DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Pre-AIA
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Amendment, filed 23 December 2025. The changes and remarks disclosed therein have been considered.
No claims have been cancelled/added by Amendment. Therefore, claims 1-7 are pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature “memory buffer” as recited in claim 1; the feature “host” as recited in claim 2, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 recites the limitation "wherein the controller" in claim 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim..
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-7 are reject on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S Patent No. 10,192,591 B2 (‘591). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims are obvious variants of the ‘591claims.
US Patent No. 10,192,591 B2
US Patent Application No. 2023/0335166 A1
1. A memory device comprising a register, a memory array, and a serial interface controller configured to receive and operate using a serial message to access the register that controls operation of the memory array by storing bits, the serial message having a format that comprises: a command field of the serial message configured to enable the serial interface controller to access the register; a register address field of the serial message immediately following the command field indicating an address of the register; and a data field of the serial message immediately following the register address field; wherein the serial interface controller is configured to receive the serial message, wherein the command field of the serial message comprises a command that the serial interface controller is configured to interpret as enabling write access to a special mode enable register of the memory device, wherein the address of the register is configured to identify the special mode enable register, wherein the data field of the serial message comprises data to be written into the special mode enable register that is configured, when written into the special mode enable register, to cause the memory device to operate according to a special mode of operation, wherein the special mode of operation comprises a one time programmable (OTP) access mode, a parameter page access mode, or a block lock access mode, or any combination thereof.
2. The memory device of claim 1, wherein the command field has a size of one byte, the register address has a size of one byte, and the data field has a size of one byte.
3. A memory device, comprising: a serial interface controller; a register coupled to the serial interface controller; and a memory array coupled to the serial interface controller, wherein the serial interface controller is configured to receive and operate using a serial message comprising a command field configured to enable the serial interface controller to access the register, a register address field immediately following the command field indicating an address of the register, and a data field immediately following the register address field to access the register that controls operation of the memory array by storing bits; wherein the serial interface controller is configured to write data of the data field into a special mode enable register to cause the memory device to operate according to a special mode of operation, wherein the special mode of operation comprises a one time programmable (OTP) access mode, a parameter page access mode, or a block lock access mode, or any combination thereof.
4. The memory device of claim 3, wherein the serial interface controller is configured to interpret a command in the command field as enabling write access to a special mode enable register of the memory device.
5. The memory device of claim 3, wherein the serial interface controller is configured to identify a special mode enable register based on the address in the register address field.
6. The memory device of claim 3, wherein the one time programmable (OTP) access mode is configured to enable the memory device to perform operations on nonvolatile memory of the memory device.
7. The memory device of claim 3, wherein the parameter page access mode is configured to enable the memory device to read parameter page contents from a page of memory of a NAND memory array of the memory device.
8. The memory device of claim 3, wherein the block lock access mode is configured to enable the memory device to prevent writing to a page of one time programmable (OTP) memory of the memory device.
9. The memory device of claim 8, wherein the one time programmable (OTP) memory comprises nonvolatile memory of the memory device.
10. The memory device of claim 3, wherein the serial interface controller is configured to interpret a first byte of the serial message as the command field, a second byte of the serial message as the register address field, and a third byte of the serial message as the data field.
1. A NAND flash memory device comprising: a controller; a memory buffer; and a NAND memory array comprising a one time programmable (OTP) block comprising a plurality of OTP pages, wherein an address of each of the plurality of OTP pages is associated with respective a flash lock enable bit configured to disallow writing to each of the plurality of OTP pages when the respective flash lock enable bit is set.
2. A memory device comprising: a memory array comprising a one time programmable (OTP) portion; and a serial controller configured to receive a first serial message from a host, wherein the serial message is configured to cause the memory device to permit access to the OTP portion.
3. The memory device of claim 2, comprising a special mode enable register that comprises an OTP enable portion, an OTP lock portion, or an OTP protect portion, or any combination thereof, wherein the memory device is configured to selectively permit access to the OTP portion based at least in part on data that is written to the special mode enable register in response to the first serial message.
