DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response Request for Continued Examination filed on October 14, 2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1 and 11 have been amended.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10-12, 14-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diamos et al. (US 2014/0165049) in view of Eichenberger et al. (US 2009/0083724) and in further view of Venkataramani et al. (US 2018/0157471).
With respect to Claim 1, Diamos et al. disclose:
a central processing unit (CPU) to perform a compiler to generate code to accelerate matrix operations; (system on chip that includes CPU 102, Paragraph 23; CPU executes the compiler 101, Paragraph 24)
memory; (see Figure 1; system memory 104, Paragraph 21)
a Peripheral Component Interconnect (PCI) communication bus; (see Figure 1; communication path such as a PCI Express, Paragraph 21)
and a graphics processing unit (GPU) including a general processing cluster (GPC), where the GPC includes streaming multiprocessors (SMs) comprising: (see Figures 2 and 3; parallel processing subsystem may constitute a GPU and can include a processing cluster array with any number of general processing clusters (GPC) and a steaming multiprocessor is within each GPC, Paragraphs 23, 31 and 39)
an instruction cache; (see Figure 3; instruction L1 cache 370)
a dispatch unit; (see Figure 3; instruction unit 312)
cores; (see Figure 3; execution/processing unit 302s)
a load/store unit (LSU); (see Figure 3; LSU 303s)
shared memory; (see Figure 3; shared memory 306)
an L1 cache; (see Figure 3; L1 cache 320)
Diamos et al. do not disclose:
and wherein the compiler is to:
obtain a computer program;
extract a polyhedral representation of the computer program;
determine a schedule using the polyhedral representation and using one or more transformations based on a processor architecture of the GPU such that the schedule determined by the compiler is based on both the polyhedral representation and the one or more transformations;
and generate executable code based on the schedule and the processor architecture.
However, Eichenberger et al. disclose:
and wherein the compiler is to:
obtain a computer program; (obtaining an original program, Paragraph 82, lines 9-11)
extract a polyhedral representation of the computer program; (performing a polyhedral scan by a polyhedral scan module of the original program from the compiler’s IR into a polyhedral representation, referred to as the program statement view, Paragraph 82, lines 9-12)
determine a schedule using the polyhedral representation and using one or more transformations based on a processor architecture such that the schedule determined by the compiler is based on both the polyhedral representation and the one or more transformations; (In the program statement view (polyhedral representation) of the program, a loop optimizer module 530 is used to perform transformations on the program statement view to optimize the code. Examples of transformations performed by the loop optimizer module 530 include loop interchange, parallel wavefront, and statement shifting loop transformations. The transformations performed by the loop optimizer module 530 serve to modify the schedule of each individual statement in the program statement view to achieve better data parallelism and/or data locality of the execution of the program (processor architecture), Paragraph 83, lines 1-11)
and generate executable code based on the schedule and the processor architecture. (The resulting transformed program schedule and its corresponding domain are provided to a polyhedral code generator 540 which operates on the entire program as represented by the modified IR generated by the loop optimizer module 530, based on the program statement view 520 of the program output by the polyhedral scan module 510 (based on the schedule and the processor architecture). The polyhedral code generator 540 generates an abstract syntax tree (AST) representation of the program based on the modified IR. Some limited optimizations 550-560 may be applied to the entire program as represented by the AST, Paragraph 84; In essence, the module 540 is designed to generate valid code (generate executable code), possibly with overhead due to extra bound computation, if conditional, modulo calculus in bounds and/or conditional computations. It is then the responsibility of optimizations like 550, 560, and 570 to clean up some of the introduced inefficiencies as best as possible. The resulting optimized AST (based on the schedule and the processor architecture) is provided to a code emitter 570 which generates code (generate executable code) from the AST in the compiler's internal representation (IR) by simply converting the internal AST and stripping it of its polyhedral information and generating an equivalent structure that is familiar and recognized by the traditional compiler, Paragraph 86)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Eichenberger et al. into the teaching of Diamos et al. to include obtaining a computer program, extracting a polyhedral representation of the computer program, determining a schedule using the polyhedral representation and using one or more transformations based on a processor architecture of the GPU such that the schedule determined by the compiler is based on both the polyhedral representation and the one or more transformations and generating executable code based on the schedule and the processor architecture in order to provide source code optimization during compilation. (Eichenberger et al., Paragraph 82)
