DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application KR 10-2022-0162843 filed in Korean Intellectual Property Office (KIPO) on November 29, 2022 and receipt of a certified copy thereof.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on April 25, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informality:
In claim 18, line 3, “a part from the light emitting layer” should read --a part of the light emitting layer--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. US 2020/0403116 (Embodiment of Fig. 1 and Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a display device (e.g., Fig. 1, Fig. 3; [45], [57]; Also see Fig.2, Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 for reference), comprising:
a plurality of sub pixels (e.g., PR, Fig. 1, [39]) disposed on a substrate (e.g., 51, Fig. 1, [39]);
a light emitting diode (e.g., 200, Fig. 3, [60]; Fig. 1) disposed in a sub pixel among the plurality of sub pixels on the substrate; and
a first transistor (e.g., 100, Fig. 3; Fig. 1) disposed in the sub pixel and configured to supply a driving current to the light emitting diode (e.g., [40]),
wherein the first transistor is a high electron mobility transistor (HEMT) (e.g., [40]).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. US 2020/0403116 (Embodiment of Fig. 1 and Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a display device (e.g., Fig. 1, Fig. 4; [45], [57]; Also see Fig.2, Fig. 3 and Fig. 5 for reference), comprising:
a plurality of sub pixels (e.g., PR, Fig. 1, [39]) disposed on a substrate (e.g., 51, Fig. 1, [39]);
a light emitting diode (e.g., 200A, Fig. 4, [60]; Fig. 3, Fig. 1) disposed in a sub pixel among the plurality of sub pixels on the substrate; and
a first transistor (e.g., 100, Fig. 4; Fig 3, Fig. 1) disposed in the sub pixel and configured to supply a driving current to the light emitting diode (e.g., [40]),
wherein the first transistor is a high electron mobility transistor (HEMT) (e.g., [40]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 18, 19 and 23 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. US 2020/0403116 (Embodiment of Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) in view of Lee et al. KR 20150061409 (the original document and a machine-generated English translation thereof are used in rejection).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the first transistor (e.g., 100, Fig. 3) includes: a channel formation layer (e.g., SC, Fig. 3, [41]) disposed on the substrate, a first source electrode (e.g., SE, Fig. 3) and a first drain electrode (e.g., DE, Fig. 3) disposed on the substrate and spaced apart from each other (e.g., Fig. 3); and a first gate electrode (e.g., GE, Fig. 3).
Li does not explicitly teach a first channel formation layer disposed on the substrate; a second channel formation layer disposed on the first channel formation layer; a first source electrode and a first drain electrode disposed on the second channel formation layer and spaced apart from each other, wherein the first channel formation layer has a different energy band gap than the second channel formation layer.
Lee teaches a first channel formation layer (e.g., 410, Fig. 1, translation [48], [49]; [46], [47]) disposed on the substrate; a second channel formation layer (e.g., 420, Fig. 1, translation [48], [49]; [46], [47]) disposed on the first channel formation layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li to include a first channel formation layer disposed on the substrate; a second channel formation layer disposed on the first channel formation layer as suggested by Lee for the purpose of reducing scattering of electrons, thereby leading very high electron mobility and current for example. In this case, Li in view of Lee thus teaches a first source electrode and a first drain electrode disposed on the second channel formation layer and spaced apart from each other, wherein the first channel formation layer has a different energy band gap than the second channel formation layer.
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Lee teaches the display device according to claim 2, wherein the light emitting diode includes: a first semiconductor layer (e.g., Li, 213, Fig. 3) disposed on the substrate; a light emitting layer (e.g., Li, 212, Fig. 3) disposed on the first semiconductor layer; and a second semiconductor layer (e.g., Li, 211, Fig. 3) disposed on the light emitting layer, and wherein one of the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer is electrically connected to the first transistor (e.g., Li, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Li in view of Lee teaches the display device according to claim 3, wherein the light emitting diode further includes a first electrode (e.g., Li, 202, Fig. 3) disposed on the first semiconductor layer, and wherein the first electrode is spaced apart from a part from the light emitting layer (e.g., Li, 212, Fig. 3) and the second semiconductor layer (e.g., Li, 211, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Li in view of Lee teaches the display device according to claim 3, wherein the first channel formation layer and the second channel formation layer are bonded to each other to form a hetero junction structure and a two-dimensional electron gas layer (e.g., Lee, translation [46], [47]).