4. The memory device of claim 3, wherein the serial controller is configured to receive a second serial message from the host, wherein the second serial message is configured to access the OTP portion after the first message has been received by the serial controller.
5. The memory device of claim 4, wherein the OTP portion comprises a plurality of OTP pages, wherein each of the plurality of OTP pages is associated with a respective page lock portion comprising at least one bit, wherein each page lock portion is configured to disallow writing to the respective one of the OTP pages when set, and wherein the serial controller is configured to be enable the memory device to write to one of the plurality of OTP pages upon receipt of the second serial message when the respective page lock portion associated with the one of the plurality of OTP pages is not set and after the first message has been received by the serial controller.
6. The memory device of claim 5, wherein the serial controller is configured to cause the memory device to set the page lock portion associated with the one of the plurality of OTP pages after writing to the one of the plurality of OTP pages a defined number of times.
7. The memory device of claim 3, wherein the controller is configured to communicate with the host over a serial peripheral interface (SPI) protocol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim 1 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 7,031,188 B2 hereinafter “Lee”).
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Lee, for example in Figs. 1-7, discloses a NAND flash memory device (e.g., The flash memory device 120 is a NAND flash memory device; in Figs. 1-2, 5 related in Figs. 3-4, 6-7) comprising: a controller (e.g., control 140; in Figs. 1, 5 related in Figs. 2-4, 6-7); a memory buffer (e.g., 207; in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-7); and a NAND memory array (as discussed above; in Figs. 1-2, 5 related in Figs. 3-4, 6-7) comprising a one time programmable (OTP) block (e.g., OTP BLK; in Figs. 1-3, 5 related in Figs. 4, 6-7) comprising a plurality of OTP pages (e.g., pages P0-Pn; in Fig. 3 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-7), wherein an address of each of the plurality of OTP pages (via row address RA; in Figs. 2-3 related in Figs. 1, 4-7) is associated with a respective flash lock enable bit (via OTP_EN signal; in Figs. 2-4 related in Figs. 1, 5-7) configured to disallow writing to each of the plurality of OTP pages when the respective flash lock enable bit is set (e.g., OTP block locked/OTP block unlocked; in Fig. 3 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-7).
The structure in of the prior art (Lee et al) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation dose not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2-7 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 7,031,188 B2 hereinafter “Lee_1”) in view of Lee et al (US 2006/0236204 A1 hereinafter “Lee_2”).
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Regarding Independent Claim 2, Lee_1, for example in Figs. 1-7, discloses a memory device (e.g., memory device 100; in Figs. 1, 5 related in Figs. 2-4, 6-7) comprising: a memory array (e.g., within memory flash 120; in Figs. 1-2, 5 related in Figs. 3-4, 6-7) comprising a one time programmable (OTP) portion (e.g., OTPBLK; in Figs. 1-3, 5 related in Figs. 4, 6-7); and a serial controller (e.g., block 140, the data inputted serially through the input/output IOi or IO0-IO15; in Figs. 1-5 related in Figs. 6-7) configured to receive a first command from a host (e.g., host command from host 160; in Figs. 1, 5 related in Figs. 2-4, 6-7), wherein the serial message is configured to cause the memory device to permit access to the OTP portion (via OTP_Access_CMD and OTP_EN; in Figs. 1-2, 5 related in Figs. 3-4, 6-7).
However, Lee is silent with regard to the serial controller configured to receive a first serial message from the host.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee_2, for example in Figs. 1-4, discloses the serial controller (e.g., SPI controller 210; in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-4) configured to receive a first serial message from the host (e.g., SPI controller received an external data or command from SPI controller 260; in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-4).
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Lee_1 such as memory system having flash memory where a one-time programmable block is included (see for example in Figs. 1-7 of Lee_1) by incorporating the teaching of Lee_2 such as method device with serial transmission interface and error correction method for serial transmission interface (see for example in Fig. 1-4 of Lee_2), for the purpose of controlling the data transmission while the serial transmission interface accesses the memory (Lee_2, see abstract).
