DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 04/09/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 11-23 remain pending. Applicant’s amendment to the Claims overcomes the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of Claims 1-21.
Applicant’s amendment to Claim 1 (and similarly claim 14) detail the following amendments:
generate a data packet comprising time-related quantum data indicative of a time (t) at which the one or more measurements are applied to the first quantum system
time-related quantum data indicative of a time duration (delta t) during which the one or more measurements are applied to the first quantum system
compare the time-related quantum data with a coherence time window for the first quantum system
discard information obtained from measurements that occurred outside of the coherence time window
Examiner notes that:
(a) is supported from the original filed application from the now cancelled Claim 7 (originally dependent on Claim 1).
(b) is supported from the original filed application from the now cancelled claim 9 (originally dependent on Claim 1).
(d) is supported from the original filed application from the now cancelled Claims 8 (originally dependent on Claim 7) and 10 (originally dependent on Claim 9).
With regards to (c), the originally filed claims nor specification explicitly detail a step of performing a comparison of the time-related quantum data (t and delta t) with a coherence time window. As limitation (d) details an action (discarding information) in response to measurements that occurred outside of the coherence time window, this means implicitly that a comparison occurs with respect to the coherence time window. Originally filed Claims 7-8 detail the discarding occurring with time (t) and originally filed claims 9-10 detail the discarding occurring with the time duration (delta t). Evaluation of the specification details support for the time related quantum data containing the time (t) and the time duration (Δt) in [0044]-[0045].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-11, filed 04/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of previously disclosed prior art Xiang (US20220150044) and newly discovered prior art Vacon (US20220114471). Newly discovered prior art Vacon teaches the amended limitations that were previously associated with now cancelled Claims 8 and 10. Furthermore, Examiner notes while Vacon does not explicitly detail the comparison step, the step is implicit as it is in the instant application as the comparison occurs for the discard determination.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0044] and [0045] of the specification details “may identify measurements that ae time-stamped”. The “ae” should be “are” in both paragraphs.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 14-20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang (US20220150044) in view of Vacon (US20220114471).
In regards to Claim 1, Xiang teaches “a first quantum measurement module operably coupled with a first quantum system (quantum measurement and control system (QMC) that is configured to run a quantum program to implement quantum algorithms and is responsible for connecting a classical computer and a quantum chip – [0048]; the QMC system includes an measurement and control (MC) network including a plurality of measurement and control subgroups (MCSGs) 10 where each MCSG includes a measurement unit 11 and a plurality of control unit 12 – [0151], Figure 7; each MCSG is configured to perform MC on a physical qubit group, i.e. quantum system – [0073]), wherein the first quantum measurement module is configured to:
apply one or more measurements to the first quantum system (measurement unit 11 is configured to measure a quantum state of each physical qubit in the physical qubit group corresponding to the MCSG – [0076]; measurement unit executes TXI and RXI to complete quantum measurement – Step 4 in Figure 9 and [0181]); and
obtain information associated with the first quantum system based on the one or more measurements (measurement unit returns a result of a quantum algorithm, i.e. information associated with the quantum system, to a user computer – [0187], Figure 9 Step 10); and
a first data processing unit (DPU) operably coupled with the first quantum measurement module (Figure 5 details data packet to the router with details of the source and destination address along with data, i.e. measurements; Figure 9 details the measurement unit shares measurement result through a router in Step 5 – [0182]; Table 9 details the receive instruction set which includes the length of time of a measurement window – [0175]) and configured to:
generate a data packet comprising time-related quantum data indicative of a time (t) at which the one or more measurements are applied to the first quantum system and indicative of a time duration (Δt) during which the one or more measurements are applied to the first quantum system (control unit transmits the control microwaves at exactly the same time, and measurements are performed during the measurement window – [0101]; Figure 5 details data packet to the router with details of the source and destination address along with data, i.e. measurements; Figure 9 details the measurement unit shares measurement result through a router in Step 5 – [0182]; Table 9 details the receive instruction set which includes the length of time of a measurement window [i.e. Δt], measurement window is has a specific time length that it lasts that is associated with clock cycle – [0175]).”
Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “compare the time-related quantum data with a coherence time window for the first quantum system; and discard information obtained from measurements that occurred outside of the coherence time window”
Vacon teaches “compare the time-related quantum data with a coherence time window for the first quantum system; and discard information obtained from measurements that occurred outside of the coherence time window (“The quantum entangled caches 208 , 208 ′ can include a mechanism for determining the coherence of qubits at each node. Coherence is a metric of the degree of entanglement. In some embodiments, this mechanism includes a coherence detector with some discard mechanism. In some particular embodiments, this mechanism has knowledge of reliable statistics on coherence half-life [i.e. coherence time window] and uses at least one of many different types of error correcting coding. Qubits may be discarded after an age-out, for example after a known half-life, or alternatively an age-out based on a known error rate or error condition. In some embodiments, both these mechanisms are used.” – [0045]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang to incorporate the teaching of Vacon to utilize information on the coherence half-life to discard data. By discarding data based on the coherence half-life and other conditions, this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the accuracy of measuring quantum systems.
In regards to Claim 2, Xiang in view of Vacon discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the data packet is generated local to the quantum device by the first DPU (Figure 5 details data packet to the router with details of the source and destination address along with data; the wormhole router is deployed on a measurement unit of each MCSG, i.e. local – [0059]; Figure 7 shows the measurement unit having the router built in).”
In regards to Claim 4, Xiang in view of Vacon discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the quantum device is operably coupled with a central control unit via a classical communication channel (the MCSGs are connected to a host, i.e. central control unit, through a PCIe interface or ethernet interface, i.e. classical communication channel, and can configure the MCSGs – [0152], Figure 7).”
In regards to Claim 5, Xiang in view of Vacon discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the first DPU is configured to transmit the generated data packet to the central control unit and an associated network (wormhole router is a router responsible for serial transmission of data between nodes and the wormhole router is deployed on a measurement unit of each MCSG and the measurement result data and synchronization pulse signal can be transmitted from any node in the network to another node through the wormhole router – [0059]; network transmission data packet of the measurement result is defined and transmitted in a point-to-point manner [0130]; the router corresponds to sending data packets along the 5 transmission directions of east, west, south, north, and a processor – [0136]).”
In regards to Claim 6, Xiang in view of Vacon discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the first DPU is configured to perform one or more operations on the obtained information associated with the first quantum system during the coherence time window associated with the first quantum system (strong phase coherence is required for regulating a microwave signal and to perform a multi-bit gate operation for a control unit in an MC network, all TX channels of the control unit may need to transmit control microwaves at exactly the same time, and to perform measurement, for a measurement unit in the MC network, a time difference may need to be maintained between a read pulse and a measurement window of the measurement unit, where the feedback control and error correction algorithm requires strict synchronization of a time sequence between control units and measurement unit – [0101]).”
