Claim Objections
The claim numbers must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented.
The misnumbered cancelled claims 65-94 should be 65-93. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1.5-7, 16, 21-24 , 40,43-44 and 94 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020/243655, hereinafter 655’
As to claims 1 and 94, 655’ discloses in figures 1-10, an energy storage system, comprising:
a plurality of modules [modules (108); see figures 11C and; see also ¶00102] connected together, each module comprising an energy source [figure 2, energy source (202); ¶0052 and claim 29] and switch circuitry, wherein the energy storage system [energy system (108)] is configured to generate AC power with a superposition of output signals generated by the plurality of modules [see ¶0052, ¶00102, ¶00196]; and a control system [control circuitry (102)] configured to control the switch circuitry of each module to generate, from a supply charge signal received from a charge source [¶0153], a charge signal comprising a plurality of charge pulses and apply the charge signal to the energy source such that the plurality of charge pulses applied to the energy source of each module is shifted in time relative to the plurality of charge pulses applied to the energy source of one or more other modules of the energy storage system [charging pulses are produced to charge batteries and see ¶00134 -¶00135].
As to claim 5, 653’ discloses in figures 1-11, wherein the control system is configured to control the switch circuitry of each module to distribute the supply charge signal among the plurality of modules [see ¶00134-00135] .
As to Claim 6, 653’ discloses in figures 1-17, wherein the plurality of charge pulses applied to the energy source of each module is shifted in time relative to the plurality of charge pulses [plurality of charge pulses are applied see ¶00173 and also fig. 17] applied to the energy source of all other modules of the energy storage system. [see ¶101 - ¶102 and also ¶00173-00174; the pulses are shifted relative to charge time].
As to claim 7, 653’ discloses in figures 1-7, wherein the plurality of charge pulses applied to the energy source of each module is shifted in time relative to the plurality of charge pulses applied to the energy source of one or more other modules of the energy storage system such that, at any given time during charging, a charge pulse is being applied to the energy source of one half of the plurality of modules [noted that the pulse signal is applied to the energy sources so it is considered at least applied to one of the plurality of modules; see Abstract and ¶0057 and also see figures 12A-12G].
As to claim 16, 653’ discloses in figures 1-17, wherein: the plurality of modules comprises a plurality of groups of modules [figure 12E, cluster of battery modules are disclosed]; and the control system is configured to control the switch circuitry of each module to apply the charge signal comprising the plurality of charge pulses to the energy source such that the plurality of charge pulses applied to the energy source of each module in each group of modules is shifted in time relative to the plurality of charge pulses applied to the energy source of each module in each other group of modules [see figures 12A-12G].
As to claim 21 653’ discloses in figures 12A-12G, wherein: each module of the plurality of modules is assigned to a respective cluster [figures 12A-12G shows cluster of battery modules] ; and the control system is configured to control the switch circuitry of each module to apply the charge signal comprising the plurality of charge pulses to the energy source such that the plurality of charge pulses applied to the energy source of each module in each cluster of modules is shifted in time relative to the plurality of charge pulses applied to the energy source of each module in each other cluster of modules [see figures 12A-12G and also ¶00100].
As to claim 22, 653’ discloses in figures 1-17, wherein the modules of the plurality of modules are assigned to particular clusters based on respective physical locations of the modules in the energy storage system or in a pack or packs of the energy storage system [see ¶0040-0041]
As to claim 23, 653’ discloses in figures 1-17, wherein the modules of the plurality of modules are arranged in two or more arrays of modules and each of the modules of a cluster are all the modules of a corresponding array of modules [see figures 12A-12G; see also ¶00100].
As to claim 24, 653’ discloses in figures 1-17, wherein the modules of the plurality of modules are arranged in two or more arrays of modules and at least one module from each array is in each cluster [see figures 12A-12G and ¶00100].
As to claim 40, 653’ discloses in figures 1-17, 40. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 1,wherein the control system is configured to adjust a duty cycle for the plurality of charge pulses for each module in response to one or more modules being placed in a bypassed state [see ¶0053].
As to claim 43, 653’ discloses in figures 1-17, wherein the control system is configured to adjust a duty cycle for the plurality of charge pulses for each module to balance one or more operating characteristics of the plurality of modules [see ¶0046., ¶0055].
