Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: The specification, in reference to Figure 8B, in paragraphs [0074]-[0093] refer to elements 1050-1095; however, those elements do not appear in the figures. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: In Figure 8B, reference labels 850-895 are not mentioned in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7-9, 15-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chew (US 2017/0329729) and further in view of Pryor (US 8,339,404) and further in view of Huo (US 2023/0070224) and further in view of Shen (US 2016/0350245).
Regarding claim 1, Chew teaches: At least one non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one machine, results in performance of operations comprising:
invoking, from a software application, a hardware accelerator library using an application programming interface (API) function (¶ 29, “issuing of a task may include invoking an application programming interface (API) of a graphics driver such that the API includes a thread identification (ID) referencing a thread”);
registering a callback function within the software application to be invoked upon completion of a hardware accelerator library operation (¶ 152, “the API call may include this additional information, such as a thread ID, a pointer to a callback function, etc” and ¶ 155, “interrupt handler 1530 may signal (or wake up) the CPU thread associated with the thread ID and passes the callback function pointer associated with the thread ID to the CPU thread”); and
accessing hardware functionality of a computing system using the hardware accelerator library (¶ 161, “when CPU 1512 needs to issue a task to GPU 1514, a CPU thread associated with CPU 1512 may invoke an API call of graphics driver 1516 to issue the task to be performed by GPU 1514”);
wherein:
the callback function is configurable to comprise an asynchronous callback function to be registered within the software application (¶ 151, “Embodiments provides for interrupt mechanism 1510 to emulate GPU callback interrupts that enable multiple CPU threads to asynchronously issue tasks to GPU 1514”);
in an event that the asynchronous callback function is registered within the software application, the software application is to perform one or more other functionalities (¶ 152, “Once the task is sent, the CPU thread may continue with performing other tasks while waiting on a signal at a point when it needs any computation results from GPU 1512 to proceed”) until (1) notification of the completion of the hardware accelerator library operation (¶ 181, “CPU thread 1851 receiving the signal and consequently, waking up at 1809, which, in turn, invokes the callback function with the memory pointer as input to callback at 1811”) and (2) generation of result data of the hardware accelerator library operation (¶ 166, “one or more CPU threads, including the CPU thread, may receive a signal, as facilitated by interrupt handler facilitation logic 1607 using interrupt handler 1530, and invoke, as facilitated by detection/invocation logic 1601, a callback function to process their respective GPU computation results”).
Chew does not teach as clearly as Pryor teaches: a hardware accelerator library (col. 2:63-67 and col. 3:1, “a programmer unfamiliar with CUDA can create a C or C++ code which interfaces with OpenGL and CG. Open GL, short for Open Graphics Library, is a lower level API, which stands for application-programmer interface which is used for creating applications that produce both two dimensional and three dimensional computer graphics”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to have applied the known technique of a hardware accelerator library, as taught by Pryor, in the same way to the invocation, as taught by Chew. Both inventions are in the field of implementing hardware acceleration, and combining them would have predictably resulted in “a processing system that directs central processing unit instructions to be executed on a graphics processing unit,” as indicated by Pryor (col. 1:16-18).
Chew and Pryor do not teach; however, Huo discloses: an agent executed by multiple nodes is to perform node registration with an API service using a hostname or a flag (¶ 35, “The kubelet is the primary “node agent” that runs on each worker node. The kubelet can register the node with the apiserver using any one or more of the hostname, a flag to override the hostname, and/or specific logic for a cloud provider”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to have applied the known technique of an agent executed by multiple nodes is to perform node registration with an API service using a hostname or a flag, as taught by Huo, in the same way to the performance operations, as taught by Chew and Pryor. Both inventions are in the field of hardware accelerators in distributed computing environments, and combining them would have predictably resulted in “automating deployment, scaling, and operations of application containers across clusters of hosts,” as indicated by Huo (¶ 2).
Chew, Pryor, and Huo do not teach, however, Shen teaches: the invoking of the hardware accelerator library using the API function comprises using a wrapped API to access multiple batched accelerator operations associated with the hardware accelerator library (¶ 12, “the computing device 100 combines multiple GPU workloads into a single DMA packet without merging (e.g., manually combining, by an application developer) the workloads into a single workload. In other words, with the batch submission mechanism 150, the computing device 100 can create a single DMA packet that contains multiple, separate GPU workloads” and ¶ 2, “The other part of the host programming interface is the host runtime library, which runs on the CPU side and provides a set of APIs to allow the user to launch the GPU programs to GPU for execution”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to have applied the known technique of the invoking of the hardware accelerator library using the API function comprises using a wrapped API to access multiple batched accelerator operations associated with the hardware accelerator library, as taught by Shen, in the same way to the invoking the hardware accelerator library, as taught by Chew, Pryor, and Huo. Both inventions are in the field of hardware accelerators in distributed computing environments, and combining them would have predictably resulted in “reduce the amount of GPU processing time,” as indicated by Shen (¶ 12).
