DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated April 26, 2023, claims 1-12 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "”the discharge stage" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a current voltage” in line 3. It is uncertain as to whether this is the same “a current voltage” in claim 1, line 9.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "”the discharge stage" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a current voltage” in line 3. It is uncertain as to whether this is the same “a current voltage” in claim 1, line 9.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “EMS” in line 1. It leave uncertainty as to what EMS stands for.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6-8 and 11-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4, 6-9 of copending Application No. 18/305,570 in view of Lee KR101969301B1.
Present Application
Reference Application
1. A charging method for traction battery, applied to a charging apparatus, characterized in that the charging apparatus comprises N energy storage units connected in series, each energy storage unit comprises an energy storage battery and a first DC/DC converter connected to the energy storage battery, and each charging period of the charging apparatus comprises a stage in which the traction battery is charged and a stage in which the traction battery discharges to the N energy storage units, N being a positive integer greater than 1; and the charging method comprises: in the discharge stage, obtaining a current voltage of the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit; determining, based on the current voltage of the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit, a first voltage output by the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit, wherein the first voltage output by the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit is inversely proportional to the current voltage of the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit; and sending a first control signal to the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit, wherein the first control signal is used to control the first DC/DC converter to output the first voltage, so as to cause the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit to receive, at the first voltage via the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit, electrical energy released by the traction battery.
1. A charging method for a traction battery, performed by a charging apparatus, wherein the charging apparatus comprises N energy storage units connected in parallel, each energy storage unit comprises an energy storage battery and a first DC/DC converter connected to the energy storage battery, and each charging period of the charging apparatus comprises a stage in which the traction battery is charged and a stage in which the traction battery discharges to the N energy storage units, N being a positive integer greater than 1; wherein the charging method comprises: obtaining a first parameter of each energy storage unit in the discharge stage; determining, based on the first parameter, a first current output by the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit, wherein the first current output by the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit is inversely proportional to the first parameter of the energy storage unit; and sending a first control signal to the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit, wherein the first control signal is used to control the first DC/DC converter to output the first current, so as to cause the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit to receive, at the first current, electrical energy released by the traction battery.
3. The charging method according to claim 1, wherein the first parameter of each energy storage unit comprises at least one of the following parameters: current state of charge (SOC) of the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit; current voltage of the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit; and current voltage of each energy storage unit.
2. The charging method according to claim 1, characterized in that the method further comprises: in the charge stage, obtaining a current voltage of the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit; determining, based on the current voltage of the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit, a second voltage output by the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit, wherein the second voltage output by the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit is proportional to the current voltage in each energy storage unit; and sending a second control signal to the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit, wherein the second control signal is used to control the first DC/DC converter to output the second voltage, so as to cause the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit to charge the traction battery at the second voltage via the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit.
2. The charging method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: obtaining the first parameter of each energy storage unit in the charge stage; determining, based on the first parameter, a second current output by the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit, wherein the second current output by the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit is proportional to the first parameter of the energy storage unit; and sending a second control signal to the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit, wherein the second control signal is used to control the first DC/DC converter to output the second current, so as to cause the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit to charge the traction battery at the second current.
3. The charging method according to claim 1, characterized in that the charging apparatus further comprises a separating unit, wherein the separating unit is connected between the N energy storage units and the traction battery, and the separating unit comprises M second DC/DC converters and a switch module connected between the M second DC/DC converters, M being a positive integer greater than or equal to 2; andthe charging method further comprises: controlling the switch module to make the M second DC/DC converters connected in series, so that voltage output by the separating unit to the traction battery is M times voltage output by the N energy storage units; or controlling the switch module to make the M second DC/DC converters connected in parallel, so that current output by the separating unit to the traction battery is M times current output by the N energy storage units.
