Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 10, 2024 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shindo et al. (U.S. patent No. 12362215).
Regarding Claim 1, Shindo et al. discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a processor, a set of input values associated with moving a substrate carrier from a first position to a second position along a magnetic levitation track (col. 13, lines 7-17; Fig. 4, controller 5 receiving sensor signals about position and posture of the transfer module 30);
determining, based on the set of input values, one or more corrective signals to apply to the substrate carrier during movement of the substrate carrier along the magnetic levitation track (col. 13, lines 18-25; col. 17, Lines 9-21);
generating a magnetic field to move the substrate carrier on a direction along the magnetic levitation track (col. 12, lines. 10-18); and
applying, to the substrate carrier, the one or more corrective signals to reduce vibrations that would be experienced by a substate held by the substrate carrier due to a motion of the substrate carrier (col. 13; lines 26-34; col. 17, lines 9-21; col. 17, lines 47-52, Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1, Shindo et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Shindo et al further discloses a feedback-correction section (FB-correction section 504) that continually compares the detected position of the substrate carrier with the target position and output correction signal until the deviation becomes small (col. 13, lines 18-34). The limitation determining, based on the set of input values, one or more corrective signals to apply to the substrate carrier after the movement of the substrate carrier ceases is considered inherently disclosed by the continuous feedback process of Shindo et al. Because this feedback loop remains active as the carrier approaches and reaches its final position, the control method necessarily continues to generate and apply corrective signals while deviation or vibration is actively sensed by the sensor, even after the carrier movement has ceased. Therefore, the claimed “when the movement of the substrate carrier ceases” limitation does not impart a patentable distinction over the disclosure of Shindo et. al.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 1, Shindo et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Shindo et al. further discloses the one or more corrective signals are determined by performing a lookup in a reference table (col. 10, lines 46-57, col. 17, lines 43-50).
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 1, Shindo et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Shindo et al. further discloses obtaining substrate data associated with one or more properties of the substrate; and determining the one or more corrective signals based on the set of input values and the substrate data (col. 7, lines 35-45).
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 1, Shindo et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Shindo et al. further discloses obtaining sensor data from a sensor; and adjusting the corrective signals based on the sensor data (col. 13, lines 7-17; Fig. 4, sensors 51).
Regarding claim 6, which depends from claim 1, Shindo et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Shindo et al. further discloses the one or more corrective signals are applied to at least one of the substrate carrier, the magnetic levitation track, or an end effector coupled to the substrate carrier (col. 17, lines 9-21; col. 17, lines 47-52, Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 7, which depends from claim 1, Shindo et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Shindo et al. further discloses the one or more corrective signals adjust an elevation of at least one of the substrate carrier, the magnetic levitation track, or an end effector coupled to the substrate carrier (col. 17, lines 43-52).
Regarding claim 8, Shindo et al. discloses an electronic device manufacturing system (Abstract), comprising;
a substrate carrier configured to secure a substrate (col. 4, lines 9-11; Fig. 1; substrate carrier 30); and
a controller, operatively coupled to the substrate carrier (col. 5, lines 22-25; Fig. 4, controller 5), the controller configured to perform operations comprising:
receiving, a set of input values associated with moving the substrate carrier from a first position to a second position along a magnetic levitation track (col. 13, lines 7-17; Fig. 4, controller 5 receiving sensor signals about position and posture of the transfer module 30);
determining, based on the set of input values, one or more corrective signals to apply to the substrate carrier during movement of the substrate carrier along the magnetic levitation track (col. 13, lines 18-25);
generating a magnetic field to move the substrate carrier on a direction along the magnetic levitation track (col. 12, lines. 10-18); and
applying, to the substrate carrier, the one or more corrective signals to reduce vibrations that would be experienced by a substate held by the substrate carrier due to a motion of the substrate carrier (col. 13, lines 26-34; col. 17, lines 9-21; col. 17, lines 47-52, Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 9, which depends from claim 8, Shindo et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Shindo et al further discloses a feedback-correction section (Fig. 4; FB-correction section 504) that continually compares the detected position of the substrate carrier with the target position and output correction signal until the deviation becomes small (col. 13, lines 18-34). The limitation determining, based on the set of input values, one or more corrective signals to apply to the substrate carrier after the movement of the substrate carrier ceases is considered inherently disclosed by the continuous feedback process of Shindo et al. Because this feedback loop remains active as the carrier approaches and reaches its final position, the control method necessarily continues to generate and apply corrective signals while deviation or vibration is actively sensed by the sensor, even after the carrier movement has ceased. Therefore, the claimed “when the movement of the substrate carrier ceases” limitation does not impart a patentable distinction over the disclosure of Shindo et. al.
