DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed June 8, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 – 6 are pending in the application with claim 7 being cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida, Yusuke (US 2007/0178720 – herein after Yoshida) in view of Hung et al. (US 2012/0139387 – herein after Hung) and evidenced by Burtch, Joseph (US 2018/0023578 – herein after Burtch) and Yeh et al. (US 2007/0128022 – herein after Yeh).
In reference to claim 1, Yoshida teaches a fan structure comprising:
a frame body (11) configured as a first individual component (as seen in fig. 5 or in view of disclosure in ¶34) having a base seat (15), a circumferential wall (inner circumferential wall; labelled in fig. A below as well), and multiple first support members (14) with a first end (see fig. A below) of each first support member connected to the base seat (15) and each first support member horizontally extending (“horizontally extending” implies radial direction; “14” radially extends in view of fig. A below) from the base seat with an opposite second end (see fig. A below) of each first support member connected to the circumferential wall;
a reserved assembling section (labelled “r.a.s.” in fig. A below) being an open space defined between (in radial direction) the base seat and the circumferential wall and between two adjacent first support members (see fig. A below); and
a stator assembly (31+21, in fig. 1) configured as a second individual component (in view of fig. 1 and disclosure in ¶32; furthermore, as seen in fig. 1 the stator is positioned on the plate-like portion 15, thus the stator being a second individual component), separate from the frame body (11), and having an electrical wire (22, in fig. 1), the stator assembly being disposed on the base seat (15) and combined with the frame body (in view of assembled state of the fan structure seen in fig. 4).
Fig. A: Edited fig. 5 of Yoshida to show claim interpretation.
Yoshida does not teach the claimed waterproof plastic layer, i.e., “a waterproof plastic layer integrally formed on the stator assembly to enclose the stator assembly and the electrical wire; and a second support member horizontally extending from the base seat and formed with a first end of the second support member connected with the waterproof plastic layer as a single structure so as to integrally encapsulate the electrical wire and the second support member extending horizontally in the reserved assembling section and having a second end”:
However, Hung teaches a stator manufacturing method for a motor, comprising: a waterproof plastic layer [protective glue coating 13, in fig. 7 or see ¶48; furthermore ¶49 states “..the shaft tube seat 81 has to be coupled with the circuit board 82, magnetic pole pieces 83 and coil unit 84 before the waterproof glue is injected into the shaft tube seat 81”; thus this glue is waterproof glue and is further considered to be “waterproof plastic layer” since it forms a solid, non-permeable protective coating that acts like a plastic barrier over the stator components (in view of discussion in ¶2)] integrally formed on the stator assembly (1/3a, in fig. 7/9) to enclose the stator assembly and the electrical wire (electrical wire is not labelled but present as shown in fig. B below; this electrical wire is partially enclosed by the coating 13); and a second support member (see fig. B below: labelled “A”) horizontally extending from the base seat (“horizontally extending” implies radial direction; in view of fig. B below: “A” extends in ← direction) and formed with a first end (in view of fig. B below left picture: “first end” = right end or inner end in radial direction) of the second support member connected with the waterproof plastic layer (13) as a single structure so as to integrally encapsulate the electrical wire and extending horizontally (extending in radial direction) and the second support member (labelled “A”) having a second end (in view of fig. B below left picture: “second end” = left end or outer end in radial direction).
Fig. B: Edited figs. 7 and 9 of Hung to show claim interpretation.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the stator assembly of Yoshida with a protective coating that entirely covers stator components and partially covers the electrical wire for partly forming the second support member as a single structure using the teaching of Hung to have the stator assembly that is “humidity-proof, dustproof or oil-proof”, as recognized by Hung (see ¶2).
Yoshida, as modified by Hung, thus teaches the waterproof fan structure comprising:
a waterproof plastic layer integrally (of Hung) formed on the stator assembly (of Yoshida) to enclose the stator assembly and the electrical wire (the electrical wire 22 of Yoshida is partially enclosed); and
a second support member (this second support member in the modified fan structure being formed by component labelled “A” in fig. B above) horizontally extending from (horizontally extending = extension in radial direction in view of fig. A above) the base seat and formed with a first end (in view of fig. B above left picture: “first end” = right end or inner end in radial direction) of the second support member connected with the waterproof plastic layer as a single structure so as to integrally encapsulate (in partial manner) the electrical wire and the second support member extending horizontally (radially) in the reserved assembling section (of Yoshida; labelled “r.a.s.” in fig. A above) and the second support member having a second end (in view of fig. B above left picture: “second end” = left end or outer end in radial direction).
Yoshida, as modified by Hung, does not teach the fan waterproof structure, wherein the second support member having the second end “connected with the circumferential wall such that the first support members and the second support member formed with the waterproof plastic layer as the single structure form a rib structure or static blade structure”.
