DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's response to the Office Non-Final Action filed on 7/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant amended claims 1, 3, 4, 6-9, and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2021/0098592) (hereafter Kang), in view of Chang et al. (US 2023/0067799) (hereafter Chang).
Regarding claim 1, Kang discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a substrate (101 and 105 in Fig. 8, paragraph 0023);
a gate 165 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0070) on the substrate (101 and 105 in Fig. 8);
a sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0030) on sidewalls at two sides of the gate 165 (Fig. 8);
a source/drain region 150 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0023) in the substrate (101 and 105 in Fig. 8) at two sides of the gate 165 (Fig. 8) and the sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 8);
a source/drain electrical connection layer 180 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0023) on the source/drain region 150 (Fig. 8); and
an isolation structure (169, 162, 163, and 172 in Fig. 8) between the source/drain electrical connection layer 180 (Fig. 8) and the sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 8), wherein
the isolation structure (169, 162, 163, and 172 in Fig. 8) includes a cavity 169 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0030, wherein “air-gap spacer”) and a first isolation layer 172 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0041) formed on a sidewall of the source/drain electrical connection layer 180 (Fig. 8);
the isolation structure (169, 162, 163, and 172 in Fig. 8) further includes two second isolation layers (left 162 and right 162 in Fig. 8, paragraph 0030), one (left 162 in Fig. 8) of the two second isolation layers being formed on an upper portion of the sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 8), and the other (right 162 in Fig. 8) of the two second isolation layers being formed on an upper portion of the first isolation layer 161 (Fig. 8),
the cavity 169 (Fig. 8) includes a first cavity region (lower region of 169 in Fig. 8) and a second cavity region (upper region of 169 in Fig. 8) located on the first cavity region (lower region of 169 in Fig. 8), and
the first cavity region (lower region of 169 in Fig. 8) is formed between a lower portion of the sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 8) and a lower portion of the first isolation layer 172 (Fig. 8), and
the second cavity region (upper region of 169 in Fig. 8) is formed between the two second isolation layers (left 162 and right 162 in Fig. 8), such that a width of the second cavity region (upper region of 169 in Fig. 8) is smaller (see Fig. 8, wherein vertical length of vertical portion of 169 above bottom surface of 166 is smaller than vertical length of vertical portion of 169 below bottom surface of 166) than a width of the first cavity region (lower region of 169 in Fig. 8);
Kang does not disclose a thickness of each of the two second isolation layers is same along a vertical direction, and
the width of the second cavity is same along the vertical direction.
Chang discloses a thickness of each of the two second isolation layers (left 1702 and right 1702 in Fig. 26A, paragraph 0044) is same along a vertical direction (vertical direction in Fig. 26A), and
the width of the second cavity (upper region of 2102 in Fig. 26A, paragraph 0051) is same along the vertical direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kang to form a thickness of each of the two second isolation layers is same along a vertical direction, and the width of the second cavity is same along the vertical direction, as taught by Chang, since the width w.sub.a of the air gap 2102 (Chang, Fig. 26A, paragraph 0051) affects the capacitance between the gate structure and the subsequently formed contact feature.
Regarding claim 2, Kang in view of Chang discloses the semiconductor structure according to claim 1, however Kang does not explicitly disclose the width of the second cavity region is less than approximately 3 nanometers; and the width of the first cavity region is in a range approximately from 4 nanometers to 8 nanometers.
