DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the amendments filed on 01/08/2026. Claims 9 and 11 have been amended and Claims 12 is cancelled. Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are presently pending and examined.
Response to Arguments
Drawing objections
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 01/08/2026, have been considered. The objection has been withdrawn.
Prior Art Rejection
Applicant’s amendments and accompanying arguments, see remarks, filed 11/10/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 14, and their dependent claims under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner agrees that Long is not available as prior art under § 102, and is therefore not available as prior art under § 103. For this reason, the rejection of independent claims 1 and 14, and their dependent claims under 35 USC 103 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments and accompanying arguments, see remarks, filed 11/10/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 9, and its dependent claims under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of independent claims 9, and its dependent claims under 35 USC 103 is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 4, 5, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael P. Henne US20190223381A1 (“Henne”) in view of Ricardo Rodrigues Da Cunha BR102021004359A2 (“Cunha”) and Thomas B. Burch US6374586B1 (“Burch”)
As per Claim 1,
Henne discloses,
An agricultural system (see at least [0004] A system and related method of precisely applying forage treatment material to harvested forage is provided)
a harvester, (see at least [0007] the system can be mounted on a motorized forage harvester capable of conveying itself along the ground)
a chopper configured to cut crop residue (see at least [0025] The harvester 1 can be a forage chopper powered by an engine 3.)
Henne does not disclose,
a fluid applicator configured to apply harvest-aid fluid to the chopper
Burch teaches,
a fluid applicator configured to apply harvest-aid fluid to the chopper (see at least [Col. 10, line 12-17] Fluid conduit means 190 defines a continuous fluid passageway for delivering the treatment fluid from fluid container means 130 to cutting and treating means 90 which is small enough in diameter in diameter so that the passageway is continuously filled with treatment fluid regardless of the ground speed of the mower under normal mowing conditions)
Thus, Henne discloses a harvester system with a variable applicator based on a measured harvested rate and Burch teaches application of the treatment fluid to the cutting blade.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Henne with the fluid applicator method as taught by Burch, with a reasonable expectation of success, thereby maximizing the efficacy of the treatment and vastly reducing the required amount of treatment fluid as well as amount of active ingredient (Col. 4, line 45-47).
Henne does not disclose,
an application control system, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the application control system is configured to
receive crop harvest data indicative of a density or an expected density of crops within a field;
determine a harvest-aid fluid application rate based on the crop harvest data;
control the fluid applicator to apply the harvest-aid fluid to the chopper based on the harvest-aid fluid application rate.
Cunha teaches,
an application control system, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the application control system (see at least [0021] The present invention also contemplates a device that comprises at least one application element and a control module configured to control the application of input by the application element and 0053] This control performed by the control module 40 allows a precise application of input, which can be directed only to the area of interest, varying in amount of input applied, as well as other parameters such as application depth by controlling the pressure on the valve of control)
receive crop harvest data indicative of a density or an expected density of crops within a field (see at least [0015] A third objective of the present invention is to propose an input application device equipped with a control module capable of receiving field data and performing input application control based on the data received, [0024] In another possible embodiment, the field data is at least one of a georeference data, a crop type data, a soil diagnosis data, an infestation diagnosis data, and a fertility data, [0028] - receive, through a control module, at least one field data)
determine a harvest-aid fluid application rate based on the crop harvest data (see at least [0023] In another possible embodiment, the control module is configured to receive at least one field data, the input application control of the application element being configured as a function of the received field data).
control the fluid applicator to apply the harvest-aid fluid to the chopper based on the harvest-aid fluid application rate (see at least [0022] In a possible embodiment, the control module is electronically connected to at least one flow control element, the flow control element being configured to control the flow of input that is dispensed by the application element as a function of action. minus or signal or command received from the control module).
Thus, Henne discloses a harvester system with a variable applicator based on a measured harvested rate and Cunha teaches an application device for agricultural harvester to allow application of harvest-aid applicator simultaneously with the harvesting process.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Henne with the fluid applicator method as taught by Cunha, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable the application of inputs simultaneously to the harvest of the agricultural product, so that the need to use more than one passage of machinery to carry out the application of inputs is eliminated, saving thus time, fuel and resources in the process of harvesting and disposing of inputs (0048).
