DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 2/4/2026.
Claims 1, 10 and 19-20 have been amended.
Claims 3, 5, 12, and 14 have been canceled.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-11, 13 and 15-20 are pending for consideration.
Response to Arguments
Regarding to the 112(a) and112(b) rejection, the claims1-20 have been amended. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-11, 13 and 15-20 have been considered but are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 8-11, 13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wentz (US 20220158855) (hereinafter Wentz) in view of Frey (NPL Title: “Implementation of Maurer’s method for prime generation”, September 18, 2020) (hereinafter Frey).
Regarding claim 1, Wentz discloses a method, comprising:
generating, using a Quantum Random Number Generator (QRNG), an initial random number using first quantum entropy corresponding to a first stream of photons (Wentz: paragraphs 0036, 0042, 0074 and 0077, “PUF 120 may include a circuit implementing a quantum PUF. A quantum PUF, as used herein, is a PUF that generates secrets, such as random numbers, that are unique to the PUF owing to the nanostructure of atomic layers in an electronic or other component, so that the variations are governed by quantum physics, and harder to predict. Quantum PUF may include a quantum confinement PUF, which may operate by varying its output according to variations in behavior due to quantum confinement as determined by nanostructure of atomic layers of one or more components”… “PUF 120 may include one or more photonic PUFs. In an embodiment, a photonic PUF may take advantage of the fact that some photonic devices can operate in a non-linear and/or chaotic manner. In a non-limiting example, a photonic PUF is manufactured by creating a microcavity in a material, such as silicon; microcavity may be formed with a chamfer. Microcavity may be formed, as a non-limiting example with a diameter on the order of tens of micrometers; for instance, microcavity may have a 30-micrometer diameter in an exemplary embodiment. Chamfer size and position may be varied between microcavities; arbitrarily positioned holes may be formed in an interior surface of one or more microcavities to induce irregularities; further irregularities may be introduced as an inevitable result of limits on manufacturing consistency. Irregularities may create variable reflective and/or refractive responses to a pulse of light, which may include, as a non-limiting example, a pulse in the femtosecond to attosecond range, such as, for illustrative purposes only, a 175-femtosecond pulse from a model-locked laser having a 90-MHz repetition rate”) and a secondary random number using second quantum entropy corresponding to a second stream of photons (Wentz: paragraphs 0036, 0074 and 0077, “PUF 120 may include a circuit implementing a quantum PUF. A quantum PUF, as used herein, is a PUF that generates secrets, such as random numbers, that are unique to the PUF owing to the nanostructure of atomic layers in an electronic or other component, so that the variations are governed by quantum physics, and harder to predict. Quantum PUF may include a quantum confinement PUF, which may operate by varying its output according to variations in behavior due to quantum confinement as determined by nanostructure of atomic layers of one or more components”), wherein the first stream of photons is separate from the second stream of photons (Wentz: paragraphs 0036 and 0074-0075, “so that the variations are governed by quantum physics, and harder to predict. Quantum PUF may include a quantum confinement PUF, which may operate by varying its output according to variations in behavior due to quantum confinement as determined by nanostructure of atomic layers of one or more components”… “varied inputs including variations in local physical parameters, such as fluctuations in local electromagnetic fields, radiation, temperature, and the like may be combined with key-generation circuits or methods,”);
generating, using a Prime Number Generator (PGN), a random prime number (Wentz: paragraphs 0017, 0074 and 0077, “At least a PUF 120 may, in a non-limiting example, output an M bit vector {right arrow over (e)} (or a subset of PUF 120 output is truncated, multiple PUF outputs may be concatenated, or any combination thereof) which, combined with a public M×N bit matrix A and potentially public helper vector {right arrow over (b)} satisfies the equation {right arrow over (b)}=A{right arrow over (s)}+{right arrow over (e)}. such that PUF output {right arrow over (e)} and public helper data {right arrow over (b)} and matrix A may be used to regenerate at least a secret…an N bit secret vector {right arrow over (s)} that is hashed via a cryptographic one-way function, in non-limiting example SHA256, SHA3 or the like, to create a seed for a key derivation function (KDF)”… “PUF 120 and/or elements of secure computing module 112 may generate one or more random numbers, for instance by using one or more PUFs as described above; any suitable algorithm may be used for generating a prime …”); and
generating an encryption key using the random prime number, wherein the encryption key is used to encrypt first data or decrypt second data (Wentz: paragraphs 0074, 0077 and 0103, “PUF 120 and/or elements of secure computing module 112 may generate one or more random numbers, for instance by using one or more PUFs as described above; any suitable algorithm may be used for generating a prime from a random number to produce pairs of primes usable as RSA factors or other random numbers, public/private key, symmetric public key or the like”).
