DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II, Species I (claims 12-17) in the reply filed on 1/9/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-11, and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/9/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In line 4 of claim 17, the applicant states the limitation “mounting one or more vertical connection elements”; however, the limitation “vertical connection elements” appears to be a restating of the “metal package terminals” stated in line 7 of claim 12, rather than a “further comprising” in line 1 as stated in claim 17. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In view of the 112 rejection above, claim(s) 12, and 15 thru 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin US 2020/0043881 A1. Lin discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1C) a method comprising a method of forming a semiconductor package, the method comprising: providing a first metal baseplate 102; providing a first HEMT die 106A comprising a main surface with source 106A1, drain 106A2 and gate terminals 106A3 disposed thereon; mounting the first HEMT die 106A on the first metal baseplate 102 with the main surface from the first HEMT die 106A facing away from first metal baseplate 102; providing a plurality of metal package terminals 116-2/116-3/116-1; electrically connecting each of the source 106A1, drain 106A2 and gate terminals 106A3 from the first HEMT die 106A via a bond wire-free connection to at least one of the metal package terminals 116-2/116-3/116-1; and forming an encapsulant body 110 of electrically insulating material that encapsulates the first HEMT die 106A and exposes outer ends of the metal package terminals 116-2/116-3/116-1 outside of the encapsulant body 110. In paragraph [0015], Lin discloses the first metal baseplate 102 being metal. In paragraph [0016], Lin discloses the first HEMT 106A being HEMT, etc.
Regarding claim 15, see, for example, FIG. 1C wherein Lin discloses providing a second HEMT die 106B comprising a main surface with source , drain and gate terminals disposed thereon; and electrically connecting each of the source 106B1, drain 106B2 and gate terminals 106B3 from the second HEMT die 106B via a bond wire-free connection to at least one of the metal package terminals 116-1/116-5/116-4, wherein the encapsulant body 110 is formed to encapsulate the second HEMT die 106B. The outer ends of the metal package terminals 116-1/116-5/116-4 are exposed outside of the encapsulant body 110.
Regarding claim 16, see, for example, FIG. 1C wherein Lin discloses mounting the second HEMT die 106B on the first metal baseplate 102 with the main surface from the second HEMT die 106B facing away from the first metal baseplate 102.
Regarding claim 17, see, for example, FIG. 1C wherein Lin discloses further comprising: attaching a planar metal plate 114-2/114-3/114-4/114-6/114-7/114-5 to each of the source, drain and gate terminals from the first and second HEMT dies; and mounting one or more vertical connection elements 118-2/118-3/118-1/118-5/118-4/120 on each of the planar metal plates. Also see 112 rejection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin US 2020/0043881 A1 as applied to claims 12, 15-17 above, and further in view of Tan US 2016/0284638 A1. Lin does not disclose the first HEMT die comprises a rear surface opposite from the main surface that is electrically inactive, and wherein the rear surface from the first die is directly attached to the first metal baseplate. However, Tan discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1) a method comprising a die 103 directly attached to the first metal baseplate 011. In paragraph [0012], Tan discloses the inactive face is attached to the first metal baseplate 011. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a rear surface opposite from the main surface that is electrically inactive, and wherein the rear surface from the first die is directly attached to the first metal baseplate in order to utilize less processing time and material, and further minimize thermal resistance and mismatch. Also, it has been held omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same function as before involves only routine skill in the art. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin US 2020/0043881 A1 in view of Tan US 2016/0284638 A1 as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Piner et al. US 2008/0200013 A1. Lin in view of Tan does not disclose the first HEMT die comprises an active channel region that conducts a lateral load current and an electrically insulating layer disposed between the active channel region and the rear surface that electrically isolates the active channel region from. However, Pine discloses (see, for example, Fig. 3) a method comprising forming a channel layer 18 and an electrically insulating layer 12. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the first HEMT die comprises an active channel region that conducts a lateral load current and an electrically insulating layer disposed between the active channel region and the rear surface that electrically isolates the active channel region from in order to reduce misfit dislocations, and thereby, minimize defects in the gallium nitride material.
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
January 18, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815