DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/08/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 08/26/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 11/26/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-21 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 7, filed 11/26/2025, with respect to provisional nonstatutory Double Patenting Rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The provisional nonstatutory Double Patenting Rejection of Claims 1-2, 4, and 11 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed 11/26/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of previously disclosed prior art Xiang (US20220150044) in view of newly discovered prior art Zhang (CN114915417A). Zhang teaches the amended limitation of generating a data packet within a coherence time window in [n0045].
With regards to Applicant’s argument on Page 9 of “the coherence time period of the quantum system that is measured by the quantum measurement device refers to the time period during which the a quantum state of the first quantum system exists before losing information”, this would correspond to the newly added dependent Claim 21, which is taught by newly discovered prior art Guthrie (WO2024156939A1) in [0004].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent Claims 1 and 14 detail the amended limitation “a first data processing unit (DPU) operably coupled with the first quantum measurement module and configured to generate a data packet within a coherence time window for the first quantum system coupled with the first quantum measurement module, the data packet comprising time-related quantum data based upon at least one of: the one or more measurements by the first quantum measurement module or the obtained information associated with the first quantum system”. The amendments to the claims are underlined.
The specification details in [0044]: “With reference to FIG. 4, an example data packet 400 of the present disclosure is illustrated. As described above, the first DPU 106 may be configured to generate a data packet 400 comprising time-related quantum data based upon at least one of the one or more measurements by the first quantum measurement module 102 or the obtained information associated with the first quantum system 104. As described above, a qubit may have an associated coherence time that determines how long the quantum state survives before losing information, such that the first quantum system 104 similarly includes a coherence time window outside of which loss may occur. In order to account for this coherence time window (e.g., the decoherence of the system 104), the first DPU 102 may generate a data packet with time-related quantum data indicative of a time (t) at which the one or more measurements are applied to the first quantum system 104. In some embodiments, the data packet 400 may include the time (t) at which the one or more measurements are applied to the first quantum system 104 by the first quantum measurement module 102, regardless of the relationship between the time (t) and the coherence time window associated with the first quantum system 104. In other embodiments, the first DPU 106 may be configured to discard information obtained from measurements that occurred outside of the coherence time window as determined by the time-related quantum data that includes the time (t). Said differently, the first DPU 106 may identify measurements that ae time-stamped (e.g., by the first quantum measurement module 102 or otherwise) with a time (t) value that is outside of the coherence time window for the first quantum system 104 and discard these measurements due to the potential for loss associated with these measurements.”
The specification details in [0045]: “Additionally or alternatively, in order to account for this decoherence time window, the first DPU 102 may also generate a data packet with time-related quantum data indicative of a time duration (Δt) during which the one or more measurements are applied to the first quantum system 104 by the first quantum. In some embodiments, the data packet 400 may include the time duration (Δt) during which the one or more measurements are applied to the first quantum system 104 by the first quantum measurement module 102, regardless of the relationship between the time duration (Δt) and the coherence time window associated with the first quantum system 104. In other embodiments, the first DPU 106 may be configured to discard information obtained from measurements that occurred outside of the coherence time window as determined by the time-related quantum data that includes the time duration (Δt). Said differently, the first DPU 106 may identify measurements that ae time-stamped (e.g., by the first quantum measurement module 102 or otherwise) with a time (t) value that is outside of the coherence time window for the first quantum system 104 and discard these measurements due to the potential for loss associated with these measurements. The preprocessing that occurs by the first DPU 106 operates to enrich the generated data packet 400 to include time-related quantum data that was historically unavailable at the device level.”
The specification is silent with regards to the data packet being specifically generated during the coherence time window. That is, the specification details that the data packet includes the time when measurements are taken but does not dictate when the packet itself is generated. Thus the specification does not support the amended claim limitation to generate a data packet within a coherence time window.
Claims 2-13 and 15-21 are rejected due to dependence on Claims 1 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang (US20220150044) in view of Zhang (CN114915417A).
