DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of the preliminary amendment, filed on April 27, 2023, which has been entered. Claims 1-43 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ayana et al (US 2008/0164850 A1, cited on IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Ayana discloses an electrical power apparatus for a vehicle (vehicle 20, in the form of motorcoach 22), the electrical power apparatus comprising: an electrical input (external power interface 92) to receive electrical power from an external power source (external power source 90, para 0016; also see Fig. 1); an electrical output to provide electrical power to an electrically powered device of the vehicle (power distribution bus 85 is used to provide AC power to electrical loads 27 of coach 22, para 0018; also see Figs. 1 and 2); a battery interface to provide electrical power to a battery of the vehicle and to receive electrical power from the battery (assembly 40 is coupled to storage device 70 to selectively charge it in certain operating modes and supply electrical energy from it in other operating modes via circuitry 50 as further described hereinafter, para 0015; also see Fig. 1 [inverter assembly 40 is an interface between the switch and the battery]); and a switch operatively connected to the electrical input, the electrical output, and the battery interface, the switch having a plurality of configurations (transfer switch 82 is electrically connected with system 28 via bus 80, power distribution bus 85, and source 90 via interface 92, para 0018; also see Figs. 1 and 2) comprising: a battery charging configuration wherein the electrical input and the battery interface are electrically connected to permit the battery interface to receive electrical power from the electrical input (the transition from state 360 to state 362 occurs when state logic variable T9 is true based on the expression: {((PowerUnitPositionStatus==Open) && (ShoreAvailable==Available) && (inverterReadyToLoad==ShoreReady), such that contactor device 130 is open, shore power is otherwise available, and inverter 46 is ready for charging storage device 70 with shore power, para 0043); and a battery power configuration wherein the battery interface and the electrical output are electrically connected to permit the electrical output to receive electrical power from the battery Interface (allow or disallow power to be transferred from system 28 via inverter 46 to electrical loads 27 over power distribution bus 85 through transfer switch 82, para 23; FIG. 4 starts with a battery mode of operation 252 in which power is supplied to bus 85 from storage device 70 of system 28, para 0035; also see Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Ayana discloses the electrical power apparatus of claim 1 including a control unit (controller 105) configured to set the switch to one of the plurality of configurations based upon a determination of whether the external power source is able to provide electrical power to the electrical input (if shore power is available, then circuit 142 is closed and power to bus 85 is sourced from interface 92. The corresponding contacts 126 change from normally closed to open, which prevents circuit 144 from closing while circuit 142 remains closed and shore power is available-even if power from inverter 46 is also available. If shore power is not available, but power from inverter 46 is available and the state of relay 112 is changed from normally open to closed, then circuit 144 is completed, para 0026).
Regarding Claim 3, Ayana discloses the electrical power apparatus of claim 1 wherein the external power source includes a shore power source (external AC electrical power source 90 (shore power), para 0016); wherein the electrical input is configured to be releasably connected to the shore power source (transfer switch 82 routes the shore power to electrical loads 27, para 0016); and a control unit configured to set the switch to the battery charging configuration based at least in part upon whether the electrical input is connected to the shore power source (shore contactor device 120 includes a plurality of normally open power bus contacts 122 that are controllably operable by contactor state control 124 to either allow or disallow power to be transferred from source 90 to electrical loads 27 over power distribution bus 85 through transfer switch 82, para 0021).
Regarding Claim 5, Ayana discloses the electrical power apparatus of claim 1 wherein the plurality of configurations of the switch comprises an external power configuration wherein the electrical input and the electrical output are electrically connected to permit the electrical output to receive electrical power from the electrical input (if shore power is available, then circuit 142 is closed and power to bus 85 is sourced from interface 92, para 0025).
Regarding Claim 7, Ayana discloses the electrical power apparatus of claim 1 wherein the plurality of configurations of the switch comprises an external power and charging configuration wherein the electrical input, the electrical output, and the battery interface are electrically connected to permit the electrical output and the battery interface to receive electrical power from the external power source (if shore power is available, then circuit 142 is closed and power to bus 85 is sourced from interface 92. The corresponding contacts 126 change from normally closed to open, which prevents circuit 144 from closing while circuit 142 remains closed and shore power is available-even if power from inverter 46 is also available. If shore power is not available, but power from inverter 46 is available and the state of relay 112 is changed from normally open to closed, then circuit 144 is completed, para 0026).