In regards to Claim 14, Xiang teaches “a first quantum device (quantum measurement and control system (QMC) – [0048]; the QMC system includes an measurement and control (MC) network including a plurality of measurement and control subgroups (MCSGs) 10 where each MCSG includes a measurement unit 11 and a plurality of control unit 12 – [0151], Figure 7; Figure 7 details at least 16 MCSG units, where the first quantum device is considered to be the MCSG in the first row/first column position) comprising:
a first quantum measurement module operably coupled with a first quantum system (quantum measurement and control system (QMC) that is configured to run a quantum program to implement quantum algorithms and is responsible for connecting a classical computer and a quantum chip – [0048]; the QMC system includes an measurement and control (MC) network including a plurality of measurement and control subgroups (MCSGs) 10 where each MCSG includes a measurement unit 11 and a plurality of control unit 12 – [0151], Figure 7; each MCSG is configured to perform MC on a physical qubit group, i.e. quantum system – [0073]), wherein the first quantum measurement module is configured to:
apply one or more measurements to the first quantum system (measurement unit 11 is configured to measure a quantum state of each physical qubit in the physical qubit group corresponding to the MCSG – [0076]; measurement unit executes TXI and RXI to complete quantum measurement – Step 4 in Figure 9 and [0181]); and
obtain information associated with the first quantum system based on the one or more measurements (measurement unit returns a result of a quantum algorithm, i.e. information associated with the quantum system, to a user computer – [0187], Figure 9 Step 10); and
a first data processing unit (DPU) operably coupled with the first quantum measurement module and configured to:
generate a first data packet comprising time-related quantum data indicative of a time (ti) at which the one or more measurements are applied to the first quantum system and indicative of a time duration (Ati) during which the one or more measurements are applied to the first quantum system by the first quantum measurement device (control unit transmits the control microwaves at exactly the same time, and measurements are performed during the measurement window – [0101]; Figure 5 details data packet to the router with details of the source and destination address along with data, i.e. measurements; Figure 9 details the measurement unit shares measurement result through a router in Step 5 – [0182]; Table 9 details the receive instruction set which includes the length of time of a measurement window [i.e. Δt], measurement window is has a specific time length that it lasts that is associated with clock cycle – [0175]); and
a second quantum device (quantum measurement and control system (QMC) – [0048]; the QMC system includes a measurement and control (MC) network including a plurality of measurement and control subgroups (MCSGs) 10 where each MCSG includes a measurement unit 11 and a plurality of control unit 12 – [0151], Figure 7; Figure 7 details at least 16 MCSG units, where the second quantum device is considered to be the MCSG in the first row/second column position) comprising:
a second quantum measurement module operably coupled with a second quantum system (quantum measurement and control system (QMC) that is configured to run a quantum program to implement quantum algorithms and is responsible for connecting a classical computer and a quantum chip – [0048]; the QMC system includes an measurement and control (MC) network including a plurality of measurement and control subgroups (MCSGs) 10 where each MCSG includes a measurement unit 11 and a plurality of control unit 12 – [0151], Figure 7; each MCSG is configured to perform MC on a physical qubit group, i.e. quantum system – [0073]), wherein the second quantum measurement module is configured to:
apply one or more measurements to the second quantum system (measurement unit 11 is configured to measure a quantum state of each physical qubit in the physical qubit group corresponding to the MCSG – [0076]; measurement unit executes TXI and RXI to complete quantum measurement – Step 4 in Figure 9 and [0181]); and
obtain information associated with the second quantum system based on the one or more measurements (measurement unit returns a result of a quantum algorithm, i.e. information associated with the quantum system, to a user computer – [0187], Figure 9 Step 10); and
a second DPU operably coupled with the second quantum measurement module and configured to generate a second data packet, comprising time-related quantum data based upon at least one of: the one or more measurements by the second quantum measurement module, or the obtained information associated with the second quantum system (Figure 5 details data packet to the router with details of the source and destination address along with data; Figure 9 details the measurement unit shares measurement result through a router in Step 5 – [0182]; Table 9 details the receive instruction set which includes the length of time of a measurement window – [0175]; Figure 7 shows each MCSG unit includes its own router and processor).”
Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “compare the time-related quantum data with a coherence time window for the first quantum system; and discard information obtained from measurements that occurred outside of the coherence time window”
Vacon teaches “compare the time-related quantum data with a coherence time window for the first quantum system; and discard information obtained from measurements that occurred outside of the coherence time window (“The quantum entangled caches 208 , 208 ′ can include a mechanism for determining the coherence of qubits at each node. Coherence is a metric of the degree of entanglement. In some embodiments, this mechanism includes a coherence detector with some discard mechanism. In some particular embodiments, this mechanism has knowledge of reliable statistics on coherence half-life [i.e. coherence time window] and uses at least one of many different types of error correcting coding. Qubits may be discarded after an age-out, for example after a known half-life, or alternatively an age-out based on a known error rate or error condition. In some embodiments, both these mechanisms are used.” – [0045]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang to incorporate the teaching of Vacon to utilize information on the coherence half-life to discard data. By discarding data based on the coherence half-life and other conditions, this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the accuracy of measuring quantum systems.