Regarding claim 23, Li teaches a display device (e.g., Fig. 1, Fig. 3; [45], [57]; Also see Fig.2, Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 for reference), comprising:
a light emitting diode (e.g., 200, Fig. 3, [60]; Fig. 1) disposed in a sub pixel (e.g., PR, Fig. 1, [39]) on a substrate (e.g., 51, Fig. 1, [39]); and
a first transistor (e.g., 100, Fig. 3; Fig. 1) in the sub pixel and configured to supply a driving current to the light emitting diode (e.g., [40]),
wherein the first transistor includes: a channel formation layer (e.g., SC, Fig. 3, [41]) on the substrate.
Li does not explicitly teach a first channel formation layer; and a second channel formation layer disposed on the first channel formation layer, and wherein the driving current is configured to flow along a boundary interface between the first channel formation layer and the second channel formation layer.
Lee teaches a first channel formation layer (e.g., 410, Fig. 1, translation [48], [49]; [46], [47]); and a second channel formation layer (e.g., 420, Fig. 1, translation [48], [49]; [46], [47]) disposed on the first channel formation layer, and wherein the driving current is configured to flow along a boundary interface between the first channel formation layer and the second channel formation layer (e.g., [46], [47]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li to include a first channel formation layer; and a second channel formation layer disposed on the first channel formation layer, and wherein the driving current is configured to flow along a boundary interface between the first channel formation layer and the second channel formation layer as suggested by Lee for the purpose of reducing scattering of electrons, thereby leading very high electron mobility and current for example.
Claims 2, 3 and 16 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. US 2020/0403116 (Embodiment of Fig. 1 and Fig. 4) in view of Lee et al. KR 20150061409 (the original document and a machine-generated English translation thereof are used in rejection).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the first transistor (e.g., 100, Fig. 4) includes: a channel formation layer (e.g., SC, Fig. 4) disposed on the substrate, a first source electrode (e.g., SE, Fig. 4) and a first drain electrode (e.g., DE, Fig. 4) disposed on the substrate and spaced apart from each other (e.g., Fig. 4); and a first gate electrode (e.g., GE, Fig. 4).
Li does not explicitly teach a first channel formation layer disposed on the substrate; a second channel formation layer disposed on the first channel formation layer; a first source electrode and a first drain electrode disposed on the second channel formation layer and spaced apart from each other, wherein the first channel formation layer has a different energy band gap than the second channel formation layer.
Lee teaches a first channel formation layer (e.g., 410, Fig. 1, translation [48], [49]; [46], [47]) disposed on the substrate; a second channel formation layer (e.g., 420, Fig. 1, translation [48], [49]; [46], [47]) disposed on the first channel formation layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li to include a first channel formation layer disposed on the substrate; a second channel formation layer disposed on the first channel formation layer as suggested by Lee for the purpose of reducing scattering of electrons, thereby leading very high electron mobility and current for example. In this case, Li in view of Lee thus teaches a first source electrode and a first drain electrode disposed on the second channel formation layer and spaced apart from each other, wherein the first channel formation layer has a different energy band gap than the second channel formation layer.
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Lee teaches the display device according to claim 2, wherein the light emitting diode includes: a first semiconductor layer (e.g., Li, 213A, Fig. 4) disposed on the substrate; a light emitting layer (e.g., Li, 212A, Fig. 4) disposed on the first semiconductor layer; and a second semiconductor layer (e.g., Li, 211A, Fig. 4) disposed on the light emitting layer, and wherein one of the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer is electrically connected to the first transistor (e.g., Li, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Li in view of Lee teaches the display device according to claim 3, wherein an upper surface of the first semiconductor layer includes a first part overlapping with a lower surface of the second semiconductor layer, and a second part that extends past an edge of the second semiconductor layer and does not overlap with the lower surface of the second semiconductor layer (e.g., Li, Fig. 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-15, 17 and 20-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BO B JANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 December 12, 2025