As to claim 44, 655’ discloses in figures 1-77, wherein the control system is configured to: detect a state of charge condition for the plurality of modules; and adjust control of the switch circuitry of each module to charge the energy source of each module using a constant current charge signal supplied by the charge source [¶00150 and 00158].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 653’ in view of Kikinis et al. (US 2010/0327807), hereinafter Kikinis.
As to Claim 8, 653’ discloses all of the claim limitations except wherein the control system is configured to control the switch circuitry of each module such that a duty cycle of the plurality of charge pulses is based on a number of modules in the plurality of modules or a number of modules being charged.
Kikinis discloses in figure 1, wherein the control system is configured to control the switch circuitry of each module such that a duty cycle of the plurality of charge pulses is based on a number of modules in the plurality of modules or a number of modules being charged [Pulse width modulation/the default duty cycle is adjusted based on to control the switches and it depends on the number of batteries, see figure 7 and also ¶0079 and ¶0085].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to adjust the duty cycle of charging pulse of 653’ to 50% in as taught by Chai in order to enhance the efficiency of the battery.
As to Claim 19, 653 in combination with Kikinis discloses, wherein the control system is configured to control the switch circuitry of each module in each group of modules such that a duty cycle of the plurality of charge pulses is based on a number of groups in the plurality of groups of modules [653’ discloses pulse width modulation is used to control the switches and it implies the duty cycle of the pulses are adjusted; see ¶0067 and adjusting the duty cycle based on battery numbers are disclosed by Kikinis].
It is also noted that all the claimed elements of applicant’s inventions were known in the prior art (e.g. battery parameter sensing, adjusting duty cycle based on battery parameters and etc.,) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, proper motivation/rationale to combine is as given in the office action. See KSR, 127 S. Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 653’ in view of Chait et al. (US 7,786,702), hereinafter Chait.
As to claim 12, 653’ discloses all of the claim limitations except, wherein the control system is configured to control the switch circuitry of each module such that a duty cycle of the plurality of charge pulses is 50%..
Chai discloses in figure 1, wherein the control system is configured to control the switch circuitry of each module such that a duty cycle of the plurality of charge pulses is 50%.[see Col.9, lines 55-56].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to adjust the duty cycle of charging pulse of 653’ to 50% in as taught by Chai in order to effectively charge the battery and restore the total charge of the battery and avoid battery deterioration.
. . Claims 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 653’ in view of Chen (US 2014/0111139), hereinafter Chen.
As to claim 39, 653’ does not disclose explicitly, wherein the control system is configured to; determine a charge rate for each module based on the one or more operating characteristics of the module; and determine the duty cycle for the plurality of charge pulses for each module based on the charge rate for each module [¶0097].
Chen discloses in figures 1-7D, wherein the control system is configured to; determine a charge rate [¶00137] for each module based on the one or more operating characteristics of the module; and determine the duty cycle for the plurality of charge pulses for each module based on the charge rate for each module see figure 7D and ¶0013].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to adjust the charging rate of 653’ based on battery parameters as taught by Chen in order to provide optimum/efficiency charging.
Claims 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 653’ in view of Burkell et al. (US 2022/0271363), hereinafter Burkell
As to claim 35, 653’ discloses all of the claim limitations except, wherein the control system is configured to determine a duty cycle for the plurality of charge pulses for each module
Burkell discloses in figure 2 , wherein the control system is configured to determine a duty cycle for the plurality of charge pulses for each module [see ¶0037; charging currents are adjusted based on sensed parameters such as state of charge].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to adjust the charging rate of 653’ based on battery parameters as taught by Burkell in order to improve operation of the battery assembly.
As to claim 36, Burkell discloses in figures 2, wherein the control system is configured to determine a duty cycle for the plurality of charge pulses for each module based on one or more operating characteristics of the module, wherein the one or more operating characteristics comprise at least one of temperature, state of charge, impedance, or aging [see figure 2 and ¶0037].
. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to adjust the charging rate of 653’ based on battery parameters as taught by Burkell in order to improve operation of the battery assembly.
Claim 64 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 653’ in view of Moss et al. (US 2019/0348844), hereinafter Moss.
Regarding Claim 64, 653’ discloses all of the claim limitations as claim 1 above (see rejection above, 35 USC § 102 paragraph 2), except a sequence of charger.
Moss discloses in figure 1A, a sequence of charger [see ¶0046 and claim 5 and figure 1].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify 653’ apparatus and apply sequence of charge pulses as taught by Moss in order to improve maintain the optimum efficiency of all batteries in the battery modules and also improve battery module efficiency.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859