The structure in of the prior art (Lee_1 and Lee_2) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation dose not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 3, the above Lee-1/Lee_2, combination discloses comprising a special mode enable register that comprises an OTP enable portion (via command register and control logic 208; in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-7 of Lee_1 and also see in Figs. 1-4 of Lee_2, as discussed above), an OTP lock portion, or an OTP protect portion, or any combination thereof (see for example in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-7 of Lee_1 and also see in Figs. 1-4 of Lee_2, as discussed above), wherein the memory device is configured to selectively permit access to the OTP portion based at least in part on data that is written to the special mode enable register in response to the first serial message (see for example in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-7 of Lee_1 and also see in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-4 of Lee_2, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Lee_1 and Lee_2) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation dose not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 4, the above Lee_1/Lee_2, combination discloses wherein the serial controller is configured to receive a second serial message from the host (see for example in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-7 of Lee_1 and also see in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-4 of Lee_2, as discussed above), wherein the second serial message is configured to access the OTP portion after the first message has been received by the serial controller (see for example in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-7 of Lee_1 and also see in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-4 of Lee_2, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Lee_1 and Lee_2) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation dose not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 5, the above Lee_1/Lee_2, combination discloses wherein the OTP portion comprises a plurality of OTP pages, wherein each of the plurality of OTP pages is associated with a Page 3 respective page lock portion comprising at least one bit (see for example in Figs. 2-3 related in Figs. 1, 4-7 of Lee_1 and also see in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-4 of Lee_2, as discussed above), wherein each page lock portion is configured to disallow writing to the respective one of the OTP pages when set, and wherein the serial controller is configured to be enable the memory device to write to one of the plurality of OTP pages upon receipt of the second serial message when the respective page lock portion associated with the one of the plurality of OTP pages is not set and after the first message has been received by the serial controller (see for example in Figs. 2-3 related in Figs. 1, 4-7 of Lee_1 and also see in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-4 of Lee_2, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Lee_1 and Lee_2) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation dose not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 6, the above Lee_1/Lee_2, combination discloses wherein the serial controller is configured to cause the memory device to set the page lock portion associated with the one of the plurality of OTP pages after writing to the one of the plurality of OTP pages a defined number of times (see for example in Figs. 2-3 related in Figs. 1, 4-7 of Lee_1 and also see in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-4 of Lee_2, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Lee_1 and Lee_2) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation dose not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 7, the above Lee_1/Lee_2, combination discloses wherein the controller is configured to communicate with the host over a serial peripheral interface (SPI) protocol (see for example in Figs. 2-3 related in Figs. 1, 4-7 of Lee_1 and also see in Fig. 2 related in Figs. 1, 3-4 of Lee_2, as discussed above). Also, the structure in of the prior art (Lee_1 and Lee_2) is substantially identical to the structure of the claims. MPEP 2112.01(I). The manner of operation dose not distinguish this apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Applicant are reminded that when presenting amendments to claims. In order to be fully responsive, an attempt should be made to point out the patentable novelty (see MPEP 714.04). Additionally, Applicant should point out where and/or how the originally filed disclosure supports the amendment(s) (see MPEP 2163 II A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the reference of Lee does not disclose “an address of each of the plurality of OTP pages is associated with a respective flash lock enable bit” as recited in claim 1 (see remarks file 23 December 2025, page 1).
In response to applicant’s argument that the reference of Lee discloses an address of each of the plurality of OTP pages (via row address RA; in Figs. 1-3, 5 related in Figs. 4, 6-7 of Lee) with a respective flash lock enable bit (via bit 0 0 as locked or bit 1 X X 1 as unlocked; in Fig. 3 related in Figs. 1-2, 4-7 of Lee) as recited in claim 1 (see remarks file 23 December 2025, page 1).
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 23 December 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2-7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lee et al (US 2006/0236204 A1 hereinafter “Lee_2”).
Conclusion
/THA-O H BUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825 03/18/2026