DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment to the claims, filed on May 21st, 2026, is acknowledged. Entry of amendment is accepted and made of record.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant's response filed on May 21st, 2026 is acknowledged and isanswered as follows.
Applicant's arguments, see pgs. 7-10, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C 102 (a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C 103(a) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites limitation “the substrate disposed on the guard ring” in lines 11-12 while claim 1 also recites limitation “a substrate comprising a device region and a guard ring region” in line 3. It is unclear to the examiner if the guard ring is part of the substrate or the substrate is disposed on top of the guard ring.
Claim 3 recites a redundant “the guard ring region is doped with a second dopant ion having conductivity type different from the conductivity type of the first dopant ion” in lines 1-3 because claim 1 already recites the same limitation in lines 9-10.
Claim 4 recites “a top surface of the guard ring is flush with a top surface of the substrate” which conflicts with the limitation of claim 1 in lines 10-11 reciting “the substrate disposed on the guard ring”. It is unclear to the examiner if the top surface of guard ring is flush with the top surface of the substrate or lower than the top surface of the substrate.
Claim 2-9 and 12 are rejected for being depended on claim 1 and having the above issues incorporated into the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NOBORIO et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0227549 A1), hereinafter as NOBORIO.
Regarding claim 1, NOBORIO discloses a method for forming a semiconductor structure in Figs. 4A-4I, comprising: providing a substrate (combination of substrate 1 and layer 2) comprising a device region (cell region RC) and a guard ring region (guard ring region RG) surrounding the device region (see Fig. 4A and [0047], [0076-0077]); and forming a power device (forming MOSFET in cell region RC) in the device region and forming a guard ring (guard ring 21) in the guard ring region, wherein the guard ring is doped with a first dopant ion (p-type ions) that is formed by a partial doping process (ion implantation) used in forming the power device, and a conductivity type of the first dopant ion in the guard ring (p-type conductivity of guard ring 21) is different from a device type of the power device (n-type channel device of the MOSFET in cell region RC) (see Fig. 4B-4I and [0079], [0084-0090]); wherein the guard ring region is doped with a second dopant ion (n-type dopant ion) having a conductivity type different from the conductivity type of the first dopant ion (guard ring region RG of layer 2 is made of SiC and must doped with n-type dopant to be n-type during epi growth) (see Fig. 4A and [0077]), so that the substrate disposed on the guard ring forms a completely depleted layer with the guard ring (a completely depleted layer would form at p-n junction between guard ring 21 and guard ring region RG of layer 2).
Regarding claim 2, NOBORIO discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the partial doping process comprises an ion implantation doping process (see Fig. 4B and [0079]).
Regarding claim 3, NOBORIO discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the guard ring region is doped with a second dopant ion (n-type dopant ion) having a conductivity type different from the conductivity type of the first dopant ion (guard ring region RG of layer 2 is made of SiC and must doped with n-type dopant to be n-type during epi growth) (see Fig. 4A and [0077]), and a top surface of the guard ring is lower than a top surface of the substrate (top surface of guard ring 21 is lower than top surface of layer 2) (see Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 4, NOBORIO discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a top surface of the guard ring is flush with a top surface of the substrate (since claim 4 being rejected under 112, the assumption is made that the top surface of the guard ring is lower than the top surface of the substrate) (top surface of guard ring 21 is lower than top surface of layer 2) (see Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 6, NOBORIO discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein when the power device is an N-type power device (n-type channel device of the MOSFET in cell region RC being determined by n+ source 4, p-type base region 3, n-type drift 2 and n+ drain 1) (see Fig. 4I and [0084-0087]), the first dopant ion in the guard ring is P-type ion (see Fig. 4I and [0084]).
Regarding claim 12, NOBORIO discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: defining an ion implantation position in the guard ring region by relying on a mask (mask 40) used to form the power device (using mask 40 to form both guard ring 21 and lower portions 5a of MOSFET) (see Figs. 4B-4I and [0079-0082]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NOBORIO et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0227549 A1), hereinafter as NOBORIO, as applied to claim 1 and further in view of MIMURA et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0290616 A1), hereinafter as Mimura.
Regarding claim 5, NOBORIO discloses the method according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein when the power device is a P-type power device, the first dopant ion in the guard ring is N-type ion.
Mimura discloses a method of forming a semiconductor device in Fig. 1 wherein a power device (trench gate MOSFET) can be either N-type power device or P-type power device (see [0075]) and the first dopant ion in the guard ring either be P-type ion or N-type ion (see [0075]).
Modifying the method of NOBORIO for forming N-type power device having all one conductivity type convert to the opposite conductivity type as same as the method of Mimura for disclosing a P-type power device and the first dopant ion in the guard ring is N-type ion as recited in claim 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the N-type power device and P-type ion of the first dopant of NOBORIO to P-type power device and N-type ion of the first dopant because it is conventional to form both N-type and/or P-type power device by switching the conductivity of layers for forming complementary of integrated circuit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CUONG B NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818