Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 (and dependent claims 18-19 dependent therefrom) and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
MPEP 2173.03 Correspondence Between Specification and Claims: “A claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty.”
Regarding claim 16, the claim is clear on its face when giving the terms “on” and “contacts” their broadest reasonable interpretation, consistent with MPEP 2111 by including directly and indirectly within the scope of these terms. These terms are used when describing an arrangement of “the first surface”, “the second surface”, “the active surface”, “the non-active surface”, “the first interconnection structure”, “the redistribution structure”:
first semiconductor chip (line 2)
first substrate (line 2)
first surface (line 2)
redistribution structure (lines 3-4)
active surface (7-8)
second surface (line 3)
first interconnection structure (line 4)
non-active surface (lines 8-9)
However, the new limitation “wherein the first interconnection structure contacts the active surface and the redistribution structure contacts the non-active surface” in lines 9-11 requires indirect contact, which is inconsistent with the embodiments disclosed in the specification; and “first conductive posts disposed on a bottom surface of the first interconnection structure and electrically connected to the first interconnection structure, wherein the through-electrodes are disposed on a top surface of the first interconnection structure” in lines 12-16, which is inconsistent (opposite) with similar directional limitation “upper” used throughout the claim. Thus, the scope of the claim is uncertain and therefore indefinite. For the sake of compact prosecution (MPEP 2173.06), claim 16 is interpreted in the instant Office action as follows: “on” and “contacts” in lines 9-11 is encompassing indirect contact; and “top” and “bottom” in lines 12-16 are oriented opposite the ordinary and customary orientation with “upper”. However, no actual changes have been made to the claim language in the instant Office action. This interpretation is to be confirmed by applicant in the next office action.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is clear on its face when giving the terms “on” and “contacts” their broadest reasonable interpretation, consistent with MPEP 2111 by including directly and indirectly within the scope of these terms. These terms are used when describing an arrangement of “the first surface”, “the second surface”, “the active surface”, “the non-active surface”, “the first interconnection structure”, “the redistribution structure”:
first semiconductor chip (line 2)
first substrate (line 2)
first surface (line 2)
redistribution structure (lines 3-4)
bottom surface, first conductive posts (13)
non-active surface (9-10)
second surface (line 3)
first interconnection structure (line 4)
first contact pads (line 7)
active surface (lines 8-9)
However, the new limitation “wherein the through-electrodes are disposed on a top surface of the first interconnection structure” in lines 15-16 is inconsistent (opposite) with similar directional limitation “upper” used throughout the claim. Thus, the scope of the claim is uncertain and therefore indefinite. For the sake of compact prosecution (MPEP 2173.06), claim 20 is interpreted in the instant Office action as follows: “top” in lines 15-16 is oriented opposite the ordinary and customary orientation with “upper”. However, no actual changes have been made to the claim language in the instant Office action. This interpretation is to be confirmed by applicant in the next office action.
Note: The examiner believes each of the independent claims are intended to be directed to different embodiments/arrangements of the active/non-active surfaces and the redistribution and first interconnection structures (a reversal of parts). However, the examiner finds the new limitations have matched arrangements among the independent claims 1, 16, and 20 without any corresponding adjustment to the arrangements in the previously examined limitations (an inadvertent intermixing of arrangements).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference (or combination of references), but are disclosed or rendered obvious by secondary references or remarks.
Claims 1-5, 8-10, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 20190244947 A1) in view of Chen (US 20200118975 A1) and Wu (US 20230260945 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a semiconductor package (Fig. 12A) comprising:
a first semiconductor chip (101) including a first semiconductor substrate (105; [0025]: “bulk silicon”) having a first active surface and a first non-active surface, opposite to each other,
a first interconnection structure disposed on the first active surface,
through-electrodes (113) passing through the first semiconductor substrate and connected to the first interconnection structure,
a redistribution structure disposed on the first non-active surface and connected to the through-electrodes, and
first contact pads (111) disposed on the redistribution structure,
wherein the first interconnection structure contacts the first active surface and the redistribution structure contacts the first non-active surface;
a second semiconductor chip (200) including a second semiconductor substrate (201; [0036]: “a semiconductor substrate”) having a second active surface (See annotated figure. Note: this surface has functional connections to at least 111, thus an “active surface”) and a second non-active surface (See annotated figure. Note: this opposing surface is without any functional connections, thus a “non-active surface”), opposite to each other (vertically opposite),
a second interconnection structure (collection of 203/205, See annotated figure) disposed on the second active surface (203/205 is on the annotated second active surface of chip 200, See annotated figure) and having a first region (annotated as First Region, between the dashed reference lines of the annotated figure) on which the first semiconductor chip is disposed (the first region overlaps with 101, thus “disposed”. Note: Fig. 2 shows the method step when the 1st chip is being disposed onto the 2nd chip.) and a second region (annotated as Second Region, outside the dashed reference lines of the annotated figure), different from the first region (“different” based on the dashed reference lines), and
second contact pads (207) disposed on the first region of the second interconnection structure and respectively bonded to the first contact pads;
first conductive posts (portions of 113, See annotated figure) disposed on a bottom surface of the first interconnection structure,
wherein the through-electrodes are disposed on a top surface of the first interconnection structure, and
wherein each of the first conductive posts vertically overlaps the first semiconductor substrate and is offset from an adjacent through-electrode among the through-electrodes in a horizontal direction parallel to an upper surface of the first semiconductor substrate;
a first mold layer disposed on the first interconnection structure and surrounding each first conductive post of the first conductive posts;
second conductive posts (401) disposed on the second region of the second interconnection structure;
a second mold layer (501) disposed on the second region of the second interconnection structure (directly on) and surrounding the first semiconductor chip (horizontally surrounding), the first mold layer, and each second conductive post of the second conductive posts (horizontally surrounding);
a passivation layer (layer 1001 within structure 1000. This cited layer is enclosing and thereby protecting conductive features contained within structure 1000, thus it is “a passivation layer”) disposed on the first mold layer and the second mold layer (Fig. 10 shows the method step of disposing this layer);
first conductive connection structures (respective ones of 1003 within 1000) passing through the passivation layer and respectively connected to the first conductive posts (electrically connected); and
second conductive connection structures (respective ones of 1003 within 1000) passing through the passivation layer and respectively connected to the second conductive posts (electrically connected),
wherein side surfaces of the second mold layer (See annotated figure) are vertically below side surfaces of the second semiconductor chip (See annotated figure), and
wherein the side surfaces of the second semiconductor chip are vertically coplanar with the side surfaces of the second mold layer (coplanar along dashed reference line).