Regarding Claim 13, Ayana discloses the electrical power apparatus of claim 1 wherein the external power source includes a shore power source; and wherein the electrical input is configured to receive electrical power from the shore power source (transfer switch 82 is used to selectively and controllably supply AC power to electrical loads 27 by switching between shore power provided by source 90 or mobile power provided by system 28, para 0018).
Claim(s) 19-26, 29, 31-39 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wordsworth et al (US 8,295,950 B1, cited on IDS).
Regarding claim 19, Wordsworth et al teaches (see Figs. 2, 4, 5, 9A, 11): A method of operating an electrical power apparatus of a vehicle having a battery (primary battery 30, APU battery 46, auxiliary batteries 100) and an electrically powered device (APU 50, refrigeration unit 60), the method comprising: detecting a variable of the electrically powered device (I/O signals & status signals 276, environmental monitoring circuit signals 280 and signal bus 286; see col. 14, lines 2-30); determining whether an external power source (HD shore power or MD shore power) is able to provide electrical power to an electrical input (HD shore power input 80, MD shore power input 82) of the electrical power apparatus; and setting a switch (multiplexing switches 252, relays/contactors 330, switch 336) of the electrical power apparatus to one of a plurality of configurations based at least in part on the variable of the electrically powered device and whether the external power source is able to provide electrical power to the electrical input of the electrical power apparatus (see Figs. 4 & 5), the plurality of configurations comprising: a battery charging configuration wherein the electrical input and the battery are electrically connected to permit the battery to receive electrical power from the external power source (when HD shore power is connected to bus 22 or MD shore power is connected to bus 26, the batteries 30, 46 & 100 can be charged from the shore power; see col. 5, lines 56-62, col. 7, lines 14-66); and a battery power configuration wherein the battery and the electrically powered device are electrically connected to permit the electrically powered device to receive electrical power from the battery (batteries 30, 46 & 100 may be used to power busses 18, 22 and 26, and thereby, air conditioner 40 & compressor 64 and other electrically powered devices; see col. 5, lines 56-62 and col. 7, lines 50-66).
Regarding claim 32, Wordsworth et al teaches: A vehicle system comprising (see Figs. 2, 4, 5, 9A, 11): a regenerative braking system (regenerative braking 104) comprising a battery (auxiliary batteries 100); an electrical input configured to be connected to an external power source (HD shore power input 80, MD shore power input 82); an electrically powered device (APU 50, refrigeration unit 60); a switch (multiplexing switches 252, relays/contactors 330, switch 336) operatively connected to the battery , the electrical input, and the electrically powered device, the switch having a plurality of configurations including: a battery charging configuration wherein the electrical input and the battery are electrically connected to permit the battery to receive electrical power from the external power source (when HD shore power is connected to bus 22 or MD shore power is connected to bus 26, the batteries 30, 46 & 100 can be charged from the shore power; see col. 5, lines 56-62, col. 7, lines 14-66); and a battery power configuration wherein the battery and the electrically powered device are electrically connected to permit the electrically powered device to receive electrical power from the battery (batteries 30, 46 & 100 may be used to power busses 18, 22 and 26, and thereby, APU air conditioner 40 & refrigeration unit compressor 64 and other electrically powered devices; see col. 5, lines 56-62 and col. 7, lines 50-66); a control unit (intelligent power controller 266) configured to set the switch to one of the plurality of configurations based at least in part on a variable (I/O signals & status signals 276, environmental monitoring circuit signals 280 and signal bus 286; see col. 14, lines 2-30) of the electrically powered device and a determination of whether the external power source is able to provide electrical power to the electrical input (see Figs. 4, 5 & 9A, col. 13, line 38 – col. 14, line 30).