In regards to Claim 1, Xiang teaches “a first quantum measurement module operably coupled with a first quantum system (quantum measurement and control system (QMC) that is configured to run a quantum program to implement quantum algorithms and is responsible for connecting a classical computer and a quantum chip – [0048]; the QMC system includes an measurement and control (MC) network including a plurality of measurement and control subgroups (MCSGs) 10 where each MCSG includes a measurement unit 11 and a plurality of control unit 12 – [0151], Figure 7; each MCSG is configured to perform MC on a physical qubit group, i.e. quantum system – [0073]), wherein the first quantum measurement module is configured to:
apply one or more measurements to the first quantum system (measurement unit 11 is configured to measure a quantum state of each physical qubit in the physical qubit group corresponding to the MCSG – [0076]; measurement unit executes TXI and RXI to complete quantum measurement – Step 4 in Figure 9 and [0181]); and
obtain information associated with the first quantum system based on the one or more measurements (measurement unit returns a result of a quantum algorithm, i.e. information associated with the quantum system, to a user computer – [0187], Figure 9 Step 10); and
a first data processing unit (DPU) operably coupled with the first quantum measurement module and configured to generate a data packet, the data packet comprising time-related quantum data based upon at least one of: the one or more measurements by the first quantum measurement module or the obtained information associated with the first quantum system (Figure 5 details data packet to the router with details of the source and destination address along with data, i.e. measurements; Figure 9 details the measurement unit shares measurement result through a router in Step 5 – [0182]; Table 9 details the receive instruction set which includes the length of time of a measurement window – [0175]).”
Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “a first data processing unit (DPU) operably coupled with the first quantum measurement module and configured to generate a data packet within a coherence time window for the first quantum system coupled with the first quantum measurement module.”
Zhang teaches “a first data processing unit (DPU) operably coupled with the first quantum measurement module and configured to generate a data packet within a coherence time window for the first quantum system coupled with the first quantum measurement module (“In this embodiment, the communication sender is denoted as Alice and the communication receiver is denoted as Bob. At the i<sup>th</sup> sampling time, Alice sends a request packet to Bob, who then obtains the CSI amplitude measurement. After a time delay Δt (Δt is much smaller than the coherence time Tc), Bob replies to Alice with a data packet, and Alice will also measure the same parameters and obtain the CSI amplitude measurement. Since the same carrier frequency is used in both directions in the TDD scheme, the complex-valued channel envelope remains nearly constant within the coherence time T<sub>c</sub> unless strong frequency-selective fading and different co-channel interference are encountered. Therefore, Alice and Bob can obtain highly correlated measurement results. Alice and Bob will repeat the above sampling at regular intervals T<sub>s</sub>>T<sub>c</sub>) to avoid generating related samples” – [n0045]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang to incorporate the teaching of Zhang to generate packets during a time delay Δt that is much smaller than the coherence time Tc. By generating packets during a delay that is smaller than the coherence time, this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the distribution measurement results.
In regards to Claim 2, Xiang in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the data packet is generated local to the quantum device by the first DPU (Figure 5 details data packet to the router with details of the source and destination address along with data; the wormhole router is deployed on a measurement unit of each MCSG, i.e. local – [0059]; Figure 7 shows the measurement unit having the router built in).”
In regards to Claim 4, Xiang in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the quantum device is operably coupled with a central control unit via a classical communication channel (the MCSGs are connected to a host, i.e. central control unit, through a PCIe interface or ethernet interface, i.e. classical communication channel, and can configure the MCSGs – [0152], Figure 7).”
In regards to Claim 5, Xiang in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the first DPU is configured to transmit the generated data packet to the central control unit and an associated network (wormhole router is a router responsible for serial transmission of data between nodes and the wormhole router is deployed on a measurement unit of each MCSG and the measurement result data and synchronization pulse signal can be transmitted from any node in the network to another node through the wormhole router – [0059]; network transmission data packet of the measurement result is defined and transmitted in a point-to-point manner [0130]; the router corresponds to sending data packets along the 5 transmission directions of east, west, south, north, and a processor – [0136]).”
