DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites the limitation “another electrode tab” in line 2. It is not clear whether it is the same or different another electrode tab as recited in claim 2 from which it depends. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “the another electrode tab”.
4. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 recites the limitation “another electrode tab” in line 2. It is not clear whether it is the same or different another electrode tab as recited in claim 2 from which it depends. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “the another electrode tab”.
5. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
6. Claim 6 recites the limitation "the electrode sheets" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the multiple electrode sheets" as there is antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asano et al. (US 2018/0062146).
Regarding claim 1, Asano discloses a battery cell structure (Fig. 11) comprising: a body(thin cell 100 with housing 108 and electrode assembly 103, [0043], Figs. 3 and 4); and
an electrode tab(first lead 113, Fig. 11, [0044], [0074]), disposed on a side of the body, and outward extended from the body(Fig. 3); wherein a slit is respectively disposed on two sides of the electrode tab(117, Fig. 11, [0068]), the slit comprises two inner edges adjacent to each other([0056]), and two slits are staggered with each other along a longitudinal direction of the electrode tab (Fig. 11) and overlapped with each other along a transverse direction of the electrode tab(Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 2, Asano discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Asano further discloses further comprising another electrode tab(second lead 123, Figs. 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 3, Asano discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Asano further discloses the electrode tab is a positive electrode tab, and the another electrode tab is a negative electrode tab([0028], [0046]).
Regarding claim 4, Asano discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Asano further discloses the electrode tab is made of an aluminum material, and the another electrode tab is made of a copper material ([0082]).
Regarding claim 5, Asano discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Asano further discloses the electrode tab is made of an aluminum material([0082]).
Regarding claim 6, Asano discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Asano further discloses the body comprises an outer bag (housing 108, Fig. 3, [0043]) and multiple electrode sheets(electrode assembly 103 with first electrodes 110 and second electrodes 120, Fig. 4, [0043]), the multiple electrode sheets are stacked and received in the outer bag([0043]), and the electrode tab is connected to a portion of the multiple electrode sheets and projects from the outer bag(Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Asano discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Asano further discloses the two inner edges of each slit are in contact with each other([0056]).
Regarding claim 8, Asano discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Asano further discloses an overlapping distance of the two slits along the transverse direction of the electrode tab is greater than one third of a width of the electrode tab(Fig. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano et al. (US 2018/0062146) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takahashi (US 2006/0175006).
Regarding claim 9, Asano discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Asano discloses the thickness of the thin cell is not particularly limited, and is preferably 3 mm or less ([0033]) but does not explicitly disclose the electrode tab is greater than 0.3 mm in thickness.
Takahashi teaches from the viewpoint of constructing a thin electrochemical device capable of charging and discharging with a relatively large current, it will be more preferable in the method of manufacturing an electrochemical device if leads having a thickness of 0.1 to 2.00 mm are used as the first and second leads([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery cell structure of Asano with the electrode tab is greater than 0.3 mm in thickness as taught by Takahashi in order to provide a thin electrochemical device capable of charging and discharging with a relatively large current.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724