Wentz discloses a random prime and two random numbers (Wentz: paragraphs 0017, 0074, 0077 and 0103, “RSA primes may be generated, as a general matter, by obtaining a random or pseudorandom odd number, checking whether that number is prime …PUF 120 and/or elements of secure computing module 112 may generate one or more random numbers, for instance by using one or more PUFs as described above”… “PUF 120 and/or elements of secure computing module 112 may generate one or more random numbers, for instance by using one or more PUFs as described above; any suitable algorithm may be used for generating a prime …”). Wentz does not explicitly disclose the following limitation which is disclosed by Frey, generating a random prime number using the initial random number and the secondary random number (Frey: pages 11-12, “RandomPrime is a prime generation algorithm which takes as an input two numbers: P1 and P2… If the interval [P1,P2 ] is such that it contains a prime number, the algorithm outputs a prime n”); and wherein the PGN uses the initial random number and the secondary random number as inputs to an equation and determines the random prime number by solving the equation for the random prime number (Frey: pages 11-12, “RandomPrime is a prime generation algorithm which takes as an input two numbers: P1 and P2 such that P1 < P2. If the interval [P1,P2 ] is such that it contains a prime number, the algorithm outputs a prime n ∈ [P1,P2]. The pseudocode of RandomPrime is given with the Algorithm 1”
, ).
Wentz and Frey are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, data protection. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wentz and Frey before him or her, to modify the system of Wentz to include generating a random prime number using the initial random number and the secondary random number and wherein a Prime Number Generator uses the initial random number and the secondary random number as inputs to an equation and determines the random prime number by solving the equation for the random prime number of Frey. The motivation to do so constitutes applying a known technique to known devices and/or methods ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 discloses a system claim that is substantially equivalent to the method of claim 1. Therefore, the arguments set forth above with respect to claim 1 are equally applicable to claim 10; and therefore, claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 discloses a medium claim that is substantially equivalent to the method of claim 1. Therefore, the arguments set forth above with respect to claim 1 are equally applicable to claim 19; and therefore, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Wentz as modified discloses comprising:
measuring, by the QRNG, the first quantum entropy from a quantum entropy source (Wentz: paragraphs 0036, 0074 and 0077, “PUF 120 may include a circuit implementing a quantum PUF. A quantum PUF, as used herein, is a PUF that generates secrets, such as random numbers, that are unique to the PUF owing to the nanostructure of atomic layers in an electronic or other component, so that the variations are governed by quantum physics, and harder to predict. Quantum PUF may include a quantum confinement PUF, which may operate by varying its output according to variations in behavior due to quantum confinement as determined by nanostructure of atomic layers of one or more components”); and
generating the initial random number based on the first quantum entropy by interpreting the first quantum entropy into first random bits (Wentz: paragraphs 0036, 0074 and 0077, “PUF 120 may include a circuit implementing a quantum PUF. A quantum PUF, as used herein, is a PUF that generates secrets, such as random numbers, that are unique to the PUF owing to the nanostructure of atomic layers in an electronic or other component, so that the variations are governed by quantum physics, and harder to predict. Quantum PUF may include a quantum confinement PUF, which may operate by varying its output according to variations in behavior due to quantum confinement as determined by nanostructure of atomic layers of one or more components”… “At least a PUF 120 may, in a non-limiting example, output an M bit vector {right arrow over (e)} (or a subset of PUF 120 output is truncated, multiple PUF outputs may be concatenated, or any combination thereof) which, combined with a public M×N bit matrix A and potentially public helper vector {right arrow over (b)} satisfies the equation {right arrow over (b)}=A{right arrow over (s)}+{right arrow over (e)}. such that PUF output {right arrow over (e)} and public helper data {right arrow over (b)} and matrix A may be used to regenerate at least a secret”).