Illustrated below is a marked and annotated figure of Fig. 12A of Yu.
Yu teaches the first semiconductor substrate, through electrodes, first contact pads, and first conductive posts; however, fails to teach:
“a first semiconductor chip including a first semiconductor substrate having a first active surface and a first non-active surface, opposite to each other,
a first interconnection structure disposed on the first active surface,
through-electrodes passing through the first semiconductor substrate and connected to the first interconnection structure,
a redistribution structure disposed on the first non-active surface and connected to the through-electrodes, and
first contact pads disposed on the redistribution structure,
wherein the first interconnection structure contacts the first active surface and the redistribution structure contacts the first non-active surface;
[…]
first conductive posts disposed on a bottom surface of the first interconnection structure,
wherein the through-electrodes are disposed on a top surface of the first interconnection structure, and
wherein each of the first conductive posts vertically overlaps the first semiconductor substrate and is offset from an adjacent through-electrode among the through-electrodes in a horizontal direction parallel to an upper surface of the first semiconductor substrate;
Chen discloses:
a first semiconductor chip (Fig. 2: 103) including a first semiconductor substrate (103a) having a first active surface (103a-1; [0035]: “an active side”) and a first non-active surface, opposite to each other (103a-2; [0035]: “inactive side”),
a first interconnection structure (combination of 103g/103f) disposed on the first active surface (indirectly “on”, through intervening 103a),
through-electrodes (103h) passing through the first semiconductor substrate and connected to the first interconnection structure,
a redistribution structure (combination of 103b/103c) disposed on the first non-active surface (indirectly “on”, through intervening 103a) and connected to the through-electrodes, and
first contact pads (103c-1) disposed on the redistribution structure,
wherein the first interconnection structure contacts the first active surface (indirectly “contacts”, through intervening 103a) and the redistribution structure contacts the first non-active surface (indirectly “contacts”, through intervening 103a);
[…]
first conductive posts disposed on a bottom surface of the first interconnection structure (Note: “first conductive posts” are not cited here, but device terminals are cited here, See annotated figure. These terminals are referred to later in the rejection to establish a spatial configuration when combining the references.),
wherein the through-electrodes are disposed on a top surface of the first interconnection structure (See annotated figure for “top” direction designation), and
wherein each of the first conductive posts vertically overlaps the first semiconductor substrate (See annotated figure for “vertical” direction designation. Note: as noted above “first conductive posts” are not cited here, but device terminals are cited here.) and is offset from an adjacent through-electrode among the through-electrodes in a horizontal direction (See annotated figure for “horizontal” direction designation. See dashed reference line, which shows at least some amount of horizontal “offset” for the device terminal relative to 103h) parallel to an upper surface of the first semiconductor substrate (surface 103a-2);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yu, by including a first interconnection structure and a redistribution structure in the same way. Doing so would arrive at the claimed configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because in each situation an electrical path is formed vertically through the die and through-electrodes to opposing surfaces (Yu: Fig. 12A: surfaces A and B of 101; Chen: surfaces A and B of 103, See annotated figure). Chen teaches a design incentive of these structures is to provide electrical connections according to required circuitry configuration within the semiconductor package ([0038]: “configured to route a path of circuitry from the second die substrate 103a and redistribute I/O terminals of the second die substrate”; [0043]: “configured to electrically connect the second die 103 with a circuitry or conductive structure external to the second die”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed first interconnection structure and redistribution structure because it would enable designing additional circuitry configurations, thereby enhancing design capabilities. MPEP 2144 (I). MPEP 2143 (I)(F).
Illustrated below is a marked and annotated figure of Fig. 2 of Chen.
Yu in view of Chen fails to teach:
“first conductive posts disposed on a bottom surface of the first interconnection structure,
wherein the through-electrodes are disposed on a top surface of the first interconnection structure, and
wherein each of the first conductive posts vertically overlaps the first semiconductor substrate and is offset from an adjacent through-electrode among the through-electrodes in a horizontal direction parallel to an upper surface of the first semiconductor substrate;
a first mold layer disposed on the first interconnection structure and surrounding each first conductive post of the first conductive posts;
[…];
a second mold layer disposed on the second region of the second interconnection structure and surrounding the first semiconductor chip, the first mold layer, and each second conductive post of the second conductive posts;
a passivation layer disposed on the first mold layer and the second mold layer;”
Wu discloses:
first conductive posts (Fig. 5: 124) disposed on a bottom surface (Surface A, See annotated figure) of the first interconnection structure (device terminals are cited here, See annotated figure. These terminals are corresponding to the device terminals of Chen, as applied above),
wherein the through-electrodes (123) are disposed on a top surface of the first interconnection structure, and
wherein each of the first conductive posts vertically overlaps the first semiconductor substrate (See annotated figure for “vertical” direction designation) and is offset from an adjacent through-electrode among the through-electrodes in a horizontal direction parallel to an upper surface of the first semiconductor substrate (Note: Wu is relied upon here to teach the “first conductive posts” configured among device terminals. This configuration among terminals is retained when incorporating these posts with the device terminals cited in the Chen reference. Thus, this combination of Wu with Yu in view of Chen would arrive at the claimed spatial arrangement.);
a first mold layer (125) disposed on the first interconnection structure and surrounding (horizontally surrounding) each first conductive post of the first conductive posts;
[…];
a second mold layer (130) disposed on the second region of the second interconnection structure (See dashed reference lines) and surrounding the first semiconductor chip (horizontally surrounding), the first mold layer (horizontally surrounding), and each second conductive post of the second conductive posts (horizontally surrounding posts 110);
a passivation layer (1412) disposed on the first mold layer (directly on) and the second mold layer (directly on);
Modifying the first semiconductor chip of Yu in view of Chen by including the first mold layer and first conductive post of Wu would arrive at the claimed first mold layer configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because in each situation a conductive post is connecting a chip to external circuitry (Yu: post of 113, circuitry 1000; Wu: post 124, circuitry 140). Wu provides a teaching to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the claimed mold and post configuration in that it would provide increased strength surrounding the posts ([0019]: “to increase its strength”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed mold and post configuration because it would increase strength surrounding the posts. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Illustrated below is a marked and annotated figure of Fig. 5 of Wu.
