Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on or before 2026-04-14 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 2026-01-30 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-2, and 5-12 remain pending in this application. Claim(s) 1, and 8 have been amended. Claim(s) 3-4 and 13-14 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8 and their dependents have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pak (KR-102141368-B1 – Refer to attached machine translation for references cited).
Regarding Claim 1, Pak teaches a test probe comprising: a support of an electrically conductive material (Figs 1-3: socket body portion, 11 | para [0065] teaches 11 is made of a conductive material) having a first face and a second face (see annotated Figure 2 of Pak), first contact members provided adjacent to the first face of the support (see annotated Figure 2 of Pak), and second contact members provided adjacent to the second face of the support (see annotated Figure 2 of Pak),
with at least either one of the first contact members or second contact members being provided as a plurality of members, wherein a plurality of the first contact members and at least one of the second contact members, or a plurality of the second contact members and at least one of the first contact members are electrically connected through the support (Figs 1-3 shows a plurality of first contact members connected to a plurality of second contact members, through the support).
wherein the first contact members and second contact members have shoulder portions that are retained inside the support by engaging with contact portions correspondingly provided in the support (see annotated Figure 2 of Pak), and
wherein a coil spring (unlabeled but clearly visible in the Figures) is disposed extending through a through-hole provided in the support (Fig 2: pin hole, 111'), with one end of the coil spring abutting a first contact member and another end abutting a second contact member (can be seen in Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Pak teaches the test probe according to claim 1, wherein the first contact members or the second contact members are provided in a manner permitting resilient expansion and contraction relative to the support (Para [0051-0052] teaches the upper and lower probes of ground pin, 13G, move vertically within the support).
Annotated Figure 2 of Pak
Regarding Claim 8, Pak teaches a test socket, comprising: a plurality of test probes (Can be seen in Figs 1-3), each of the plurality of test probes comprising:
a support of an electrically conductive material (Figs 1-3: socket body portion, 11 | para [0065] teaches 11 is made of a conductive material) having a first face and a second face (see annotated Figure 2 of Pak), first contact members provided adjacent to the first face of the support (see annotated Figure 2 of Pak), and second contact members provided adjacent to the second face of the support (see annotated Figure 2 of Pak),
with at least either one of the first contact members or second contact members being provided as a plurality of members, wherein a plurality of the first contact members and at least one of the second contact members, or a plurality of the second contact members and at least one of the first contact members are electrically connected through the support (Figs 1-3 shows a plurality of first contact members connected to a plurality of second contact members, through the support);
wherein the plurality of test probes are arranged on the first face or the second face in a mutually parallel (Fig 2 shows the probes parallel to one another) or mutually complementary combination,
wherein the first contact members and second contact members have shoulder portions that are retained inside the support by engaging with contact portions correspondingly provided in the support (see annotated Figure 2 of Pak), and
wherein a coil spring (unlabeled but clearly visible in the Figures) is disposed extending through a through-hole provided in the support (Fig 2: pin hole, 111'), with one end of the coil spring abutting a first contact member and another end abutting a second contact member (can be seen in Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 9, Pak teaches the test socket according to claim 8, wherein at least one first contact member is provided on a side where a unit to be tested is disposed, and a plurality of the second contact members are provided on the side used for mounting to a test apparatus (Para [0033] teaches using the device for testing or for mounting to various devices such as a CPU, GPU or chipset).
Regarding Claim 10, Pak teaches the test socket according to claim 8, wherein the plurality of test probes are disposed around a periphery of a test probe consisting of a single test probe element wherein the plurality of test probes are disposed around the periphery of a test probe consisting of a single test probe element (Fig 1 shows various ground probes, 13G, surrounding a single signal probe, 13S).
Regarding Claim 12, Pak teaches the test probe according to claim 1, wherein the support is formed from an electrically unitary member comprising a plurality of sections in electrical communication with one another (Para [0050] teaches the socket body, 11, is an upper and lower body (11a and 11b) and are made of conductive materials and joined together).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pak in view of Sato et al. (US-20110050263-A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Pak does not explicitly teach a probe manufactured by stamping and folding a metal plate, and wherein the support is manufactured by machining a block of metal. However, Sato teaches a probe manufactured by stamping and folding a metal plate (Para [0069] teaches the punching and bending of a probe), and wherein the support is manufactured by machining a block of metal (Para [0094] with reference to Figure 4 teaches cutting metal to form the probe, which includes the support (Housing, 30), Para [0093] teaches the housing is made of sheet metal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have manufactured the first and second contact members and support of Pak in the manner described by Sato. A motivation for making probes this way is they can be manufactured with simple equipment, in large amounts and at low cost as taught by Sato in paragraph [0095].
Conclusion
/JEREMIAH J BARRON/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858