DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-22 of copending Application No. 18/137, 157 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because clams 1-32 of the present Application are anticipated by claim 1-22 of copending Application No. 18/137, 157.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Givens (US 2021/0301391, cited in IDS) in view of Zyulkov (US 2021/0111025).
Regarding claim 1, Givens discloses a method for forming a mixed oxide dielectric film on a patterned substrate, the method comprising:(a) introducing a patterned substrate having metallic (204) and non-metallic regions (202) into a reaction zone of a deposition chamber and heating the reaction zone to about 175 °C to about 350 °C (Fig.2, [0048]; [0065]-[0068] and [0082]-[0085]);(b) exposing the patterned substrate to a pulse of a metal alkyl compound ([0071]); (c) purging the deposition chamber ([0050]); (d) exposing the patterned substrate to a pulse of a heteroatom compound ([0084]); (e) purging the deposition chamber ([0050]; note: ALD); (f) exposing the patterned substrate to a pulse of water ([0072])); (g) purging the deposition chamber ([0050]; note: ALD); and (h) repeating steps (b) to (g) until a desired mixed oxide dielectric film thickness is achieved ([0049]; note: ALD).
Givens does not disclose exposing the patterned substrate to a pulse of a heteroatom silacyclic compound selected from the group consisting of a cyclic azasilane, a cyclic tellurasilane, and a cyclic thiasilane.
Zyulkov however discloses exposing the patterned substrate to a pulse of a heteroatom silacyclic compound selected from the group consisting of a cyclic azasilane, a cyclic tellurasilane, and a cyclic thiasilane ([0191]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to modify Givens with Zyulkov to expose the patterned substrate to a pulse of a heteroatom silacyclic compound for the purpose of improved the coverage and the properties of an underlying film (Zyulkov, [0108]).
Regarding claim 17, Givens discloses a method for forming a mixed oxide dielectric film on a patterned substrate, the method comprising:(a) introducing a patterned substrate having metallic (204) and non-metallic regions (202) into a reaction zone of a deposition chamber and heating the reaction zone to about 175 °C to about 350 °C (Fig.2, [0048]; [0065]-[0068] and [0082]-[0085]);(b) exposing the patterned substrate to a pulse of a metal alkyl compound ([0071]); (c) purging the deposition chamber ([0050]); (d) exposing the patterned substrate to a pulse of a heteroatom compound ([0084]); (e) purging the deposition chamber ([0050]; note: ALD); (f) exposing the patterned substrate to a pulse of water ([0072])); (g) purging the deposition chamber ([0050]; note: ALD); and (h) repeating steps (b) to (g) until a desired mixed oxide dielectric film thickness is achieved ([0049]; note: ALD).
Givens does not disclose exposing the patterned substrate to a pulse of a heteroatom silacyclic compound selected from the group consisting of a cyclic azasilane, a cyclic tellurasilane, and a cyclic thiasilane; performing a plasma treatment step.
Zyulkov however discloses exposing the patterned substrate to a pulse of a heteroatom silacyclic compound selected from the group consisting of a cyclic azasilane, a cyclic tellurasilane, and a cyclic thiasilane ([0191]) and performing a plasma treatment step ([0188]- [0190]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to modify Givens with Zyulkov to expose the patterned substrate to a pulse of a heteroatom silacyclic compound and performing a plasma treatment for the purpose of improved the coverage and the properties of an underlying film (Zyulkov, [0108]).
Regarding claims 2, and 18 Zyulkov discloses performing a plasma treatment step prior to step (a) ([0188]- [0190]).
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Zyulkov discloses performing at least one plasma treatment step before or after any of steps (a) to (g) ((a to (i) ([0188]- [0190]).
Regarding claims 4 and 20, Givens discloses between steps (a) and (b) exposing the patterned substrate to a chemical compound that inhibits growth on some or all of the metallic regions and optionally removing the chemical compound after step (h) ([0032]- [0040]).
Regarding claims 5 and 21, Givens discloses wherein the mixed oxide dielectric layer selectively forms on the non-metallic regions of the patterned substrate ([0032]- [0040]).
Regarding claims 6 ,7, 22, and 23, Givens discloses the metal alkyl compound is trimethyl aluminum ([0071]).
Regarding claims 8 ,9, 24, and 25, Zyulkov discloses that the heteroatom silacyclic compound is N-methyl-aza-2, 2, 4-trimethysilacyclopentane ([0191]).
Regarding claims 10 and 26, Givens discloses wherein the metallic region of the substrate comprises at least one of copper, cobalt, tungsten, ruthenium, and molybdenum ([0019]- [0023]).
Regarding claims 11 and 27, Givens discloses wherein the non-metallic region of the substrate comprises at least one of silicon, germanium, silicon-germanium alloy, silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, silicon oxycarbide, silicon oxynitride, silicon carboxynitride, aluminum oxide, hafnium dioxide, titanium dioxide, and zinc oxide ([0019]- [0023]).
Regarding claims 12 and 28, Givens discloses the substrate is silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, or copper on silicon ([0019]- [0023]).
Regarding claims 13 and 29, Zyulkov discloses wherein the pulse length of the heteroatom silacyclic compound in step (d) is about 0.1 to about 10 seconds, the pulse length of the metal alkyl compound in step (b) is about 0.1 to about 10 seconds, and the pulse length of the water in step (f) is about 0.1 to about 10 seconds ([0172]).
Regarding claims 14 and 30, Givens does not disclose wherein the reaction zone in step (a) is heated to about 225 °C to about 275 °C.
Zyulkov however discloses wherein the reaction zone in step (a) is heated to about 225 °C to about 275 °C ([0120]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to modify Givens with Zyulkov to adjust the temperature to be in the claimed range for the purpose of optimization the deposition process.
Regarding claims 15 ,16, 31, and 32, Givens in view of Zyulkov does not disclose wherein the mixed oxide dielectric film has a thickness of about 5 nm to about 15 nm.
Givens however discloses that the process is repeated until the desired thickness is achieved ([0031]; [0087]).
It would have been however obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adjust the thickness of the mixed oxide dielectric film to be in the claimed range for the purpose of optimizing deposition process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/01/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments that Zyulkov does not disclose exposing the patterned substrate to a pulse of a heteroatom silacyclic compound selected from the group consisting of a cyclic azasilane, a cyclic tellurasilane, and a cyclic thiasilane are not persuasive because Zyulkov discloses that the heteroatom silacyclic compound is N-methyl-aza-2, 2, 4-trimethysilacyclopentane ([0191]).
In response to applicant's argument that the prior art does disclose using cyclic azasilane, a cyclic tellurasilane, and a cyclic thiasilane asblocking agents for selective deposition techniques, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). In the present case Givens discloses all limitations of claims 1 and 17 except exposing the patterned substrate to a pulse of a heteroatom silacyclic compound selected from the group consisting of a cyclic azasilane, a cyclic tellurasilane, and a cyclic thiasilane; performing a plasma treatment step. Zyulkov however discloses exposing the patterned substrate to a pulse of a heteroatom silacyclic compound selected from the group consisting of a cyclic azasilane, a cyclic tellurasilane, and a cyclic thiasilane ([0191]) and performing a plasma treatment step ([0188]- [0190]). It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to modify Givens with Zyulkov to expose the patterned substrate to a pulse of a heteroatom silacyclic compound and performing a plasma treatment for the purpose of improved the coverage and the properties of an underlying film (Zyulkov, [0108]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891