DETAILED ACTION
Claims 19-20 withdrawn
Claims 1-18 pending and elected
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 01/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “one or more deposition precursors comprise a metal-containing precursor and a fluorine-containing precursor” in claim 1 is unclear which renders the claim indefinite. As the limitation require minimum of “one deposition precursor” which “comprise a metal-containing precursor and a fluorine-containing precursor”, as it gives two possible meanings;
(1) the single precursor include a metal ligand with another fluorine ligand, as in M-F compound, where M is metal and F is fluoride;
(2) a flow of precursors materials including two precursors, first precursor is “metal-containing precursor” and a second precursor is “fluorine-containing precursor”.
However, following the instant specification as originally filed, and dependent claims 4-6, it seems that there are two separate precursors of first precursor is “metal-containing precursor” and a second precursor is “fluorine-containing precursor”.
For the sake of expedite prosecution the examiner interprets the above limitation as “providing a deposition precursors to the processing region, wherein the deposition precursors comprise a first precursor of a metal-containing precursor and a second precursor of a fluorine-containing precursor”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 112908822 A).
Consider Claim 1, Chen teaches the process of coating on a component for a semiconductor [n0001], where the process is within a reaction chamber [n0033]. The coating process include the use of precursor sources such as yttrium(III) hexafluoroacetylacetonate (metal containing precursor), and yttrium(III) trifluoromethanesulfonate [n0007] (fluorine containing precursor). Chen teaches the coating layer is yttrium oxyfluorine material [n0006].
Consider Claim 2, Chen teaches the component include ceramic plate [n0034].
Consider Claims 4-5, Chen teaches the metal precursor sources such as yttrium(III) hexafluoroacetylacetonate [n0007].
Consider Claim 6, Chen teaches the fluorine precursors include difluoride [n0054].
Consider Claim 7, Chen teaches the coating layer is yttrium oxyfluorine material [n0006].
Consider Claims 8-9, Chen teaches the use of oxygen source such as ozone [n0013].
Consider Claims 12-14, Chen teaches the heating/annealing to a temperature of 100℃-500℃ [n0030], and where the use of argon gas along with Oxygen gas in the chamber’s environment [n0029].
Consider Claim 15, Chen teaches the component include gas distribution plate [n0034].
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-14, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deepak (PG Pub 2020/0283897 A1).
Consider Claim 1, Deepak teaches the forming of semiconductor components such as OLED [0003], and forming fluorinated layer on the component/object (claim 1). Deepak teaches the process of forming the layer include placing the component/object in the processing region of an ALD/chamber (claim 1). Deepak teaches for the forming of the metal fluorine layer the use of fluorine precursor (FP) (Claim 1), and metal containing precursor (Claim 2).
Consider Claims 2-3, Deepak teaches component/object comprises Al2O3, as upper layer, where the metal-fluorine layer is deposited on top [0021].
Consider Claim 5, Deepak teaches the metal precursor include yttrium (claim 7).
Consider Claim 6, Deepak teaches the fluorine precursor include HF [0004]
Consider Claims 8-9, Deepak teaches the use of oxygen precursor such as Ozone (claims 2 and 5).
Consider Claim 10, Deepak teaches the use of nitrogen material (NF3) (claim 10).
Consider Claim 11, Deepak teaches the use of remote plasma/plasma effluents (claim 5).
Consider Claims 12-14, Deepak teaches the use of oxygen (O2, O3) in a processing environment under annealing temperature from 150-400℃ and pressure of 0.01-100 mbar [0025].
Consider Claim 16, Deepak teaches the forming of semiconductor components such as OLED [0003], and forming fluorinated layer on the component/object (claim 1). Deepak teaches the process of forming the layer include placing the component/object in the processing region of an ALD/chamber (claim 1). Deepak teaches for the forming of the metal fluorine layer the use of fluorine precursor (FP) (Claim 1), and metal containing precursor (Claim 2). Deepak teaches the purging in the processing region [0025]. Deepak teaches the use of remote plasma/plasma effluents (claim 5). Deepak teaches the processing environment is under temperature from 150-400℃ [0025].
Consider Claim 17, Deepak teaches component/object comprises Al2O3, as upper layer, where the metal-fluorine layer is deposited on top [0021].
Consider Claim 18, Deepak teaches the forming of metal-fluorine oxygen containing layer (abstract, [0024]), with 2% oxygen or less [0024].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 12-15 (s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 112908822 A).
