DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 17-19 and 21-25 are pending examination. Claims 1-12 were previously withdrawn.
The previous rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) has been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s remarks filed June 8, 2026 and amendment filed October 29, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 17, step (ii) the recitation “wherein a weight percentage of the flour is about 13 wt% to about 30 wt% of the flour relative to a total weight of the first dough” should be amended to read “wherein a weight percentage of the flour is about 13 wt% to about 30 wt% relative to a total weight of the first dough.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-19 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roussel et al. (2017/0094982) as evidenced by Pontoh et al. (“Glucose syrup production from Indonesian palm and cassava starch”, Food Research International, Vol. 28, No. 4, (1995), pp. 379-385).
Regarding claims 17 and 19, Roussel et al. disclose a method of making a multi-texture cookie, the method comprising the steps of: (a) forming an external dough by (i) mixing fat, sugars (i.e., particle sugar), and salt; (ii) adding and mixing in liquid whole egg, glucose syrup, flavor and water to mixture; (iii) subsequently adding the flour and baking powder; and (iv) blending until a homogeneous dough having a water activity of approximately 0.78 is obtained (i.e., external dough); (b) forming an internal dough (i.e., first dough) by (i) mixing fats, sugar (i.e., particle sugar), flour and salt; (ii) adding and mixing in liquid whole egg, glucose syrup (i.e., sugar syrup), glycerol (i.e., sugar alcohol), flavor, and water to the mixture, (iii)subsequently adding the starch, fiber and baking powder; and (iv) blending until a homogeneous dough having a water activity of approximately 0.73 is obtained (i.e. dough precursor); (c) coextruding dough one and dough two to form a cookie multi-component dough; and (d) baking the multi-component dough to form a multi-texture cookie ([0064]-[0071]).
Roussel et al. disclose the internal dough (i.e., first dough) comprises 10% wt% flour (Abstract, [0030]). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP §2144.05 I). In this case, the claimed amount of flour of about 13 wt% is considered to encompass a value of 10 wt%.
In the alternative, while Roussel et al. disclose a low flour content is desired for a soft inner dough, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have adjusted the flour content of the internal dough in order to create a cookie precursor having a harder dough.
While Roussel et al. disclose a method of making an external dough (i.e., first dough) wherein the baking powder is added after the glucose syrup and glycerol are mixed in, selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the contrary (MPEP §2144.04).
Regarding claim 18, Roussel et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Roussel et al. disclose the external and internal (i.e., cookie precursor) are mixed using a conventional mixer type ([0114], [0116]). Here, any conventional mixer would be considered to produce shear to some extent (i.e., shear mixer).
Regarding claim 21, Roussel et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Roussel et al. disclose sugars including sucrose (i.e., particle sugar), the reference is silent with respect to particle size. However, as evidenced by Krűger, crystallized sugar, i.e., sucrose, is known to have grain sizes ranging from 2.5 mm to 0.1 mm (i.e., 100 to 2500 µm).
Regarding claim 22, Roussel et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Roussel et al. disclose an embodiment wherein the ratio of sugar (i.e. particle sugar) to glycerol (i.e., sugar alcohol) is about 1.5 (15.56% sugar and 10.69% glycerol – [0107]/Example 1, internal dough).
Regarding claim 23, Roussel et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Roussel et al. disclose mixing in a conventional mixer. Here, a conventional mixer is considered to include horizontal mixers. While Roussel et al. is silent with respect mixing for 1 to 3 minutes at each step, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have adjusted, in routine process, the mixing time to obtain a homogenous mixture.
Regarding claim 24, Roussel et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Roussel et al. disclose glucose syrup (). As evidenced by Pontoh et al., glucose syrup is also referred to as dextrose syrup (p. 379/Introduction).
Regarding claim 25, Roussel et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Roussel et al. disclose the first dough mix comprises at least 20 wt% flour (i.e., cookie precursor-Abstract). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists MPEP 2144.05 I).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roussel et al. (2017/0094982) as applied to claim 17, and further in view of Krűger (“Sugar”, Industrial Chocolate Manufacture and Use, S.T. Beckett (ed.), Springer Science-Business media Dordrecht, (1994), pp. 25-42).
Regarding claim 21, Roussel et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Roussel et al. disclose sugars including sucrose (i.e., particle sugar), the reference is silent with respect to particle size.
Krűger, teaches crystallized sugar, i.e., sucrose, is known to have grain sizes ranging from 2.5 mm to 0.1 mm (i.e., 100 to 2500 µm-p. 28/3.2 Sugar qualities).
Given Roussel et al. disclose sucrose, since Krűger, teaches crystallized sugar, i.e., sucrose, is known to have grain sizes ranging from 2.5 mm to 0.1 mm, it would have been obvious to have used any known size of sucrose sugar (e.g., course, medium or fine), and arrive at the present invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, as amended, claim 17 is “novel, nonobvious and distinguished over Rousell.”
Applicant is directed to the new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 set forth above.
Conclusion
ELIZABETH A. GWARTNEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/ELIZABETH GWARTNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759