DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s remarks/amendments of claims 1-3 in the reply filed on December 11th, 2025, are acknowledged. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 4-5 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claim 3 cancelled. New claims 6-7 have been added. Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are pending.
Action on merits of claims 1-2 and 6-7 as follows.
35 USC § 112(f)/sixth paragraph
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “one channel configured for a cooling fluid to flow…”; and “a manifold configured to introduce the cooling fluid into the at least one channel…” as recited in claim 1.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elsherbini (US 2021/0407888, hereinafter as Elsh ‘888) in view of Zhou (US 2021/0180880, hereinafter as Zhou ‘880).
Regarding Claim 1, Elsh ‘888 teaches a semiconductor device thermal management module comprising:
a thermal diffusion plate (solid pad, Fig. 9, (906); [0127]) stacked on a semiconductor device (901; [0126]) for thermal diffusion of the semiconductor device;
a heat spreader (100; [0051], [0068]) disposed on the thermal diffusion plate, and having at least one channel configured for a cooling fluid to flow there through (microchannels; see para. [0127]) and a manifold (909; [0127]) disposed on an upper side of the heat spreader configured to introduce the cooling fluid into the channel, and having a flow path capable of communicating with the channel of the heat spreader, wherein an inlet line and a discharge line, for the cooling fluid, forming the flow path are partitioned from each other. Examiner considers the fluid conduit (909) is the manifold.
Thus, Elsh ‘888 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the features: “the flow path includes a plurality of inlet lines and a plurality of discharge lines partitioned from each other, wherein each inlet line includes a first open entrance for entry of the cooling fluid, a first closed exit, and a first elongated middle section extending in an axial direction perpendicular to the at least one channel of the heat spreader, wherein each discharge line includes a second open entrance corresponding to the first closed exit of the adjacent inlet line, a second closed exit corresponding to the first open entrance of the adjacent inlet line, and a second elongated middle section extending in an axial direction perpendicular to the at least one channel of the heat spreader, and wherein the discharge lines are disposed between adjacent inlet lines”.
Zhou ‘880 teaches the flow path includes a plurality of inlet lines (Fig. 4B, (442); [0029]) and a plurality of discharge lines (Fig. 4B, (442); [0029]) partitioned from each other, wherein each inlet line includes a first open entrance for entry of the cooling fluid, a first closed exit, and a first elongated middle section extending in an axial direction perpendicular to the at least one channel of the heat spreader, wherein each discharge line (444) includes a second open entrance corresponding to the first closed exit of the adjacent inlet line, a second closed exit corresponding to the first open entrance of the adjacent inlet line, and a second elongated middle section extending in an axial direction perpendicular to the at least one channel of the heat spreader, and wherein the discharge lines are disposed between adjacent inlet lines (see Figs. 2 and 4B).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Elsh ‘888 by having a plurality of inlet lines and a plurality of discharge lines partitioned from each other, wherein each inlet line includes a first open entrance for entry of the cooling fluid, a first closed exit, and a first elongated middle section extending in an axial direction perpendicular to the at least one channel of the heat spreader, wherein each discharge line includes a second open entrance corresponding to the first closed exit of the adjacent inlet line, a second closed exit corresponding to the first open entrance of the adjacent inlet line, and a second elongated middle section extending in an axial direction perpendicular to the at least one channel of the heat spreader, and wherein the discharge lines are disposed between adjacent inlet lines in order to reduce pumping power in regions with less heat flux and increase thermal performance in regions with more heat flux, thereby optimally balancing the tradeoff between pumping power and thermal performance and fluid performance (see para. [0063]) as suggested by Zhou ‘880.
Fig. 9 (Elsh ‘888)
Fig. 2 (Zhou ‘880)
Regarding Claim 2, Elsh ‘888 teaches the heat spreader includes a first spreader layer having a channel of a relatively small hydraulic diameter (microchannels; [0127]), and a second channel (402) disposed on an upper side of the first spreader layer, the second channel communicating with the first channel (see Fig. 4).
Thus, Elsh ‘888 and Zhou ‘880 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the features: “a second channel of a larger hydraulic diameter than that of the first channel”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a second channel of a larger hydraulic diameter than that of the first channel on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select a second channel of a larger hydraulic diameter than that of the first channel when this improving convective heat transfer of the semiconductor device.
Regarding Claim 6, Zhou ‘880 teaches the thermal diffusion plate (Fig. 5A, (522); [0056]) and the heat spreader (Fig. 5A, (500); [0055]) are integrally formed of same material.
Regarding Claim 7, Zhou ‘880 teaches the at least one channel (Fig. 3B, (325); [0034]) comprises a porous structure including a plurality of interconnected pores in a three-dimensional space (e.g. a three-dimensional microchannel structure (328); [0034]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 6-7, filed on December 11th, 2025, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Interviews After Final
Applicants note that an interview after a final rejection is permitted in order to place the application in condition for allowance or to resolve issues prior to appeal. However, prior to the interview, the intended purpose and content of the interview should be presented briefly, preferably in writing. Upon review of the agenda, the Examiner may grant the interview if the examiner is convinced that disposal or clarification for appeal may be accomplished with only nominal further consideration. Interviews merely to restate arguments of record or to discuss new limitations will be denied. See MPEP § 714.13
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DZUNG TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893