DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 04/20/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-11 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
The amendments and remarks filed are sufficient to cure the previous Claim Objections and 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections set forth in the Non-Final office action mailed on 01/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadakane et al. (Pub. No. US 20220052381 A1) in view of Naito et al. (Pub. No. US 20170214047 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sadakane teaches a lithium secondary battery (lithium secondary battery, see [0014]), comprising: a positive electrode (positive electrode, see [0014]); and a negative electrode (negative electrode, see [0014]) not having a negative electrode active material (see [0014] wherein the negative electrode is only disclosed as comprising a negative electrode current collector, see [0083] gives specific example wherein the negative electrode is only the collector and contains no active material layer), wherein the negative electrode (negative electrode, see [0014]) comprises a negative electrode current collector (negative electrode current collector, see [0014]), wherein the negative electrode current collector (negative electrode current collector, see [0014]) is formed of copper (copper foil, see [0037]), but fails to teach wherein at least a part of a surface of the negative electrode current collector facing the positive electrode is coated with a compound containing an aromatic ring to which two or more elements selected from the group consisting of N, S, and O are each independently bonded.
However, Naito teaches wherein at least a part of a surface (covering the surface of the metal substrate, see [0008], note this is not the preferred embodiment of Naito, however according to MPEP 2123 the use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentee describes as their own invention) of the negative electrode current collector (metal substrate, see [0008], note this is not specifically designated as a current collector, however a metal substrate made of copper is equivalent to a copper current collector) is coated with a compound (benzotriazole, see [0008]) containing an aromatic ring (aromatic ring, see chemical diagram below) to which two or more elements selected from the group consisting of N (N1 and N2, see chemical diagram below), S, and O are each independently bonded.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sadakane to add a coating of benzotriazole to the negative electrode current collector that is made of copper as taught by Naito to exhibit high anti-corrosion properties (see [0008] of Naito). Further Sadakane teaches that modifications can be made (see [0077] of Sadakane).
Therefore, Sadakane in view of Naito teaches wherein at least a part of a surface (entire surface of metal substrate, see [0008] of Naito, see modifications above) of the negative electrode current collector (negative electrode current collector, see [0014]) facing the positive electrode (positive electrode, see [0014], since the entire surface of the negative electrode current collector is coated the side facing the positive electrode would also be coated) is coated with a compound (benzotriazole, see [0008] of Naito, see modifications above).
Regarding claim 2, Sadakane in view of Naito teaches further comprising: a separator (separator, see [0057]) or a solid electrolyte placed between the positive electrode (positive electrode, see [0014]) and the negative electrode (negative electrode, see [0014], see [0057] where the separator is placed between the positive and negative electrode).
Regarding claim 3, Sadakane in view of Naito teaches wherein one or more N (N1/N2, see benzotriazole diagram above) are bonded to the aromatic ring (aromatic ring, see benzotriazole diagram above, see N1 and N2 are bonded to the aromatic ring).
Regarding claim 4, Sadakane in view of Naito teaches wherein the compound (benzotriazole, see [0008] of Naito, see modifications above) is either represented by Formula (1) (see benzotriazole diagram above) or a derivative of the compound represented by Formula (1), (in Formula (1), (see benzotriazole diagram above), X.sup.1 (N3, see benzotriazole diagram above) represents any one of C to which X.sup.3 is bonded or N (see benzotriazole diagram above where N3 is N), X.sup.2 (N1, see benzotriazole diagram above) represents any one of N (N1, see benzotriazole diagram above) to which X.sup.4 (H1, see benzotriazole diagram above where H1 is bonded to N) is bonded, S, or O, X.sup.3 represents -R.sup.1, -NR.sup.1.sub.2, -OR.sup.1, or -SR.sup.1, X.sup.4 (H1, see benzotriazole diagram above) represents any one of -R.sup.2 (H1, see benzotriazole diagram above), -CO-X, -CS-NX.sub.2, or -OX, R.sup.1 represents a hydrogen atom, an unsubstituted monovalent hydrocarbon group, or a pyridyl group, R.sup.2 (H1, see benzotriazole diagram above) represents a hydrogen atom (H1, see benzotriazole diagram above where H1 is a hydrogen atom) or a monovalent hydrocarbon group which is optionally substituted, and X represents a monovalent substituent).
Regarding claim 5, Sadakane in view of Naito teaches wherein the compound (benzotriazole, see [0008] of Naito, see modifications above) is at least one selected from the group consisting of benzotriazole (benzotriazole, see [0008] of Naito, see modifications above), benzimidazole, benzimidazolethiol, benzoxazole, benzoxazolethiol, benzothiazole, mercaptobenzothiazole, and derivatives thereof.
Regarding claim 8, Sadakane in view of Naito teaches wherein the lithium secondary battery (lithium secondary battery, see [0014]) is a lithium secondary battery (lithium secondary battery, see [0014]) in which charging and discharging are performed by depositing lithium metal (lithium metal, see [0014] where lithium metal is deposited) on the surface (surface of negative electrode current collector facing the positive electrode, see [0014] wherein the lithium metal deposits on the negative electrode) of the negative electrode (negative electrode, see [0014]) and electrolytically dissolving the deposited lithium metal (lithium metal, see [0014] where the lithium metal dissolves during discharge).