In regards to Claim 15, Xiang in view of Vacon discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the first data packet is generated local to the first quantum device by the first DPU, and the second data packet is generated local to the second quantum device by the second DPU (Figure 5 details data packet to the router with details of the source and destination address along with data; the wormhole router is deployed on a measurement unit of each MCSG, i.e. local – [0059]; Figure 7 shows the each MCSG having its own measurement unit and each measurement unit with its own router built in, i.e. local).”
In regards to Claim 16, Xiang in view of Vacon discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the first quantum device and the second quantum device are each operably coupled with a central control unit via a classical communication channel (the MCSGs are connected to a host, i.e. central control unit, through a PCIe interface or ethernet interface, i.e. classical communication channel, and can configure the MCSGs – [0152], Figure 7).”
In regards to Claim 17, Xiang in view of Vacon discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the first DPU is configured to perform one or more operations on the obtained information associated with the first quantum system during the coherence time window associated with the first quantum system (strong phase coherence is required for regulating a microwave signal and to perform a multi-bit gate operation for a control unit in an MC network, all TX channels of the control unit may need to transmit control microwaves at exactly the same time, and to perform measurement, for a measurement unit in the MC network, a time difference may need to be maintained between a read pulse and a measurement window of the measurement unit, where the feedback control and error correction algorithm requires strict synchronization of a time sequence between control units and measurement unit – [0101]).”
In regards to Claim 18, Xiang in view of Vacon discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the second DPU is configured to perform one or more operations on the obtained information associated with the second quantum system during the coherence time window associated with the second quantum system (strong phase coherence is required for regulating a microwave signal and to perform a multi-bit gate operation for a control unit in an MC network, all TX channels of the control unit may need to transmit control microwaves at exactly the same time, and to perform measurement, for a measurement unit in the MC network, a time difference may need to be maintained between a read pulse and a measurement window of the measurement unit, where the feedback control and error correction algorithm requires strict synchronization of a time sequence between control units and measurement unit – [0101]).”
In regards to Claim 19, Xiang in view of Vacon discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein: the time-related quantum data of the generated second data packet is indicative of a time (t2) at which the one or more measurements are applied to the second quantum system by the second quantum measurement module (control unit transmits the control microwaves at exactly the same time [i.e. measurements are performed simultaneously, so t1 and t2 are the same], and measurements are performed during the measurement window – [0101]; Table 9 details the receive instruction which includes the delay and length – [0172]; measurement window occurs within a delay that is associated with the number of clock cycles to wait before the start of each measurement window – [0174]; measurement window is has a specific time length that it lasts that is associated with clock cycle – [0175]).”
In regards to Claim 20, Xiang in view of Vacon discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein: the time-related quantum data of the second data packet is indicative of a time duration (Δt2) during which the one or more measurements are applied to the second quantum system by the second quantum measurement module (control unit transmits the control microwaves at exactly the same time, and measurements are performed during the measurement window – [0101]; measurement window is has a specific time length that it lasts that is associated with clock cycle – [0175]; Table 9 details the receive instruction set which includes the length of time of a measurement window, i.e. time duration Δt1 and Δt2 are the same as the measurements are performed simultaneous and the measurement window is determined by the specific length related to a clock cycle – [0175]).”
In regards to Claim 22, Xiang in view of Vacon teaches the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the second data processing unit (DPU) is further configured to: generate the data packet comprising time-related quantum data indicative of a time (t2) at which the one or more measurements are applied to the second quantum system and indicative of a time duration (At2) during which the one or more measurements are applied to the second quantum system (control unit transmits the control microwaves at exactly the same time, and measurements are performed during the measurement window – [0101]; Figure 5 details data packet to the router with details of the source and destination address along with data, i.e. measurements; Figure 9 details the measurement unit shares measurement result through a router in Step 5 – [0182]; Table 9 details the receive instruction set which includes the length of time of a measurement window [i.e. Δt], measurement window is has a specific time length that it lasts that is associated with clock cycle – [0175]).
Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “compare the time-related quantum data with a coherence time window for the second quantum system; and discard information obtained from measurements that occurred outside of the coherence time window”
Vacon further teaches “compare the time-related quantum data with a coherence time window for the second quantum system; and discard information obtained from measurements that occurred outside of the coherence time window (“The quantum entangled caches 208 , 208 ′ can include a mechanism for determining the coherence of qubits at each node. Coherence is a metric of the degree of entanglement. In some embodiments, this mechanism includes a coherence detector with some discard mechanism. In some particular embodiments, this mechanism has knowledge of reliable statistics on coherence half-life [i.e. coherence time window] and uses at least one of many different types of error correcting coding. Qubits may be discarded after an age-out, for example after a known half-life, or alternatively an age-out based on a known error rate or error condition. In some embodiments, both these mechanisms are used.” – [0045]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang to incorporate the teaching of Vacon to utilize information on the coherence half-life to discard data. By discarding data based on the coherence half-life and other conditions, this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the accuracy of measuring quantum systems.
In regards to Claim 23, Xiang in view of Vacon teaches the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “the coherence time window for the first quantum system defines a time period during which a quantum state of the first quantum system exists before losing information; and the coherence time window for the second quantum system defines a time period during which a quantum state of the second quantum system exists before losing information.”
Vacon further teaches “the coherence time window for the first quantum system defines a time period during which a quantum state of the first quantum system exists before losing information; and the coherence time window for the second quantum system defines a time period during which a quantum state of the second quantum system exists before losing information (“The quantum entangled caches 208 , 208 ′ can include a mechanism for determining the coherence of qubits at each node. Coherence is a metric of the degree of entanglement. In some embodiments, this mechanism includes a coherence detector with some discard mechanism. In some particular embodiments, this mechanism has knowledge of reliable statistics on coherence half-life and uses at least one of many different types of error correcting coding. Qubits may be discarded after an age-out, for example after a known half-life, or alternatively an age-out based on a known error rate or error condition. In some embodiments, both these mechanisms are used. Some embodiments rely on entanglement purification, which uses measurements on a number, n, of adjacent qubits to determine with high probability that a given qubit is entangled. Thus, various mechanisms can be used to determine coherence of one or more qubits that are part of an entangled system” – [0045]; “The quantum entangled cache 300 includes a fidelity system 326 that is connected to the quantum store 308 and to the classical store 322 . The fidelity system 326 can identify and remove or otherwise reject bad qubits, such as a bad qubit in slot 327 . This would include, for example, qubits that have or will soon collapse and/or have lost certain predetermined fidelity, entanglement and/or coherence properties. The fidelity system can tag a bad qubit to inform a user that it is bad. It should be understood that the fidelity system 326 , as well as the associated configuration of the quantum cache 300 , can be configured to operate with populations of qubits, and not necessarily at a single qubit-by-qubit level in a deterministic way. That is, groups of qubits representing a single qubit state are anticipated, and qubit states are represented by measurements on the ensemble. In these systems, predetermined fidelity levels would be expected to be based on ensembles. Fidelities, entanglement and/or coherence properties can be non-deterministic and represented by probabilities and/or other statistical metrics” – [0050]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang to incorporate the teaching of Vacon to utilize information on the coherence half-life to discard data. By discarding data based on the coherence half-life and other conditions, this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the accuracy of measuring quantum systems.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang in view of Vacon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Farinholt (US20220329417).
In regards to Claim 3, Xiang in view of Vacon discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “wherein a strength of the one or more measurements by the first quantum measurement module is configured to prevent a wave function collapse associated with the first quantum system.”
Farinholt teaches “wherein a strength of the one or more measurements by the first quantum measurement module is configured to prevent a wave function collapse associated with the first quantum system (the probability for the weak measurement to collapse the unital qubit state into its orthogonal state is given by equation (26) – [0102]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang in view of Vacon to incorporate the teaching of Farinholt to utilize weak measurements of the qubit system to prevent the wave function collapse. By using a weak measurement of the quantum system this is an improvement to perform measurements on the quantum state and to perform error correction on the measurements while not disturbing the quantum state.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang in view of Vacon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (KR102098285B1).