In regards to Claim 6, Xiang in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the first DPU is configured to perform one or more operations on the obtained information associated with the first quantum system during the coherence time window associated with the first quantum system (strong phase coherence is required for regulating a microwave signal and to perform a multi-bit gate operation for a control unit in an MC network, all TX channels of the control unit may need to transmit control microwaves at exactly the same time, and to perform measurement, for a measurement unit in the MC network, a time difference may need to be maintained between a read pulse and a measurement window of the measurement unit, where the feedback control and error correction algorithm requires strict synchronization of a time sequence between control units and measurement unit – [0101]).”
In regards to Claim 7, Xiang in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the time-related quantum data of the generated data packet is indicative of a time (t) at which the one or more measurements are applied to the first quantum system (control unit transmits the control microwaves at exactly the same time, and measurements are performed during the measurement window – [0101]; measurement window is has a specific time length that it lasts that is associated with clock cycle – [0175]).”
In regards to Claim 9, Xiang in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the time-related quantum data of the generated data packet is indicative of a time duration (Δt) during which the one or more measurements are applied to the first quantum system (Table 9 details the receive instruction set which includes the length of time of a measurement window, i.e. time duration (Δt) – [0175]).”
In regards to Claim 14, Xiang teaches “a first quantum device (quantum measurement and control system (QMC) – [0048]; the QMC system includes an measurement and control (MC) network including a plurality of measurement and control subgroups (MCSGs) 10 where each MCSG includes a measurement unit 11 and a plurality of control unit 12 – [0151], Figure 7; Figure 7 details at least 16 MCSG units, where the first quantum device is considered to be the MCSG in the first row/first column position) comprising:
a first quantum measurement module operably coupled with a first quantum system (quantum measurement and control system (QMC) that is configured to run a quantum program to implement quantum algorithms and is responsible for connecting a classical computer and a quantum chip – [0048]; the QMC system includes an measurement and control (MC) network including a plurality of measurement and control subgroups (MCSGs) 10 where each MCSG includes a measurement unit 11 and a plurality of control unit 12 – [0151], Figure 7; each MCSG is configured to perform MC on a physical qubit group, i.e. quantum system – [0073]), wherein the first quantum measurement module is configured to:
apply one or more measurements to the first quantum system (measurement unit 11 is configured to measure a quantum state of each physical qubit in the physical qubit group corresponding to the MCSG – [0076]; measurement unit executes TXI and RXI to complete quantum measurement – Step 4 in Figure 9 and [0181]); and
obtain information associated with the first quantum system based on the one or more measurements (measurement unit returns a result of a quantum algorithm, i.e. information associated with the quantum system, to a user computer – [0187], Figure 9 Step 10); and
a first data processing unit (DPU) operably coupled with the first quantum measurement module and configured to generate a first data packet, the first data packet comprising time-related quantum data based upon at least one of: the one or more measurements by the first quantum measurement module, or the obtained information associated with the first quantum system (Figure 5 details data packet to the router with details of the source and destination address along with data; Figure 9 details the measurement unit shares measurement result through a router in Step 5 – [0182]; Table 9 details the receive instruction set which includes the length of time of a measurement window – [0175]; Figure 7 shows each MCSG unit includes its own router and processor); and
a second quantum device (quantum measurement and control system (QMC) – [0048]; the QMC system includes a measurement and control (MC) network including a plurality of measurement and control subgroups (MCSGs) 10 where each MCSG includes a measurement unit 11 and a plurality of control unit 12 – [0151], Figure 7; Figure 7 details at least 16 MCSG units, where the second quantum device is considered to be the MCSG in the first row/second column position) comprising:
a second quantum measurement module operably coupled with a second quantum system (quantum measurement and control system (QMC) that is configured to run a quantum program to implement quantum algorithms and is responsible for connecting a classical computer and a quantum chip – [0048]; the QMC system includes an measurement and control (MC) network including a plurality of measurement and control subgroups (MCSGs) 10 where each MCSG includes a measurement unit 11 and a plurality of control unit 12 – [0151], Figure 7; each MCSG is configured to perform MC on a physical qubit group, i.e. quantum system – [0073]), wherein the second quantum measurement module is configured to:
apply one or more measurements to the second quantum system (measurement unit 11 is configured to measure a quantum state of each physical qubit in the physical qubit group corresponding to the MCSG – [0076]; measurement unit executes TXI and RXI to complete quantum measurement – Step 4 in Figure 9 and [0181]); and
obtain information associated with the second quantum system based on the one or more measurements (measurement unit returns a result of a quantum algorithm, i.e. information associated with the quantum system, to a user computer – [0187], Figure 9 Step 10); and
a second DPU operably coupled with the second quantum measurement module and configured to generate a second data packet, the second data packet comprising time-related quantum data based upon at least one of: the one or more measurements by the second quantum measurement module, or the obtained information associated with the second quantum system (Figure 5 details data packet to the router with details of the source and destination address along with data; Figure 9 details the measurement unit shares measurement result through a router in Step 5 – [0182]; Table 9 details the receive instruction set which includes the length of time of a measurement window – [0175]; Figure 7 shows each MCSG unit includes its own router and processor).”
Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “a first data processing unit (DPU) operably coupled with the first quantum measurement module and configured to generate a first data packet within a coherence time window for the first quantum system coupled with the first quantum measurement module, a second DPU operably coupled with the second quantum measurement module and configured to generate a second data packet within a coherence time window for the second quantum system coupled with the second quantum measurement module.”
Zhang teaches “a first data processing unit (DPU) operably coupled with the first quantum measurement module and configured to generate a first data packet within a coherence time window for the first quantum system coupled with the first quantum measurement module, a second DPU operably coupled with the second quantum measurement module and configured to generate a second data packet within a coherence time window for the second quantum system coupled with the second quantum measurement module (“In this embodiment, the communication sender is denoted as Alice [i.e. second DPU] and the communication receiver is denoted as Bob [i.e. first DPU]. At the i<sup>th</sup> sampling time, Alice sends a request packet to Bob, who then obtains the CSI amplitude measurement. After a time delay Δt (Δt is much smaller than the coherence time Tc), Bob replies to Alice with a data packet, and Alice will also measure the same parameters and obtain the CSI amplitude measurement. Since the same carrier frequency is used in both directions in the TDD scheme, the complex-valued channel envelope remains nearly constant within the coherence time T<sub>c</sub> unless strong frequency-selective fading and different co-channel interference are encountered. Therefore, Alice and Bob can obtain highly correlated measurement results. Alice and Bob will repeat the above sampling at regular intervals T<sub>s</sub>>T<sub>c</sub>) to avoid generating related samples” – [n0045]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang to incorporate the teaching of Zhang to generate packets during a time delay Δt that is much smaller than the coherence time Tc. By generating packets during a delay that is smaller than the coherence time, this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the distribution measurement results.
In regards to Claim 15, Xiang in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the first data packet is generated local to the first quantum device by the first DPU, and the second data packet is generated local to the second quantum device by the second DPU (Figure 5 details data packet to the router with details of the source and destination address along with data; the wormhole router is deployed on a measurement unit of each MCSG, i.e. local – [0059]; Figure 7 shows the each MCSG having its own measurement unit and each measurement unit with its own router built in, i.e. local).”
In regards to Claim 16, Xiang in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the first quantum device and the second quantum device are each operably coupled with a central control unit via a classical communication channel (the MCSGs are connected to a host, i.e. central control unit, through a PCIe interface or ethernet interface, i.e. classical communication channel, and can configure the MCSGs – [0152], Figure 7).”
In regards to Claim 17, Xiang in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the first DPU is configured to perform one or more operations on the obtained information associated with the first quantum system during the coherence time window associated with the first quantum system (strong phase coherence is required for regulating a microwave signal and to perform a multi-bit gate operation for a control unit in an MC network, all TX channels of the control unit may need to transmit control microwaves at exactly the same time, and to perform measurement, for a measurement unit in the MC network, a time difference may need to be maintained between a read pulse and a measurement window of the measurement unit, where the feedback control and error correction algorithm requires strict synchronization of a time sequence between control units and measurement unit – [0101]).”
