Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 does not recite the base claim (i.e. the claim which claim 6 depends upon). Claim 6 will be interpreted as depending from claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Stemmle (US 2012/0295792).
Stemmle teaches a multiple phase superconducting cable system (at least two cables meets limitation of four superconducting cables; claim 1) wherein interrupting switches are arranged at respective first and second ends of the superconducting cables (the current path in the connection between two cables can be closed which meets an interrupting switch; para. 0016), and a connecting switch connected at a first and second end of the fourth (alternate) superconducting cable (pipeline 3 with a superconducting cable can be equipped to fully replace the cryostat with the failed superconducting cable; para. 0016), the interrupting and connecting switches operable to selectively disconnect one of the superconducting cables from the electrical phase and to connect the alternate cable to the previously disconnected electrical phase effectively replacing the disconnected cable (para. 0033-0036).
Regarding claims 2, Stemmle teaches the cables in a separate cryogenic pipe (envelope) wherein each of the pipes have a shut off valve at the first and second ends (para. 0028-0030).
Regarding claim 3; Stemmle also teaches a first cooling system is provided which feeds coolant into a first end of a first one of the cryo pipes and receives coolant from a first end of at least a second of one of the pipes (para. 0028-0030).
Regarding claims 4-5; Stemmle teaches the second ends of the pipes are connected to a coolant router (lines from pipes to valves and to the coolant container meet the limitation of routers; para. 0028-0030).
Regarding claim 6, Stemmle teaches that a spare coolant line provided between the first cooling system and the second cooling system (any of the coolant lines meets the limitation of a spare coolant line (para. 0028-0030).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stemmle in view of Mashio (US 2017/0271860).
Stemmle teaches a product as described above in claim 1, but fails to teach the cables are electrically shielded at the ends and the shields are switchably connected to ground at each respective end.
Mashio, however, teaches an electrical device (abstract) wherein power cables have shield layers at the ends of the cable that is grounded at both ends for the purpose of suppressing diffusion of a fault current (para. 0040-0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the power cables of Stemmle have shield layers at the ends of the cable that is grounded at both ends in order to suppress diffusion of a fault current as taught by Mashio.
Additionally, it appears that any configuration meets the limitation of being switchably connected.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stemmle in view of Mashio (US 2017/0271860) and CN 106537716.
Stemmle teaches a product as described above in claim 1, but fails to teach the cables are electrically shielded at the ends and the shields are switchably connected to ground at each respective end.
Mashio, however, teaches an electrical device (abstract) wherein power cables have shield layers at the ends of the cable that is grounded at both ends for the purpose of suppressing diffusion of a fault current (para. 0040-0041).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the power cables of Stemmle have shield layers at the ends of the cable that is grounded at both ends in order to suppress diffusion of a fault current as taught by Mashio.
Additionally, it appears that any configuration meets the limitation of being switchably connected.
Claim(s) 8-9, 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stemmle in view of CN 106537716.
Regarding claim 8, Stemmle teaches identifying an impaired cable (meets limitation of detecting damage to the cable ; para. 0008), and replacing the impaired cable with the alternate superconducting cable (para. 0036).
Stemmle fails to teach operating the interrupting switches at the first and second end of the damaged cable for disconnecting it from the electrical phase.
716, however, teaches a method for operating a superconducting cable system (abstract) wherein power switches (interrupting and connecting) are connected and disconnected as different cable systems are removed and brought on line (para. 0005, 0021-0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide wherein power switches in Stemmle (interrupting and connecting) are connected and disconnected in order to provide for different cable systems removed and brought on line as taught by 716.
Regarding claim 9, Stemmle teaches that the valves are shut off for the impaired cable (para. 0032-0036).
If Stemmle fails to teach interrupting and connecting switches, then 716 will be applied here as described above.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stemmle in view of CN 106537716 and Lee (US 2006/0065004).
Stemmle teaches a method as described above in claim 8, but fails to teach determining properties of a coolant flow out of/into the first cooling system meet or exceed predetermined limit values and if the values are not met, connecting the first cooling system and the coolant router or the first and second cooling system via a spare coolant line.
Lee, however, teaches a refrigeration system for superconducting cables (abstract) wherein a pressure drop from a main coolant system (meets limitation of determining properties of the coolant flow out of the system) triggers backup coolant flows from a backup storage system (para. 0027-0029) for the purpose of providing consistent cooling (para. 0008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a pressure drop from a main coolant system (meets limitation of determining properties of the coolant flow out of the system) in Stemmle triggers backup coolant flows from a backup storage system in order to provide consistent cooling as taught by Lee.
Conclusion
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735