Regarding claim 2, Yu in view of Chen and Wu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (Wu: Fig. 5), wherein the first mold layer has an upper surface (See annotated figure for direction designation) being coplanar (horizontally coplanar) with upper ends of the first conductive posts (See annotated figure for direction designation).
Regarding claim 3, Yu in view of Chen and Wu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 2 (Wu: Fig. 5), wherein the second mold layer has an upper surface (See annotated figure for direction designation) being coplanar (horizontally coplanar) with upper ends of the second conductive posts (See annotated figure for direction designation) and the upper surface of the first mold layer (See annotated figure for direction designation).
Regarding claim 4, Yu in view of Chen and Wu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1, further comprising:
conductive bumps connecting the first contact pads to the second contact pads: and
a non-conductive film disposed between the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip and surrounding each conductive bump of the conductive bumps,
wherein an interface between the first and second mold layers is visually identified ([0035]: “a visible interface”),
wherein the visually-identified interface extends along a vertical direction (See annotated figure for direction designation) perpendicular to an upper surface of the passivation layer (See annotated figure for direction designation) and is coplanar with a side surface of the first interconnection structure (See dashed reference line in annotated figure):
wherein an interface between the non-conductive film and the second mold layer is visually identified, and
wherein the non-conductive film extends horizontally beyond side surfaces of the first semiconductor chip.
The combination of Yu, Chen, and Wu as previously relied upon does not include:
“conductive bumps connecting the first contact pads to the second contact pads: and
a non-conductive film disposed between the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip and surrounding each conductive bump of the conductive bumps, […]
wherein an interface between the non-conductive film and the second mold layer is visually identified, and
wherein the non-conductive film extends horizontally beyond side surfaces of the first semiconductor chip.”
Nevertheless, these features are disclosed by Wu (Wu: Fig. 5):
conductive bumps (126) connecting the first contact pads (surfaces of 123) to the second contact pads (1511): and
a non-conductive film (109) disposed between (vertically between) the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip and surrounding (horizontally surrounding) each conductive bump of the conductive bumps, […]
wherein an interface between the non-conductive film and the second mold layer is visually identified (these materials 109 and 130 are separately formed and thus there is a visually identifiable interface between them), and
wherein the non-conductive film extends horizontally beyond side surfaces of the first semiconductor chip (See annotated figure for direction designation).
Modifying the first contact pads of Yu by including the conductive bumps and non-conductive film of Wu in the same way would arrive at the claimed bump and film configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success including the bump and film configuration of Wu because in each situation the first semiconductor chip is vertically oriented in the same way and has the same vertical electrical connections (Wu: Fig. 5: chip 120, vertically connected to 1411 and 1511. Yu: Fig. 12A: chip 101, vertically connected to 1013 and 207.). Wu provides a teaching to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed bump and film configuration in that it would protect the bumps during manufacture ([0032]: “reducing stress and protection”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed bump and film configuration because it would protect the connections during manufacturing. MPEP 2143 (I)(G). MPEP 2143 (I)(F).
Regarding claim 5, Yu in view of Chen and Wu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (Wu: Fig. 5), wherein the first mold layer and the second mold layer comprise different materials (Wu: 1st mold 125 is [0019]: “may include any suitable insulating material…”; 2nd mold 130 is [0033]: “molding compound…encapsulating material…”. Similarly, Yu: Fig. 12A: 2nd mold 501 is [0050]: “a low temperature polyimide material, although any other suitable dielectric, such as PBO”. Note: each of these molds are separately disclosed with a finite selection of known suitable materials. Selecting different materials for each of these molds is expressly encompassed within teachings of Wu: [0035]: “different materials”, as well as the combination of Yu/Chen/Wu.).
Regarding claim 8, Yu in view of Chen and Wu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (Yu: Fig. 12A), wherein each of the first semiconductor chip ([0024]: “a logic device”) and the second semiconductor chip ([0035]: “an application processor”) comprises a logic chip.
Regarding claim 9, Yu in view of Chen and Wu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1, however fails to teach “a third semiconductor chip disposed on the first region of the second interconnection structure, wherein the first and third semiconductor chips are disposed side by side in a horizontal direction on the first region of the second interconnection structure”.
Chen teaches a first semiconductor chip (Fig. 2: 103) and teaches chip configurations may be modified by including a third semiconductor chip (Fig. 3: an additional 103) disposed on the first region of the second interconnection structure (of the combination of 101b/101c), wherein the first and third semiconductor chips are disposed side by side in a horizontal direction on the first region of the second interconnection structure (two 103 are illustrated horizontally aside each other). Modifying the semiconductor package of Yu in view of Chen and Wu by including a third semiconductor chip, by duplicating the first semiconductor chip of Yu, would arrive at the claimed chip configuration without any change in the respective chip function ([0056]: “configuration similar to the one described above or illustrated in FIG. 1 or 2” explains functions is similar as before). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because Chen teaches chip count within a given device is a design choice, varied according to device requirement ([0056]: “includes several second dies”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the semiconductor package because it is a duplication of parts without any change in function. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed third semiconductor chip configuration because it is a mere duplication of parts. MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(A).
Regarding claim 10, Yu in view of Chen and Wu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 9 (Chen: Fig. 3), wherein the first and third semiconductor chips have the same thickness (thicknesses appear matched, as measured in the direction of 101 to 105).
Regarding claim 14, Yu in view of Chen and Wu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (Wu: Fig. 5), wherein the passivation layer contacts (directly contacts) each of the first and second mold layers.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, Chen, and Wu as applied to claims 9 and 1 above, and further in view of Liu (US 20190393150 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Yu in view of Chen and Wu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 9, further comprising:
a third mold layer (Wu: Fig. 5: 125, similarly applied to the third chip) disposed in a space between (vertically between) the passivation layer and the third semiconductor chip,
wherein the first and third mold layers have different thicknesses,
wherein each of upper surfaces of the first and third mold layers (See annotated figure for direction designation) is coplanar (horizontally coplanar) with an upper surface of the second mold layer, and
wherein the passivation layer contacts (directly contacts) the upper surface of each of the first, second, and third mold layers.