Diamos et al. and Eichenberger et al. do not disclose:
one or more transformations based on a processor architecture of the GPU
However, Venkataramani et al. disclose:
one or more transformations based on a processor architecture of the GPU
(modify the representation of the kernel within an intermediate representation to optimize use of the parallel processing unit (PPU)’s memory hierarchy (one or more transformations based on a processor architecture of the GPU), Paragraphs 61, 156-158 and 245; PPUs such as a GPU, Paragraph 41)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Venkataramani et al. into the teaching of Diamos et al. and Eichenberger et al. to include one or more transformations based on a processor architecture of the GPU in order to help automatically generate code that efficiently utilizes a device’s memory hierarchy as well as not having the need for a user to hand code kernels for GPU execution. (Venkataramani et al., Paragraph 59, lines 12-20)
With respect to Claim 2, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al. further disclose:
wherein the GPU further comprises a scheduler unit. (see Figure 2; Task/Work unit which receives the task and dynamically schedules the processing tasks and child processing tasks for execution by the GPCs, Paragraph 38)
With respect to Claim 4, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al. and Venkataramani et al. do not disclose:
wherein the polyhedral representation of the computer program is determined from a directed acyclic graph (DAG) of the computer program.
However, Eichenberger et al. disclose:
wherein the polyhedral representation of the computer program is determined from a directed acyclic graph (DAG) of the computer program. (generating a polyhedral representation from a compiler’s internal representation (IR) of statements, conditions, and loops, Paragraph 82, lines 3-8; intermediate representation (IR) is an abstract syntax tree (AST) (DAG), Paragraph 65, lines 1-9)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Eichenberger et al. into the teaching of Diamos et al. and Venkataramani et al. to include wherein the polyhedral representation of the computer program is determined from a directed acyclic graph (DAG) of the computer program in order to provide source code optimization during compilation. (Eichenberger et al., Paragraph 82) obtain a computer program;
With respect to Claim 5, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al. further disclose:
wherein the GPU further comprises a memory partition unit. (see Figure 2; memory interface includes a number D of partition units that each directly coupled to a portion of parallel processing memory, Paragraph 33)
With respect to Claim 6, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al. further disclose:
wherein the GPU further comprises a crossbar (Xbar). (see Figure 2, crossbar unit, Paragraph 34)
With respect to Claim 7, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al. further disclose:
wherein the GPU further comprises an input/output (I/O) unit to interface with the PCI communication bus. (see Figure 2; I/O unit 205 generates packets for transmission on communication patch 113 which is a PCI Express link, Paragraph 30)
With respect to Claim 10, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al. further disclose:
wherein the SMs each further comprise one or more interconnects. (see Figure 3; memory and cache interconnect, Paragraph 52)
With respect to Claim 11, Diamos et al. disclose:
two or more integrated circuits comprising: (one or more parallel processing units, Paragraph 26)
a central processing unit (CPU) to perform a compiler to generate code to accelerate matrix operations; (system on chip that includes CPU 102, Paragraph 23; CPU executes the compiler 101, Paragraph 24)
memory; (see Figure 1; system memory 104, Paragraph 21)
a Peripheral Component Interconnect (PCI) communication bus; (see Figure 1; communication path such as a PCI Express, Paragraph 21)
and a graphics processing unit (GPU) including a general processing cluster (GPC), where the GPC includes streaming multiprocessors (SMs) comprising: (see Figures 2 and 3; parallel processing subsystem may constitute a GPU and can include a processing cluster array with any number of general processing clusters (GPC) and a steaming multiprocessor is within each GPC, Paragraphs 23, 31 and 39)
an instruction cache; (see Figure 3; instruction L1 cache 370)
a dispatch unit; (see Figure 3; instruction unit 312)
cores; (see Figure 3; execution/processing unit 302s)
a load/store unit (LSU); (see Figure 3; LSU 303s)
shared memory; (see Figure 3; shared memory 306)
an L1 cache; (see Figure 3; L1 cache 320)
Diamos et al. do not disclose:
and wherein the compiler is to:
obtain a computer program;
extract a polyhedral representation of the computer program;
determine a schedule using the polyhedral representation and using one or more transformations based on a processor architecture of the GPU such that the schedule determined by the compiler is based on both the polyhedral representation and the one or more transformations;
and generate executable code based on the schedule and the processor architecture.
