DETAILED ACTION
The amendments filed 2/17/26 and 4/20/26 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without claiming how the surface roughness of the 3D surface pattern is greater than the surface roughness of the sealing surface, which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976). Although the current specification discloses that “the surface roughness of the 3D surface patter 304 is greater than the surface roughness of the sealing surface 306”, the disclosure does not specify how the roughness is greater (i.e. is it material, a process, etc.).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Amended independent claims recite “including a plurality of raised elements extending from the sealing surface”. The only “sealing surface” in the claims is on the “body”. The current disclosure only has support for the “raised elements” being a part of the 3D surface pattern on the first layer (Para. [0028]). Claims 7, 8, 15, 19, and 20 also recite “the plurality of raised elements.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 9, and 16 recite “wherein the first layer includes a 3D surface pattern including a plurality of raised elements extending from the sealing surface”. It is unclear to the examiner as to how the raised elements are extending from the sealing surface if the raised elements are part of the 3D surface pattern of the first layer.
Claims 1, 9, and 16 also recite “wherein the surface roughness of the 3D surface pattern is greater than the surface roughness of the sealing surface”. It is unclear as to what is being claimed and how the roughness of the two separate components are correlated.
Claims 2-8, 10-15, and 17-20 are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
For the purposes of this examination, the amendments are unclear and a prior art search has not been done. As best understood, the prior art rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 16-18, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Karmarkar et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0156475).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, the Karmarkar et al. (hereinafter Karmarkar) reference discloses a method of fabricating a component (102) having a seal (104), comprising:
depositing a first layer directly onto a sealing surface of a body (Para. [0007]), wherein the first layer includes a 3D surface pattern (Para. [0045]); and
depositing a second layer onto the first layer (Para. [0007]), wherein the second layer includes a seal material (Para. [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, the Karmarkar reference discloses the first layer and the second layer are deposited by 3D printing (Para. [0045]).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, the Karmarkar reference discloses the first layer is formed of metal, the seal material, or a different seal material (e.g. all layers of the seal are made of the same material).
Regarding claim 4, the Karmarkar reference discloses the 3D surface pattern has a configuration based on elastomeric properties of the seal material (e.g. Para. [0045]).
Regarding claim 5, the Karmarkar reference discloses depositing the second layer includes extruding the seal material onto the first layer (e.g. Para. [0045]).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, the Karmarkar reference discloses depositing one or more additional layers of the seal material or a different seal material onto the second layer (Claim 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8, 19, and 20, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karmarkar.
Regarding claims 7 and 19, the examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use 3D surface patterns including cylinders cubes, triangles or pyramids, stars spheres, and zig-zag lines in order to ensure a strong shape.
Regarding claims 8 and 20, the Karmakar reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claims 1 and 16.
However, the Karmarkar reference fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of 3D elements having an aspect ratio of width to height less than 1:6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the claimed ratio, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and in order to ensure proper sealing pressure. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 9-15, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruck et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0275687) in view of Karmarkar.
Regarding claim 9, the Bruck reference discloses a method of refurbishing a component having a seal (Abstract), comprising:
providing a component including a body and a seal attached to the body (Fig. 1);
removing at least a portion the seal from a sealing surface of the body to form an exposed portion of the sealing surface (Abstract).
However, the Bruck et al. (hereinafter Bruck) reference fails to explicitly disclose depositing a first layer directly onto the exposed portion of the sealing surface, wherein the first layer includes a 3D surface pattern; and
depositing a second layer onto the first layer, wherein the second layer includes a seal material.
The Karmarkar reference, a method of forming a seal, discloses depositing a first layer directly onto a sealing surface of a body (Para. [0007]), wherein the first layer includes a 3D surface pattern (Para. [0045]); and
depositing a second layer onto the first layer (Para. [0007]), wherein the second layer includes a seal material (Para. [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the claimed method of forming the seal in the Bruck reference in view of the teachings of the Karmarkar reference in order to provide an effective seal.
Regarding claim 10, the Bruck reference, as modified in claim 9, discloses removing the seal includes at least one of mechanical or chemical stripping (Bruck, Para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 11, the Bruck reference, as modified in claim 9, discloses measuring the body after removing the seal and refurbishing the body before depositing the first layer. Note that measuring is required in order to input parameters of the 3D print.
Regarding claim 12, the Bruck reference, as modified in claim 9, discloses the first layer and the second layer are applied by 3D printing (Karmarkar, Para. [0045]).
Regarding claim 13, the Bruck reference, as modified in claim 9, discloses the 3D surface pattern has a configuration based on elastomeric properties of the seal material (Karmarkar, Para. [0045]).
Regarding claim 14, the Bruck reference, as modified in claim 9, discloses the first layer is formed of metal, the seal material, or a different seal material (e.g. all layers of the seal are made of the same material).
Regarding claim 15, the examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use 3D surface patterns including cylinders cubes, triangles or pyramids, stars spheres, and zig-zag lines in order to ensure a strong shape.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GILBERT Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675