As per Claim 4,
Henne discloses,
The agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the crop harvest data comprises crop growth data indicative of the density of the crops within the field (see at least [0015] the system and method can effectively apply the treatment material in correct or adequate amounts regardless of the volume of crops harvested, the rate of harvest, the density of the crop, the type of crop, humidity, oxygen and plant moisture content, the condition of the harvester, the field conditions and other variables.
As per Claim 5,
Henne discloses,
The agricultural system of claim 4, wherein the harvester comprises one or more sensors, the one or more sensors are communicatively coupled to the application control system, the application control system is configured to receive the crop growth data from the one or more sensors during a harvesting operation (see at least [0026] The chute 8 can be outfitted with a flow sensor 8S that senses the flow of the harvested forage material HF through the chute. The sensor 8S sends a signal to a machine controller 1C mounted in the cab 4 of the harvester 1).
As per Claim 8,
Henne discloses,
agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the harvest-aid fluid comprises herbicide, fertilizer, decomposition-aid fluid, or any combination thereof (see at least [0024] The treatment material optionally can include enzymes, such as cellulases, amylases, hemicelluloses, pectinases and xylanases, or other ingredients that facilitate the breakdown of organic compounds of the forage into substances that animals and microbes can use as a source of nutrients.).
Henne does not disclose,
agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the harvest-aid fluid comprises herbicide, fertilizer, decomposition-aid fluid, or any combination thereof
Cunha teaches,
agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the harvest-aid fluid comprises herbicide, fertilizer, decomposition-aid fluid, or any combination thereof (see at least [0071] for the use of biological products, whether fungicides, nematicides, insecticides, soil conditioners and biological fertilizers, phosphorus-releasing bacteria, nitrogen-fixing bacteria (Brady rhizobium and Azospi-rillum) and several other biological inputs, which today have great adherence by farmers).
Thus, Henne discloses a harvester system with a variable applicator based on a measured harvested rate and Cunha teaches a fluid applicator device for agricultural harvester to allow application of harvest-aid applicator simultaneously with the harvesting process.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Henne with the fluid applicator method as taught by Cunha, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable the application of inputs simultaneously to the harvest of the agricultural product, so that the need to use more than one passage of machinery to carry out the application of inputs is eliminated, saving thus time, fuel and resources in the process of harvesting and disposing of inputs (0048).
Claims 2, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henne, Cunha and Burch as in Claim 1 and further in view of Falasz.
As per Claim 2
Henne does not disclose,
a tillage system;
a disc blade configured to till soil and cut the crop residue
wherein the application control system is configured to:
receive crop residue data indicative of a location, a density, a species, a size, or a combination thereof, of the crop residue within the field;
determine a tillage-aid fluid application rate based on the crop residue data; and
control the second fluid applicator to apply the tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade based on the tillage-aid fluid application rate.
Falasz teaches,
a tillage system (see at least [0006] there is provided an agricultural tillage system which generally includes an agricultural vehicle, a fertilizer device, an agricultural tillage implement, and an electronic control unit)
a disc blade configured to till soil and cut the crop residue (see at least [0021] the ground engaging tools 26 may be in the form of openers, coulters, and/or rollers)
wherein the application control system is configured to: receive crop residue data indicative of a location, a density, a species, a size, or a combination thereof, of the crop residue within the field (see at least [0017] The agricultural tillage system 10 may also include an electronic control unit (ECU) 18, with a memory 20 for storing soil characteristics, and one or more global positioning system (GPS) location sensors 22 for sensing real-time location data), [0018] fertilizer requirement characteristics may be determined from real-time sensor readings and/or estimated from previously measured field data, and [0018] the rate of fertilizer may be automatically controlled responsive to various compaction layer depths and soil nutrient levels determined by overlays from a GPS location, yield maps, field agronomy, and/or real-time sensor readings)
determine a tillage-aid fluid application rate based on the crop residue data (see at least Fig. 3, Step 56, [0006] The electronic control unit may automatically set and adjust the rate of liquid fertilizer by adjusting multiple valves in the fertilizer applicator assemblies of the fertilizer device, dependent upon an estimated or measured fertilizer requirement characteristic, and [0017] ECU 18 may be configured for automatically adjusting the depth of the agricultural implement 16, the rate of the fertilizer, the type of fertilizer, and/or any other desired parameter depending upon a compaction layer characteristic and/or a fertilizer requirement characteristic)
and control the second fluid applicator to apply the tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade based on the tillage-aid fluid application rate (Fig. 3, Step 58, [0006] electronic control unit may automatically set and adjust the rate of liquid fertilizer by adjusting multiple valves in the fertilizer applicator assemblies of the fertilizer device, dependent upon an estimated or measured fertilizer requirement characteristic, and [0007] The valve is configured for varying a rate of the at least one liquid fertilizer through the applicator)
Thus, Henne discloses an agricultural system with a variable applicator and Falasz teaches a tillage system with variable fertilizer application.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Henne with the fluid applicator and spraying system and method taught by Falasz, with a reasonable expectation of success, to vary the rate of the at least one liquid fertilizer, dependent upon a fertilizer requirement characteristic (0009).