4. The charging method according to claim 1, wherein the charging apparatus further comprises a separating unit, the separating unit is connected between the N energy storage units and the traction battery, and the separating unit comprises M second DC/DC converters and a switch module connected between the M second DC/DC converters, M being a positive integer greater than or equal to 2; and wherein the charging method further comprises: controlling the switch module to make the M second DC/DC converters connected in series, so that voltage output by the separating unit to the traction battery is M times voltage output by the N energy storage units; or controlling the switch module to make the M second DC/DC converters connected in parallel, so that current output by the separating unit to the traction battery is M times current output by the N energy storage units.
11. An EMS, comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform the charging method according to claim 1.
11. An energy management system (EMS), comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform the charging method according to claim 1.
12. A charging system, characterized by comprising: a traction battery; and the charging apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the charging apparatus is configured to charge the traction battery, and each charging period comprises a stage in which the traction battery is charged and a stage in which the traction battery discharges.
12. A charging system, comprising: a traction battery; and the charging apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the charging apparatus is configured to charge the traction battery, and each charging period comprises a stage in which the traction battery is charged and a stage in which the traction battery discharges.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, the reference claims do not explicitly teach that the energy storage units are connected in series.
Lee teaches the charging apparatus comprises N energy storage units (221/231, 222/232, 22N/23N) connected in series (FIG. 2).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a known arrangement of storage units in order to increase the voltage of the system.
Claims 4-5 and 9-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4, 6-9 of copending Application No. 18/305,570 in view of Lee KR101969301B1 and further in view of Gohla-Neudecker et al. US20200001730A1.
4. The charging method according to claim 1, characterized in that the charging apparatus further comprises an AC/DC converter, wherein the AC/DC converter is connected between the traction battery and an alternating current power supply; and the charging method further comprises: sending a third control signal to the AC/DC converter, wherein the third control signal is used to control voltage output by the AC/DC converter to be equal to charging voltage of the traction battery, so as to cause the alternating current power supply to charge the traction battery at the charging voltage via the AC/DC converter.
5. The charging method according to claim 1, wherein the charging apparatus further comprises an AC/DC converter, the AC/DC converter is connected between the traction battery and an alternating current power supply, so as to cause the alternating current power supply to charge the traction battery via the AC/DC converter.
Regarding claim 4, the reference claims do not explicitly recite the charging method further comprises: sending a third control signal to the AC/DC converter, wherein the third control signal is used to control voltage output by the AC/DC converter to be equal to charging voltage of the traction battery.
Gohla-Neudecker teaches sending a third control signal to the AC/DC converter (FIG. 3 - from charge control device 15), wherein the third control signal is used to control voltage output by the AC/DC converter to be equal to charging voltage of the traction battery, so as to cause the alternating current power supply to charge the traction battery at the charging voltage via the AC/DC converter (FIG. 3; ¶6 – charge control device 15 requests a required charging voltage to the AC-DC converter, voltage travels through the AC/DC converter thus being a supply of power to the traction battery; ¶14 – the DC bus is coupled to the supply grid exclusively via the AC-DC converter) .
It would be obvious to for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Gohla-Neudecker’s AC-DC converter and power grid to traction battery charging method into the reference claims charging system. The advantage to this being the network stability in an electrical supply network is ensured even during charging/discharging of the electrically operable motor vehicle (Gohla-Neudecker; ¶12).
Regarding claim 5, the references claims do not explicitly teach the charging method further comprises: sending a fourth control signal to the AC/DC converter, wherein the fourth control signal is used to control voltage output by the AC/DC converter to be equal to discharging voltage of the traction battery, so as to cause the traction battery to discharge to the alternating current power supply at the discharging voltage via the AC/DC converter.
Gohla-Neudecker teaches sending a fourth control signal to the AC/DC converter, wherein the fourth control signal is used to control voltage output by the AC/DC converter to be equal to discharging voltage of the traction battery, so as to cause the traction battery to discharge to the alternating current power supply at the discharging voltage via the AC/DC converter (¶14 – bidirectionally operated AC-DC converter coupling the DC bus to the supply grid; ¶15 – discharging process from the motor vehicle through the DC-DC converter and the AC-DC converter).