However, Eichenberger et al. disclose:
and wherein the compiler is to:
obtain a computer program; (obtaining an original program, Paragraph 82, lines 9-11)
extract a polyhedral representation of the computer program; (performing a polyhedral scan by a polyhedral scan module of the original program from the compiler’s IR into a polyhedral representation, referred to as the program statement view, Paragraph 82, lines 9-12)
determine a schedule using the polyhedral representation and using one or more transformations based on a processor architecture such that the schedule determined by the compiler is based on both the polyhedral representation and the one or more transformations; (In the program statement view (polyhedral representation) of the program, a loop optimizer module 530 is used to perform transformations on the program statement view to optimize the code. Examples of transformations performed by the loop optimizer module 530 include loop interchange, parallel wavefront, and statement shifting loop transformations, discussed in more detail hereafter. The transformations performed by the loop optimizer module 530 serve to modify the schedule of each individual statement in the program statement view to achieve better data parallelism and/or data locality of the execution of the program (processor architecture), Paragraph 83, lines 1-11)
and generate executable code based on the schedule and the processor architecture. (The resulting transformed program schedule and its corresponding domain are provided to a polyhedral code generator 540 which operates on the entire program as represented by the modified IR generated by the loop optimizer module 530, based on the program statement view 520 of the program output by the polyhedral scan module 510 (based on the schedule and the processor architecture). The polyhedral code generator 540 generates an abstract syntax tree (AST) representation of the program based on the modified IR. Some limited optimizations 550-560 may be applied to the entire program as represented by the AST, Paragraph 84; In essence, the module 540 is designed to generate valid code (generate executable code), possibly with overhead due to extra bound computation, if conditional, modulo calculus in bounds and/or conditional computations. It is then the responsibility of optimizations like 550, 560, and 570 to clean up some of the introduced inefficiencies as best as possible. The resulting optimized AST (based on the schedule and the processor architecture) is provided to a code emitter 570 which generates code (generate executable code) from the AST in the compiler's internal representation (IR) by simply converting the internal AST and stripping it of its polyhedral information and generating an equivalent structure that is familiar and recognized by the traditional compiler, Paragraph 86)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Eichenberger et al. into the teaching of Diamos et al. to include obtaining a computer program, extracting a polyhedral representation of the computer program, determining a schedule using the polyhedral representation and using one or more transformations based on a processor architecture of the GPU such that the schedule determined by the compiler is based on both the polyhedral representation and the one or more transformations and generating executable code based on the schedule and the processor architecture in order to provide source code optimization during compilation. (Eichenberger et al., Paragraph 82)
Diamos et al. and Eichenberger et al. do not disclose:
one or more transformations based on a processor architecture of the GPU
However, Venkataramani et al. disclose:
one or more transformations based on a processor architecture of the GPU
(modify the representation of the kernel within an intermediate representation to optimize use of the parallel processing unit (PPU)’s memory hierarchy (one or more transformations based on a processor architecture of the GPU), Paragraphs 61, 156-158 and 245; PPUs such as a GPU, Paragraph 41)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Venkataramani et al. into the teaching of Diamos et al. and Eichenberger et al. to include one or more transformations based on a processor architecture of the GPU in order to help automatically generate code that efficiently utilizes a device’s memory hierarchy as well as not having the need for a user to hand code kernels for GPU execution. (Venkataramani et al., Paragraph 59, lines 12-20)
With respect to Claim 12, all the limitations of Claim 11 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al. further disclose:
wherein the GPU further comprises a scheduler unit. (see Figure 2; Task/Work unit which receives the task and dynamically schedules the processing tasks and child processing tasks for execution by the GPCs, Paragraph 38)
With respect to Claim 14, all the limitations of Claim 11 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al. further disclose:
wherein the SMs further comprise a register file. (see Figure 3; local register file, Paragraph 40)
With respect to Claim 15, all the limitations of Claim 11 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al. further disclose:
further comprising one or more display devices. (see Figure 1; display device)
With respect to Claim 16, all the limitations of Claim 11 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al. further disclose:
further comprising a network interface. (see Figure 1; network adapter)
With respect to Claim 19, all the limitations of Claim 11 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al. further disclose:
wherein the SMs each further comprise one or more interconnects. (see Figure 3; memory and cache interconnect, Paragraph 52)
Claims 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diamos et al. (US 2014/0165049) in view of Eichenberger et al. (US 2009/0083724) in view of Venkataramani et al. (US 2018/0157471) and in further view of Rani et al. (US 2018/0083834).