Regarding claims 20 and 33, Wordsworth et al teaches the method and system including: wherein setting the switch comprises setting the switch to the battery charging configuration upon the variable (I/O signals & status signals 276, environmental monitoring circuit signals 280 and signal bus 286; see col. 14, lines 2-30) of the electrically powered device indicating the electrically powered device is in a standby state and the external power source being able to provide electrical power to the electrical input (for example, the APU air conditioner 40 and/or the refrigeration unit compressor 64 are not running; see Figs. 4, 5 & 9A, col. 13, line 38 – col. 14, line 30).
Regarding claims 21 and 34, Wordsworth et al teaches the method and system including: wherein setting the switch comprises setting the switch to the battery power configuration upon the variable (I/O signals & status signals 276, environmental monitoring circuit signals 280 and signal bus 286; see col. 14, lines 2-30) of the electrically powered device indicating the electrically powered device is in a run state and the external power source being unable to provide electrical power to the electrical input (for example, the APU air conditioner 40 and/or the refrigeration unit compressor 64 are running; see Figs. 4, 5 & 9A, col. 13, line 38 – col. 14, line 30).
Regarding claims 22 and 35, Wordsworth et al teaches the method and system including: wherein detecting the variable of the electrically powered device comprises at least one of: detecting a current draw of the electrically powered device (for example, I/O signals & status signals 276, environmental monitoring circuit signals 280 and signal bus 286, representing that APU air conditioner 40 and/or refrigeration unit compressor 64 are running and drawing current; see col. 14, lines 2-30); and receiving a run request from the electrically powered device (see Figs. 4, 5 & 9A, col. 13, line 38 – col. 14, line 30).
Regarding claims 23 and 36, Wordsworth et al teaches the method and system including: wherein the plurality of configurations further comprises an external power configuration wherein the electrical input and the electrically powered device are electrically connected to permit the electrically powered device to receive electrical power from the external power source (when HD shore power is connected to bus 22 or MD shore power is connected to bus 26, the APU air conditioner 40 and/or the refrigeration unit compressor 64 can be powered from the shore power; see col. 5, lines 56-62, col. 7, lines 14-66, col. 13, line 38 – col. 14, line 30).
Regarding claims 24 and 37, Wordsworth et al teaches the method and system including: wherein setting the switch comprises setting the switch to the external power configuration upon the external source being able to supply electrical power to the electrical input and the variable of the electrically powered device satisfying an external power configuration condition (I/O signals & status signals 276, environmental monitoring circuit signals 280 and signal bus 286; power presence-sensing/quality-monitoring circuits 270; see col. 5, lines 56-62, col. 7, lines 14-66, col. 13, line 38 – col. 14, line 30).
Regarding claims 25 and 38, Wordsworth et al teaches the method and system including: wherein the plurality of configurations further comprises an external power and charging configuration wherein the electrical input, the electrically powered device, and the battery are electrically connected to permit the electrically powered device and the battery to receive electrical power from the external power source (when HD shore power is connected to bus 22 or MD shore power is connected to bus 26, the batteries 30, 46 & 100 can be charged from the shore power; and APU air conditioner 40 & refrigeration unit compressor 64 and other electrically powered devices can be powered from shore power; see col. 5, lines 56-62 and col. 7, lines 50-66).
Regarding claims 26 and 39, Wordsworth et al teaches the method and system including: wherein setting the switch comprises setting the switch to the external power and charging configuration upon the external power source being able to provide electrical power to the electrical input and the variable of the electrically powered device satisfying an external power and charging configuration condition (I/O signals & status signals 276, environmental monitoring circuit signals 280 and signal bus 286; power presence-sensing/quality-monitoring circuits 270; see col. 5, lines 56-62, col. 7, lines 14-66, col. 13, line 38 – col. 14, line 30).
Regarding claim 29, Wordsworth et al teaches: The method of claim 19 wherein the variable of the electrically powered device comprises a run state of the electrically powered device (for example, I/O signals & status signals 276, environmental monitoring circuit signals 280 and signal bus 286; representing that APU air conditioner 40 and/or refrigeration unit compressor 64 are running; see col. 14, lines 2-30).