Regarding the limitation, “the width of the second cavity region is less than approximately 3 nanometers; and the width of the first cavity region is in a range approximately from 4 nanometers to 8 nanometers”, Kang discloses the width (W1 in Fig. 2B, paragraph 0039) of the second cavity region (upper region of 169 in Fig. 2B) is in range (see paragraph 0039) of approximately 40 Å to 60 Å; and the width (W1 in Fig. 2B) of the second cavity region (upper region of 169 in Fig. 2B) decreases in upward direction. In addition, Kang discloses the width (W2 in Fig. 2B, paragraph 0039) of the first cavity region (lower region of 169 in Fig. 2B) is in range (see paragraph 0039) of approximately 40 Å to 60 Å. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kang to form the width of the second cavity region is less than approximately 3 nanometers; and the width of the first cavity region is in a range approximately from 4 nanometers to 8 nanometers, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In addition, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 3, Kang discloses a semiconductor structure comprising:
a substrate (101 and 105 in Fig. 8, paragraph 0023);
a gate 165 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0070) on the substrate (101 and 105 in Fig. 8);
a sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0030) on sidewalls at two sides of the gate 165 (Fig. 8);
a source/drain region 150 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0023) in the substrate (101 and 105 in Fig. 8) at two sides of the gate 165 (Fig. 8) and the sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 8);
a source/drain electrical connection layer 180 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0023) on the source/drain region 150 (Fig. 8); and
an isolation structure (169, 162, 163, and 172 in Fig. 8) between the source/drain electrical connection layer 180 (Fig. 8) and the sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 8), wherein the isolation structure (169, 162, 163, and 172 in Fig. 8) includes a cavity 169 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0030), and the cavity 169 (Fig. 8) includes a first cavity region (lower half region of 169 in Fig. 8) and a second cavity region (upper half region of 169 in Fig. 8) located on the first cavity region (lower half region of 169 in Fig. 8),
wherein;
the isolation structure (169, 162, 163, and 172 in Fig. 8) further includes a first isolation layer 172 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0041) formed on a sidewall of the source/drain electrical connection layer 180 (Fig. 8),
the isolation structure (169, 162, 163, and 172 in Fig. 8) further includes two second isolation layers (left 162 and right 162 in Fig. 8, paragraph 0030), one (left 162 in Fig. 8) of the two second isolation layers being formed on an upper portion of the sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 8), and the other (right 162 in Fig. 8) of the two second isolation layers being formed on an upper portion of the first isolation layer 172 (Fig. 8),
the first cavity region (lower half region of 169 in Fig. 8) is formed between a lower portion of the sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 8) and a lower portion of the first isolation layer 172 (Fig. 8), and the second cavity region (upper half region of 169 in Fig. 8) is formed between the two second isolation layers (left 162 and right 162 in Fig. 8), and
a ratio (see Fig. 8, wherein a vertical length of upper half region of 169 is same as a vertical length of lower half region of 169 such that the ratio is 1:1) of a length of the second cavity region (upper half region of 169 in Fig. 8) to a length of the first cavity region (lower half region of 169 in Fig. 8) is in a range approximately from 1:3 to 1:1.
Kang does not disclose a thickness of each of the two second isolation layers is same along a vertical direction, and
a width of the second cavity is same along the vertical direction.
Chang discloses a thickness of each of the two second isolation layers (left 1702 and right 1702 in Fig. 26A, paragraph 0044) is same along a vertical direction (vertical direction in Fig. 26A), and
a width of the second cavity (upper half region of 2102 in Fig. 26A, paragraph 0051) is same along the vertical direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kang to form a thickness of each of the two second isolation layers is same along a vertical direction, and a width of the second cavity is same along the vertical direction, as taught by Chang, since the width w.sub.a of the air gap 2102 (Chang, Fig. 26A, paragraph 0051) affects the capacitance between the gate structure and the subsequently formed contact feature.
Regarding claim 4, Kang further discloses the semiconductor structure according to claim 1, wherein a ratio (see Fig. 8, wherein a vertical length of upper half region of 169 is same as a vertical length of lower half region of 169 such that the ratio is 1:1) of a length of the second cavity region (upper region of 169 in Fig. 8) to a length of the first cavity region (lower region of 169 in Fig. 8) is in a range approximately from 1:3 to 1:1.