Regarding claim 4, Chew teaches: The at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the API function invokes a function of a low-level accelerator library and the low-level accelerator library invokes a corresponding hardware accelerator (¶ 128, “In some embodiments, kernel mode graphics driver 1029 communicates with graphics processor 1032 to dispatch commands and instructions”).
Regarding claim 5, Pryor teaches: The at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 4, wherein the low-level accelerator library is written in one of C, C++, or assembly computing language (col. 3:3-6, “CG is based roughly on the C programming language which allows a programmer to create complex graphics without having to learn a GPU assembly language”).
Regarding claim 7, Pryor teaches: The at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the API comprises a high-level API and high-level abstraction functions separate from the high-level API (col. 8:5-7, “a MATLAB.RTM. interface. The interface consists of a series of MATLAB.RTM. functions, known as supplemental functions,”), the high-level abstraction functions invoked by the high-level API to invoke hardware accelerator functions (col. 8:47-49, “The supplemental functions then either manipulates or returns a state associated with the GPU”).
Regarding claim 8, Chew teaches: The at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, further comprising batching a plurality of invocations (¶ 56, “the ring buffer can additionally include batch command buffers storing batches of multiple commands”).
Claims 9, 15-17, and 20 recite commensurate subject matter as claims 1, 5, 7, and 8. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 2, 10, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chew, Pryor, Huo, and Shen, as applied above, and further in view of Maeda (US 2023/0259411).
Regarding claim 2, Pryor teaches: The at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the API function is to provide for auto-switching among different accelerated devices and/or central processing unit (CPU) usages (col. 7:54-57, “The system will also determine if the system has a GPU function corresponding to the CPU function about to be executed and, if so, the function is executed on the GPU 216. Otherwise, it will be executed on the CPU”).
Chew, Pryor, Huo, and Shen do not teach; however, Maeda discloses: the software application is a cloud native (CN) application and wherein the hardware accelerator library operation is asynchronous (¶ 2, “Considering the current increase in Cloud Native application development, the publication and reuse of Web APIs that utilize light RESTful web services are becoming more prevalent. In such cases, one business use case is achieved by making multiple asynchronous calls to an API”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to have applied the known technique of the software application is a cloud native (CN) application and wherein the hardware accelerator library operation is asynchronous, as taught by Maeda, in the same way to the software application, as taught by Chew, Pryor, Huo, and Shen. Both inventions are in the field of making API calls, and combining them would have predictably resulted in “preventing deadlocks in application programming interface (API) calls,” as indicated by Maeda (¶ 1).
Claims 10 and 18 recite commensurate subject matter as claim 2. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chew, Pryor, Huo, Shen, and Maeda, as applied above, and further in view of Balbi (US 2023/0092752).
Regarding claim 3, Chew, Pryor, Huo, Shen, and Maeda do not teach; however, Balbi discloses: the CN application source code is written in one of a high-level programming language including one of a Rust computer language or a GO computer language (¶ 28, “the compiler 230 is pre-configured to support at least the RUST and GO languages, as these languages are highly popular among API developers and managers”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to have applied the known technique of the CN application source code is written in one of a high-level programming language including one of a Rust computer language or a GO computer language, as taught by Maeda, in the same way to the software application, as taught by Chew, Pryor, Huo, Shen, and Maeda. Both inventions are in the field of making API calls, and combining them would have predictably resulted in “a policy development kit for development of gateway policies,” as indicated by Balbi (¶ 1).
Claims 11-13 recite commensurate subject matter as claims 3-5. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chew, Pryor, Huo, and Shen, as applied above, and further in view of Daly (US 2017/0180273).
Regarding claim 6, Chew, Pryor, Huo, and Shen do not teach; however, Daly discloses: the operations further comprise providing a data plane library corresponding to at least one hardware accelerator (¶ 15, “Data plane components can include, by way of non-limiting example, Data Plane Development Kit (DPDK) components, field programmable gate array (FPGA) components, and Red Rock Canyon (RRC)/FM10K switch components available from Intel of Santa Clara, Calif. among other components”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to have applied the known technique of the operations further comprise providing a data plane library corresponding to at least one hardware accelerator, as taught by Daly, in the same way to the software application, as taught by Chew, Pryor, Huo, and Shen. Both inventions are in the field of hardware acceleration, and combining them would have predictably resulted in “hardware acceleration of data packet processing,” as indicated by Daly (¶ 1).
Claim 14 recites commensurate subject matter as claim 6. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chew, Pryor, Huo, and Shen, as applied above, and further in view of Cai (US 2021/0152659).
Regarding claim 19, Chew, Pryor, Huo, and Shen do not teach; however, Cai discloses: the hardware functionality includes a cryptographic operation (¶ 26, “For example, the hardware accelerators can include: . . . cryptographic and/or compression functionality (e.g., secure sockets layer (SSL) acceleration);”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to have applied the known technique of the hardware functionality includes a cryptographic operation, as taught by Cai, in the same way to the hardware functionality, as taught by Chew, Pryor, Huo, and Shen. Both inventions are in the field of making API calls, and combining them would have predictably resulted in “cryptographic engines,” as indicated by Cai (¶ 28).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB D DASCOMB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198