With respect to Claim 3, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al. and Eichenberger et al. do not disclose:
wherein the compiler is to further obtain one or more configuration files comprising parameters to help determine the one or more transformations.
However, Venkataramani et al. disclose:
wherein the compiler is to further obtain one or more configurations comprising parameters to help determine the one or more transformations. (The parallel code generator 400 also may receive one or more settings, (one or more configurations) such as the code generation settings 428, for guiding or controlling the code generation process for the source program, as indicated at step 504. The options may indicate the target language of the generated code 326, such as CUDA code, OpenCL code, etc., memory implementation options, such as discrete or unified memory, the identity of a compiler tool chain, such as Nvidia's nvcc compiler or the OpenCL compiler, etc., Paragraph 76)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Venkataramani et al. into the teaching of Diamos et al. and Eichenberger et al. to include wherein the compiler is to further obtain one or more configurations comprising parameters to help determine the one or more transformations in order to help automatically generate code that efficiently utilizes a device’s memory hierarchy as well as not having the need for a user to hand code kernels for GPU execution. (Venkataramani et al., Paragraph 59, lines 12-20)
Diamos et al., Eichenberger et al. and Venkataramani et al. do not explicitly disclose:
one or more configuration files comprising parameters
However, Rani et al. disclose:
one or more configuration files comprising parameters (BMC may store configuration files carrying configuration parameters in storage, Paragraph 23)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rani et al. into the teaching of Diamos et al., Eichenberger et al. and Venkataramani et al. to include one or more configuration files comprising parameters in order to eliminate the need to manually configure parameters for a specific configuration setting each time it is needed.
With respect to Claim 20, all the limitations of Claim 11 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al. and Eichenberger et al. do not disclose:
wherein the compiler is to further obtain one or more configuration files comprising parameters to help determine the one or more transformations.
However, Venkataramani et al. disclose:
wherein the compiler is to further obtain one or more configurations comprising parameters to help determine the one or more transformations. (The parallel code generator 400 also may receive one or more settings, (one or more configurations) such as the code generation settings 428, for guiding or controlling the code generation process for the source program, as indicated at step 504. The options may indicate the target language of the generated code 326, such as CUDA code, OpenCL code, etc., memory implementation options, such as discrete or unified memory, the identity of a compiler tool chain, such as Nvidia's nvcc compiler or the OpenCL compiler, etc., Paragraph 76)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Venkataramani et al. into the teaching of Diamos et al. and Eichenberger et al. to include wherein the compiler is to further obtain one or more configurations comprising parameters to help determine the one or more transformations in order to help automatically generate code that efficiently utilizes a device’s memory hierarchy as well as not having the need for a user to hand code kernels for GPU execution. (Venkataramani et al., Paragraph 59, lines 12-20)
Diamos et al., Eichenberger et al. and Venkataramani et al. do not explicitly disclose:
one or more configuration files comprising parameters
However, Rani et al. disclose:
one or more configuration files comprising parameters (BMC may store configuration files carrying configuration parameters in storage, Paragraph 23)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rani et al. into the teaching of Diamos et al., Eichenberger et al. and Venkataramani et al. to include one or more configuration files comprising parameters in order to eliminate the need to manually configure parameters for a specific configuration setting each time it is needed.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diamos et al. (US 2014/0165049) in view of Eichenberger et al. (US 2009/0083724) ) in view of Venkataramani et al. (US 2018/0157471) and in further view of Leigh et al. (US 2018/0032117).