Regarding claim 5, Kang further discloses the semiconductor structure according to claim 1, wherein: the source/drain region 150 (Fig. 8) is located in the substrate (101 and 105 in Fig. 8) at a side of the sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 8) away from the gate 165 (Fig. 8).
Kang does not disclose the sidewall structure includes an L-shape, and a portion of the sidewall structure provides a bottom of the cavity.
Chang discloses the sidewall structure (218B’ and 1402 in Fig. 26A) includes an L-shape, and a portion of the sidewall structure (218B’ and 1402 in Fig. 26A) provides a bottom of the cavity 2102 (Fig. 26A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kang to form the sidewall structure includes an L-shape, and a portion of the sidewall structure provides a bottom of the cavity, as taught by Chang, since the secondary spacer material layer 1402 (Chang, Fig. 26A, paragraph 0041) thickness impacts the capacitance between the gate structure 702 (Chang, Fig. 26A, paragraph 0041) and the subsequently formed contact structure and thus, its thickness may be selected to account for the desired capacitance while also protecting underlying features (e.g., epitaxial feature 502 (Chang, Fig. 26A, paragraph 0041)).
Regarding claim 6, Kang discloses a method of forming a semiconductor structure, comprising:
forming a gate 165 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0070) on a substrate (101 and 105 in Fig. 8, paragraph 0023),
forming a sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0030) on sidewalls at two sides of the gate 165 (Fig. 8), and a source/drain region 150 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0023) in the substrate (101 and 105 in Fig. 8) at two sides of the gate 165 (Fig. 8) and the sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 8);
forming a source/drain electrical connection layer 180 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0023) on the source/drain region 150 (Fig. 8); and
forming an isolation structure (169, 162, 163, and 172 in Fig. 8) between the sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 8) and the source/drain electrical connection layer 180 (Fig. 8),
the isolation structure (169, 162, 163, and 172 in Fig. 8) includes a cavity (left 169 in Fig. 8) and a first isolation layer 172 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0041) formed on a sidewall of the source/drain electrical connection layer 180 (Fig. 8),
the isolation structure (169, 162, 163, and 172 in Fig. 8) further includes two second isolation layers (left 162 and right 162 in Fig. 8, paragraph 0030), one (left 162 in Fig. 8) of the two second isolation layers being formed on an upper portion of the sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 8), and the other (right 162 in Fig. 8) of the two second isolation layers being formed on an upper portion of the first isolation layer 172 (Fig. 8),
the cavity (left 169 in Fig. 8) includes a first cavity region (lower region of left 169 in Fig. 8) and a second cavity region (upper region of left 169 in Fig. 8) located on the first cavity region (lower region of left 169 in Fig. 8), and
the first cavity region (lower region of 169 in Fig. 8) is formed between a lower portion of the sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 8) and a lower portion of the first isolation layer 172 (Fig. 8), and the second cavity region (upper region of 169 in Fig. 8) is formed between the two second isolation layers (left 162 and right 162 in Fig. 8), such that a width of the second cavity region (upper region of left 169 in Fig. 8) is smaller than a width of the first cavity region width (lower region of left 169 in Fig. 8).
Kang does not disclose a thickness of each of the two second isolation layers is same along a vertical direction,
and the width of the second cavity is same along the vertical direction.
Chang discloses a thickness of each of the two second isolation layers (left 1702 and right 1702 in Fig. 26A, paragraph 0044) is same along a vertical direction (vertical direction in Fig. 26A), and
the width of the second cavity (upper region of 2102 in Fig. 26A, paragraph 0051) is same along the vertical direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kang to form a thickness of each of the two second isolation layers is same along a vertical direction, and the width of the second cavity is same along the vertical direction, as taught by Chang, since the width w.sub.a of the air gap 2102 (Chang, Fig. 26A, paragraph 0051) affects the capacitance between the gate structure and the subsequently formed contact feature.
