DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed October 29, 2025 has been entered. Claim 20 has been cancelled. Claims 21-25 are new. Claims 17-19 and 21-25 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 18, the term “shear mixer” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claimed, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what degree of shear or speed would be required to make a mixer “high shear.” With respect to the prior art, any mixer type would be considered high shear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-19 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roussel et al. (2017/0094982) as evidenced by Pontoh et al. (“Glucose syrup production from Indonesian palm and cassava starch”, Food Research International, Vol. 28, No. 4, (1995), pp. 379-385).
Regarding claims 17 and 19, Roussel et al. disclose a method of making a multi-texture cookie, the method comprising the steps of: (a) forming an external dough by (i) mixing fat, sugars (i.e., particle sugar), and salt; (ii) adding and mixing in liquid whole egg, glucose syrup, flavor and water to mixture; (iii) subsequently adding the flour and baking powder; and (iv) blending until a homogeneous dough having a water activity of approximately 0.78 is obtained ; (b) forming an internal dough (i.e., cookie precursor) by (i) mixing fats, sugar (i.e., particle sugar), flour and salt; (ii) adding and mixing in liquid whole egg, glucose syrup (i.e., sugar syrup), glycerol (i.e., sugar alcohol), flavor, and water to the mixture, (iii)subsequently adding the starch, fiber and baking powder; and (iv) blending until a homogeneous dough having a water activity of approximately 0.73 is obtained (i.e. dough precursor); (c) coextruding dough one and dough two to form a cookie multi-component dough; and (d) baking the multi-component dough to form a multi-texture cookie ([0064]-[0071]).
While Roussel et al. disclose a method of making an internal dough (i.e., cookie precursor) wherein the baking powder is added after the glucose syrup and glycerol are mixed in, selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the contrary (MPEP §2144.04).
Regarding claim 18, Roussel et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Roussel et al. disclose the external and internal (i.e., cookie precursor) are mixed using a conventional mixer type ([0114], [0116]). Here, any conventional mixer would be considered to produce shear to some extent (i.e., shear mixer).
Regarding claim 21, Roussel et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Roussel et al. disclose sugars including sucrose (i.e., particle sugar), the reference is silent with respect to particle size. However, as evidenced by Krűger, crystallized sugar, i.e., sucrose, is known to have grain sizes ranging from 2.5 mm to 0.1 mm (i.e., 100 to 2500 µm).
Regarding claim 22, Roussel et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Roussel et al. disclose an embodiment wherein the ratio of sugar (i.e. particle sugar) to glycerol (i.e., sugar alcohol) is about 1.5 (15.56% sugar and 10.69% glycerol – [0107]/Example 1, internal dough).
Regarding claim 23, Roussel et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Roussel et al. disclose mixing in a conventional mixer. Here, a conventional mixer is considered to include horizontal mixers. While Roussel et al. is silent with respect mixing for 1 to 3 minutes at each step, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have adjusted, in routine process, the mixing time to obtain a homogenous mixture.
Regarding claim 24, Roussel et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Roussel et al. disclose glucose syrup (). As evidenced by Pontoh et al., glucose syrup is also referred to as dextrose syrup (p. 379/Introduction).
Regarding claim 25, Roussel et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Roussel et al. disclose the first dough mix comprises at least 10 wt% flour (i.e., cookie precursor-Abstract). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists MPEP 2144.05 I).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roussel et al. (2017/0094982) as applied to claim 17, and further in view of Krűger (“Sugar”, Industrial Chocolate Manufacture and Use, S.T. Beckett (ed.), Springer Science-Business media Dordrecht, (1994), pp. 25-42).
Regarding claim 21, Roussel et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Roussel et al. disclose sugars including sucrose (i.e., particle sugar), the reference is silent with respect to particle size.
Krűger, teaches crystallized sugar, i.e., sucrose, is known to have grain sizes ranging from 2.5 mm to 0.1 mm (i.e., 100 to 2500 µm-p. 28/3.2 Sugar qualities).
Given Roussel et al. disclose sucrose, since Krűger, teaches crystallized sugar, i.e., sucrose, is known to have grain sizes ranging from 2.5 mm to 0.1 mm, it would have been obvious to have used any known size of sucrose sugar (e.g., course, medium or fine), and arrive at the present invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 29, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants submit “Roussel fails to disclose or suggest the present claim that require, for example, shaping the first dough using extrusion equipment.” Applicants explain “Roussel discloses coextruding the first dough mix (the outer dough) and the second dough mix (the inner dough). Roussel fails to disclose shaping the internal dough-which the Patent Office alleges is the claimed first dough-using extrusion equipment before baking as required by the present claims.”
Here, claim 17 does not exclude additional steps, for example forming a second dough and coextruding it with a first dough. The coextrusion is considered a step of shaping the first dough. Moreover, claim 19 requires the that forming includes forming a second dough and co-extruding the first and second doughs.
Here, the examiner does not suggest modifying Roussel et al to shape only one of the dough. Rather, it is the Examiner’s position Roussel et al. disclose a process where the first dough is shaped by extrusion as part of a coextrusion process.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELIZABETH A. GWARTNEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/ELIZABETH GWARTNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759