Regarding claim 31, Wordsworth et al teaches: The method of claim 19 further comprising providing electrical power to the battery (auxiliary batteries 100) from a regenerative braking system (regenerative braking 104) of the vehicle (see col. 7, line 66 – col. 8, line 2).
Regarding claim 43, Wordsworth et al teaches: The vehicle system of claim 32 wherein the electrically powered device includes a refrigeration unit (APU air conditioner 40 and refrigeration unit 60, see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6, 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayana et al (US 2008/0164850 A1, cited on IDS) in view of Wordsworth et al (US 8,295,950 B1, cited on IDS).
Regarding Claim 4, the teachings of Ayana et al as applied to claim 1 have been discussed above.
Ayana et al fails to disclose the electrical power apparatus comprising: a sensor configured to detect a variable of the electrically powered device; and a control unit operatively connected to the sensor, the control unit configured to set the switch to one of the plurality of configurations based upon whether the external power source is able to provide electrical power to the electrical input and the variable of the electrically powered device.
Wordsworth et al is in the field of power for vehicles (Abstract) and teaches a sensor configured to detect a variable of the electrically powered device; and a control unit operatively connected to the sensor, the control unit configured to set the switch to one of the plurality of configurations based upon whether the external power source is able to provide electrical power to the electrical input and the variable of the electrically powered device (The environmental monitoring circuits 282 may comprise sensors dedicated to the IPMS 250, or may be preexisting sensors already included on the tractor 10. Notably, the IPC 266 in one or more embodiments uses the one or more environmental monitoring signals 280 to dynamically modify or otherwise adapt the selection logic used to identify which one of the power sources applied to the set 256 of independent power inputs is considered as the most-preferred source for powering the refrigeration unit 60., col 14, lines 13-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Ayana et al to include the sensor configured to detect a variable of the electrically powered device as taught in Wordsworth et al for the purpose of using monitoring signals to dynamically select the most-preferred source for powering the refrigeration units (see Wordsworth, col 14, lines 13-21).
Regarding Claim 6, the teachings of Ayana et al as applied to claim 5 have been discussed above.
Ayana et al fails to disclose the electrical power apparatus comprising: a sensor configured to detect a variable of the electrically powered device; and a control unit operatively connected to the sensor, the control unit configured to set the switch to the external-power configuration upon a determination of the external power source being able to provide electrical power to the electrical input and the variable of the electrically powered device satisfying an external power configuration condition.
Wordsworth et al teaches a sensor configured to detect a variable of the electrically powered device; and a control unit operatively connected to the sensor, the control unit configured to set the switch to the external power configuration upon a determination of the external power source being able to provide electrical power to the electrical input and the variable of the electrically powered device satisfying an external power configuration condition (The environmental monitoring circuits 282 may comprise sensors dedicated to the IPMS 250, or may be preexisting sensors already included on the tractor 10. Notably, the IPC 266 in one or more embodiments uses the one or more environmental monitoring signals 280 to dynamically modify or otherwise adapt the selection logic used to identify which one of the power sources applied to the set 256 of independent power inputs is considered as the most-preferred source for powering the refrigeration unit 60., col 14, lines 13-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Ayana et al to include the sensor configured to detect a variable of the electrically powered device as taught in Wordsworth et al for the purpose of using monitoring signals to dynamically select the most-preferred source for powering the refrigeration units (see Wordsworth et al, col 14, lines 13-21).
Regarding Claim 8, the teachings of Ayana et al as applied to claim 7 have been discussed above.
Ayana et al fails to disclose the electrical power apparatus comprising: a sensor configured to detect a variable of the electrically powered device; and a control unit operatively connected to the sensor, the control unit configured to set the switch to the external power and charging configuration upon a determination of the external power source being able to provide electrical power to the electrical input and the variable of the electrically powered device satisfying an external power and charging configuration condition.