It would be obvious to for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Gohla-Neudecker’s AC-DC converter and power grid to traction battery charging method into the reference claims charging system. The advantage to this being the network stability in an electrical supply network is ensured even during charging/discharging of the electrically operable motor vehicle (Gohla-Neudecker; ¶12).
Claims 6-10 of the present application correspond to claims 6-10 of the reference claims in a manner similar to that of claims 1-5 of the present application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee KR101969301B1.
Regarding claim 1. Lee teaches a charging method for traction battery (110), applied to a charging apparatus (FIG. 2), characterized in that the charging apparatus comprises N energy storage units (221/231, 222/232, 22N/23N) connected in series (FIG. 2), each energy storage unit (221/231, 222/232, 22N/23N) comprises an energy storage battery (231/232/23N) and a first DC/DC converter (221/222/22N) connected to the energy storage battery (FIG. 2), and each charging period of the charging apparatus comprises a stage in which the traction battery is charged (FIGS. 3a-3c) and a stage in which the traction battery discharges to the N energy storage units (FIG. 4a-4c), N being a positive integer greater than 1 (21N); and
the charging method comprises:
in the discharge stage, obtaining a current voltage of the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit (page 5, 3rd full paragraph - the charge / discharge control unit 240 receives SOC (State Of Charge) of each of the plurality of battery cells 211 to 21N);
determining, based on the current voltage of the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit, a first voltage output by the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit, wherein the first voltage output by the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit is inversely proportional to the current voltage of the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit ( When the battery 210 is being charged from the converter 221, the battery voltage is less than that being received by the converter – page 5, last paragraph - “The lower switching device S2_B of the converter 222 connected in parallel to the overdischarged specific battery cell 212 can be turned on, as shown in FIGS. The current thus flows through the lower switching element S2_B of the converter 222 connected in parallel to the battery cell 212 as shown at 403 to overcharge the particular battery cell 212 ”); and
sending a first control signal (240) to the first DC/DC converter (220) in each energy storage unit (230), wherein the first control signal is used to control the first DC/DC converter to output the first voltage (control unit 240 turns switches on/off to control either charging/discharging from the converter 220), so as to cause the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit to receive, at the first voltage via the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit, electrical energy released by the traction battery (page 5 – 4th paragraph - “the charging / discharging control unit 240 applies the lower switching signal (turn-off signal) to the lower switching devices S1_B to SN_B so that the lower switching devices S1_B to SN_B (The upper switching elements S1_T to SN_T are still turned off). Accordingly, the energy stored in the inductor L_s can be transmitted to the battery unit 210.”).
Regarding claim 6. Lee teaches a charging apparatus (FIG. 2)for traction battery (110), characterized in that the charging apparatus (FIG. 2) comprises N energy storage units (221/231, 222/232, 22N/23N) connected in series (FIG. 2) and a control unit (240), wherein each energy storage unit (221/231, 222/232, 22N/23N) comprises an energy storage battery (231/232/23N) and a first DC/DC converter (221/222/22N) connected to the energy storage battery (231/232/23N), and each charging period of the charging apparatus comprises a stage in which the traction battery is charged (FIGS. 3a-3c) and a stage in which the traction battery discharges to the N energy storage units (FIG. 4a-4c),, N being a positive integer greater than 1 (21N); and
the control module (240) is configured to:
in the discharge stage, obtain a current voltage of the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit (page 5, 3rd full paragraph - the charge / discharge control unit 240 receives SOC (State Of Charge) of each of the plurality of battery cells 211 to 21N);
determine, based on the current voltage of the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit, a first voltage output by the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit, wherein the first voltage output by the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit is inversely proportional to the current voltage of the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit ( When the battery 210 is being charged from the converter 221, the battery voltage is less than that being received by the converter - page 5, last paragraph - “The lower switching device S2_B of the converter 222 connected in parallel to the overdischarged specific battery cell 212 can be turned on, as shown in FIGS. The current thus flows through the lower switching element S2_B of the converter 222 connected in parallel to the battery cell 212 as shown at 403 to overcharge the particular battery cell 212 ”); and
