is continuously available to the cut vegetation at the time that the vegetation is cut).
Thus, Cunha discloses an application system including a variable fluid applicator and Burch teaches rotating cutter and a method for the application of the treatment fluid to the cutting blade.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Cunha with the fluid applicator method as taught by Burch, with a reasonable expectation of success, thereby maximizing the efficacy of the treatment and vastly reducing the required amount of treatment fluid as well as amount of active ingredient (Col. 4, line 45-47).
As per Claim 19,
Cunha discloses,
wherein the decomposition-aid fluid comprises microbes, materials that promote microbe development, or both (see at least [0071] The present invention, when shipped on harvesters, is suitable to allow the replacement of the use in agriculture of chemical products, called pesticides, for the use of biological products, whether fungicides, nematicides, insecticides, soil conditioners and biological fertilizers, phosphorus-releasing bacteria, nitrogen-fixing bacteria (Brady rhizobium and Azospi-rillum) and several other biological inputs, which today have great adherence by farmers, and [0071] use of biological products, called "BIOINPUTS" instead of chemicals).
As per Claim 20,
Cunha does not disclose,
fluid application system of claim 14, wherein the cutting blade comprises a fluid channel extending from the center of the cutting blade outwardly, wherein the fluid channel is configured to direct fluid from the center of the cutting blade to the cutting edge of the cutting blade as the cutting blade rotates.
Burch teaches,
fluid application system of claim 14, wherein the cutting blade comprises a fluid channel extending from the center of the cutting blade outwardly, wherein the fluid channel is configured to direct fluid from the center of the cutting blade to the cutting edge of the cutting blade as the cutting blade rotate (see at least Fig. 17a, Fig. 17b, [Col. 10, line 12-17] Fluid conduit means 190 defines a continuous fluid passageway for delivering the treatment fluid from fluid container means 130 to cutting and treating means 90 which is small enough in diameter so that the passageway is continuously filled with treatment fluid regardless of the ground speed of the mower under normal mowing conditions, and [Col. 18, line 28-27] A typical blade 211 for a power lawnmower is made of soft metal, and is relatively thin and measures between about 18 and 30 inches in length. Thus, as indicated by the broken lines in FIG. 16, the blade 211 is flexible about the cutting blade drive means 210 so that the tip 212 of the blade 211 will deflect upwards if the blade strikes an immovable object. Accordingly, if the blade 211 were provided with a solid fluid conduit extending outwardly from the drive shaft of the cutting blade drive means 210, the conduit would buckle as the blade flexes).
Thus, Cunha discloses an application system including a variable fluid applicator and Burch teaches a cutting blade with a fluid channel
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Cunha with the fluid applicator method as taught by Burch, with a reasonable expectation of success, thereby maximizing the efficacy of the treatment and vastly reducing the required amount of treatment fluid as well as amount of active ingredient (Col. 4, line 45-47).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Thomas Ingram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668