DETAILED ACTION
Claims 19-20 withdrawn
Claim 6 canceled
Claims 1, 8, 11, 16 amended
Claims 1-18 pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allen (PG Pub 2023/0417954 A1).
Consider Claim 1, Allen teaches the process of forming optics/components for semiconductor [0073], where the optical component (100) is coated with protective coating (120) (figure 2, [0064]), teaches deposition of metal fluoride protective coating formed using metal precursor with fluorine source (claim 11, page 21). Allen teaches the fluorine source include ammonium fluoride (NH4F) within processing region of an ALD [0125].
Consider Claims 2-3, Allen teaches the protective coating (120) is coated on reflective layer (110) is Al2O3 [0075].
Consider Claim 5, Allen teaches the metal in the metal precursor include Al (claim 13).
Consider Claim 7, Allen teaches the metal fluoride protective coating include CaF2 (Claim 11).
Consider Claim 14, Allen teaches the protective coating is deposited at temperature of 150℃ [0081], under 2000℃.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (PG Pub 2023/0417954 A1).
Consider Claim 1, Allen teaches the process of forming optics/components for semiconductor [0073], where the optical component (100) is coated with protective coating (120) (figure 2, [0064]), teaches deposition of metal fluoride protective coating formed using metal precursor with fluorine source (claim 11, page 21). Allen teaches the fluorine source include ammonium fluoride (NH4F) within processing region of an ALD [0125].
Consider Claims 2-3, Allen teaches the protective coating (120) is coated on reflective layer (110) is Al2O3 [0075].
Consider Claim 5, Allen teaches the metal in the metal precursor include Al (claim 13).
Consider Claim 7, Allen teaches the metal fluoride protective coating include CaF2 (Claim 11).
Consider Claim 14, Allen teaches the protective coating is deposited at temperature of 150℃ [0081], under 2000℃. In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 16 (s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 112908822 A), in view of Deepak (PG Pub 2020/0283897 A1).
Consider Claim 16,Chen teaches the process of coating on a component for a semiconductor [n0001], where the process is within a reaction chamber [n0033]. The coating process include the use of precursor sources such as yttrium(III) hexafluoroacetylacetonate (metal containing precursor), and yttrium(III) trifluoromethanesulfonate [n0007] (fluorine containing precursor). Chen teaches the coating layer is yttrium oxyfluorine material [n0006]. Chen teaches the exposed to plasma environment for fluorine precursor [n0063]. Chen teaches the processing temperature from 100-500℃ [n0046]. In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Chen does not teach the use of remote plasma as plasma effluent, with purging step.
However, Deepak teaches the forming of semiconductor components such as OLED [0003], and forming fluorinated layer on the component/object (claim 1). Deepak teaches the process of forming the layer include placing the component/object in the processing region of an ALD/chamber (claim 1). Deepak teaches for the forming of the metal fluorine layer the use of fluorine precursor (FP) (Claim 1), and metal containing precursor (Claim 2). Deepak teaches the purging in the processing region [0025]. Deepak teaches the use of remote plasma/plasma effluents (claim 5). Deepak teaches the processing environment is under temperature from 150-400℃ [0025]. In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention would combine Chen with Deepak for using remote plasma/plasma effluent to provides the oxygen radicals to the processing region forming Y2O3 with a predetermined layer thickness [0022].
Consider Claim 17, the combined Chen (with Deepak) teaches component/object comprises Al2O3, as upper layer, where the metal-fluorine layer is deposited on top (Deepak, [0021]).
Consider Claim 18, Deepak teaches the forming of metal-fluorine oxygen containing layer (Deepak, abstract, [0024]), with 2% oxygen or less (Deepak, [0024]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-18 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/343,351 (PG Pub 2025/0003061 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because;
Claim 1 state “A processing method comprising:
providing a component for semiconductor processing to a processing region of a processing chamber;
providing deposition precursors to the processing region, wherein the deposition precursors comprise a metal-containing precursor and a fluorine-containing precursor, precursor, wherein the fluorine-containing precursor comprises ammonium fluoride (NH4F) or ammonium bifluoride (NH4F.HF); and
depositing a layer of material on the component for semiconductor processing in the processing region, wherein the layer of material comprises a metal-and-fluorine-containing material”.
This is disclosed in claim 1 and claims 6-7 of ‘351.
Claim 16 state “A processing method comprising:
providing a component for semiconductor processing to a processing region of a processing chamber;
depositing a layer of material on the component for semiconductor processing in the processing region, wherein the layer of material comprises a metal-and-fluorine-containing material, and wherein depositing the layer of material comprises:
exposing the component for semiconductor processing to plasma effluents of a first precursor;
purging the processing region; and
exposing the component for semiconductor processing to plasma effluents of a second precursor, wherein the layer of material comprises reaction products of the plasma effluents of the first precursor and the plasma effluents of the second precursor, and wherein a temperature within the processing chamber is maintained at greater than or about 450° C”
This is disclosed in claim 15 and claim 18 of ‘351.
Claims 2-5, 7-15 and 17-18 are disclosed in claims 2-14 and 16-18 of ‘351.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8-13, 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 05/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 7-18 under 102/130a have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Allen, and Chen with Deepak.
The previously applied 112 claims rejection, in light of the amended claim are now withdrawn.
All other applicant arguments not specifically addressed above are deemed unpersuasive as either not commensurate in scope with the broadly drafted claims or are unsupported by factual evidence and are deemed mere attorney speculation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mohammad Mayy/
Art Unit 1718
/GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718