In regards to Claim 18, Xiang in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the second DPU is configured to perform one or more operations on the obtained information associated with the second quantum system during the coherence time window associated with the second quantum system (strong phase coherence is required for regulating a microwave signal and to perform a multi-bit gate operation for a control unit in an MC network, all TX channels of the control unit may need to transmit control microwaves at exactly the same time, and to perform measurement, for a measurement unit in the MC network, a time difference may need to be maintained between a read pulse and a measurement window of the measurement unit, where the feedback control and error correction algorithm requires strict synchronization of a time sequence between control units and measurement unit – [0101]).”
In regards to Claim 19, Xiang in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein: the time-related quantum data of the generated first data packet is indicative of a time (t1) at which the one or more measurements are applied to the first quantum system by the first quantum measurement module; and the time-related quantum data of the generated second data packet is indicative of a time (t2) at which the one or more measurements are applied to the second quantum system by the second quantum measurement module (control unit transmits the control microwaves at exactly the same time [i.e. measurements are performed simultaneously, so t1 and t2 are the same], and measurements are performed during the measurement window – [0101]; Table 9 details the receive instruction which includes the delay and length – [0172]; measurement window occurs within a delay that is associated with the number of clock cycles to wait before the start of each measurement window – [0174]; measurement window is has a specific time length that it lasts that is associated with clock cycle – [0175]).”
In regards to Claim 20, Xiang in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein: the time-related quantum data of the generated first data packet is indicative of a time duration (Δt1) during which the one or more measurements are applied to the first quantum system by the first quantum measurement module; and the time-related quantum data of the second data packet is indicative of a time duration (Δt2) during which the one or more measurements are applied to the second quantum system by the second quantum measurement module (control unit transmits the control microwaves at exactly the same time, and measurements are performed during the measurement window – [0101]; measurement window is has a specific time length that it lasts that is associated with clock cycle – [0175]; Table 9 details the receive instruction set which includes the length of time of a measurement window, i.e. time duration Δt1 and Δt2 are the same as the measurements are performed simultaneous and the measurement window is determined by the specific length related to a clock cycle – [0175]).”
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang in view of Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Farinholt (US20220329417).
In regards to Claim 3, Xiang in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “wherein a strength of the one or more measurements by the first quantum measurement module is configured to prevent a wave function collapse associated with the first quantum system.”
Farinholt teaches “wherein a strength of the one or more measurements by the first quantum measurement module is configured to prevent a wave function collapse associated with the first quantum system (the probability for the weak measurement to collapse the unital qubit state into its orthogonal state is given by equation (26) – [0102]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang in view of Zhang to incorporate the teaching of Farinholt to utilize weak measurements of the qubit system to prevent the wave function collapse. By using a weak measurement of the quantum system this is an improvement to perform measurements on the quantum state and to perform error correction on the measurements while not disturbing the quantum state.
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang in view of Zhang as applied to claims 7 and 9 above, and further in view of Lucamarini (US20180241553).
In regards to Claim 8, Xiang in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “the first DPU is configured to discard information obtained from measurements that occurred outside of the coherence time window as determined by the time-related quantum data that includes the time (t).”
Lucamarini teaches “the first DPU is configured to discard information obtained from measurements that occurred outside of the coherence time window as determined by the time-related quantum data that includes the time (t) (when the phase p is not the same, the data is discarded, i.e. measurements not during the coherence – [0149]; the phase is related to the coherent state – [0121]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang in view of Zhang to incorporate the teaching of Lucamarini to incorporate the teaching to discard the measurement data that corresponds to periods that are not coherent. By utilizing the coherence during the measurements in determining whether to keep or discard the measurement data, this is an improvement to quality of the data from the measurement of quantum systems.
In regards to Claim 10, Xiang in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “the first DPU is configured to discard information obtained from measurements that occurred outside of the coherence time window as determined by the time-related quantum data that includes the time duration (Δt).”