Henne does not disclose,
a second fluid applicator configured to apply tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade;
control the second fluid applicator to apply the tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade
Cunha teaches,
a second fluid applicator configured to apply tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade (see at least [0046] In a possible embodiment, two or more application bars 100 can each be destined for a type of input to be applied. It makes it clear that any number of application elements 10 and/or application bars 100 can be used to apply any number of types of input, varying as needed in the specific case, and [0046] For example, it is assumed that it is necessary to apply a first type of input in a certain portion of the planting area and a second type of input in another certain portion of the planting area. In this case, the device will comprise multiple application elements 10 fluidly connected to different reservoirs to allow the application of different types of input from suitable areas)
control the second fluid applicator to apply the tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade (see at least [0046] In a possible embodiment, two or more application bars 100 can each be destined for a type of input to be applied. It makes it clear that any number of application elements 10 and/or application bars 100 can be used to apply any number of types of input, varying as needed in the specific case, [0050] This structure 20 can be configured to receive one or more reservoirs, depending on the number of types of input to be applied or the presence of wash water reservoirs, for example, and [0052] the present invention contemplates an embodiment of the input application device that comprises at least one application element 10 and a control module 40 configured to control the application of input by the application element 10, as seen in figure 8.).
Thus, Henne discloses an agricultural system with a variable applicator and Cunha teaches application of different types of fluids.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Henne with the fluid applicator system and method taught by Cunha, with a reasonable expectation of success to allow the application of different types of input needed to different portions of the planting area, allowing greater flexibility in the application of input and reducing to one the number of passes necessary for the application of multiples. inputs (0048).
Henne does not disclose,
a second fluid applicator configured to apply tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade;
control the second fluid applicator to apply the tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade
Burch teaches,
a second fluid applicator configured to apply tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade;
control the second fluid applicator to apply the tillage-aid fluid to the disc blade (see at least [Col. 10, line 12-17] Fluid conduit means 190 defines a continuous fluid passageway for delivering the treatment fluid from fluid container means 130 to cutting and treating means 90 which is small enough in diameter in diameter so that the passageway is continuously filled with treatment fluid regardless of the ground speed of the mower under normal mowing conditions)
Thus, Henne discloses a harvester system with a variable applicator based on a measured harvested rate and Burch teaches application of the treatment fluid to the cutting blade.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Henne with the fluid applicator method as taught by Burch, with a reasonable expectation of success, thereby maximizing the efficacy of the treatment and vastly reducing the required amount of treatment fluid as well as amount of active ingredient (Col. 4, line 45-47).
As per Claim 3
Henne does not disclose,
wherein the application control system comprises a plurality of controllers,
the fluid applicator of the harvester is communicatively coupled to a first controller of the plurality of controllers,
the second fluid applicator of the tillage system is communicatively coupled to a second controller of the plurality of controllers, and
the first controller and the second controller operate independently of one another.
Cunha teaches,
wherein the application control system comprises a plurality of controllers, (see at least [0054] The signal or command sent by the control module 40 can be generated from a command received by the control module itself, sent directly by an operator or by an external control center, or based on an external data that the control module 40 will use to generate a new signal or command, as will be seen later).
the fluid applicator of the harvester is communicatively coupled to a first controller of the plurality of controllers, (see at least [0055] the control module 40 is configured to receive at least one D field data, the input application control of the application element 10 being configured as a function of the received D field data)
the second fluid applicator of the tillage system is communicatively coupled to a second controller of the plurality of controllers (see at least [0055] the control module 40 is configured to receive at least one D field data, the input application control of the application element 10 being configured as a function of the received D field data)
and the first controller and the second controller operate independently of one another (see at least [0022] the control module is electronically connected to at least one flow control element the flow control element being configured to control the flow of input that is dispensed by the application element as a function of action. minus or signal or command received from the control module, and [0054] In a possible embodiment, the control module 40 is electronically connected to at least one flow control element 50, 60, the flow control element 50, 60 being configured to control the flow of input that is dispensed by the application element 10 as a function of at least or signal or command received from control module 40.)