Consider Claim 1, Chen teaches the process of coating on a component for a semiconductor [n0001], where the process is within a reaction chamber [n0033]. The coating process include the use of precursor sources such as yttrium(III) hexafluoroacetylacetonate (metal containing precursor), and yttrium(III) trifluoromethanesulfonate [n0007] (fluorine containing precursor). Chen teaches the coating layer is yttrium oxyfluorine material [n0006].
Consider Claim 2, Chen teaches the component include ceramic plate [n0034].
Consider Claims 4-5, Chen teaches the metal precursor sources such as yttrium(III) hexafluoroacetylacetonate [n0007].
Consider Claim 6, Chen teaches the fluorine precursors include difluoride [n0054].
Consider Claim 7, Chen teaches the coating layer is yttrium oxyfluorine material [n0006].
Consider Claims 8-9, Chen teaches the use of oxygen source such as ozone [n0013].
Consider Claims 12-14, Chen teaches the heating/annealing to a temperature of 100℃-500℃ [n0030], and where the use of argon gas along with Oxygen gas in the chamber’s environment [n0029]. In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claim 15, Chen teaches the component include gas distribution plate [n0034].
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-14, 16-18 (s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deepak (PG Pub 2020/0283897 A1).
Consider Claim 1, Deepak teaches the forming of semiconductor components such as OLED [0003], and forming fluorinated layer on the component/object (claim 1). Deepak teaches the process of forming the layer include placing the component/object in the processing region of an ALD/chamber (claim 1). Deepak teaches for the forming of the metal fluorine layer the use of fluorine precursor (FP) (Claim 1), and metal containing precursor (Claim 2).
Consider Claims 2-3, Deepak teaches component/object comprises Al2O3 , as upper layer, where the metal-fluorine layer is deposited on top [0021].
Consider Claim 5, Deepak teaches the metal precursor include yttrium (claim 7).
Consider Claim 6, Deepak teaches the fluorine precursor include HF [0004].
Consider Claims 8-9, Deepak teaches the use of oxygen precursor such as Ozone (claims 2 and 5).
Consider Claim 10, Deepak teaches the use of nitrogen material (NF3) (claim 10).
Consider Claim 11, Deepak teaches the use of remote plasma/plasma effluents (claim 5).
Consider Claims 12-14, Deepak teaches the use of oxygen (O2, O3) in a processing environment under annealing temperature from 150-400℃ and pressure of 0.01-100 mbar [0025]. In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claim 16, Deepak teaches the forming of semiconductor components such as OLED [0003], and forming fluorinated layer on the component/object (claim 1). Deepak teaches the process of forming the layer include placing the component/object in the processing region of an ALD/chamber (claim 1). Deepak teaches for the forming of the metal fluorine layer the use of fluorine precursor (FP) (Claim 1), and metal containing precursor (Claim 2). Deepak teaches the purging in the processing region [0025]. Deepak teaches the use of remote plasma/plasma effluents (claim 5). Deepak teaches the processing environment is under temperature from 150-400℃ [0025]. In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claim 17, Deepak teaches component/object comprises Al2O3, as upper layer, where the metal-fluorine layer is deposited on top [0021].
Consider Claim 18, Deepak teaches the forming of metal-fluorine oxygen containing layer (abstract, [0024]), with 2% oxygen or less [0024].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/343,351 (PG Pub 2025/0003061 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because;
Claim 1 state “A processing method comprising:
providing a component for semiconductor processing to a processing region of a processing chamber;
providing one or more deposition precursors to the processing region, wherein the one or more deposition precursors comprise a metal-containing precursor and a fluorine-containing precursor; and
depositing a layer of material on the component for semiconductor processing in the processing region, wherein the layer of material comprises a metal-and-fluorine-containing material”.
This is disclosed in claim 1 and claim 6 of ‘351.
Claim 16 state “A processing method comprising:
providing a component for semiconductor processing to a processing region of a processing chamber;
depositing a layer of material on the component for semiconductor processing in the processing region, wherein the layer of material comprises a metal-and-fluorine-containing material, and wherein depositing the layer of material comprises:
exposing the component for semiconductor processing to plasma effluents of a first precursor;
purging the processing region; and
exposing the component for semiconductor processing to plasma effluents of a second precursor, wherein the layer of material comprises reaction products of the plasma effluents of the first precursor and the plasma effluents of the second precursor, and wherein a temperature within the processing chamber is maintained at greater than or about 400° C”
This is disclosed in claim 15 and claim 18 of ‘351.
Claims 2-15 and 17-18 are disclosed in claims 2-14 and 16-18 of ‘351.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/Mohammad Mayy/
Art Unit 1718
/GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718