Lucamarini teaches “the first DPU is configured to discard information obtained from measurements that occurred outside of the coherence time window as determined by the time-related quantum data that includes the time duration (Δt) (when the phase p is not the same, the data is discarded, i.e. measurements not during the coherence – [0149]; the phase is related to the coherent state – [0121]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang in view of Zhang to incorporate the teaching of Lucamarini to incorporate the teaching to discard the measurement data that corresponds to periods that are not coherent. By utilizing the coherence during the measurements in determining whether to keep or discard the measurement data, this is an improvement to quality of the data from the measurement of quantum systems.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang in view of Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (KR102098285B1).
In regards to Claim 11, Xiang in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “a second quantum measurement module operably coupled with the first quantum system, wherein the second quantum measurement module is configured to: apply one or more measurements to the first quantum system; and obtain information associated with the first quantum system based on the one or more measurements.”
Kim teaches “a second quantum measurement module operably coupled with the first quantum system, wherein the second quantum measurement module is configured to: apply one or more measurements to the first quantum system (first measurement unit and second measurement unit for measuring observable quantity of a quantum state of the qubit – [0010]); and obtain information associated with the first quantum system based on the one or more measurements (control unit measures component, i.e. obtain information, of quantum process based on the first and second observable quantities – [0010]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang in view of Zhang to incorporate the teaching of Kim to utilize a second measurement unit to measure the qubit. By utilizing a second measurement unit to perform measuring operations on the qubit yields predictable results for the measurement of the sequential observables of a quantum system.
In regards to Claim 12, Xiang in view of Zhang and Kim discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “the first DPU is further operably coupled with the second quantum measurement module.”
Kim further teaches “the first DPU is further operably coupled with the second quantum measurement module (control unit, i.e. DPU, measures component of quantum process based on the first and second observable quantities – [0010]; control unit controls the operation and data flow of the measurement units – [0044]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang in view of Zhang to incorporate the teaching of Kim to utilize a second measurement unit to measure the qubit. By utilizing a second measurement unit to perform measuring operations on the qubit yields predictable results for the measurement of the sequential observables of a quantum system.
In regards to Claim 13, Xiang in view of Zhang and Kim discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang further teaches “wherein the first DPU is further configured to generate the data packet comprising time-related quantum data based upon the one or more measurements by the first quantum measurement module (Figure 5 details data packet to the router with details of the source and destination address along with data; Figure 9 details the measurement unit shares measurement result through a router in Step 5 – [0182]).”
Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “wherein the DPU is further configured to generate the data based upon the one or more measurements by the first quantum measurement module and the one or more measurements by the second quantum measurement module.”
Kim further teaches “wherein the DPU is further configured to generate the data based upon the one or more measurements by the first quantum measurement module and the one or more measurements by the second quantum measurement module (control unit, i.e. DPU, measures component of quantum process based on the first and second observable quantities – [0010]; control unit controls the operation and data flow of the measurement units – [0044]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang in view of Zhang to incorporate the teaching of Kim to utilize a second measurement unit to measure the qubit. By utilizing a second measurement unit to perform measuring operations on the qubit yields predictable results for the measurement of the sequential observables of a quantum system.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang in view of Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guthrie (WO2024156939A1).
In regards to Claim 21, Xiang in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Xiang is silent with regards to the language of “wherein the coherence time window for the first quantum system defines a time period during which a quantum state of the first quantum system exists before losing information”
Guthrie teaches “wherein the coherence time window for the first quantum system defines a time period during which a quantum state of the first quantum system exists before losing information (“In order to obtain a useful result of a quantum computation, a readout operation must be performed. The readout operation causes the quantum state of a single qubit to collapse into one of the possible basis states, resulting in a classical state that can be represented as a digital one or a digital zero. A representative characteristic of any quantum circuit is the coherence time, during which the readout operation must be performed to avoid losing the information represented by the quantum state” – [0004])”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang in view of Zhang to incorporate the teaching of Guthrie for the coherence time to define when information can be measured before losing information. By utilizing the coherence time to avoid losing information this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the measurements of quantum systems.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOSSEF KORANG-BEHESHTI/Examiner, Art Unit 2857