Thus, Henne discloses an agricultural system with a variable applicator and Cunha teaches application of different types of fluids.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Henne with the fluid applicator system and method taught by Cunha, with a reasonable expectation of success to allow the application of different types of input needed to different portions of the planting area, allowing greater flexibility in the application of input and reducing to one the number of passes necessary for the application of multiples. inputs (0048).
Claim 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henne, Cunha and Burch as in Claim 1 and further in view of Dolly Y. Wu et. al. US20190150357A1 (“Wu”)
As per Claim 6,
Wu discloses,
The agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the crop harvest data comprises seed planting data indicative of the expected density of the crops within the field (see at least [0099] In some embodiments, the planned crop row 12 is first or subsequently sprayed/spread with fertilizer after the herbicide spot spraying. If the planter and the sprayer use the same GPS/RTK system for precision seed planting, the planned crop row location information can be coordinated among vehicles, the sprayer and planter, and the planned crop row is optionally band sprayed with fertilizer, and [0180] FIG. 29 depicts an example dynamic technique for crop row identification based on line-fitting or on self-driving car lane identification or on seed planting position).
As per Claim 7,
Wu discloses,
The agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the application control system is configured to receive harvest operation data, the application control system is configured to determine the harvest-aid fluid application rate based on the crop harvest data and the harvest operation data, and the harvest operation data is indicative of a harvester direction, a harvester speed, a chopper speed, a chopper angle, or any combination thereof (see at least [0185] Save the previously obtained data containing the amount of residue, fertilizer, herbicide, crop yield and other information that are correlated with the plant, row, weather, time and field location. Perform prescription farming in the next crop cycle. If the crop yield is past a threshold of good or high, the prescription would remain the same and can be applied to the same location in the field in real time, [0189] In procedure 3318, other inputs include the type and settings of the spray nozzle, the weather condition (e.g. wind speed and direction, air temperature, humidity, time of day), type of spray used, and travel speed of the vehicle or autonomous self-propelled machinery, and so on. The number of outputs from the neural net depends on the configuration of the spray nozzle such as the number of spray outlets or spray tips shown in FIG. 34, or such as the amount of fluid pressure and droplet size to apply along with direction and angle of the spray tip if only one nozzle outlet is used at any one time (e.g. FIG. 3), and [0189] To train the neural network in procedure 3322, the desired spray pattern is correlated with the crop yield, the better the crop yield, then the particular spray pattern is deemed to be more desirable).
Claims 9-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brian Falasz US 20210084810A1 (“Falasz”) in view of Cunha and Burch.