send a first control signal (240) to the first DC/DC converter (220) in each energy storage unit (230), wherein the first control signal is used to control the first DC/DC converter to output the first voltage (control unit 240 turns switches on/off to control either charging/discharging from the converter 220), so as to cause the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit to receive, at the first voltage via the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit, electrical energy released by the traction battery (page 5 – 4th paragraph “the charging / discharging control unit 240 applies the lower switching signal (turn-off signal) to the lower switching devices S1_B to SN_B so that the lower switching devices S1_B to SN_B (The upper switching elements S1_T to SN_T are still turned off). Accordingly, the energy stored in the inductor L_s can be transmitted to the battery unit 210.”).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 7. The charging method according to claim 1, characterized in that the method further comprises:
in the charge stage, obtaining a current voltage of the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit (page 5, 3rd paragraph - “the charge / discharge control unit 240 receives SOC (State Of Charge) of each of the plurality of battery cells 211 to 21N);
determining, based on the current voltage of the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit, a second voltage output by the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit, wherein the second voltage output by the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit is proportional to the current voltage of the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit ( When the battery is providing charge to the converter 221, the battery voltage is more than that of the traction battery 110 – page 4, last paragraph - “The energy based on the sum of the voltages of the plurality of battery cells 211 to 21N and the voltage of the DC power system (DC grid +, DC grid-) is discharged during the turn-on period of the upper switching elements S1_T to SN_T, (L_s).”); and
sending a second control signal (from 240) to the first DC/DC converter (220) in each energy storage unit, wherein the second control signal is used to control the first DC/DC converter (220) to output the second voltage, so as to cause the energy storage battery in each energy storage unit to charge the traction battery at the second voltage via the first DC/DC converter in each energy storage unit (page 4, last paragraph - “Discharge control section 240 can turn on the upper switching elements S1_T to SN_T by applying the upper switching signal (turn-on signal) to the upper switching elements S1_T to SN_T And the lower switching elements S1_B to SN_B are turned off”)..
Regarding claim 12. Lee teaches a charging system, characterized by comprising: a traction battery (battery of a vehicle 110); and the charging apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the charging apparatus is configured to charge the traction battery (page 3, first paragraph - “the energy charged in the battery unit 210 is discharged to the DC power system DC grid +”), and each charging period comprises a stage in which the traction battery is charged (page 3, 1st paragraph - “the energy charged in the battery unit 210 is discharged to the DC power system DC grid +”) and a stage in which the traction battery discharges (page 3, last paragraph - “The inductor L_s is connected in series to the upper switching elements S1_T to SN_T and is turned on and off in accordance with the applied lower switching signal to thereby charge the energy stored in the inductor L_s into the battery 210 “).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee KR101969301B1 in view of Barker et al. US20160344286A1.
Regarding claim 3 and claim 8. Lee does not explicitly a separating unit, wherein the separating unit is connected between the N energy storage units and the traction battery, and the separating unit comprises M second DC/DC converters and a switch module connected between the M second DC/DC converters, M being a positive integer greater than or equal to 2; and the charging method further comprises: controlling the switch module to make the M second DC/DC converters connected in series, so that voltage output by the separating unit to the traction battery is M times voltage output by the N energy storage units; or controlling the switch module to make the M second DC/DC converters connected in parallel, so that current output by the separating unit to the traction battery is M times current output by the N energy storage units.
Barker teaches a separating unit (FIG. 3), the separating unit comprises M second DC/DC converters (302) and a switch module (304) connected between the M second DC/DC converters (FIG. 3), M being a positive integer greater than or equal to 2 (FIG. 3 illustrates 4); and
the charging method further comprises:
controlling the switch module to make the M second DC/DC converters connected in series, so that voltage output by the separating unit to the traction battery is M times voltage output by the N energy storage units (FIG. 5A; the switches are arranged in series so that the voltage outputted is M times greater); or
controlling the switch module to make the M second DC/DC converters connected in parallel, so that current output by the separating unit to the traction battery is M times current output by the N energy storage units (FIG. 5B; the switches are arranged in parallel so that the current outputted is M times greater).