With respect to Claim 8, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al., Eichenberger et al. and Venkataramani et al. do not disclose:
further comprising a hub to interface with one or more GPU interconnects.
However, Leigh et al. disclose:
further comprising a hub to interface with one or more GPU interconnects.
(a processing module includes circuitry to interface (hub) with a specialized GPU interconnect such as NVLink, Paragraph 21)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Leigh et al. into the teaching of Diamos et al., Eichenberger et al. and Venkataramani et al. to include a hub to interface with one or more GPU interconnects in order to enable faster communication between components which leads to improved performance and scalability.
With respect to Claim 17, all the limitations of Claim 11 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al., Eichenberger et al. and Venkataramani et al. do not disclose:
further comprising a hub to interface with one or more GPU interconnects.
However, Leigh et al. disclose:
further comprising a hub to interface with one or more GPU interconnects.
(a processing module includes circuitry to interface (hub) with a specialized GPU interconnect such as NVLink, Paragraph 21)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Leigh et al. into the teaching of Diamos et al., Eichenberger et al. and Venkataramani et al. to include a hub to interface with one or more GPU interconnects in order to enable faster communication between components which leads to improved performance and scalability.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diamos et al. (US 2014/0165049) in view of Eichenberger et al. (US 2009/0083724) in view of Venkataramani et al. (US 2018/0157471) and in further view of Ryan Smith (“NVIDIA’s GF100: Architected for Gaming”, Jan 2010)
With respect to Claim 9, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al., Eichenberger et al. and Venkataramani et al. do not disclose:
wherein the GPC further comprises a raster engine.
However, Ryan Smith disclose:
wherein the GPC further comprises a raster engine. (each GPC has its own Raster Engine, Paragraph 6)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ryan Smith into the teaching of Diamos et al., Eichenberger et al. and Venkataramani et al. to include wherein the GPC further comprises a raster engine in order to perform edge/triangle setup, rasterization and z-culling in a pipelined manner. (Ryan Smith, Paragraph 6)
With respect to Claim 18, all the limitations of Claim 11 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al., Eichenberger et al. and Venkataramani et al. do not disclose:
wherein the GPC further comprises a raster engine.
However, Ryan Smith disclose:
wherein the GPC further comprises a raster engine. (each GPC has its own Raster Engine, Paragraph 6)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ryan Smith into the teaching of Diamos et al., Eichenberger et al. and Venkataramani et al. to include wherein the GPC further comprises a raster engine in order to perform edge/triangle setup, rasterization and z-culling in a pipelined manner. (Ryan Smith, Paragraph 6)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diamos et al. (US 2014/0165049) in view of Eichenberger et al. (US 2009/0083724) in view of Venkataramani et al. (US 2018/0157471) and in further view of Geeks3D (“What is a Texture Processor Cluster or TPC”, Mar 2010).
With respect to Claim 13, all the limitations of Claim 11 have been addressed above; and Diamos et al., Eichenberger et al. and Venkataramani et al. do not disclose:
wherein the SMs further comprise one or more special function units (SFUs).
However, Geeks3D disclose:
wherein the SMs further comprise one or more special function units (SFUs). (a streaming multiprocessor is made up of several streaming processor, several special function units, lines 3-5)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Geeks3D into the teaching of Diamos et al., Eichenberger et al. and Venkataramani et al. to include wherein the SMs further comprise one or more special function units (SFUs) in order to perform transcendental functions such as sine or cosine. (Geeks3D, lines 3-5)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LANNY N UNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2197