The second support member (labelled “A” in fig. B above) is partially formed in the modified fan waterproof structure. This second support member (or the second end of the second support member) is not connected to the circumferential wall (labelled in fig. A above).
However, the claimed feature of the second support member having the second end “connected to the circumferential wall” in the modified waterproof fan depends on the amount of electrical wire encapsulated by Hung’s waterproof coating. Burtch evidences the fan structure with the first support members [60; these are the members in which wire(s) are not disposed] and the second support member [60 in which wires 42, 44 are disposed or 60 in which wire 46 is disposed], wherein the second support member [member 60 with wire(s) disposed therein] is formed with the waterproof plastic layer (resin) to integrally encapsulate the electrical wire (42+44 or 46) [see ¶16: elements 52,56,60,70 are integrally molded of resin and see ¶5, ¶20 and ¶23: wire(s) integrally molded with elements 56, 60, 52 such that the wire(s) are embedded with elements 56, 60, 52]. It is further evident (see fig. 2) that an outer end (end in radial direction) of the second support member [member 60 with wire(s) disposed therein] is connected with a circumferential wall of a frame body (52).
The wire holding portion (20, in fig. 1 of Yoshida) holding the electrical wire (22, in fig. 1 of Yoshida) is susceptible from being worn out or to become loose. A worn wire holding portion may no longer hold the electrical wire, allowing it to hang or experience additional mechanical stress. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the waterproof fan structure of Yoshida and Hung by encapsulating Yoshida’s electrical wire in Hung’s coating up to the Yoshida’s second end (shown in fig. A above) such that the second support member’s second end in the modified waterproof fan structure of Yoshida and Hung is connected with the circumferential wall of Yoshida for the purpose of providing a secure, closed, protected place for the wire(s) in order to protect/insulate the wire(s) from surroundings, as recognized by Burtch (see ¶33 and ¶4).
Thus, Yoshida, as modified, teaches the waterproof fan structure, wherein the second support member [formed by Hung’s waterproof coating encapsulating Yoshida’s electrical wire 22 from the first end (labelled in fig. A above) to the second end (labelled in fig. A above)] having the second end connected with the circumferential wall (labelled in fig. A above) such that the first support members (14, in Yoshida) and the second support member formed with the waterproof plastic layer as the single structure form a rib structure or static blade structure [element(s) that are stationary and inhibits the fluid flow flowing through the fan].
Yoshida, as modified, does not teach the fan waterproof structure, wherein the first support members and the second support member that extends horizontally (extension in radial direction such that they point to the center) from the base seat are also tangential (swept or skewed such that are offset from the center).
However, Yeh evidences a fan structure (see fig. 1), wherein a plurality of support members (123c, 126) horizontally extends tangentially (extends in radial direction as well as are skewed or arc shaped; see ¶20) from the base seat (122) to the circumferential wall (of frame 12).
Since applicant has not disclosed any criticality associated with claimed “tangential” extension of the first and second support members, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the horizontal extending first and second support members from the base seat to the circumferential wall in the modified fan structure of Yoshida “tangential” for the purpose of matching the curvature of the ribs to that of rotor/fan blades, as recognized by Yeh (see ¶20).
In reference to claim 2, Yoshida, as modified, teaches the fan waterproof structure, wherein a bearing cup (17, in fig. 1 of Yoshida) is vertically disposed at a center of the base seat (15, in fig. 1 of Yoshida), the stator assembly (modified stator assembly 31+21, in fig. 1 of Yoshida) being fitted around the bearing cup.
In reference to claim 3, Yoshida, as modified, teaches the fan waterproof structure, wherein the waterproof plastic layer is made by means of plastic potting or low-pressure insert integral injection (In accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, the limitation “made by means of plastic potting or low-pressure insert integral injection” has not been given patentable weight).
In reference to claim 4, Yoshida, as modified, teaches the fan waterproof structure, wherein the multiple first support members and the second support member are made of a same material [in the modified fan waterproof structure: Yoshida’s first support members 14 are made of resin (see ¶32: support members 14 are part of housing 11 which is made of resin); the second support member {formed by Hung’s coating encapsulating Yoshida’s electrical wire 22 from the first end (labelled in fig. A above) to the second end (labelled in fig. A above)} is made of resin (see ¶46: coating is resin or silicon gel); thus, the second support member and the first support members are made of a same material (resin)].
In reference to claim 5, Yoshida, as modified, teaches the fan waterproof structure, wherein the second support member and the waterproof plastic layer are made of a same material [in the modified fan waterproof structure: the second support member {formed by Hung’s waterproof coating encapsulating Yoshida’s electrical wire 22 from the first end (labelled in fig. A above) to the second end (labelled in fig. A above)} is formed with the waterproof layer as a single structure {as discussed above in claim 1}; thus, the second support member and the waterproof plastic layer are made of same material].