In regards to Claim 11, Xiang in view of Vacon discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “a second quantum measurement module operably coupled with the first quantum system, wherein the second quantum measurement module is configured to: apply one or more measurements to the first quantum system; and obtain information associated with the first quantum system based on the one or more measurements.”
Kim teaches “a second quantum measurement module operably coupled with the first quantum system, wherein the second quantum measurement module is configured to: apply one or more measurements to the first quantum system (first measurement unit and second measurement unit for measuring observable quantity of a quantum state of the qubit – [0010]); and obtain information associated with the first quantum system based on the one or more measurements (control unit measures component, i.e. obtain information, of quantum process based on the first and second observable quantities – [0010]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang in view of Vacon to incorporate the teaching of Kim to utilize a second measurement unit to measure the qubit. By utilizing a second measurement unit to perform measuring operations on the qubit yields predictable results for the measurement of the sequential observables of a quantum system.
In regards to Claim 12, Xiang in view of Vacon and Kim discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “the first DPU is further operably coupled with the second quantum measurement module.”
Kim further teaches “the first DPU is further operably coupled with the second quantum measurement module (control unit, i.e. DPU, measures component of quantum process based on the first and second observable quantities – [0010]; control unit controls the operation and data flow of the measurement units – [0044]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang in view of Vacon to incorporate the teaching of Kim to utilize a second measurement unit to measure the qubit. By utilizing a second measurement unit to perform measuring operations on the qubit yields predictable results for the measurement of the sequential observables of a quantum system.
In regards to Claim 13, Xiang in view of Vacon and Kim discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the first DPU is further configured to generate the data packet comprising time-related quantum data based upon the one or more measurements by the first quantum measurement module (Figure 5 details data packet to the router with details of the source and destination address along with data; Figure 9 details the measurement unit shares measurement result through a router in Step 5 – [0182]).”
Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “wherein the DPU is further configured to generate the data based upon the one or more measurements by the first quantum measurement module and the one or more measurements by the second quantum measurement module.”
Kim further teaches “wherein the DPU is further configured to generate the data based upon the one or more measurements by the first quantum measurement module and the one or more measurements by the second quantum measurement module (control unit, i.e. DPU, measures component of quantum process based on the first and second observable quantities – [0010]; control unit controls the operation and data flow of the measurement units – [0044]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang in view of Vacon to incorporate the teaching of Kim to utilize a second measurement unit to measure the qubit. By utilizing a second measurement unit to perform measuring operations on the qubit yields predictable results for the measurement of the sequential observables of a quantum system.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang in view of Vacon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guthrie (WO2024156939A1).
In regards to Claim 21, Xiang in view of Vacon discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “wherein the coherence time window for the first quantum system defines a time period during which a quantum state of the first quantum system exists before losing information”
Guthrie teaches “wherein the coherence time window for the first quantum system defines a time period during which a quantum state of the first quantum system exists before losing information (“In order to obtain a useful result of a quantum computation, a readout operation must be performed. The readout operation causes the quantum state of a single qubit to collapse into one of the possible basis states, resulting in a classical state that can be represented as a digital one or a digital zero. A representative characteristic of any quantum circuit is the coherence time, during which the readout operation must be performed to avoid losing the information represented by the quantum state” – [0004])”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang in view of Vacon to incorporate the teaching of Guthrie for the coherence time to define when information can be measured before losing information. By utilizing the coherence time to avoid losing information this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the measurements of quantum systems.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner notes that the following prior art are of interest to the application, but were not cited in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections above:
Vacon’936 (US2024263936) teaches an interferometric measurement system using time-correlated photons with the utilization of time stamps and discarding photons within windows.
Conclusion
/YOSSEF KORANG-BEHESHTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857