Regarding claim 7, Kang further discloses the semiconductor structure according to claim 6, wherein a ratio (see Fig. 8, wherein a vertical length of upper half region of 169 is same as a vertical length of lower half region of 169 such that the ratio is 1:1) of a length of the second cavity region (upper region of 169 in Fig. 8) to a length of the first cavity region (lower region of 169 in Fig. 8) is in a range approximately from 1:3 to 1:1.
Regarding claim 8, Kang further discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein a method of forming the isolation structure (169, 162, 163, and 172 in Fig. 8) includes:
forming a first sacrificial layer 268 (Fig. 9, paragraph 0064) on the sidewall structure 261 (Fig. 9); and
forming the first isolation layer 272 (Fig. 9) on the first sacrificial layer 268 (Fig. 9), wherein:
the source/drain electrical connection layer (“conductive material” in paragraph 0095) is formed after the first isolation layer 272 (Fig. 9) is formed.
Regarding claim 18, Kang further discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein: the first isolation layer (left 161 and left 162 in Fig. 8, paragraph 0036, wherein “SiC, SiN, SiO, SiCN, SiOC, and/or SiOCN”) is made of a material including silicon nitride, silicon oxide, or a combination thereof, and/or depositing the first isolation layer includes atomic layer deposition.
Regarding claim 19, Kang further discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein: the sidewall structure 163 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0036, wherein “SiN”) is made of a material including silicon nitride.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Chang as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 2019/0312123) (hereafter Cheng).
Regarding claim 10, Kang in view of Chang discloses the method according to claim 8, however Kang and Chang do not disclose the first sacrificial layer is made of a material including amorphous silicon.
Cheng discloses the first sacrificial layer 34 (Fig. 18, paragraph 0059, wherein “amorphous silicon”) is made of a material including amorphous silicon.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kang in view of Chang to include the first sacrificial layer is made of a material including amorphous silicon, as taught by Cheng, since applicant has not disclosed that the claimed material is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical, which are criteria that have been held to be necessary for material limitations to be prima facie unobvious. The claimed material is considered to be a "preferred" or "optimum" material out of a plurality of well known materials that a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have found obvious to provide to the invention of the cited prior art reference, using routine experimentation and optimization of the invention. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claims 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Chang as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ching et al. (US 2016/0365426) (hereafter Ching).
Regarding claim 15, Kang further discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein a method of forming the gate 165 (Fig. 8), the source/drain region 150 (Fig. 8), and the sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 8) includes:
forming a dummy gate 265 (Fig. 9, paragraph 0074) on the substrate (101 and 105 in Fig. 9);
forming a sidewall structure material layer 261 (Fig. 9, paragraph 0074) on a sidewall of the dummy gate 265 (Fig. 9);
forming a source/drain region 150 (Fig. 9, paragraph 0027) in the substrate (101 and 105 in Fig. 9) at two sides of the dummy gate 265 (Fig. 9);
forming a first isolation dielectric layer 172 (Fig. 10A, paragraph 0078) surrounding the dummy gate 265 (Fig. 10A) on the substrate (101 and 105 in Fig. 10A);
removing (see Fig. 12 and paragraph 0084) the dummy gate 265 (Fig. 9) to form a gate opening (OP1 in Fig. 12, paragraph 0084);
depositing an initial gate 165a (Fig. 13, paragraph 0089) within the gate opening (OP1 in Fig. 12); and
planarizing (see Fig. 13 and paragraph 0090, wherein “planarized”) the initial gate 165a (Fig. 13) and the sidewall structure material layer 161 (Fig. 13), to form the gate 165 (Fig. 14, paragraph 0092) and the sidewall structure 161 (Fig. 14) on sidewall surfaces at two sides of the gate 165 (Fig. 14).
Kang and Chang do not disclose forming a sidewall structure material layer on a top surface of the dummy gate; and
forming a first isolation dielectric layer surrounding the source/drain region.