Yu in view of Chen and Wu teaches the first and third mold layers, however, fails to teach “wherein the first and third mold layers have different thicknesses”.
Liu discloses a first semiconductor chip (Fig 2D: 208A-1), a first mold layer (208A-6), and a third semiconductor chip (208B-1) in the same field of endeavor, further comprising: a third mold layer (a portion of 212’, See annotated figure) disposed in a space between the passivation layer and the third semiconductor chip, wherein the first and third mold layers have different thicknesses (Height A and Height B as measured from the passivation layer, See annotated figure). Additionally, Liu teaches functional configuration of the first and third chips may differ from one another (“may be the same types of die or different type of dies” [0023]). Thus, Liu teaches it is reasonable to expect chips of different configuration may include differences in dimension and consequently include differences in the resultant mold layer thickness. Yu and Chen each also teach functional configurations of the first die may be varied (Yu: [0024]: “any suitable functionality may be utilized”; Chen: [0034]: “suitable for a particular application”). Thus, it is reasonable to expect at least some differences among chips within a semiconductor package. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the first and third mold layers have different thicknesses because Liu teaches differences among chips that are performing varied functions may reasonably include changes in size/proportion of the chips and the resultant mold layer thickness. Therefore, the claimed mold layer thickness configuration would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date because it is a change in size/proportion without any difference in performance beyond the functional configurations encompassed within the prior art. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Illustrated below is a marked and annotated figure of Fig. 2D of Liu.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, Chen, and Wu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin (US 20200161242 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Yu in view of Chen and Wu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1, however, fails to teach “wherein the first semiconductor chip comprises a plurality of stacked semiconductor chips”.
Lin discloses a first semiconductor chip in the same field of endeavor (Fig. 18E: 159-2), wherein the first semiconductor chip comprises a plurality of stacked semiconductor chips (251-3). Modifying the first semiconductor chip of Yu in view of Chen and Wu to include a plurality of stacked semiconductor chips in the way disclosed by Lin would arrive at the claimed chip configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because Yu teaches a design incentive of varying first chip configuration being alternative device utility ([0024]: “designed to work in conjunction with other devices within the package. However, any suitable functionality may be utilized”). Lin provides a teaching to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first semiconductor chip in that it would enable increased integration density by pluralizing the number of chips ([0048] “density”; density is increased by the pluralization of the chips described in [0048]: “2, 4, 8, 16, 24, 32 HBM DRAM IC chips”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed chip configuration because it would enable increased integration density. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Illustrated below is Fig. 18E of Lin.
Regarding claim 13, Yu in view of Chen, Wu, and Lin discloses the semiconductor package of claim 12 (Lin: Fig. 18E), wherein the plurality of stacked semiconductor chips comprise a memory chip (Lin: [0299]: “HBM IC chips”; similarly Fujishima: [0020]: “a memory die”), and the second semiconductor chip comprises a logic chip (Fujishima: [0020]: “a logic die”).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, Chen, and Wu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujishima (US 20200343184 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Yu in view of Chen and Wu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (Yu: Fig. 12A), wherein the first contact pads and the second contact pads are arranged in a first pitch (a generic pitch is illustrated), and the second conductive posts are arranged in a second pitch ([0047]: “a pitch of about 70 μm. However, any suitable dimensions may be utilized”), greater than the first pitch.
Yu fails to teach explicit range endpoints for the first pitch, or dimensional relations between the second and first pitches. Thus, Yu in view of Chen and Wu fails to teach “wherein the first contact pads and the second contact pads are arranged in a first pitch, and the second conductive posts are arranged in a second pitch, greater than the first pitch.” Nevertheless, these dimensions and relations are known elsewhere in the art.
Fujishima discloses a semiconductor package in the same field of endeavor (Fig. 1H), wherein the first contact pads and the second contact pads are arranged in a first pitch (P1; [0022]: “a first pitch”), and the second conductive posts are arranged in a second pitch (P2), greater than the first pitch ([0022]: “P1… is finer than a second pitch P2”). Modifying the first pitch and its relation to the second pitch by incorporating the pitch configuration of Fujishima would arrive at the claimed pitch configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because in each situation the pitches pertain to pads (Yu: Fig. 12A: pads 111; Fujishima: Fig. 1H: pads 138) and posts (Yu: Fig. 12A: posts 401; Fujishima: Fig. 1H: posts 128). Doing so would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date because it is a recitation of relative dimensions disclosed elsewhere in the prior art for similar structures. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A).
Claims 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, in view of Chen, Chen (US 20220310499 A1, hereinafter Chen ‘499), and Wu.