Regarding claim 9, Sadakane in view of Naito teaches wherein the negative electrode (negative electrode, see [0014]) is an electrode consisting of at least one selected from the group consisting of Cu (copper foil, see [0037] wherein the negative electrode current collector is a copper foil), Ni, Ti, Fe, and other metals that do not react with Li, alloys thereof, and stainless steel (SUS).
Regarding claim 10, Sadakane in view of Naito teaches wherein the negative electrode (negative electrode, see [0014]) does not have a lithium metal (lithium metal, see [0014]) on a surface (surface of negative electrode current collector, see [0041] wherein the lithium metal deposits initially on the surface during charge, therefore none is present prior to charge) of the negative electrode (negative electrode, see [0014]) before initial charge (see [0041] wherein the lithium metal deposits initially on the surface during charge, therefore none is present prior to charge) and/or at an end of discharge (see [0041] wherein the lithium metal deposits initially on the surface during charge and dissolves during discharge).
4. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadakane et al. (Pub. No. US 20220052381 A1) in view of Naito et al. (Pub. No. US 20170214047 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Mizoguchi (Pub. No. US 20220336820 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Sadakane in view of Naito fails to teach wherein: the compound is the derivative of the compound represented by Formula (1), and the derivative is a compound in which one or more substituents selected from the group consisting of a hydrocarbon group, an amino group, a carboxy group, a sulfo group, and a halogen group are each independently bonded to the aromatic ring.
However, Mizoguchi teaches a compound (carboxybenzotriazole, see [0171]) which is a derivative of the compound (benzotriazole, see [0171]) represented by Formula (1) (benzotriazole, see [0171]), and the derivative is a compound (carboxybenzotriazole, see [0171]) in which one or more substituents selected from the group consisting of a hydrocarbon group, an amino group, a carboxy group (carboxy group, see [0171] the benzotriazole is carboxybenzotriazole which includes a carboxy group attached to the aromatic ring), a sulfo group, and a halogen group are each independently bonded to the aromatic ring (see diagram of benzotriazole above which shows the aromatic ring).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sadakane in view of Naito substitute the benzotriazole compound as taught by Naito for carboxybenzotriazole as taught by Mizoguchi as an art effective equivalent benzotriazole compound for preventing corrosion (see [0171] carboxybenzotriazole is a derivative of benzotriazole and is used for rust prevention). Further Sadakane in view of Naito teaches that modifications can be made (see [0077] of Sadakane).
5. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadakane et al. (Pub. No. US 20220052381 A1) in view of Naito et al. (Pub. No. US 20170214047 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ji et al. (Pub. No. US 20200388876 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Sadakane in view of Naito teaches further comprising: electrolyte solution (non-aqueous electrolyte, see [0014]) but fails to teach the electrolyte solution containing, as a solvent, a compound having at least one of a monovalent group represented by Formula (A) or a monovalent group represented by Formula (B), ##STR00053## (in Formula (A) and Formula (B), a wavy line represents a bonding site in the monovalent group.
However, Ji teaches an electrolyte solution (electrolyte, see [0061]) containing, as a solvent (co-solvent, see [0062]), a compound (1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl 2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether, see diagram below, see [0062]) having at least one of a monovalent group represented by Formula (A) (Group A, see diagram below) or a monovalent group represented by Formula (B) (Group B, see diagram below). ##STR00053## (1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl 2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether, see diagram below, see [0062]) (in the formulae, a wavy line represents a bonding site in the monovalent group (Group A and B, diagram below, since the O in the center is bonded in the center it exhibits both groups on each side of the oxygen in the center so both monovalent groups are present).
Diagram of Solvent Compound
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sadakane in view of Naito to add 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl 2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether to the non-aqueous electrolyte as taught by Ji for improved performance (see [0061] of Ji). Further Sadakane in view of Naito teaches that modifications can be made (see [0077] of Sadakane).
6. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadakane et al. (Pub. No. US 20220052381 A1) in view of Naito et al. (Pub. No. US 20170214047 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hu et al. (Pub. No. US 20190260066 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Sadakane in view of Naito is silent to wherein the lithium secondary battery has an energy density of 350 Wh/kg or more.
However, Hu teaches wherein a lithium secondary battery (rechargeable lithium metal anode cell, see [0060]) has an energy density of 350 Wh/kg or more (>350 Wh/kg, see [0060]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sadakane in view of Naito such that the lithium secondary battery achieves an energy density of greater than 350 Wh/kg as taught by Hu to meet demand for new battery applications (see [0060] of Hu) and be useable in products requiring long runtimes at moderate load (see [0067] of Hu) through modification of result effective variables such as potential versus lithium metal of the cathode material (see [0077] of Hu), cathode capacity (see [0078] of Hu), and thickness of lithium metal anode (see [0070] of Hu, the examiner would like to note since the battery of Sadakane in view of Naito functions with lithium deposited and then dissolved this will contribute to increased energy density by reduction of weight of lithium on the anode in the same way as using a ultra-thin lithium anode as it is not present to increase weight). Further Sadakane in view of Naito teaches that modifications can be made (see [0077] of Sadakane).
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 6, paragraph 4-5, and pg. 7, paragraphs 1-5, filed 04/20/2026, with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 4 and 6 under 35 U.S.C 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723