In reference to claim 6, Yoshida, as modified, teaches the fan waterproof structure, wherein the multiple first support members and the second support member are made of different materials [in the modified fan waterproof structure: Yoshida’s first support members 14 are made of resin (see ¶32: support members 14 are part of housing 11 which is made of resin); the second support member {formed by Hung’s coating encapsulating Yoshida’s electrical wire 22 from the first end (labelled in fig. A above) to the second end (labelled in fig. A above)} is considered to be made of silicon gel (see ¶46: coating is resin or silicon gel); thus, the second support member and the first support members are made of different materials].
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed June 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not found to be persuasive. As a result, the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 103 is maintained.
Applicant argues that the combination lacks a rational underpinning to relocate the origin of a structural support member from the base seat to a stator-side waterproof layer. Examiner disagrees and maintains that this modification does not represent an arbitrary relocation of an existing frame rib, but rather the predictable extension of the wire-encapsulating protrusion already inherent to the overmolded stator assembly. As taught by Hung, the waterproof plastic layer naturally originates at and encloses the stator assembly to protect the exiting electrical wire. Extending this specific wire-encapsulating layer horizontally across the open space to meet the circumferential wall – as explicitly shown by the full-length wire-embedding arms of Burtch – is structurally motivated by the clear technical need to fully insulate and protect the electrical wire along its entire path from the stator to the frame perimeter. Therefore, a clear logical motivation exists to extend the wire coating from its natural stator origin to the outer frame wall, fully satisfying the claimed structural path.
Applicant argues that Hung’s protective glue coating is purely an environmental sealing layer that lacks structural rigidity necessary to act as a load-bearing rib or support member. This argument is unpersuasive. Under 35 USC 103, the combination is not limited to the exact physical rigidity or specific material composition utilized in Hung’s illustrated sealing embodiment, but rather encompasses what the reference suggests to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Hung states that the protective coating can be formed of solidified resin or silicon gel, while Burtch demonstrates that such resin overmolding layers routinely encapsulate electrical wires to form rigid, structurally sound shroud arms. Furthermore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that choosing an overmolding resin with sufficient structural rigidity to act simultaneously as a protective conduit and an airflow-guiding rib is a routine selection of known materials to achieve a predictable, dual-purpose result.
Applicant argues that routing the wire encapsulation through the reserved assembling section is structurally inconsistent with Yoshida, where the electrical wire is peripheral and constrained to a separate wire-holding portion. However, this argument fails to recognize that the core motivation for the proposed modification is specifically directed at resolving the structural vulnerabilities inherent in Yoshida’s peripheral wire-holding configuration. As noted in the rejection, Yoshida’s external wire-holding portion leaves the electrical wire exposed and susceptible to loosening and mechanical wear. Repositioning the wire to extend radially within the reserved assembling section – fully embedded inside an overmolded structural member – directly adopts the superior, stress-distributing structural routing explicitly taught by Burtch. Because Yoshida’s reserved assembling section is an open space configured to accommodate structural components and airflow, running the integrated wire-routing strut through this region is an efficient design layout choice that satisfies the spatial limitations of independent claim 1 without creating any structural contradiction.
Applicant asserts that originating a structural rib from a floating stator assembly would invert and disrupt Yoshida’s frame-supported architecture, where the frame ribs support the central base seat from the outer frame. This mischaracterizes the nature of the combined assembly. In the modified device, Yoshida’s original frame-supported architecture remains fully intact, as the multiple first support members continue to securely suspend the central base seat from the outer frame wall. The overmolded second support member does not invert this architecture; rather, once the stator assembly is fixedly combined with the base seat (as taught by Yoshida), the second support member structurally bridges the remaining gap from the stator base to the circumferential wall. Upon final assembly, this secondary strut seamlessly complements the existing frame architecture by acting along with the original first support members to collectively form a static blade structure, thereby distributing mechanical stress without compromising frame integrity.
Applicant alleges the proposed rejection represents an impermissible, multi-step structural redesign of Yoshida’s frame driven by hindsight reconstruction rather than a predictable combination of prior art elements. The Examiner maintains that the combination relies on the predictable application of well-known manufacturing techniques and architectural layouts within the fan motor art. Modifying a stator overmolding cavity to extend a wire-encapsulating protective arm from a stator to a frame wall requires only routine engineering adjustments, as taught by Burtch’s teaching of wire-embedded structural struts. Furthermore, forming the support members and the overmolding layer out of resins to create a continuous structure is an obvious design choice that yields the predictable result of enhanced waterproofing and stress relief. Because each modified component performs its established prior art function with predictable results, the prima facie case of obviousness is supported and entirely free of impermissible hindsight.
Applicant asserts even if the teachings of Yoshida, Hung et al., and Yeh et al. with evidence of Burtch, were combined, as suggested by the Examiner, the resultant combination does not teach or suggest a fan waterproof structure of claim 1. This is not persuasive in view of reasons discussed above. As discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, the combined functional teachings of the references teach the fan waterproof structure of claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746