Lee discloses the claimed invention except for the separating unit is connected between the N energy storage units and the traction battery. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Barker’s converter and switching circuit into Lee’s charging apparatus between the power storage and the batteries in order to have an ability to convert the voltage and current during the charge and discharge process. The advantage to adapting such a converter and switching circuit being that design and manufacturing requirements are improved by utilizing a readily scalable design in which the clusters of the converter may be selected given the functional environment of the circuit (Barker; ¶18).
Claims 4-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee KR101969301B1 in view of Gohla-Neudecker et al. US20200001730A1.
Regarding claim 4 and claim 9. Lee does not explicitly disclose that the charging apparatus further comprises an AC/DC converter, wherein the AC/DC converter is connected between the traction battery and an alternating current power supply; and the charging method further comprises: sending a third control signal to the AC/DC converter, wherein the third control signal is used to control voltage output by the AC/DC converter to be equal to charging voltage of the traction battery, so as to cause the alternating current power supply to charge the traction battery at the charging voltage via the AC/DC converter.
Gohla-Neudecker teaches that the charging apparatus further comprises an AC/DC converter (17) wherein the AC/DC converter (17) is connected between the traction battery (found in vehicle 13) and an alternating current power supply (10) (FIG. 3; an AC/DC converter 17 connected between the traction battery 32 and the supply grid 10 so as to cause the supply grid 10 to charge the traction battery 32 via the AC/DC converter 17); and
the charging method further comprises:
sending a third control signal to the AC/DC converter (FIG. 3 - from charge control device 15), wherein the third control signal is used to control voltage output by the AC/DC converter to be equal to charging voltage of the traction battery, so as to cause the alternating current power supply to charge the traction battery at the charging voltage via the AC/DC converter (FIG. 3; ¶6 – charge control device 15 requests a required charging voltage to the AC-DC converter, voltage travels through the AC/DC converter thus being a supply of power to the traction battery; ¶14 – the DC bus is coupled to the supply grid exclusively via the AC-DC converter) .
It would be obvious to for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Gohla-Neudecker’s AC-DC converter and power grid to traction battery charging method into Lee’s charging system. The advantage to this being the network stability in an electrical supply network is ensured even during charging/discharging of the electrically operable motor vehicle (Gohla-Neudecker; ¶12)
Regarding claim 5 and claim 10. Lee does not explicitly disclose sending a fourth control signal to the AC/DC converter, wherein the fourth control signal is used to control voltage output by the AC/DC converter to be equal to discharging voltage of the traction battery, so as to cause the traction battery to discharge to the alternating current power supply at the discharging voltage via the AC/DC converter.
Gohla-Neudecker teaches sending a fourth control signal to the AC/DC converter, wherein the fourth control signal is used to control voltage output by the AC/DC converter to be equal to discharging voltage of the traction battery, so as to cause the traction battery to discharge to the alternating current power supply at the discharging voltage via the AC/DC converter (¶14 – bidirectionally operated AC-DC converter coupling the DC bus to the supply grid; ¶15 – discharging process from the motor vehicle through the DC-DC converter and the AC-DC converter).
It would be obvious to for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Gohla-Neudecker’s AC-DC converter and power grid to traction battery charging method into Lee’s charging system. The advantage to this being the network stability in an electrical supply network is ensured even during charging/discharging of the electrically operable motor vehicle (Gohla-Neudecker; ¶12)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee KR101969301B1.
Regarding claim 11. Lee teaches an EMS (controller - 240) configured to perform the charging method according to claim 1.
Although a processor is not explicitly taught, it is routine in the art to provide a processor to a controller to execute a process, thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the controller of Lee includes a processor to execute the charging instructions.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. US20180093583A1 – discloses the structure of claim 1 except a parallel configuration.
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859