As per Claim 9
Falasz discloses,
a tillage system (see at least [0006] there is provided an agricultural tillage system which generally includes an agricultural vehicle, a fertilizer device, an agricultural tillage implement, and an electronic control unit)
a disc blade configured to till soil and cut the crop residue (see at least [0021] the ground engaging tools 26 may be in the form of openers, coulters, and/or rollers)
wherein the application control system is configured to: receive crop residue data indicative of a location, a density, a species, a size, or a combination thereof, of the crop residue within the field (see at least [0017] The agricultural tillage system 10 may also include an electronic control unit (ECU) 18, with a memory 20 for storing soil characteristics, and one or more global positioning system (GPS) location sensors 22 for sensing real-time location data), [0018] fertilizer requirement characteristics may be determined from real-time sensor readings and/or estimated from previously measured field data, and [0018] the rate of fertilizer may be automatically controlled responsive to various compaction layer depths and soil nutrient levels determined by overlays from a GPS location, yield maps, field agronomy, and/or real-time sensor readings)
determine a decomposition-aid fluid application rate based on the crop residue data (see at least Fig. 3, Step 56, [0006] The electronic control unit may automatically set and adjust the rate of liquid fertilizer by adjusting multiple valves in the fertilizer applicator assemblies of the fertilizer device, dependent upon an estimated or measured fertilizer requirement characteristic, and [0017] ECU 18 may be configured for automatically adjusting the depth of the agricultural implement 16, the rate of the fertilizer, the type of fertilizer, and/or any other desired parameter depending upon a compaction layer characteristic and/or a fertilizer requirement characteristic)
and control the fluid applicator to apply the decomposition -aid fluid to the disc blade based on the decomposition -aid fluid application rate (Fig. 3, Step 58, [0006] electronic control unit may automatically set and adjust the rate of liquid fertilizer by adjusting multiple valves in the fertilizer applicator assemblies of the fertilizer device, dependent upon an estimated or measured fertilizer requirement characteristic, and [0007] The valve is configured for varying a rate of the at least one liquid fertilizer through the applicator)
Falasz does not disclose,
a fluid applicator configured to apply decomposition-aid fluid to the disc blade;
and control the fluid applicator to apply the decomposition -aid fluid to the disc blade based on the decomposition -aid fluid application rate
Cunha teaches,
a fluid applicator configured to apply decomposition-aid fluid to the disc blade (see at least [0046] In a possible embodiment, two or more application bars 100 can each be destined for a type of input to be applied. It makes it clear that any number of application elements 10 and/or application bars 100 can be used to apply any number of types of input, varying as needed in the specific case, and [0046] For example, it is assumed that it is necessary to apply a first type of input in a certain portion of the planting area and a second type of input in another certain portion of the planting area. In this case, the device will comprise multiple application elements 10 fluidly connected to different reservoirs to allow the application of different types of input from suitable areas, and [0071] the only way to meet this new reality is with the use of biological products, called "BIOINPUTS" instead of chemicals)
control the fluid applicator to apply the decomposition -aid fluid to the disc blade (see at least [0046] In a possible embodiment, two or more application bars 100 can each be destined for a type of input to be applied. It makes it clear that any number of application elements 10 and/or application bars 100 can be used to apply any number of types of input, varying as needed in the specific case, [0050] This structure 20 can be configured to receive one or more reservoirs, depending on the number of types of input to be applied or the presence of wash water reservoirs, for example, and [0052] the present invention contemplates an embodiment of the input application device that comprises at least one application element 10 and a control module 40 configured to control the application of input by the application element 10, as seen in figure 8.).
Thus, Falasz discloses an agricultural tillage system with a variable applicator and Cunha teaches application of different types of fluids including BIOINPUTS.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Falasz with the fluid applicator system and method taught by Cunha, with a reasonable expectation of success to allow the application of different types of input needed to different portions of the planting area, allowing greater flexibility in the application of input and reducing to one the number of passes necessary for the application of multiples. inputs (0048).
Falasz does not disclose,
a fluid applicator configured to apply decomposition-aid fluid to the disc blade;
Burch teaches,
a fluid applicator configured to apply decomposition-aid fluid to the disc blade; (see at least [Col. 10, line 12-17] Fluid conduit means 190 defines a continuous fluid passageway for delivering the treatment fluid from fluid container means 130 to cutting and treating means 90 which is small enough in diameter in diameter so that the passageway is continuously filled with treatment fluid regardless of the ground speed of the mower under normal mowing conditions).
Thus, Falasz discloses an agricultural tillage system with a variable applicator and Burch teaches application of the treatment fluid to the cutting blade.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Falasz with the fluid applicator method as taught by Burch, with a reasonable expectation of success, thereby maximizing the efficacy of the treatment and vastly reducing the required amount of treatment fluid as well as amount of active ingredient (Col. 4, line 45-47).
As per Claim 10,
Falasz discloses,
The agricultural system of claim 9, wherein the tillage system comprises one or more sensors, the one or more sensors are communicatively coupled to the application control system, the application control system is configured to receive the crop residue data from the one or more sensors during a tillage operation (see at least [0018] The compaction layer and fertilizer requirement characteristics may be determined from real-time sensor readings and/or estimated from previously measured field data. For instance, the depth of the agricultural implement 16 and the rate of fertilizer may be automatically controlled responsive to various compaction layer depths and soil nutrient levels determined by overlays from a GPS location, yield maps, field agronomy, and/or real-time sensor readings).