Regarding claim 10, which depends from claim 8, Shindo et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Shindo et al. further discloses the one or more corrective signals are determined by performing a lookup in a reference table (col. 10, lines 46-57, col. 17, lines 43-50, Fig. 4; parameter store 503).
Regarding claim 11, which depends from claim 8, Shindo et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Shindo et al. further discloses obtaining substrate data associated with one or more properties of the substrate; and determining the one or more corrective signals based on the set of input values and the substrate data (col. 7, lines 35-45).
Regarding claim 12, which depends from claim 8, Shindo et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Shindo et al. further discloses obtaining sensor data from a sensor; and adjusting the corrective signals based on the sensor data (col. 13, lines 7-17; Fig. 4, sensors 51).
Regarding claim 13, which depends from claim 8, Shindo et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Shindo et al. further discloses the one or more corrective signals are applied to at least one of the substrate carrier, the magnetic levitation track, or an end effector coupled to the substrate carrier (col. 17, lines 9-21; col. 17, lines 47-52, Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 8, Shindo et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Shindo et al. further discloses the one or more corrective signals adjust an elevation of at least one of the substrate carrier, the magnetic levitation track, or an end effector coupled to the substrate carrier (col. 17, lines 43-52).
Regarding claim 15, Shindo et al. discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processing device operatively coupled to a memory (col. 5, lines 25-32), performs operations comprising:
receiving, a set of input values associated with moving the substrate carrier from a first position to a second position along a magnetic levitation track (col. 13, lines 7-17; Fig. 4, controller 5 receiving sensor signals about position and posture of the transfer module 30);
determining, based on the set of input values, one or more corrective signals to apply to the substrate carrier during movement of the substrate carrier along the magnetic levitation track (col. 13, lines 18-25);
generating a magnetic field to move the substrate carrier on a direction along the magnetic levitation track (col. 12, lines. 10-18); and
applying, to the substrate carrier, the one or more corrective signals to reduce vibrations that would be experienced by a substate held by the substrate carrier due to a motion of the substrate carrier (col. 13; lines 26-34; col. 17, lines 9-21; col. 17, lines 47-52, Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 16, which depends from claim 15, Shindo et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 15. Shindo et al further discloses a feedback-correction section (FB-correction section 504) that continually compares the detected position of the substrate carrier with the target position and output correction signal until the deviation becomes small (col. 13, lines 18-34). The limitation determining, based on the set of input values, one or more corrective signals to apply to the substrate carrier after the movement of the substrate carrier ceases is considered inherently disclosed by the continuous feedback process of Shindo et al. Because this feedback loop remains active as the carrier approaches and reaches its final position, the control method necessarily continues to generate and apply corrective signals while deviation or vibration is actively sensed by the sensor, even after the carrier movement has ceased. Therefore, the claimed “when the movement of the substrate carrier ceases” limitation does not impart a patentable distinction over the disclosure of Shindo et. al.
Regarding claim 17, which depends from claim 15, Shindo et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 15. Shindo et al. further discloses the one or more corrective signals are determined by performing a lookup in a reference table (col. 10, lines 46-57).
Regarding claim 18, which depends from claim 15, Shindo et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 15. Shindo et al. further discloses obtaining substrate data associated with one or more properties of the substrate; and determining the one or more corrective signals based on the set of input values and the substrate data (col. 7, lines 35-45).
Regarding claim 19, which depends from claim 15, Shindo et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 15. Shindo et al. further discloses obtaining sensor data from a sensor; and adjusting the corrective signals based on the sensor data (col. 13, lines 7-17; Fig. 4, sensors 51).
Regarding claim 20, which depends from claim 15, Shindo et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 15. Shindo et al. further discloses the one or more corrective signals are applied to at least one of the substrate carrier, the magnetic levitation track, or an end effector coupled to the substrate carrier (col. 17, lines 9-21; col. 17, lines 47-52, Fig. 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aust et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11508595) discloses a contactless magnetic transportation device with a vibration sensor and a controller that calculates and dynamically adjusts a magnetic field to reduce vibration. The magnetic field is disclosed as being adjusted during the movement of a deposition source for deposition of the material on the substrate and/or may be adjustable in between deposition cycles of a layer formation process (col. 4, lines 41-49).
NOZOMI (Japanese Patent Publication No. 2006-066589 A) discloses suppressing vibration of a movable member by a controller, based on sensor input, during transition as well as in a stopped state (paragraphs [0021], [0022], and [0031] of translation).
/TEMESGEN M. MARU/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655