Regarding independent claim 16 as noted in the 112(b) rejection, Yu discloses a semiconductor package (Fig. 12A) comprising:
a first semiconductor chip (101) including a first substrate (105; [0025]: “bulk silicon”) having a first surface (Surface A, See annotated figure) and a second surface (Surface B, See annotated figure), located opposite to each other (vertically opposite), and
including a redistribution structure located on the first surface,
a first interconnection structure disposed on the second surface,
through-electrodes (113) passing through the first substrate and connecting the redistribution structure to the first interconnection structure, and
first contact pads (111) disposed on the redistribution structure, wherein the first surface corresponds to an active surface of the first substrate, and the second surface corresponds to a non-active surface of the first substrate,
wherein the first interconnection structure contacts the active surface and the redistribution structure contacts the non-active surface;
first conductive posts (portions of 113, See annotated figure) disposed on a bottom surface of the first interconnection structure and electrically connected to the first interconnection structure;
wherein the through-electrodes are disposed on a top surface of the first interconnection structure, and
wherein each of the first conductive posts vertically overlaps the first substrate and is offset from an adjacent through-electrode among the through-electrodes in a horizontal direction parallel to an upper surface of the first substrate;
a first mold layer disposed on the first interconnection structure and having an upper surface, coplanar with upper ends of the first conductive posts;
a second semiconductor chip (200) including a second interconnection structure (201; [0036]: “a semiconductor substrate”) having a first region (annotated as First Region, between the dashed reference lines of the annotated figure) on which the first semiconductor chip is disposed (the first region overlaps with 101, thus “disposed”. Note: Fig. 2 shows the method step when the 1st chip is being disposed onto the 2nd chip.) and a second region (annotated as Second Region, outside the dashed reference lines of the annotated figure), different from the first region (“different” based on the dashed reference lines), and second contact pads (207) disposed on the first region of the second interconnection structure and respectively connected to the first contact pads, wherein the first surface of the first semiconductor chip is disposed to face the second interconnection structure (these surfaces vertically face each other);
second conductive posts (401) disposed on the second region of the second interconnection structure and electrically connected to the second interconnection structure (connected to respective 207);
a second mold layer (501) disposed on the second region of the second interconnection structure (directly on), and having an upper surface (See annotated figure for direction designation), coplanar with upper ends of the second conductive posts (See annotated figure for direction designation) and the upper surface of the first mold layer;
a passivation layer (layer 1001 within structure 1000. This cited layer is enclosing and thereby protecting conductive features contained within structure 1000, thus it is “a passivation layer”) disposed on the first mold layer and the second mold layer (Fig. 10 shows the method step of disposing this layer); and
a plurality of conductive connection structures (respective ones of 1003 within 1000) passing through the passivation layer and respectively connected to the first conductive posts (electrically connected) and the second conductive posts (electrically connected);
conductive bumps connecting the first contact pads and the second contact pads: and
a non-conductive film disposed between the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip and surrounding each conductive bump of the conductive bumps,
wherein an interface between the first and second mold layers is visually identified,
wherein the visually-identified interface extends along a vertical direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the passivation layer and is coplanar with a side surface of the first interconnection structure,
wherein an interface between the non-conductive film and the second mold layer is visually identified, and
wherein the non-conductive film extends horizontally beyond side surfaces of the first semiconductor chip.
Yu teaches the first surface, second surface, through-electrodes, first substrate, first contact pads, and first conductive posts, but fails to teach
“including a redistribution structure located on the first surface,
a first interconnection structure disposed on the second surface,
through-electrodes passing through the first substrate and connecting the redistribution structure to the first interconnection structure, and
first contact pads disposed on the redistribution structure, wherein the first surface corresponds to an active surface of the first substrate, and the second surface corresponds to a non-active surface of the first substrate,
wherein the first interconnection structure contacts the active surface and the redistribution structure contacts the non-active surface;
first conductive posts disposed on a bottom surface of the first interconnection structure and electrically connected to the first interconnection structure;
wherein the through-electrodes are disposed on a top surface of the first interconnection structure, and
wherein each of the first conductive posts vertically overlaps the first substrate and is offset from an adjacent through-electrode among the through-electrodes in a horizontal direction parallel to an upper surface of the first substrate;
a first mold layer disposed on the first interconnection structure and having an upper surface, coplanar with upper ends of the first conductive posts;”
Chen discloses a first semiconductor substrate in the same field of endeavor (Fig. 2: 103a)
including a redistribution structure (combination of 103g/103f) located on the first surface (surface 103a-2),
a first interconnection structure (combination of 103b/103c) disposed on the second surface (surface 103a-1),
through-electrodes (103h) passing through the first substrate and connecting the redistribution structure to the first interconnection structure, and
first contact pads (device terminals, See annotated figure. These terminals are referred to later in the rejection to establish a spatial configuration when combining the references.) disposed on the redistribution structure,
wherein the first surface corresponds to an active surface of the first substrate, and the second surface corresponds to a non-active surface of the first substrate,
wherein the first interconnection structure contacts the active surface (structure 103g/103f at least indirectly “contacts” surface 103a-1; [0035]: “active side”) and the redistribution structure contacts the non-active surface (structure 103b/103c at least indirectly “contacts” surface 103a-2; [0035]: “inactive side”);
first conductive posts (connectors 108. Note: “first conductive posts” are not cited here, but first conductive connectors are cited here. These connectors are referred to later in the rejection to establish a spatial configuration when combining the references.) disposed on (directly on) a bottom surface of the first interconnection structure (annotated as “top”. See annotated figure) and electrically connected to the first interconnection structure (directly connected);
wherein the through-electrodes are disposed on a top surface of the first interconnection structure (annotated as “bottom”. See annotated figure), and
wherein each of the first conductive posts vertically overlaps the first substrate (See annotated figure for “vertical” direction designation. Note: as noted above “first conductive posts” are not cited here, but connectors 108 are cited here.) and is offset from an adjacent through-electrode among the through-electrodes in a horizontal direction (See annotated figure for “horizontal” direction designation. See dashed reference line, which shows at least some amount of horizontal “offset” for the device terminal relative to 103h) parallel to an upper surface of the first substrate (surface 103a-2);
a first mold layer (109) disposed on the first interconnection structure (directly on) and having an upper surface, coplanar (coplanar at interface with 101c) with upper ends of the first conductive posts (Note: as noted above “first conductive posts” are not cited here, but connectors 108 are cited here.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yu, by including a first interconnection structure and a redistribution structure with the first semiconductor substrate. Doing so would substantially arrive at the claimed configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because in each situation an electrical path is formed vertically through the die and through-electrodes to opposing surfaces (Yu: Fig. 12A: surfaces A and B of 101; Chen: surfaces A and B of 103, See annotated figure). Chen teaches a design incentive of these structures is to provide electrical connections according to required circuitry configuration within the semiconductor package ([0038]: “configured to route a path of circuitry from the second die substrate 103a and redistribute I/O terminals of the second die substrate”; [0043]: “configured to electrically connect the second die 103 with a circuitry or conductive structure external to the second die”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed first interconnection structure and redistribution structure because it would enable designing additional circuitry configurations, thereby enhancing design capabilities. MPEP 2144 (I). MPEP 2143 (I)(F).
Yu in view of Chen teaches the first and second surfaces, however, only teaches their functions reversed from the claim. Thus, the combination of references fails to teach “wherein the first surface corresponds to an active surface of the first substrate, and the second surface corresponds to a non-active surface of the first substrate”.
Chen ‘499 teaches a first semiconductor substrate (Fig. 17: 160s) wherein the first surface (160a) corresponds to an active surface of the first substrate ([0062]: “an active surface”), and the second surface (160f) corresponds to a non-active surface of the first substrate ([0062]: “a backside surface”). Chen ‘499 further teaches arrangement of the active and non-active surfaces may be reversed (Fig. 18 shows surface 160f arrangement is reversed from Fig. 17). Modifying the arrangement of the active and non-active surfaces of Yu in view of Chen, by reversing the orientation would arrive at the claimed surface configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized doing so as an obvious variation in arrangement with predictable results because Chen ‘499 teaches surface arrangement may be reversed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed surface configuration because it is an arrangement of surfaces known in the prior art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(A).
