DETAILED ACTION
The pending claims are claims 1-8.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected claims, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/17/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 3/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawakita et al., JP 2021109706.
Regarding claim 1, Kawakita et al., teaches a packaging material (abstract) comprising: a substrate layer made of a heat-resistant resin (0015; 0036-0038); a metal foil layer (0015; 0047) laminated on an inner side of the substrate layer (0035-0036); a sealant layer (0010; 0013; 0025) made of a thermoplastic resin (0015; 0036; 0044-0046), the sealant layer being laminated on an inner side of the metal foil layer (0036; 0084); and a colored adhesive layer provided between the metal foil layer and the substrate layer (0015; 0025; 0048-0051), wherein the colored adhesive layer is formed of a colored adhesive cured film (0016; 0018; 0026) containing a color pigment and an adhesive (0015; 0025), and wherein the colored adhesive cured film (0049-0051) has a Young's modulus of 400 MPa by a tensile test (0018; 0066) according to JIS K7161.
Regarding claim 2, Kawakita et al., teaches wherein the colored adhesive cured film has breaking elongation (0065-0066) of 21% to 60% by a tensile test (50-400%) (0066) according to JIS K7161-1:2014.
Regarding claim 3, Kawakita et al., teaches wherein the colored adhesive layer contains the color pigment (0015) of 2 mass% or more (0015) and less than 5 mass%, (0015) and wherein the colored adhesive layer (0015-0016; 0025) is a colored adhesive cured film of 5 g/m2 to 10 g/m2 (0015; 0051).
Regarding claim 4, Kawakita et al., teaches wherein the adhesive of the colored adhesive layer contains a two-part curing type polyester urethane resin (0016; 0018; 0026) derived from a polyester resin as a main agent (0016-0017) and a polyfunctional isocyanate compound as a curing agent (0016; 0055; 0064-0065), wherein the polyester resin (0016-0017) as the main agent has a number average molecular weight (Mn) of 8,000 to 25,000 (0061-0062)and a weight average molecular weight (Mw) of 15,000 to 50,000 (0061-0062), and a ratio thereof (Mw/Mn) is 1.3 to 2.5 (0016), and wherein the polyfunctional isocyanate compound as the curing agent contains 50 mole% or more of aromatic isocyanate (0016; 0064).
Regarding claim 5, Kawakita et al., teaches wherein in the two-part curing type polyester urethane resin (0016; 0018; 0026; 0034), the polyester resin as the main agent is made from dicarboxylic acid (0017; 0057-0059) and dialcohol (0017), and wherein the dicarboxylic acid contains aliphatic dicarboxylic acid (0017; 0067-0059) and aromatic dicarboxylic acid (0057-0059) in which a methylene number of a methylene chain (0057) is an even number (0017; 0057), and a content rate of the aromatic dicarboxylic acid with respect to a total amount of the aliphatic dicarboxylic acid and the aromatic dicarboxylic acid is 40 mol% to 80 mol% (0017; 0059).
Regarding claim 6, Kawakita et al., teaches wherein the metal foil layer (0015) has a chemical conversion coating film on at least one surface of the metal foil layer (0029; 0073-0076).
Regarding claim 7, Kawakita et al., teaches further comprising: a matte coat layer (0022; 0031; 0073) provided on an outer surface of the substrate layer (0081-0085).
Regarding claim 8, Kawakita et al., teaches packaging container made of the packaging material (0034; 0071-0075) as recited in wherein the packaging material is provided with a molded portion formed by subjecting the packaging material to deep drawing (0023; 0025; 0035) or stretch forming (0025; 0043).
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP 2011-054563.
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727