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Wentz as modified discloses comprising: measuring, by the QRNG, the second quantum entropy from a quantum entropy source (Wentz: paragraphs 0036, 0074 and 0077, “PUF 120 may include a circuit implementing a quantum PUF. A quantum PUF, as used herein, is a PUF that generates secrets, such as random numbers, that are unique to the PUF owing to the nanostructure of atomic layers in an electronic or other component, so that the variations are governed by quantum physics, and harder to predict. Quantum PUF may include a quantum confinement PUF, which may operate by varying its output according to variations in behavior due to quantum confinement as determined by nanostructure of atomic layers of one or more components”); and
generating the secondary random number based on the second quantum entropy by interpreting the second quantum entropy into second random bits (Wentz: paragraphs 0036, 0074 and 0077, “PUF 120 may include a circuit implementing a quantum PUF. A quantum PUF, as used herein, is a PUF that generates secrets, such as random numbers, that are unique to the PUF owing to the nanostructure of atomic layers in an electronic or other component, so that the variations are governed by quantum physics, and harder to predict. Quantum PUF may include a quantum confinement PUF, which may operate by varying its output according to variations in behavior due to quantum confinement as determined by nanostructure of atomic layers of one or more components”… “At least a PUF 120 may, in a non-limiting example, output an M bit vector {right arrow over (e)} (or a subset of PUF 120 output is truncated, multiple PUF outputs may be concatenated, or any combination thereof) which, combined with a public M×N bit matrix A and potentially public helper vector {right arrow over (b)} satisfies the equation {right arrow over (b)}=A{right arrow over (s)}+{right arrow over (e)}. such that PUF output {right arrow over (e)} and public helper data {right arrow over (b)} and matrix A may be used to regenerate at least a secret”).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Wentz as modified discloses wherein the random prime number is generated using a constructive method for generating guaranteed prime numbers (Wentz: paragraphs 0074 and 0077, “At least a PUF 120 may, in a non-limiting example, output an M bit vector {right arrow over (e)} (or a subset of PUF 120 output is truncated, multiple PUF outputs may be concatenated, or any combination thereof) which, combined with a public M×N bit matrix A and potentially public helper vector {right arrow over (b)} satisfies the equation {right arrow over (b)}=A{right arrow over (s)}+{right arrow over (e)}. such that PUF output {right arrow over (e)} and public helper data {right arrow over (b)} and matrix A may be used to regenerate at least a secret…an N bit secret vector {right arrow over (s)} that is hashed via a cryptographic one-way function, in non-limiting example SHA256, SHA3 or the like, to create a seed for a key derivation function (KDF)”… “PUF 120 and/or elements of secure computing module 112 may generate one or more random numbers, for instance by using one or more PUFs as described above; any suitable algorithm may be used for generating a prime from a random number to produce pairs of primes”) .
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Wentz as modified discloses wherein the constructive method comprises Maurer's Algorithm (Frey: pages 11-12, “In this chapter we present the Maurer’s PGA presented originally in [6, pp. 130–133] which is called RandomPrime algorithm. The first section out lines the algorithm in general form, while the subsequent sections detail its key functions. Lastly, we explain why RandomPrime satisfies the correct ness property”). The same motivation to modify Wentz in view of Frey, as applied in claim 1 above, applies here.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Wentz as modified discloses wherein generating, using the PGN, the random prime number comprises running a PNG algorithm recursively to generate the random prime number (Wentz: paragraph 0077, “RSA primes may be generated, as a general matter, by obtaining a random or pseudorandom odd number, checking whether that number is prime, and if it is not, repeatedly incrementing by 2, or some other amount leading to additional odd numbers, and rechecking until a prime is discovered”).