Yu in view of Chen and Chen ‘499 fails to teach
a first mold layer disposed on the first interconnection structure and having an upper surface, coplanar with upper ends of the first conductive posts;
[…]
a second mold layer disposed on the second region of the second interconnection structure, and having an upper surface, coplanar with upper ends of the second conductive posts and the upper surface of the first mold layer;
a passivation layer disposed on the first mold layer and the second mold layer; and
[…]
conductive bumps connecting the first contact pads and the second contact pads: and
a non-conductive film disposed between the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip and surrounding each conductive bump of the conductive bumps,
wherein an interface between the first and second mold layers is visually identified,
wherein the visually-identified interface extends along a vertical direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the passivation layer and is coplanar with a side surface of the first interconnection structure,
wherein an interface between the non-conductive film and the second mold layer is visually identified, and
wherein the non-conductive film extends horizontally beyond side surfaces of the first semiconductor chip.
Wu discloses:
a first mold layer (Fig. 5: 125) disposed on the first interconnection structure (122) and having an upper surface (See annotated figure for direction designation), coplanar (horizontally coplanar) with upper ends of the first conductive posts (See annotated figure for direction designation);
[…]
a second mold layer (130) disposed on the second region of the second interconnection structure (See dashed reference lines), and having an upper surface (See annotated figure for direction designation), coplanar (horizontally coplanar) with upper ends of the second conductive posts (posts 110, See annotated figure for direction designation) and the upper surface of the first mold layer (See annotated figure for direction designation);
a passivation layer (1412) disposed on the first mold layer (directly on) and the second mold layer (directly on); and
[…]
conductive bumps (126) connecting the first contact pads (device terminals at 126, See annotated figure) and the second contact pads (1511): and
a non-conductive film (109) disposed between (vertically between) the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip and surrounding (horizontally surrounding) each conductive bump of the conductive bumps,
wherein an interface between the first and second mold layers is visually identified ([0035]: “a visible interface”),
wherein the visually-identified interface extends along a vertical direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the passivation layer (See annotated figure for direction designation) and is coplanar (vertically coplanar along dashed reference line) with a side surface of the first interconnection structure,
wherein an interface between the non-conductive film and the second mold layer is visually identified (these materials 109 and 130 are separately formed and thus there is a visually identifiable interface between them), and
wherein the non-conductive film extends horizontally beyond side surfaces of the first semiconductor chip (See annotated figure for “horizontal” direction designation).
Modifying the first contact pads of Yu by including the first mold layer, first conductive posts, conductive bumps, and non-conductive film of Wu in the same way would arrive at the claimed bump and film configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because in each situation: 1) a conductive post is connecting a chip to external circuitry (Yu: post of 113, circuitry 1000; Wu: post 124, circuitry 140); and 2) the first semiconductor chip is vertically oriented in the same way and has the same vertical electrical connections (Wu: Fig. 5: chip 120, vertically connected to 1411 and 1511. Yu: Fig. 12A: chip 101, vertically connected to 1013 and 207.). Wu provides a teaching to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed mold, post, bump, and film configuration in that it would: 1) provide increased strength surrounding the posts ([0019]: “to increase its strength”); and 2) protect the bumps during manufacture ([0032]: “reducing stress and protection”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed mold, post, bump, and film configuration because it would protect the connections during manufacturing. MPEP 2143 (I)(G). MPEP 2143 (I)(F).
Regarding claim 18, Yu in view of Chen, Chen ‘499, and Wu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 16 (Yu: Fig. 12A), wherein the plurality of conductive connection structures comprise first conductive connection structures respectively connected to the first conductive posts (respective ones of 1003 within 1000), and second conductive connection structures respectively connected to the second conductive posts (respective ones of 1003 within 1000).
Regarding claim 19, Yu in view of Chen, Chen ‘499, and Wu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 16 (Yu: Fig. 12A), wherein the first interconnection structure and the second interconnection structure comprise a first interconnection layer (Chen: 103c; [0040]: “conductive member”) and a second interconnection layer (Yu: Fig. 12A: the collection of 207 are being defined here as a layer), respectively, and wherein the first conductive posts and the second conductive posts contact the first interconnection layer and the second interconnection layer, respectively.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Chen, Chen ‘499, and Wu.
Regarding independent claim 20 as noted in the 112(b) rejection, Yu discloses a semiconductor package (Fig. 12A) comprising:
a first semiconductor chip (101) including a first substrate (105; [0025]: “bulk silicon”) having a first surface (Surface A, See annotated figure) and a second surface (Surface B, See annotated figure), located opposite to each other (vertically opposite), and
including a redistribution structure disposed directly on the first surface,
a first interconnection structure disposed directly on the second surface,
through-electrodes (113) passing through the first substrate and connecting the redistribution structure to the first interconnection structure, and
first contact pads (111) disposed on the first interconnection structure,
wherein the second surface corresponds to an active surface of the first semiconductor chip, and the first surface corresponds to a non-active surface of the first semiconductor chip,
wherein the first interconnection structure contacts the active surface and the redistribution structure contacts the non-active surface;
first conductive posts (portions of 113, See annotated figure) disposed on a bottom surface of the redistribution structure and electrically connected to the redistribution structure;
wherein the through-electrodes are disposed on a top surface of the first interconnection structure, and
wherein each of the first conductive posts vertically overlaps the first substrate and is offset from an adjacent through-electrode among the through-electrodes in a horizontal direction parallel to an upper surface of the first substrate;
a first mold layer disposed on the redistribution structure and having an upper surface, coplanar with upper ends of the first conductive posts;
a second semiconductor chip (200) including a second interconnection structure (201; [0036]: “a semiconductor substrate”) having a first region (annotated as First Region, between the dashed reference lines of the annotated figure) on which the first semiconductor chip is disposed (the first region overlaps with 101, thus “disposed”. Note: Fig. 2 shows the method step when the 1st chip is being disposed onto the 2nd chip.) and a second region (annotated as Second Region, outside the dashed reference lines of the annotated figure), different from the first region (“different” based on the dashed reference lines), and
second contact pads (207) disposed on the first region of the second interconnection structure and respectively connected to the first contact pads,
wherein the second surface of the first semiconductor chip is disposed to face the second interconnection structure (these surfaces vertically face each other);
second conductive posts (401) disposed on the second region of the second interconnection structure and electrically connected to the second interconnection structure (connected to respective 207);
a second mold layer (501) disposed on the second region of the second interconnection structure (directly on), and having an upper surface (See annotated figure for direction designation), coplanar with upper ends of the second conductive posts (See annotated figure for direction designation) and the upper surface of the first mold layer;
a passivation layer (layer 1001 within structure 1000. This cited layer is enclosing and thereby protecting conductive features contained within structure 1000, thus it is “a passivation layer”) disposed on the first mold layer and the second mold layer (Fig. 10 shows the method step of disposing this layer); and
a plurality of conductive connection structures (respective ones of 1003 within 1000) passing through the passivation layer and respectively connected to the first conductive posts (electrically connected) and the second conductive posts (electrically connected),
wherein side surfaces of the second mold layer (See annotated figure) are vertically below side surfaces of the second semiconductor chip (See annotated figure), and
wherein the side surfaces of the second semiconductor chip are vertically coplanar with the side surfaces of the second mold layer (coplanar along dashed reference line).