Wordsworth et al teaches a sensor configured to detect a variable of the electrically powered device; and a control unit operatively connected to the sensor, the control unit configured to set the switch to the external power and charging configuration upon a determination of the external power source being able to provide electrical power to the electrical input and the variable of the electrically powered device satisfying an external power and charging configuration condition. (The environmental monitoring circuits 282 may comprise sensors dedicated to the IPMS 250, or may be preexisting sensors already included on the tractor 10. Notably, the IPC 266 in one or more embodiments uses the one or more environmental monitoring signals 280 to dynamically modify or otherwise adapt the selection logic used to identify which one of the power sources applied to the set 256 of independent power inputs is considered as the most-preferred source for powering the refrigeration unit 60., col 14, lines 13-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Ayana et al to Include the sensor configured to detect a variable of the electrically powered device as taught in Wordsworth et al for the purpose of using monitoring signals to dynamically select the most-preferred source for powering the refrigeration units (see Wordsworth et al, col 14, lines 13-21).
Regarding claim 17, the teachings of Ayana et al as applied to claim 1 have been discussed above.
Ayana et al fails to disclose the electrical power apparatus in combination with the electrically powered device, the electrically powered device including a refrigeration unit.
Wordsworth et al teaches the electrically powered device including a refrigeration unit (routing the electrical output from the refrigerator unit generator 122 to the multiplexing switches 252 does provide, for example, additional flexibility for deriving power for the 120VAC bus 26 (e.g., to deliver power to power consuming components other than the refrigerator unit 60 itself, col 16, lines 16-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Ayana et al to include the refrigeration unit as taught in Wordsworth et al for the purpose of using the invention to manage power in vehicles used for refrigerated transport of perishable foods, frozen or chilled foods in particular (see Wordsworth et al, col 1, lines 35-36).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayana et al (US 2008/0164850 A1, cited on IDS) in view of Najera et al (US 2013/0337669 A1, cited on IDS).
Regarding Claim 12, the teachings of Ayana et al as applied to claim 1 have been discussed above.
Ayana et al fails to disclose the electrical power apparatus further comprising a proximity sensor configured to detect whether the electrical input is connected to the external power source.
Najera et al is in the field of electric vehicle charging (Abstract) and teaches a proximity sensor configured to detect whether the electrical input is connected to the external power source (FIGS. 1 and 2 illustrate an electric vehicle charging station (EVCS) para 29; To provide an electrical signal indicating the presence or absence of the movable latching element 20 in the receptacle 30, a proximity sensor 33 is mounted directly adjacent the top surface of the stationary latching flange 21, para 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Ayana et al to include the proximity sensor as taught in Najera et al for the purpose of helping reduce electrical arcing of the coupler during disconnect (see Najera et al, para 0003).
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayana et al (US 2008/0164850 A1, cited on IDS) in view of Yakes et al (US 2005/0209747 A1, cited on IDS).
Regarding Claim 14, the teachings of Ayana et al as applied to claim 1 have been discussed above.
Ayana et al fails to disclose the electrical power apparatus wherein the electrical input is configured, to receive 480 volt, three phase alternating current power from the external power source.
Yakes et al teaches wherein the electrical input is configured to receive 480 volt, three phase alternating current power from the external power source (The generator/alternator 1920 is preferably a synchronous generator producing 460 to 480 volts, three phase, AC 60 Hz power for the electric traction vehicle, para 232).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Ayana et al to include the 3 phase 480 V input as taught in Yakes et al for the purpose of using voltage which is commonly used in industrial settings without the need to convert the power (see Yakes et al, para 0239).
Regarding Claim 15, the teachings of Ayana et al as applied to claim 1 have been discussed above.
Ayana et al fails to disclose the electrical power apparatus in combination with a regenerative braking system comprising an electric generator configured to provide electrical power to the battery.
Yakes et al teaches a regenerative braking system comprising an electric generator configured to provide electrical power to the battery (This causes the motor 1928 to act as a generator to regenerate power back to the power storage unit, para 0246).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Ayana et al to include the regenerative braking as taught in Yakes et al for the purpose of providing power back to the power storage unit (see Yakes et al, para 0246).
Regarding Claim 16, the teachings of Ayana et al as applied to claim 1 have been discussed above.