Ching discloses forming a sidewall structure material layer 92 (Fig. 14A, paragraph 0052) on a top surface (see paragraph 0052, wherein “Each of the sub-layers 92, 94, and 96 may be formed by conformally depositing, such as by CVD or the like”) of the dummy gate 48 (Fig. 14A, paragraph 0023); and
forming a first isolation dielectric layer (58 and 60 in Fig. 15A, paragraph 0031) surrounding the source/drain region 56 (Fig. 14A, paragraph 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kang in view of Chang to include forming a sidewall structure material layer on a top surface of the dummy gate; and forming a first isolation dielectric layer surrounding the source/drain region, as taught by Ching, since parasitic capacitance (Ching, paragraph 0056) between the gate electrode 66 and the lower contacts 70 (Ching, Fig. 21A, paragraph 0056) can be reduced such that these advantages (Ching, paragraph 0056) may be advantageous for reduced technology nodes, such as 10 nm and below.
Regarding claim 16, Kang further discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein a method of forming the source/drain electrical connection layer 180 (Fig. 8) includes: forming a source/drain via (OP2 in Fig. 15, paragraph 0094) in the first isolation dielectric layer 176 (Fig. 15); and forming the source/drain electrical connection layer (“conductive material” in paragraph 0095) in the source/drain via (OP2 in Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 17, Kang further discloses the method according to claim 16, after forming the first isolation dielectric layer 172 (Fig. 10A, paragraph 0078) and before forming the source/drain via (OP2 in Fig. 15), further comprising: forming a first etch stop layer 176 (Fig. 14, paragraph 0023) on the first isolation dielectric layer 172 (Fig. 14);
and forming a second isolation dielectric layer 178 (Fig. 15, paragraph 0023) on the first etch stop layer 176 (Fig. 15), wherein: the source/drain via (OP2 in Fig. 15) is also located in the second isolation dielectric layer 178 (Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 20, Kang in view of Chang discloses the method according to claim 6, however Kang and Chang do not disclose after forming the cavity, further comprising: forming a second etch stop layer on a top of the isolation structure, wherein the second etch stop layer enclosing the cavity; and forming an electrical interconnection layer on the gate and on the source/drain electrical connection layer.
Ching discloses after forming the cavity 100 (Fig. 20A, paragraph 0054), further comprising: forming a second etch stop layer 98 (Fig. 20A, paragraph 0055) on a top (see paragraph 0055, wherein “the deposition may be substantially conformal and form gaps or voids”) of the isolation structure (92, 100, and 96 in Fig. 20A), wherein the second etch stop layer 98 (Fig. 20A) enclosing the cavity 100 (Fig. 20A); and forming an electrical interconnection layer (82 and 84 in Figs. 21A and 21B, paragraph 0045) on the gate 66 (Fig. 21B) and on the source/drain electrical connection layer 70 (Fig. 21A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kang in view of Chang to form after forming the cavity, further comprising: forming a second etch stop layer on a top of the isolation structure, wherein the second etch stop layer enclosing the cavity; and forming an electrical interconnection layer on the gate and on the source/drain electrical connection layer, as taught by Ching, since respective gaps or voids 100 (Ching, Fig. 20A, paragraph 0055) can therefore be formed below the dielectric material of the second sub-layers 98 (Ching, Fig. 20A, paragraph 0055) and between the first sub-layer 92 (Ching, Fig. 20A, paragraph 0055) and the third sub-layer 96 (Ching, Fig. 20A, paragraph 0055) such that having a gap or void (Ching, paragraph 0056) formed in the gate spacer, the dielectric constant (k) can be further reduced, thereby reducing parasitic capacitance even further.