Yu teaches the first surface, second surface, through-electrodes, first substrate, first contact pads, and first conductive posts, but fails to teach
“including a redistribution structure disposed directly on the first surface,
a first interconnection structure disposed directly on the second surface,
through-electrodes passing through the first substrate and connecting the redistribution structure to the first interconnection structure, and
first contact pads disposed on the first interconnection structure,
wherein the second surface corresponds to an active surface of the first semiconductor chip, and the first surface corresponds to a non-active surface of the first semiconductor chip,
wherein the first interconnection structure contacts the active surface and the redistribution structure contacts the non-active surface;
first conductive posts disposed on a bottom surface of the redistribution structure and electrically connected to the redistribution structure;
wherein the through-electrodes are disposed on a top surface of the first interconnection structure, and
wherein each of the first conductive posts vertically overlaps the first substrate and is offset from an adjacent through-electrode among the through-electrodes in a horizontal direction parallel to an upper surface of the first substrate;
a first mold layer disposed on the redistribution structure and having an upper surface, coplanar with upper ends of the first conductive posts;”
Chen discloses a first semiconductor substrate in the same field of endeavor (Fig. 2: 103a)
including a redistribution structure (combination of 103b/103c) disposed directly on the first surface (surface 103a-1),
a first interconnection structure (combination of 103g/103f) disposed directly on the second surface (surface 103a-2),
through-electrodes (103h) passing through the first substrate and connecting the redistribution structure to the first interconnection structure, and
first contact pads (device terminals, See annotated figure. These terminals are referred to later in the rejection to establish a spatial configuration when combining the references.) disposed on the first interconnection structure,
wherein the second surface corresponds to an active surface of the first semiconductor chip, and the first surface corresponds to a non-active surface of the first semiconductor chip,
wherein the first interconnection structure contacts the active surface (structure 103g/103f at least indirectly “contacts” surface 103a-1; [0035]: “active side”) and the redistribution structure contacts the non-active surface (structure 103b/103c at least indirectly “contacts” surface 103a-2; [0035]: “inactive side”);
first conductive posts (connectors 108. Note: “first conductive posts” are not cited here, but first conductive connectors are cited here. These connectors are referred to later in the rejection to establish a spatial configuration when combining the references.) disposed on (directly on) a bottom surface of the redistribution structure (annotated as “top”. See annotated figure) and electrically connected to the redistribution structure (directly connected);
wherein the through-electrodes are disposed on a top surface of the first interconnection structure (annotated as “top”. See annotated figure), and
wherein each of the first conductive posts vertically overlaps the first substrate (See annotated figure for “vertical” direction designation. Note: as noted above “first conductive posts” are not cited here, but connectors 108 are cited here.) and is offset from an adjacent through-electrode among the through-electrodes in a horizontal direction (See annotated figure for “horizontal” direction designation. See dashed reference line, which shows at least some amount of horizontal “offset” for the device terminal relative to 103h) parallel to an upper surface of the first substrate (surface 103a-2);
a first mold layer (109) disposed on the redistribution structure (directly on) and having an upper surface, coplanar (coplanar at interface with 101c) with upper ends of the first conductive posts (Note: as noted above “first conductive posts” are not cited here, but connectors 108 are cited here.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yu, by including a first interconnection structure and a redistribution structure with the first semiconductor substrate. Doing so would substantially arrive at the claimed configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because in each situation an electrical path is formed vertically through the die and through-electrodes to opposing surfaces (Yu: Fig. 12A: surfaces A and B of 101; Chen: surfaces A and B of 103, See annotated figure). Chen teaches a design incentive of these structures is to provide electrical connections according to required circuitry configuration within the semiconductor package ([0038]: “configured to route a path of circuitry from the second die substrate 103a and redistribute I/O terminals of the second die substrate”; [0043]: “configured to electrically connect the second die 103 with a circuitry or conductive structure external to the second die”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed first interconnection structure and redistribution structure because it would enable designing additional circuitry configurations, thereby enhancing design capabilities. MPEP 2144 (I). MPEP 2143 (I)(F).
Yu in view of Chen teaches the first and second surfaces, however, only teaches their functions reversed from the claim. Thus, the combination of references fails to teach “wherein the second surface corresponds to an active surface of the first semiconductor chip, and the first surface corresponds to a non-active surface of the first semiconductor chip”.
Chen ‘499 teaches a first semiconductor substrate (Fig. 17: 160s) wherein the second surface (160a) corresponds to an active surface of the first semiconductor chip ([0062]: “an active surface”), and the first surface (160f) corresponds to a non-active surface of the first semiconductor chip ([0062]: “a backside surface”). Chen ‘499 further teaches arrangement of the active and non-active surfaces may be reversed (Fig. 18 shows surface 160f arrangement is reversed from Fig. 17). Modifying the arrangement of the active and non-active surfaces of Yu in view of Chen, by reversing the orientation would arrive at the claimed surface configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized doing so as an obvious variation in arrangement because Chen ‘499 teaches surface arrangement may be reversed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed surface configuration because it is an arrangement of surfaces known in the prior art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(A).