Regarding claim 20, Wentz as modified discloses the processor is caused to: measure, using the QRNG, first quantum entropy from a quantum entropy source(Wentz: paragraphs 0071, 0074 and 0082, “remote device 108 and/or secure computing module 112 may convert immediate output from PUF 120 into key in the form of a binary number. In non-limiting example, PUF 120 may utilize at least a TRNG or other entropy source to provision an N bit secret vector {right arrow over (s)} that is hashed via a cryptographic one-way function, in non-limiting example SHA256, SHA3 or the like, to create a seed for a key derivation function (KDF)”); and
generate the initial random number based on the first quantum entropy by interpreting the first quantum entropy into first random bits (Wentz: paragraphs 0036, 0074 and 0077, “PUF 120 may include a circuit implementing a quantum PUF. A quantum PUF, as used herein, is a PUF that generates secrets, such as random numbers, that are unique to the PUF owing to the nanostructure of atomic layers in an electronic or other component, so that the variations are governed by quantum physics, and harder to predict. Quantum PUF may include a quantum confinement PUF, which may operate by varying its output according to variations in behavior due to quantum confinement as determined by nanostructure of atomic layers of one or more components”… “At least a PUF 120 may, in a non-limiting example, output an M bit vector {right arrow over (e)} (or a subset of PUF 120 output is truncated, multiple PUF outputs may be concatenated, or any combination thereof) which, combined with a public M×N bit matrix A and potentially public helper vector {right arrow over (b)} satisfies the equation {right arrow over (b)}=A{right arrow over (s)}+{right arrow over (e)}. such that PUF output {right arrow over (e)} and public helper data {right arrow over (b)} and matrix A may be used to regenerate at least a secret”);
measure, using the QRNG, second quantum entropy from a quantum entropy source (Wentz: paragraphs 0036, 0074 and 0077, “PUF 120 may include a circuit implementing a quantum PUF. A quantum PUF, as used herein, is a PUF that generates secrets, such as random numbers, that are unique to the PUF owing to the nanostructure of atomic layers in an electronic or other component, so that the variations are governed by quantum physics, and harder to predict. Quantum PUF may include a quantum confinement PUF, which may operate by varying its output according to variations in behavior due to quantum confinement as determined by nanostructure of atomic layers of one or more components”… “At least a PUF 120 may, in a non-limiting example, output an M bit vector {right arrow over (e)} (or a subset of PUF 120 output is truncated, multiple PUF outputs may be concatenated, or any combination thereof) which, combined with a public M×N bit matrix A and potentially public helper vector {right arrow over (b)} satisfies the equation {right arrow over (b)}=A{right arrow over (s)}+{right arrow over (e)}. such that PUF output {right arrow over (e)} and public helper data {right arrow over (b)} and matrix A may be used to regenerate at least a secret”); and
generate the secondary random number based on the second quantum entropy by interpreting the second quantum entropy into second random bits (Wentz: paragraphs 0036, 0074 and 0077, “PUF 120 may include a circuit implementing a quantum PUF. A quantum PUF, as used herein, is a PUF that generates secrets, such as random numbers, that are unique to the PUF owing to the nanostructure of atomic layers in an electronic or other component, so that the variations are governed by quantum physics, and harder to predict. Quantum PUF may include a quantum confinement PUF, which may operate by varying its output according to variations in behavior due to quantum confinement as determined by nanostructure of atomic layers of one or more components”… “At least a PUF 120 may, in a non-limiting example, output an M bit vector {right arrow over (e)} (or a subset of PUF 120 output is truncated, multiple PUF outputs may be concatenated, or any combination thereof) which, combined with a public M×N bit matrix A and potentially public helper vector {right arrow over (b)} satisfies the equation {right arrow over (b)}=A{right arrow over (s)}+{right arrow over (e)}. such that PUF output {right arrow over (e)} and public helper data {right arrow over (b)} and matrix A may be used to regenerate at least a secret”).
Claim(s) 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wentz (US 20220158855) (hereinafter Wentz) in view of Frey, and further in view of Clavier et al. (WO 2013088066) (hereinafter CLAVIER).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Wentz as modified by Frey does not explicitly disclose the following limitation which is disclosed by CLAVIER, wherein the constructive method comprises Shawe-Taylor's Algorithm (CLAVIER: pages 23-25, “This procedure corresponds substantially to the Shawe-Taylor procedure (see publication [4] or [5]).”… “Represents another GNM iterative procedure for generating a large first number Ln. This procedure corresponds substantially to the Maurer procedure (see publication [3]). In FIG. 14, this procedure receives as input parameter a size L of prime number to be generated and provides a prime number Pr.”).
Wentz in view of Frey and CLAVIER are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, data protection. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wentz in view of Frey and CLAVIER before him or her, to modify the system of Wentz in view of Frey to include a constructive method comprises Shawe-Taylor's Algorithm of CLAVIER. The motivation to do so constitutes applying a known technique to known devices and/or methods ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRANG T DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431