Allowable Subject Matter
1. Claims 9 and 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
2. Claim 9 would be allowable because a closest prior art, Kang et al. (US 2021/0098592), discloses the cavity (left 169 in Fig. 8) includes a first cavity region (lower region of left 169 in Fig. 8) and a second cavity region (upper region of left 169 in Fig. 8) located on the first cavity region (lower region of left 169 in Fig. 8), and the second cavity region (upper region of left 169 in Fig. 8) includes sidewalls formed by the first isolation layer (left 161 and left 162 in Fig. 8) and the first isolation layer (left 161 and left 162 in Fig. 8) is formed above the first cavity region (lower region of left 169 in Fig. 8), such that a width of the second cavity region (upper region of left 169 in Fig. 8) is smaller than a width of the first cavity region width (lower region of left 169 in Fig. 8); a second isolation layer 163 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0030) located on a sidewall of the source/drain electrical connection layer 180 (Fig. 8); forming a first sacrificial layer 268 (Fig. 9, paragraph 0064) on the sidewall structure 263 (Fig. 9, paragraph 0074); and forming the second isolation layer (right 261 and right 262 in Fig. 9, paragraph 0074) on the first sacrificial layer 268 (Fig. 9), wherein: the source/drain electrical connection layer (“conductive material” in paragraph 0095) is formed after the second isolation layer (right 261 and right 262 in Fig. 9) is formed but fails to disclose after forming the source/drain electrical connection layer, etching back the first sacrificial layer to form a second sacrificial layer and an initial cavity groove; depositing the two second isolation layers on sidewalls of the initial cavity groove, and forming the second cavity region between the two second isolation layers; and after forming the two second isolation layer, removing the second sacrificial layer to form the first cavity region. Additionally, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the limitations of the claim that recites a method of forming a semiconductor structure, comprising: after forming the source/drain electrical connection layer, etching back the first sacrificial layer to form a second sacrificial layer and an initial cavity groove; depositing the first isolation layer on a sidewall of the initial cavity groove, and forming the second cavity region between the first isolation layers; and after forming the first isolation layer, removing the second sacrificial layer to form the first cavity region in combination with other elements of the base claims 8, 7, and 6. The other claims each depend from one of these claims, and each would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims for the same reasons as the claim from which it depends. Claims 11-12 depend on claim 9.
Furthermore, claim 13 would be allowable because a closest prior art, Kang et al. (US 2021/0098592), discloses forming a source/drain electrical connection layer 180 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0023) on the source/drain region 150 (Fig. 8); forming an isolation structure (161, 169, and 162 in Fig. 8, paragraph 0034) located between the gate 165 (Fig. 8) and the source/drain electrical connection layer 180 (Fig. 8); and a second isolation layer (right 161 and right 162 in Fig. 8, paragraph 0030) located on a sidewall of the source/drain electrical connection layer 180 (Fig. 8) but fails to disclose forming the isolation structure further includes: after forming the source/drain electrical connection layer, removing the first sacrificial layer to form a cavity groove; depositing an initial second sacrificial layer in the cavity groove; etching back the initial second sacrificial layer to form a second sacrificial layer, wherein a surface of the second sacrificial layer is lower than a surface of the first sacrificial layer; depositing the second isolation layer on a sidewall surface of the cavity groove, and forming the second cavity region between the second isolation layers; and after depositing the second isolation layer, removing the second sacrificial layer to form the first cavity region. Additionally, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the limitations of the claim that recites a method of forming a semiconductor structure, comprising: forming the isolation structure further includes: after forming the source/drain electrical connection layer, removing the first sacrificial layer to form a cavity groove; depositing an initial second sacrificial layer in the cavity groove; etching back the initial second sacrificial layer to form a second sacrificial layer, wherein a surface of the second sacrificial layer is lower than a surface of the first sacrificial layer; depositing the second isolation layer on a sidewall surface of the cavity groove, and forming the second cavity region between the second isolation layers; and after depositing the second isolation layer, removing the second sacrificial layer to form the first cavity region in combination with other elements of the base claims 8, 7, and 6. The other claims each depend from one of these claims, and each would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims for the same reasons as the claim from which it depends. Claim 14 depends on claim 13.
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/2026 have been fully considered.
2. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.B.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813