Ayana et al fails to disclose the electrical power apparatus in combination with the external power source, the external power source including at least one of: an engine exhaust energy harvesting system; a dynamic energy harvesting system; a solar power system; a wind turbine system; a three-phase inverter with an external battery; a three-phase inverter with an ultracapacitor; an off-vehicle generator; and an electronic propulsion system.
Yakes et al teaches the external power source including a dynamic energy harvesting system (This causes the motor 1928 to act as a generator to regenerate power back to the power storage unit, para 0246).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Ayana et al to include the energy harvesting as taught in Yakes et al for the purpose of providing power back to the power storage unit (see Yakes et al, para 246).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayana et al (US 2008/0164850 A1, cited on IDS) in view of Kamiyama et al (US 2009/0027817 A1, cited on IDS).
Regarding Claim 18, the teachings of Ayana et al as applied to claim 1 have been discussed above.
Ayana et al fails to disclose the electrical power apparatus wherein the electrical output includes an overload relay to protect the electrically powered device.
Kamiyama et al is in the field of power sources and loads (Abstract) and teaches wherein the electrical output includes an overload relay to protect the electrically powered device (overload relay that trips a current flow between a power source and a load, claim 11; occurrence of a serious accident such as burnout of the load to be protected that is connected to the overload relay can be prevented, para 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Ayana et al to include the overload relay as taught in Kamiyama et al for the purpose of protecting the load devices from damage generated due to overheating or an excessive current (see Kamiyama et al, para 0002).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wordsworth et al (US 8,295,950 B1, cited on IDS) in view of Najera et al (US 2013/0337669 A1, cited on IDS)
The teachings of Wordsworth et al, as applied to claim 19 have been discussed above.
Wordsworth et al does not specifically teach: wherein determining whether the external power source is able to provide electrical power to the electrical input comprises using a proximity sensor to detect whether the electrical input is connected to the external power source.
Najera et al is in the field of electric vehicle charging (Abstract) and teaches a proximity sensor configured to detect whether the electrical input is connected to the external power source (FIGS. 1 and 2 illustrate an electric vehicle charging station (EVCS) para 29; To provide an electrical signal indicating the presence or absence of the movable latching element 20 in the receptacle 30, a proximity sensor 33 is mounted directly adjacent the top surface of the stationary latching flange 21, para 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Wordsworth et al to include the proximity sensor as taught in Najera et al for the purpose of helping reduce electrical arcing of the coupler during disconnect (see Najera et al, para 0003).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11, 27-28 and 40-42 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record fails to teach: the control unit having an isolation mode wherein the control unit is unable to set the switch to either the battery charging configuration or the battery power configuration; and the control unit configured to change from the normal mode to the isolation mode in response to the control unit not receiving a signal from a primary power supply.
Claim 10 depends from claim 9 and would be allowable for the same reason.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record fails to teach: the control unit having an isolation mode wherein the control unit is unable to set the switch to either the battery charging configuration or the battery power configuration; and the control unit configured to reconfigure from the normal mode to the isolation mode in response to the control unit not receiving the signal from the primary power supply of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 27, the prior art of record fails to teach: wherein setting the switch comprises inhibiting the switch from being in either the battery charging configuration or the battery power configuration upon determining a loss of the signal from the primary power supply.
Claim 28 depends from claim 27 and would be allowable for the same reason.
Regarding claim 40, the prior art of record fails to teach: the control unit having an isolation mode wherein the control unit is unable to set the switch to either the battery charging configuration or the battery power configuration; and wherein the control unit is configured to change from the normal mode to the isolation mode in response to the control unit not receiving a signal from a primary power supply.
Claim 41 depends from claim 40 and would be allowable for the same reason.
Regarding claim 42, the prior art of record fails to teach: the control unit having an isolation mode wherein the control unit is unable to set the switch to either the battery charging configuration or the battery power configuration; and the control unit configured to reconfigure from the normal mode to the isolation mode in response to the control unit not receiving a signal from a primary power supply of the vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the additional references cited on the attached PTO-892, which are directed to vehicle electrical power systems.
/JARED FUREMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859