Yu in view of Chen and Chen ‘499 fails to teach
“a first mold layer disposed on the redistribution structure and having an upper surface, coplanar with upper ends of the first conductive posts;
[…]
a second mold layer disposed on the second region of the second interconnection structure, and having an upper surface, coplanar with upper ends of the second conductive posts and the upper surface of the first mold layer;
a passivation layer disposed on the first mold layer and the second mold layer;”.
Wu discloses:
first conductive posts (Fig. 5: 124) disposed on a bottom surface (Surface A, See annotated figure) of the redistribution structure and electrically connected to the redistribution structure (device terminals/pads are cited here, See annotated figure. These terminals are corresponding to the device terminals/pads 103c-1 of Chen),
wherein the through-electrodes (123) are disposed on a top surface of the first interconnection structure, and
wherein each of the first conductive posts vertically overlaps the first substrate (See annotated figure for “vertical” direction designation) and is offset from an adjacent through-electrode among the through-electrodes in a horizontal direction parallel to an upper surface of the first substrate (Note: Wu is relied upon here to teach the “first conductive posts” configured among device terminals/pads. This configuration among terminals/pads is retained when incorporating these posts with the device terminals/pads cited in the Chen reference. Thus, this combination of Wu with Yu in view of Chen and Chen ‘499 would arrive at the claimed spatial arrangement.);
a first mold layer (125) disposed on the redistribution structure (122) and having an upper surface (See annotated figure for direction designation), coplanar (horizontally coplanar) with upper ends of the first conductive posts (See annotated figure for direction designation);
[…]
a second mold layer (130) disposed on the second region of the second interconnection structure (See dashed reference lines), and having an upper surface (See annotated figure for direction designation), coplanar (horizontally coplanar) with upper ends of the second conductive posts (See annotated figure for direction designation) and the upper surface of the first mold layer (See annotated figure for direction designation);
a passivation layer (1412) disposed on the first mold layer (directly on) and the second mold layer (directly on).
Modifying the first semiconductor chip of Yu in view of Chen and Chen ‘499 by including the first mold layer and first conductive post of Wu would arrive at the claimed first mold layer configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because in each situation a conductive post is connecting a chip to external circuitry (Yu: post of 113, circuitry 1000; Wu: post 124, circuitry 140). Wu provides a teaching to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the claimed mold and post configuration in that it would provide increased strength surrounding the posts ([0019]: “to increase its strength”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed mold and post configuration because it would increase strength surrounding the posts. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 1 that “In the opposite manner of the claimed invention, Chen discloses that the combination of 103g/103f contacts the inactive side 103a-2, and the combination of 103b/103c contacts the active side 103a-1. In other words, the combination of 103g/103f does not contact the active side 103a-1, and the combination of 103b/103c does not contact the inactive side 103a-2. As such, Chen does not cure the deficiencies of Yu and thus the combination of the cited references would not have arrived at the claimed invention”. Remarks at pg. 21.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner disagrees and points to MPEP 2111: Broadest Reasonable Interpretation. The examiner finds the claim definite and supported by Applicant’s originally filed disclosure. However, the claim as written reasonably includes configurations beyond the contended configuration of Applicant’s disclosure. The examiner maintains the rejection for substantially similar reasons as before, but has included additional/adjusted remarks to promote clarity of the record, and to hasten prosecution.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 1 that “Yu does not disclose “wherein each of the first conductive posts vertically overlaps the first semiconductor substrate and is offset from an adjacent through-electrode among the through-electrodes in a horizontal direction parallel to an upper surface of the first semiconductor substrate,” as recited in claim 1”. Remarks at pg. 19.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner does not find Applicant’s remarks persuasive because:
Yu is relied upon to teach substantial features of the claim.
Chen is relied upon in substantially the same way as before using MPEP 2144(I); MPEP 2143 (I)(F) as the supporting rationale to teach an arrangement of “through-electrodes” with respect to the “interconnection structure” and “redistribution structure”, but additional citations and clarifying remarks are included in the instant Office action to address the new limitation to the claim. More specifically, Chen is now relied upon to teach “through-electrodes” in relation to device terminals.
Wu is relied upon in substantially the same way as before using MPEP 2143 (I)(G) as the supporting rationale to teach a modification including “conductive posts”, but additional citations and clarifying remarks are included in the instant Office action to address the new limitation to the claim. More specifically, Wu is now relied upon to teach the “conductive posts” in relation to device terminals.
Accordingly, the examiner is relying upon the collective teachings of Yu, Chen, and Wu to render obvious the particularly claimed “semiconductor package” configuration.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 1 that “the Examiner is silent as to how Chen cures the deficiencies of Yu that the claimed first conductive posts are disposed on the combination of 103g/103f”. Remarks at pg. 23.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner does not find Applicant’s remarks persuasive because Yu/Chen is not relied upon in the prior Office action for the contended limitation. The examiner points to Yu/Chen as modified by Wu, using MPEP 2143 (I)(G) as the supporting rationale, to incorporate the contended configuration (Non-Final Rejection mailed 3/24/2026: pg. 9: “…by including the first mold layer and first conductive post of Wu…”). Accordingly, this combination of references is relied upon in the instant Office action in substantially the same way as before.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 16 similar arguments to amended claim 1: “At least for the reasons discussed regarding claim 1, claim 16 and its dependent claims are believed to be patentable over the cited references”. Remarks at pg. 26.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner does not find Applicant’s remarks persuasive for reasons consistent with those given for the claim 1 remarks. Accordingly, the examiner maintains the rejection for substantially similar reasons as before, but has included additional/adjusted remarks to promote clarity of the record, and to hasten prosecution.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 20 similar arguments to amended claim 1: “At least for the reasons discussed regarding claim 1, claim 20 is believed to be patentable over the cited references”. Remarks at pg. 27.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner does not find Applicant’s remarks persuasive for reasons consistent with those given for the claim 1 remarks. Accordingly, the examiner maintains the rejection for substantially similar reasons as before, but has included additional/adjusted remarks to promote clarity of the record, and to hasten prosecution.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM H ANDERSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2817