DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 is drawn to a method of producing a lithium-ion secondary battery, however, the method steps are written with numerous typographical errors including:
“ positive-electrode-paste producing of producing positive electrode paste by mixing positive active material particles with solvent”,
“positive-electrode-plate producing of applying the positive electrode paste on the surface of the positive current collecting foil and drying the applied positive electrode paste to produce the positive electrode plate having the positive active material layer on the surface of the positive current collecting foil”,
“electrode-body producing of producing an electrode body provided with the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate”, and
“wherein the positive-electrode-paste producing is to produce the positive electrode paste in which hydroxide particles are further mixed”.
The italicized portions of the claim are not written in a proper method form, and appear to be using words in the wrong order (perhaps due to submitting directly translated claims).
It appears as though the first cited portion should read “producing a positive electrode paste by mixing positive active particles with a solvent”,
the second should read “applying the positive electrode paste on the surface of the positive current collecting foil and drying the applied positive electrode paste to produce the positive electrode plate having the positive active material layer on the surface of the positive current collecting foil to form an electrode plate,
the third should read “providing the positive electrode plate and a negative electrode plate to produce an electrode body”, and
the fourth should read “wherein the positive electrode paste further includes hydroxide particles.”
These are suggestions, but the method steps as presented repeat words and are not a clear and proper method.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The specification appears to be a direct translation and contains errors such as those described in claim 1 above (see specification [0007], [0008]).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 4 recite “mixing ratio of solid content of the positive electrode paste exclusive of the hydroxide particles of the hydroxide particles”, which is not consistent with the language in the specification which reads “mixing ratio of the hydroxide particles relative to the solid contents of the positive electrode paste exclusive of the hydroxide particles” ([0042], [0043]). The claim language appears to intend that the mixing ratio is the particles to the paste (larger portion of the paste/ composition) as in the specification, and will be interpreted as such for purposes of examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mukai et al (JP 2001-283849 and its machine translation).
Mukai et al disclose a lithium-ion nonaqueous battery comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a nonaqueous electrolyte, wherein the positive electrode comprises a positive active material, LiOH ([0028]; instant claim 2), a binder, and a conductive material.
The battery is prepared by a method including forming an electrode paste by mixing the additives with a solvent, applying the paste to an aluminum foil current collector and drying to form the electrode, combining the positive electrode plate with a negative electrode plate and forming an “electrode body” with the two electrode plates and a separator between them, forming the battery by winding the electrode body (reference power generating element) around a center axis and placing in a unit cell case, and injecting the electrolyte comprising LiPF6, and the battery is initially charged to be ready for use ([0004], [0025], [0028]-[0032], [0036],[0039]; instant claim 1).
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shindo (10,026,955).
Shindo discloses a method of producing a positive electrode and battery wherein the method includes preparing a past/ slurry comprising the active material, a first lithium salt, a second lithium salt (LiOH particles; instant claim 2), and a solvent, coating onto a substrate (aluminum, silver, copper, gold, nickel, iron , stainless steel, titanium foil current collector; column 4, lines 27-33) and drying, combining the positive electrode plate with a separator an a negative electrode plate in a cell case (column 7, lines 3-26), and impregnated with electrolyte (preferably LiPF6; column 6, lines 6-30; instant claim 1). Regarding the amount of addition of the second salt (LiOH), the reference teaches the first salt is added in an amount respective to the active material 0.5 to 10 wt %, and the second salt in an amount of 17 to 50 mol% respective to the first salt based on the total number of lithium atoms.
The resultant method of Shindo would meet the limitations of the instant claims 1 and 2.
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujii et al (JP 2014-082050 and its machine translation).
Fujii et al disclose a secondary lithium-ion battery and method of preparing it, wherein the positive electrode slurry is formed by mixing an active material, a conductive aide, a solvent, and LiOH particles in an amount of 0.05 to 2 wt % ([0057]) coating onto a metal foil current collector ([0040], [0043], [0065]), combining with a separator and negative electrode (and current collector[ 0080]-[0083]), placing them into a battery casing ([0084]), and adding the electrolyte comprising LiPF6 ([0088]-[0090], [0093]-[0096]; instant claim 1).
The method of Fujii et al meets the limitations of the instant claims 1-4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukai et al.
Mukai et al has been discussed above. The reference discloses that the amount of LiOH filtrate (powder/ particles) included is 0.001 to 1 wt%, which overlaps the claimed range of 0.5 to 5 wt% ([0012], [0016]; instant claims 3 and 4).
Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Mukai et al wherein the LiOH particles are present in an amount falling within the scope of the instant claims 3 and 4.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shindo.
Shindo has been discussed above. Regarding the amount of addition of the second salt (LiOH), the reference teaches the first salt is added in an amount respective to the active material 0.5 to 10 wt %, and the second salt in an amount of 17 to 50 mol% respective to the first salt based on the total number of lithium atoms.
While the reference does not specifically disclose the claimed range of LiOH, given the broad teachings of the range for the first and second salt, and given the amount of second salt affects the durability and inhibits oxidative decomposition of the active particles due to exposure to the electrolyte (column 3, lines 26-67), one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to arrive at that claimed range of LiOH as set forth in the instant claims 3 and 4 in the slurry/ paste through routine experimentation and optimization of the electrode properties.
Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Shindo wherein the LiOH particles are present in an amount falling within the scope of the instant claims 3 and 4.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al.
Fujii et al has been discussed above. The reference teaches that the LiOH particles in an amount of 0.05 to 2 wt % ([0057]; instant claims 3 and 4)).
Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Fujii et al wherein the LiOH particles are present in an amount falling within the scope of the instant claims 3 and 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Han et al (CN 113921755) is cited for a teach of a similar composite positive electrode material comprising boron lithium hydroxide in a solid-state battery (no non-aqueous electrolyte).
/AMANDA C. WALKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722