DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12, 15, 16, 21, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin US 2020/0043881 A1. Lin discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1C) a method comprising a method of forming a semiconductor package, the method comprising: providing a first metal baseplate 102; providing a first HEMT die 106A comprising a main surface with source 106A1, drain 106A2 and gate terminals 106A3 disposed thereon; mounting the first HEMT die 106A on the first metal baseplate 102 with the main surface from the first HEMT die 106A facing away from first metal baseplate 102; providing a plurality of metal package terminals 114-2/114-3/114-1; electrically connecting each of the source 106A1, drain 106A2 and gate terminals 106A3 from the first HEMT die 106A via a bond wire-free connection to at least one of the metal package terminals 114-2/114-3/114-1; and forming an encapsulant body 110 of electrically insulating material that encapsulates the first HEMT die 106A and exposes outer ends of the metal package terminals 114-2/114-3/114-1 outside of the encapsulant body 110. Each of the metal package terminals 114-2/114-3/114-1 comprises a plurality of discrete vertical connection elements that are partially encapsulating by the encapsulant body 110 and partially exposed from the encapsulating body 110. In paragraph [0015], Lin discloses the first metal baseplate 102 being metal. In paragraph [0016], Lin discloses the first HEMT 106A being HEMT, etc.
Regarding claim 15, see, for example, FIG. 1C wherein Lin discloses providing a second HEMT die 106B comprising a main surface with source, drain and gate terminals disposed thereon; and electrically connecting each of the source 106B1, drain 106B2 and gate terminals 106B3 from the second HEMT die 106B via a bond wire-free connection to at least one of the metal package terminals 114-6/114-7/114-5, wherein the encapsulant body 110 is formed to encapsulate the second HEMT die 106B. The outer ends of the metal package terminals 114-6/114-7/114-5 are exposed outside of the encapsulant body 110.
Regarding claim 16, see, for example, FIG. 1C wherein Lin discloses mounting the second HEMT die 106B on the first metal baseplate 102 with the main surface from the second HEMT die 106B facing away from the first metal baseplate 102.
Regarding claim 21, see, for example, FIG. 1C wherein Lin discloses discrete vertical connection elements 114-2/114-3/114-1 that are cylindrical structures that comprise an interior opening for connecting the source/drain/gate terminals with a physical and electrical connection wherein the discrete vertical connection elements 114-2/114-3/114-1 are partially encapsulated by the encapsulant body 110 and partially exposed from the encapsulant body 110.
Regarding claim 23, see, for example, FIG. 1C, and paragraph [0023] wherein Lin discloses a molded structure 110, and wherein the encapsulating body 110 is molded around the discrete vertical connection elements 114-2/114-3/114-1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin US 2020/0043881 A1 as applied to claims 12, 15, 16, 21, and 23 above, and further in view of Tan US 2016/0284638 A1. Lin does not disclose the first HEMT die comprises a rear surface opposite from the main surface that is electrically inactive, and wherein the rear surface from the first die is directly attached to the first metal baseplate. However, Tan discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1) a method comprising a die 103 directly attached to the first metal baseplate 011. In paragraph [0012], Tan discloses the inactive face is attached to the first metal baseplate 011. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have a rear surface opposite from the main surface that is electrically inactive, and wherein the rear surface from the first die is directly attached to the first metal baseplate in order to utilize less processing time and material, and further minimize thermal resistance and mismatch. Also, it has been held omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same function as before involves only routine skill in the art. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin US 2020/0043881 A1 in view of Tan US 2016/0284638 A1 as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Piner et al. US 2008/0200013 A1. Lin in view of Tan does not disclose the first HEMT die comprises an active channel region that conducts a lateral load current and an electrically insulating layer disposed between the active channel region and the rear surface that electrically isolates the active channel region from. However, Pine discloses (see, for example, Fig. 3) a method comprising forming a channel layer 18 and an electrically insulating layer 12. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have the first HEMT die comprises an active channel region that conducts a lateral load current and an electrically insulating layer disposed between the active channel region and the rear surface that electrically isolates the active channel region from in order to reduce misfit dislocations, and thereby, minimize defects in the gallium nitride material.
Claim(s) 17, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin US 2020/0043881 A1 as applied to claims 12, 15, 16, 21, and 23 above, and further in view of Roberts et al. US 9,818,692 B2. Lin does not disclose electrically connecting each of the source, drain and gate terminals from the first HEMT die via a bond wire-free connection to at least one of the metal package terminals comprises: attaching a planar metal plate to each of the source, drain and gate terminals from the first and second HEMT dies; and mounting one or more of the vertical connection elements on each of the planar metal plates. However, Roberts discloses (see, for example, FIG. 7C) a semiconductor package 700 comprising source, drain and gate terminals 720/740, and attaching a planar metal plate 750 and then mounting one or more of the vertical connection elements 752 on each of the planar metal plates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to electrically connecting each of the source, drain and gate terminals from the first HEMT die via a bond wire-free connection to at least one of the metal package terminals comprises: attaching a planar metal plate to each of the source, drain and gate terminals from the first and second HEMT dies; and mounting one or more of the vertical connection elements on each of the planar metal plates in order to provide low inductance conducive interconnections, which have improved mechanical attachment and excellent electrical conductivity.
Regarding claim 22, see the rejection for claim 17 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12-17, and 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Because of the applicant’s amendments filed 4/20/26, the Lin US 2020/0043881 A1 has
been re-interpreted (i.e. metal package terminals 114-2/114-3/114-1), but still reads on the applicant’s claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
May 25, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815