As per Claim 11,
Falasz discloses,
The agricultural system of claim 9, wherein the application control system is configured to receive tillage operation data, the application control system is configured to determine the decomposition-aid fluid application rate based on the tillage operation data and the crop residue data, and the tillage operation data is indicative of a tillage system direction, a tillage system speed, a disc blade speed, a disc blade angle, or any combination thereof (see at least Fig. 3, [0030] The compaction layer and fertilizer requirement characteristics may be determined from real-time sensor readings and/or estimated from previously measured field data. For instance, the depth of the agricultural implement 16 and the rate of fertilizer may be automatically controlled responsive to various compaction layer depths and soil nutrient levels determined by overlays from a GPS location, yield maps, field agronomy, and/or real-time sensor readings, [0030] the ECU 18 may receive real-time data and/or stored data from the memory 20 (at block 54). The ECU 18 may receive GPS location data from the GPS sensor 22, yield map data, in-field measurements, estimated and/or measured compaction layer data, and/or estimated and/or measured fertilizer data, [0030] ECU 18 may then compute the fertilizer requirement characteristic at a given location, which is known by way of the GPS sensor 22, from the received real-time and/or stored data (at block 56). For example, the ECU 18 may compute the fertilizer requirement by estimating the soil nutrient level from crop yield from the crop yield map and/or by extrapolating, across the entire field, one or more measured soil nutrient levels at one or more locations in the field, having known crop yields, [0030] the ECU 18 may compute a compaction layer characteristic. Then, the ECU 18 may automatically adjust the depth of the plurality of ground engaging tools, the rate of the fertilizer via adjusting the valves 40, and/or the type of fertilizer dependent upon the fertilizer requirement characteristic (at block 58), and [0030] The agricultural system of claim 9, wherein the crop residue data comprises yield map data indicative of an amount of the crops harvested in each location of the field during a previous harvest operation, harvest residue data indicative of an amount of crop residue generated via a previous harvest operation, or any combination thereof).
As per Claim 13,
Falasz discloses,
The agricultural system of claim 9, wherein the crop residue data comprises yield map data indicative of an amount of the crops harvested in each location of the field during a previous harvest operation, harvest residue data indicative of an amount of crop residue generated via a previous harvest operation, or any combination thereof (see at least [0033] The estimated compaction layer characteristic may be determined from extrapolating one or more prior in-field measurements at a given location and averaging the measured result across the entire field in correlation with location and yield map data. Compaction layer depth may be correlated to yield map data. For example, a correlation of whether in-field measurements show that a location with a high crop yield, which was indicated by yield map data, has a certain compaction layer depth and another location with a low crop yield has a differing compaction layer depth may exist, and [0033] the fertilizer requirement characteristic, and the soil nutrient level therewith, may be determined from GPS location data from the GPS sensor 22, yield map data, estimated fertilizer data based on yield map data, in-field soil measurements, and/or estimated fertilizer data extrapolated from previous in-field soil measurements).
Claims 14, 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cunha in view of Burch.
As per Claim 14,
Cunha discloses,
A fluid applicator system, comprising
a cutting blade configured to cut crop vegetation (see at least [0047] the application element 10 is arranged in front of a harvester device 2 of the agricultural harvester 1 and behind a straw launching device 3 of the agricultural harvester 1, that is, in the middle of the cutting/harvesting devices 2 and straw throwing 3 from the harvester 1)
an application control system, comprising a memory and a processor, (see at least [0021] The present invention also contemplates a device that comprises at least one application element and a control module configured to control the application of input by the application element and 0053] This control performed by the control module 40 allows a precise application of input, which can be directed only to the area of interest, varying in amount of input applied, as well as other parameters such as application depth by controlling the pressure on the valve of control)
wherein the application control system is configured to: receive data indicative of the crops within a field (see at least [0015] A third objective of the present invention is to propose an input application device equipped with a control module capable of receiving field data and performing input application control based on the data received, [0024] In another possible embodiment, the field data is at least one of a georeference data, a crop type data, a soil diagnosis data, an infestation diagnosis data, and a fertility data, [0028] - receive, through a control module, at least one field data)
and determine a fluid application rate based on the received data (see at least [0023] In another possible embodiment, the control module is configured to receive at least one field data, the input application control of the application element being configured as a function of the received field data).
a fluid applicator configured to apply decomposition-aid fluid to the cutting blade based on the fluid application rate control (see at least [0022] In a possible embodiment, the control module is electronically connected to at least one flow control element, the flow control element being configured to control the flow of input that is dispensed by the application element as a function of action. minus or signal or command received from the control module).
Cunha does not disclose,
apply decomposition-aid fluid to the cutting blade;
Burch teaches,
apply decomposition-aid fluid to the cutting blade (see at least [Col. 10, line 12-17] Fluid conduit means 190 defines a continuous fluid passageway for delivering the treatment fluid from fluid container means 130 to cutting and treating means 90 which is small enough in diameter in diameter so that the passageway is continuously filled with treatment fluid regardless of the ground speed of the mower under normal mowing conditions)
Thus, Cunha discloses an application system including a variable fluid applicator and Burch teaches application of the treatment fluid to the cutting blade.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Cunha with the fluid applicator method as taught by Burch, with a reasonable expectation of success, thereby maximizing the efficacy of the treatment and vastly reducing the required amount of treatment fluid as well as amount of active ingredient (Col. 4, line 45-47).
As per Claim 16,
Cunha does not disclose,
wherein the cutting blade is configured to rotate about a rotational axis, and the fluid applicator is configured to apply the decomposition-aid fluid to a center of the cutting blade for distribution along the cutting blade by centrifugal force.
Burch teaches,
wherein the cutting blade is configured to rotate about a rotational axis (see at least [Col. 5, line 28-31] the cutting blade drive means rotates the drive shaft of the cutting blade drive means which in turn rotates the blade carrier and at least one cutting blade assembly of the cutting and treating means)
and the fluid applicator is configured to apply the decomposition-aid fluid to a center of the cutting blade for distribution along the cutting blade by centrifugal force (see at least [Col. 10, line 12-17] Fluid conduit means 190 defines a continuous fluid passageway for delivering the treatment fluid from fluid container means 130 to cutting and treating means 90 which is small enough in diameter so that the passageway is continuously filled with treatment fluid regardless of the ground speed of the mower under normal mowing conditions, and [Col. 18, line 40-50] FIG. 17a is a perspective view of the Burch WET BAR.TM. 220 secured to the cutting blade drive means 210 of the power lawnmower 41, and FIG. 18 is a top view of the center portion of the Burch WET BAR.TM. shown in FIG. 17a. The WET BAR.TM. 220 comprises a fluid conduit 221 which is in fluid communication with fluid container means 230 in the manner previously described. Accordingly, a continuous stream of treatment fluid is delivered to the underside of the blade 211 and is continuously available to the cut vegetation at the time that the vegetation is cut).
Thus, Cunha discloses an application system including a variable fluid applicator and Burch teaches rotating cutter and a method for the application of the treatment fluid to the cutting blade.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Cunha with the fluid applicator method as taught by Burch, with a reasonable expectation of success, thereby maximizing the efficacy of the treatment and vastly reducing the required amount of treatment fluid as well as amount of active ingredient (Col. 4, line 45-47).
As per Claim 19,
Cunha discloses,
wherein the decomposition-aid fluid comprises microbes, materials that promote microbe development, or both (see at least [0071] The present invention, when shipped on harvesters, is suitable to allow the replacement of the use in agriculture of chemical products, called pesticides, for the use of biological products, whether fungicides, nematicides, insecticides, soil conditioners and biological fertilizers, phosphorus-releasing bacteria, nitrogen-fixing bacteria (Brady rhizobium and Azospi-rillum) and several other biological inputs, which today have great adherence by farmers, and [0071] use of biological products, called "BIOINPUTS" instead of chemicals).
As per Claim 20,
Cunha does not disclose,
fluid application system of claim 14, wherein the cutting blade comprises a fluid channel extending from the center of the cutting blade outwardly, wherein the fluid channel is configured to direct fluid from the center of the cutting blade to the cutting edge of the cutting blade as the cutting blade rotates.
Burch teaches,
fluid application system of claim 14, wherein the cutting blade comprises a fluid channel extending from the center of the cutting blade outwardly, wherein the fluid channel is configured to direct fluid from the center of the cutting blade to the cutting edge of the cutting blade as the cutting blade rotate (see at least Fig. 17a, Fig. 17b, [Col. 10, line 12-17] Fluid conduit means 190 defines a continuous fluid passageway for delivering the treatment fluid from fluid container means 130 to cutting and treating means 90 which is small enough in diameter so that the passageway is continuously filled with treatment fluid regardless of the ground speed of the mower under normal mowing conditions, and [Col. 18, line 28-27] A typical blade 211 for a power lawnmower is made of soft metal, and is relatively thin and measures between about 18 and 30 inches in length. Thus, as indicated by the broken lines in FIG. 16, the blade 211 is flexible about the cutting blade drive means 210 so that the tip 212 of the blade 211 will deflect upwards if the blade strikes an immovable object. Accordingly, if the blade 211 were provided with a solid fluid conduit extending outwardly from the drive shaft of the cutting blade drive means 210, the conduit would buckle as the blade flexes).
Thus, Cunha discloses an application system including a variable fluid applicator and Burch teaches a cutting blade with a fluid channel
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Cunha with the fluid applicator method as taught by Burch, with a reasonable expectation of success, thereby maximizing the efficacy of the treatment and vastly reducing the required amount of treatment fluid as well as amount of active ingredient (Col. 4, line 45-47).
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cunha and Burch as in Claim 14 and further in view of Henne.
As per Claim 15,
Cunha does not disclose,
fluid application system of claim 14, wherein the cutting blade is oriented horizontally to chop stalks of corn during a harvest operation
Henne discloses,
fluid application system of claim 14, wherein the cutting blade is oriented horizontally to chop stalks of corn during a harvest operation (see at least [0007] a cutting head forward of the body, [0023] The applicator system 10 is mounted on a forage harvester 1, [0024] The system 10 also will be described in conjunction with the harvest of forage F. Forage F can be any type of crop, for example alfalfa, corn, wheat, sorghum, and any other type of crop, such as grains, grasses, legumes and the like, and [0026] harvester 1 is chopping and harvesting forage).
Thus, Cunha discloses an application system including a variable fluid applicator and Henne teaches a material applicator system for harvester.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Cunha with the applicator method as taught by Henne, with a reasonable expectation of success, to precisely control the system and apply a treatment material to harvested forage (0015).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cunha and Burch as in Claim 14 and further in view of Falasz.
As per Claim 17
Cunha does not disclose,
wherein the cutting blade is oriented substantially vertically to till soil and incorporate crop residue into the soil.
Falasz discloses,
the cutting blade is oriented substantially vertically to till soil and incorporate crop residue into the soil (see at least [0021] The multiple ground engaging tools 26 may include primary and/or secondary ground engaging tools for engaging the ground G (FIG. 2). For instance, the ground engaging tools 26 may be in the form of openers, coulters, and/or rollers. As shown, the ground engaging tools 26 are in the form of coulters 26. Additionally, the ground engaging tools 26 may also include ground engaging tools, such as leveling blades and/or rolling, i.e., crumbler, basket assemblies for finishing the soil).
Thus, Cunha discloses an application system including a variable fluid applicator and Falasz teaches ground engaging tools oriented vertically.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Cunha with the fluid applicator method as taught by Falasz, with a reasonable expectation of success, thereby maximizing the efficacy of the treatment and vastly reducing the required amount of treatment fluid as well as amount of active ingredient (Col. 4, line 45-47).
As per Claim 18
Cunha does not disclose,
fluid application system of claim 17, wherein the fluid applicator is configured to apply the decomposition-aid fluid to a cutting edge of the cutting blade as the cutting blade rotates about a rotational axis.
Burch discloses,
fluid application system of claim 17, wherein the fluid applicator is configured to apply the decomposition-aid fluid to a cutting edge of the cutting blade as the cutting blade rotates about a rotational axis (see at least Fig 17. B, and [Col. 18, line 50-55] FIG. 17b is a perspective view of an alternative embodiment of the Burch WET BAR.TM. 220. In this embodiment, a solid fluid conduit 221 is positioned in a longitudinal channel 222 formed in the top surface of the WET BAR™ 220, and is welded to the WET BAR™ in a conventional manner)
Thus, Cunha discloses an application system including a variable fluid applicator r and Burch teaches rotating cutter and a method for the application of the treatment fluid to the cutting edge of the cutting blade.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Cunha with the fluid applicator method as taught by Burch, with a reasonable expectation of success, thereby maximizing the efficacy of the treatment and vastly reducing the required amount of treatment fluid as well as amount of active ingredient (Col. 4, line 45-47).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants should take note of the prior art in the PTO-892.
/A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668